View Full Version : Cpu Temps

11-10-2005, 07:27 PM
With AC on at 22C and the fan fully roaring I am able to stay WELL below 30C. Some of the guys on topaz didn't believe me so I had to do a screenshot to show them.

BTW this is with the CPU running @ 2.5GHz from 2.0GHz no voltage increase.

11-10-2005, 08:44 PM
Nice
I was running 24-26C on the stock X2 3800+ cooler with case open but then was when i was troubleshooting and thw window was open (letting in 10C air).
Finished troubleshooting and switched to zalman 7000B-Cu and Arctic Silver 5, Now im running 29-31C (window closed) and waiting for burn in :)
Nice temps though if you cud handle the 22C room temp.

11-10-2005, 10:18 PM
Poor circulation AND no AC temps
My tower is closed as well ;)

11-10-2005, 10:58 PM
Interesting
AS5 burned in i guess

11-10-2005, 11:37 PM
Must thank pweff for reminding me to cycle, after doing some reading up on the proper proceedure things were good to go :)

I am runnign a Stress Prime ATM and my CPU TEMP is still below 30C (with AC @ 22C). I am doing some fan adjustments to get my fans ROARING when i game but quiet when idle ;)

SIGH i had to do it over after a reinstall, I better get used to it as I am going to format again...

ecktt seems to think my monitoring software or my boards thermal sensor maybe off, I think he has been using Intels for far to long, behold venice.

11-11-2005, 12:03 AM
Yea I think mine is off too
Smart guardian, everest and NV monitor have settled my cpu around 35C atm (im doing stuff ;))
meanwhile everest has my GPU temp @ 35C while NV monitor has 42C so Im not sure wat going on dey lol

Using speedfan for adjustments?

11-11-2005, 08:58 AM
actually i was!! before the reinstall but before that I was using ITE, now I'm using ITE once again.

I have to buy some fan controllers for my rear+psu+front fans, they are my only source of noise when the PC is idle.

22C isn't necessary to attain these temps all I need is some nice cool air, very happy with this cooler price/performance it rox.

Oh, stress prime SUX I used prime95/superpi for a more powerful stress test and my CPU temp went up to 41C max. I dunno bout other ppl but I love to hear my PC rev up when I stress it.

11-11-2005, 11:08 AM
Check the temp in the BIOS that tends to read higher than when in windows. Also it depends on the type of sensor they used to determine the temp. A longs time now a friend of mine told me there are 2 types used. 1 was a thermionic diode (something so) and the other well I really cyah rem now.. Point is, 1 of them reads up to 10 degrees lower than the other. I not sure what they using these days but its a possiblilty that ur chip will read higher on another board in the same conditions.

Oh yeah I forgot.. I run @ 32-41 depending on time of day and AC/no AC. Hottest i've seen are 51 but that was OCed to 2.5GHz with no AC. Generally I run between 35-39 these days. Oh Case ALWAYS closed and I using stock HSF with AC3 (not 5 cause that sh1t is too adhesive to me. I pulled a Socket A chip clean out the Zif socket once with AC5 since then I never used the stuff.

11-11-2005, 12:32 PM
With AS5 you could try twisting the hsf off, running the system first to heat it up a bit then twisting it off etc.
There are quite a few ways of safely removing ur hsf. Go google it.

11-11-2005, 02:16 PM
Indeed @ many ways of getting the CPU off, I prefer the twisting method :)

Considering CPU util I think the BIOS temp should be less than during windows even @ idle, but say what... I'll give that a shot.

51C @ 2.5GHz stock cooler isn't bad at all, AMD is doing a GJ with those stock coolers.

11-11-2005, 03:14 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Nov 11 2005, 02:16 PM
Indeed @ many ways of getting the CPU off, I prefer the twisting method :)

Considering CPU util I think the BIOS temp should be less than during windows even @ idle, but say what... I'll give that a shot.

51C @ 2.5GHz stock cooler isn't bad at all, AMD is doing a GJ with those stock coolers.

Correct is right, why do you think I was asking Opium for he X2 stock cooler. I read a review with an Thermalright, Zalman, AMD stock HSF and 2 other manufacturers.
The AMD stock heatsink for the X2 rated 3rd outta 5. That would work wonders on meh single core 3500+. But alas Opium brace meh... wha yuh go do....*mumbles something under breath about not helping a chinee bredren out*

11-11-2005, 03:24 PM
Hated my stock AMD cooler, no twisting could have taken place. the heatsink fills the entire bracket.

Isnt the X2 cooler spoilt's own? the one with heatpipes? i wouldnt trade that for nutting just so nah. I had the normal one (which was quickly taken apart for the GTX to use the fan.

11-13-2005, 10:47 AM
exactly, that hsf too nasty to give up
and i have more systems to install in de near future

i will give u ah normal amd hsf if u want :P

11-13-2005, 10:54 PM
ecktt got a view of my rig :), hope he was impressed. <30C @ 2.5GHz in a hot java)

11-14-2005, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by opium@Nov 13 2005, 10:47 AM
exactly, that hsf too nasty to give up
and i have more systems to install in de near future

i will give u ah normal amd hsf if u want :P

Nah I cool... *sighs* I guess I gotta dish out some serious doh and get meself a XP120C or XP90c... hmm or maybe just relax mehself, do want to buy a 4x4...

11-14-2005, 11:05 AM
Consider the thermaltake big typhoon, a definate overlooked gosu cooler.

11-14-2005, 12:28 PM
the SI-120 ownz though, 120mm goodness :D
The Zalman 9500 ownz too
crazy ass cooler
I wuda buy one if i wasnt carrying my rig all over d place. 7000B-Cu ftw

11-14-2005, 12:50 PM
I did quite alot of research when purchasing my thermaltake cooler (for a friend). I admit that I was going for the zalman but now that I have seen its results LIVE and the price of the zalman I am indeed happy with my buy.

The Xp120/90 are great options but @ <50 US the typhoon kix ass, I recently changed my fan to almost double the max RPM of a stock cooler and the performance is noticably better.

Its big no mc and I take precautions when transporting my Tower as a result. However i run my CPU oced by 500MHz and since I dont need to increase voltages for that I hope the lower temps counter the decay process :)

11-14-2005, 01:18 PM
Well once i chook the case in the overhead locker on d plane. I cyah do no more precautions after dat so...
Actually i would have gone with an SI-120 but i bought my cpu cooler before i decided to switch back to ATX.
Anyway it works beautifully and i dont regret my decision. You could never have enuff cpu coolers :P

11-14-2005, 01:24 PM
Umm nah I good dere dox... I was eyeing a few of them and whist I sure they wok great... just looks dangerous.. I mean worse comes to worse yuh could lick way a burglar in yuh house with yuh heatsink but I good. What bout the Al version of the XP90/120? are those any good?

There is an Opteron Aluminium/Copper Heatsink selling on ebay do a search on ebay it should be there for 2 more days. It reading 'genuine' AMD certified heatsinks...Let me know what you think of that... real/fake/good/bad

11-14-2005, 01:46 PM
Indeed there in lies a problem, I noticed the price of the typhoon has increased ALOT 20US more than i paid...

Definately when I making moves to other countries for tourneys I'll have to sell off or buy another cooler for transport.

11-14-2005, 01:47 PM
The Al versions work great :D

that ebay link is not working

Boi para walk with a 7000B-AlCu in yuh back pocket

11-14-2005, 05:21 PM
I cyah give up the GOSU temps !!!! I'll just take out my cooler when transporting my pc over long distances.

11-14-2005, 06:10 PM
hehehehe
ent
AS5 in yuh wallet

11-14-2005, 07:09 PM
actually para hsf mated real goodwith de cpu hence why low temps

and its is really recommended to take out de hsf when transportiing it like a flight and sh!t

a next ting is remove all large cards eg video and now sound cards

hard drives is a next ting, it good to keep dem bubble wrapped during transport.

for christmas i leaving ly pc in miami, because dat sh!t heavy

11-14-2005, 08:06 PM
^^dat is hard work oui
but it hadda b done :(
my pc going everywhere with me dey

11-14-2005, 11:27 PM
I thinking bout transporting my pc for tourneys etc.

11-16-2005, 03:33 AM
once it nice and comfy on de car seats yuh ok

dat will take all vibrations and some deadly shocks

to me AL is de better ting well with copper base and heat pipes

11-16-2005, 08:19 AM
Originally posted by opium@Nov 16 2005, 03:33 AM
once it nice and comfy on de car seats yuh ok

dat will take all vibrations and some deadly shocks

to me AL is de better ting well with copper base and heat pipes

I totally agree, opi you have an xp120/90 what temps do you all get. Hit us some screenshots nah with ac/without

11-16-2005, 11:15 AM
temps are 30 /37/46
no ac idle

temp (http://www.trinigamers.com/~opium/temp.JPG)

11-16-2005, 11:23 AM
I seeing 3 temps there it fluctuating between those 3? Try with AC as well please. BTW I see the fan speed = 0000 running the XP120 without the added fan?

11-16-2005, 05:30 PM
nah some how de sensor not picking up de fan speed

but it was at minimum speed anyway

11-18-2005, 09:47 AM
prob you didn't plug it in the right sensor? Lemme see a cold run I wanna see how well the XP120 performs against the Typhoon.

11-30-2005, 12:12 PM
Important question for para : Did you lap ur huge typhie?
I think mine is holding my oc back somewhat... new fans are on their way so that should definitely help.
Must hit 2.6ghz with this opty :D

11-30-2005, 12:16 PM
lap the typhoon (unclear on that)?

2.6? come on hoss 3.0Ghz with an opteron

11-30-2005, 12:55 PM
Lapping is when you sand down the base of ur hsf to a flatter smoother surface for better contact with cpu.

I gots the worst stepping on the opty. Averages:
CABNE 2.8 ghz -3.2 so on air
CABYE 2.8 ghz- 3.2 so on air
CAB2E 2.6 ghz- 3 so on air
CABGE 2.6 ghz so

In all steppings there are the exceptional cpus that do 200-300mhz more than average so....

For the price it still was an excellent deal :) I got 2.5 stable-ish but i want 2.6 still. Fans supposed to be here later today ;)

11-30-2005, 01:32 PM
I got my 2.5GHz at 1.425 initally and now it works PRIME stable @ AUTO. I get 2.7 etc at higher voltages.

In an article I read although the base of the cooler isn't 'polished' it serves its task with good application of TP. I didn't sand/polish the Cu base.

11-30-2005, 01:41 PM
hmmmm
Well i'll take it in steps, try new fans, then try lapping if i feel up to it.

12-01-2005, 07:36 PM
dont do dat u will void warrenty on cpu

i know for a fact that my hs base smooth

now is to remove the ole tp and ad some new pcm+

12-01-2005, 11:48 PM
There is a deep scratch on the base of my BT, this is not the first time im hearing that the base of the BTs are not always perfectly flat.

12-02-2005, 08:19 AM
Well they are flat but not polished, some TP and you should be <30Cs :D

12-02-2005, 12:49 PM
I doh really care bout whether it polished or not. I am getting 28-30C idle 40C full load but I still think that the base is not perfectly flat...
I dont like how the scratches are looking on the base :(

12-02-2005, 04:16 PM
This is stock with AS5 TP no a/c? Its still a little high compared to mine but anyways cool air should dramatically decrease the temps.

12-02-2005, 06:20 PM
lapping dosent really help temperatures all that much like 1 - 5 degrees. and u run the risk of destroying your heatsink not worth it imo.

Only area it will help is if you bought a faulty HS from the start and need to even it out

12-02-2005, 11:43 PM
no a/c para, d room staying warm as much as i cud help it. temps in the minus up here dese days. changed stock fan to a TT smart fan, full speed.

well i will hold off the lapping for now but i still dont like the deep scratches on the base.
will do more research on it