View Full Version : Graphics Card Advice (4200 Ti Vs 6200)

richjob
11-12-2005, 02:00 PM
So I've been rocking an oldish Geforce 4200ti for a couple of years and I want to upgrade it to something that plays games at 1024x768 at a decent clip. I've got a 17" monitor, so I'm not interested in higher resolutions.

I realized my need to upgrade after trying to play Doom 3, and watching a slideshow.

As I'm getting up there in years, I don't play as much 3D shooters as I used to. The last one I bought and played regularly was UT 2004. Still plays decently on my old Geforce 4, especially after the slight overclock I bus on him.

More strategy titles - your Civs, Rise of nations type of stuff. Oh yeah. And Sims 2. Pulls in the girls something fierce. :)

I was wondering if a Geforce 6200 was a decent upgrade option for the Geforce 4200. (if itt's not, I'll use it to replace the GeForce 3 I have in another machine)

Any suggestions, oh gamers?

And no, I don't wish to spend lots of money. Secondhand is OK, once it's from a reputable seller. May do that closer to Christmastime. :)

11-12-2005, 02:47 PM
6200 is about the same speed as the 4200 but with DX9 features... a good card now is the 6600 256mb , goes for around 100 US and can overclock to near 6600gt speed , plus the 6600 core needs the extra ram for some games ,especially doom III if you don't have a gig .

richjob
11-12-2005, 03:43 PM
Originally posted by trinithemc@Nov 12 2005, 02:47 PM
6200 is about the same speed as the 4200 but with DX9 features... a good card now is the 6600 256mb , goes for around 100 US and can overclock to near 6600gt speed , plus the 6600 core needs the extra ram for some games ,especially doom III if you don't have a gig .

Hmmm.

i looked at two that InterPC had, but they were a bit pricey. Perfect decent 6600s, though.

Will continue to look.

11-12-2005, 06:59 PM
How much $$ you willing to spend?

11-12-2005, 08:20 PM
u could buy a 9800 pro if u willin to spend that cash, 6600gt a little better but signficant

11-12-2005, 09:12 PM
Hit us ur planned budget for the card. Then i could advise you

11-12-2005, 10:29 PM
My bad just re-read the topic, 6600GT :)

11-12-2005, 10:39 PM
Para he lookin for an agp card. I suggest gettin a 6600 but might probly be better to order it from away than buy down here as you have a more varied selection and graphic cards can be quite costly here.

richjob
11-12-2005, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by G_Pinkie@Nov 12 2005, 10:39 PM
Para he lookin for an agp card. I suggest gettin a 6600 but might probly be better to order it from away than buy down here as you have a more varied selection and graphic cards can be quite costly here.

Yeah.

It's AGP. Not investing in a 939 socket right now (754 may be technically obsolete, but it will work fine for me - besides, I have this machine real years now), as by the time I upgrade the next time AMD may be using another socket.

Budget? Up to $1000 TT.

I'd do the foreign order thing, but for the lack of people liking Trini credit cards. Yeah, still. :P

Lemme look around, though.

11-13-2005, 01:28 AM
Actually i think mojo has a BFG 6800OC agp for sale for $1300, im sure he is negotiable. check him :)
It unlocks to full 16 pipes i believe i remember him saying on irc... and it will OC well enough to hit at least GT

11-13-2005, 02:03 AM
neither are any good youll play at that res but at min settings and games will still lagg

11-13-2005, 10:33 AM
check mojo for the info for a 6800

i sure u could cough up more than a 1000

just tink about this u had that 4200 way too long and u need a good card to hold for a next 6 yrs

richjob
11-16-2005, 07:19 PM
Originally posted by opium+Nov 13 2005, 10:33 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(opium @ Nov 13 2005, 10:33 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'>check mojo for the info for a 6800

i sure u could cough up more than a 1000

just tink about this u had that 4200 way too long and u need a good card to hold for a next 6 yrs

Hmmm. That sounding kinda feasible. The 6800, I mean. Need to think on this a bit.

<!--QuoteBegin-richjob@Nov 16 2005, 07:19 PM
Hmmm. That sounding kinda feasible. The 6800, I mean. Need to think on this a bit.

Sigh.

One thing you don't want to see when you are updating is a borking machine.

In the last month, that machine has

* burnt out a 512 MB DIMM of DDR 400 memory, including taking out the slot. That hurt.

* Upon stripping down the machine, swollen caps, and one that look like it gone. Needless to say, can't trust the beast again.

* borked install of Win 2 K,(no keyboard or mouse) though i feel part of that problem is sh!t drivers from Logitech

So so far, small upgrade has basically cost me a shitload more than it was supposed to.

So that gosu card go hadda wait until monthend.

Old machine will be cobbled together with old spare parts and donated to a good cause. I promised Tony P a machine, after all.

Digital divide, yo. help reduce youth criminals.

11-16-2005, 08:59 PM
^^^
O K then...

richjob
11-18-2005, 09:57 PM
Originally posted by CRaZYMoFo@Nov 16 2005, 08:59 PM
^^^
O K then...

Yeah. Monthend, finances permitting.

11-19-2005, 02:40 AM
Originally posted by richjob@Nov 16 2005, 06:19 PM
In the last month, that machine has

* burnt out a 512 MB DIMM of DDR 400 memory, including taking out the slot. That hurt.

* Upon stripping down the machine, swollen caps, and one that look like it gone. Needless to say, can't trust the beast again.

that is signs for a new mobo, when caps start to swell it means u went through alot with that pc

richjob
11-19-2005, 09:16 PM
Originally posted by opium@Nov 19 2005, 02:40 AM
that is signs for a new mobo, when caps start to swell it means u went through alot with that pc

I know. I saw the caps, said "WTF" and went out on some emergency part buying. Had plans for that money too. :(

11-19-2005, 09:59 PM
whoa.
juss read this thread and notice that men sellin my card oui. Will do a thread with the stuff i selling.

richjob
11-20-2005, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by mojo@Nov 19 2005, 09:59 PM
whoa.
juss read this thread and notice that men sellin my card oui. Will do a thread with the stuff i selling.

So yuh not willing to negotiate a sale?

richjob
12-03-2005, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by richjob@Nov 20 2005, 01:23 PM
So yuh not willing to negotiate a sale?

Heh.

OK. When the machine is finally up, i'll do some seat of the pants analysis (benchmarks are nice, but it's how a machine feels when you play the game).

Now where did I put that CD...

12-04-2005, 01:34 AM
I assume that the installation went smoothly....

richjob
12-06-2005, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by mojo@Dec 4 2005, 01:34 AM
I assume that the installation went smoothly....

Dread, meh machine down. :(

Hadda do a rebuild from scratch. Meh case down to frame and stuff.

Once I do that, I conducting the scene with that nice card.

Time, time, time.