View Full Version : Dsl Modem Troubles
11-19-2005, 06:42 PM
Once in awhile my dsl modem conks out and disconnects , i can rule this down to two things :
Trouble with phone lines in the area ( rastafarians cut them every month or so and sprang about 1000 feet , may cause exta noise etc. even after repair )
Power fluctuations in neighbours house where modem is ( more likely as electricians were messing around there the other day )
To find out the problem... i just need one question answered .
Does the Ethernet go down on a speedstream 4200 when the DSL goes down ?
I doubt it does..... should i encourage my neighbour to buy a UPS system? if so how much for a basic one to last a few minutes on a single machine with a few perhiperals setup?
11-19-2005, 08:05 PM
TSTT moves gay and drops your connection every now and then, sometimes a reboot is necessary to get it running again.
Does conk out mean the router turns off? or the DSL connection dies?
11-19-2005, 09:05 PM
no the ethernet timer resets from 0 too and i can't connect to the modem ( its in my neighbours house) so i'd say its power.
richjob
11-19-2005, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by trinithemc@Nov 19 2005, 06:42 PM
Once in awhile my dsl modem conks out and disconnects , i can rule this down to two things :
Trouble with phone lines in the area ( rastafarians cut them every month or so and sprang about 1000 feet , may cause exta noise etc. even after repair )
Power fluctuations in neighbours house where modem is ( more likely as electricians were messing around there the other day )
To find out the problem... i just need one question answered .
Does the Ethernet go down on a speedstream 4200 when the DSL goes down ?
I doubt it does..... should i encourage my neighbour to buy a UPS system? if so how much for a basic one to last a few minutes on a single machine with a few perhiperals setup?
How you know is rastas? Bobo Shanti does sell nuts, not sprang copper. Not all men with dreadlocks are rastas.
Ahm... study the UPS on your machine. What you want is enough power to carry you through the TTEC 30 second to three minute blackout - or enough time to save your work, before yuh machine go into hibernation.
A VA 500-750 UPS should do yuh fine. Cost yuh about $350-650, depending on VA rating and brand name.
I have one (HP) that I never use that I go sell for cheap. Still in the box. $300 I go sell it for.
unimatrix001
11-21-2005, 05:31 PM
dread... why your modem in yuh neighbour house?
11-21-2005, 06:14 PM
we share internet through a network :P and it makes for an easy lan party with 2 houses on a network already . DSL comes up to about 100 each ( 3 people splitting) .
Its still happening , likely power related , a month ago the modem would stay on 24/7 and the timers would read hundreds of hours , but now it appears to go down every 10 hours or so.. neighbour returning from abroad today , i'll interest him in a UPS system so my gaming doesn't suffer .
11-22-2005, 07:44 AM
sure you partner not pulling out your ethernet connection so he can get more bandwidth?
11-22-2005, 10:28 PM
no as i said these times he's usually not home , plus the modem timers reset so i know it lost power and/ or dsl connection totally at that point .
11-23-2005, 09:11 AM
someting shorting dat modem out
find out wah causing it