View Full Version : Change Heatsink?

11-18-2005, 05:36 PM
got an old pentium 4 2ghz 400 mhz fsb oc'd to 2.6ghz with 1.575 volts, cpu-z says 1.6v :S
but any ways my idle temps are 39 - 41 c and under 100 % prime 95 load temp is 57- 59 c with teh sides of the case off, when side of case is on idle temps rond 44c and max temp tends to be over 60 c
i currently have the stock heatsink and i was wonderin if it was worth the money to buy a good heatsink considerin how old the cpu is, if the pc dies on i most likely will get a x2 3800 or 4400 but i planning on riding out pc till m2 socket is out and has matured
if u think i should change heatsinks which would u recommend

11-18-2005, 06:16 PM
Get some paste and try that first before you buy anything. That thermal pad gone tru long time.

11-18-2005, 06:38 PM
well since i sure para gonna read this might as well
think i could borrow some arctic silver to see if that s the problem ?
don't want to go and spend money needlessly

11-18-2005, 07:46 PM
Although it is running a bit warm its not unusual for those processors and its within spec. I wouldn't bother to spend the money just to lower temps.

11-18-2005, 09:22 PM
Also try to stabilize @ a lower voltage.
Many overclockers share the opinion that higher voltages help stabilize higher fsb. But for my Barton core CPU, high voltages have given me nothing but heat.

Try cleaning out the cpu cooler and reapply teh paste and sh!t see if that helps. I do this once in a while and notice a 3-4 degree difference in temps. Remember dust blocks arflow.

And last but not least, 60 isn't that bad. It's within spec for the CPU as pweffy said and nothing to be alarmed about. Currently my oc is also generating quite a lot of heat, probably more than yours since I am using a copper heatsink with a 6600RPM fan!!!.

Right now my cpu temps can reach up to 55 degrees on load and i aint reach max fsb yet.

11-18-2005, 10:12 PM
this the lowest voltage cpu will stay stable at for 24 hour prime
cleaned out heatsink and fan and dusted out pc as well saw a 2c difference in prime and apparently the temps i gettin are with out thermal paste, when i remove heatsink thermal paste it had on it was all dried up so i defenitly have to get some artic silver and apply some it. only problem is sourcing it :(

11-18-2005, 10:47 PM
yeah new thermal paste with help

if u cant source AC5 well use normal silicon tp even though its not the best it still better than no tp

and the next possible idea to cool that pc is get better air flow for the case

the air inside still to stagnant, that is why the huge spike in temp

that should help for now if u have no where of adding fans time to cut some holes for the case and go 120mm because u could use dem later in next cases

11-19-2005, 10:09 PM
ck i doh have any brand name TP but some years ago i bought a tube of TP from the electronics repair store and well i still have lots. i doh mind squeezing out some fuh yuh. I have shared this TP with oveclockers on many occasions before and wouldn't mind doing so once more :coolthumb:

/me does nice guy pose.

11-20-2005, 12:41 AM
if u want a quick fix and dont have tp
use "toothpaste" yes "toothpaste"

yes dat sh!t does work and it does get yuh pc smelling minty fresh

only downfall is yuh cah use it for more than 10mins

11-20-2005, 01:51 AM
lawd d man cuda bbq some chicken on his cpu d other day, u wha him use toothpaste?
yuh pops still benning bout d house fan on open side of case?

11-20-2005, 09:51 AM
yeah he still sayin i wastin current :(

11-20-2005, 10:59 AM
Originally posted by cereal_killer@Nov 18 2005, 05:36 PM
got an old pentium 4 2ghz 400 mhz fsb oc'd to 2.6ghz with 1.575 volts, cpu-z says 1.6v :S
but any ways my idle temps are 39 - 41 c and under 100 % prime 95 load temp is 57- 59 c with teh sides of the case off, when side of case is on idle temps rond 44c and max temp tends to be over 60 c
i currently have the stock heatsink and i was wonderin if it was worth the money to buy a good heatsink considerin how old the cpu is, if the pc dies on i most likely will get a x2 3800 or 4400 but i planning on riding out pc till m2 socket is out and has matured
if u think i should change heatsinks which would u recommend

Whoa now reading this, forums frigg meh up. Since you are considering upgrading in the near future investing $$ in a hs isn't advised esp if you are considering changing socket.

Unfortunately those temps ARE expected of that CPU, yep Intel sux. If anything service the HSF, scrap it and clean out the dust, re-apply some TP no need for AS5. and you are gtg.

11-20-2005, 12:24 PM
Yea doh spend money yet :)
Lemme come test out meh rotary tool on yuh case nah :D