View Full Version : Video X-games 2006
vxg_gizmo
11-09-2005, 12:06 PM
The Video X-Games (VxG) is a yearly Video Game competition held on the Island of St. Maarten. The competition attracts over 100 local players on the island and many more international competitors from other Islands such as Puerto Rico, Jamaica, St. Kitts, The U.S Virgin Islands and also from other countries, including The Netherlands, Guyana, Colombia and Mexico. This year, VXG is looking to grow to 300 participants by making special packages for those travelling from aborad to be a part of this super event.
The competition basically runs 15 - 20 games in several genres and only the most poluar and competitive games are a part of the major tournament. There are also extra games run, team competiton, and new to this year, the conveted Caribbean VXG Championship.
Prizes are expected to be better than ever! Cash prizes of up to $1000.00 (US$), video game systems, airline tickets, other techonlogical gadgets such as ipods and much more can be won at this competition. We are working on becoming a regional championship for the World Cyber Games, and all responses we have gotten from that organziation have been positive so far, so itsa good chance our winners will be sent there. Also, EVO, the worlds most popular fdighting championship, is in direct collaboration with Video X-Games.
Of course, the main prize is the bargging rights of supremacy in your game in the as crowned by VxG, the coveted "Blue-Roo" Troophy - a trophy many have started to call the "Oscar" or "Golden Globe" of caribbean video games. We also send our winners to other islands and around the world, such as Jehiel Alexander, who after winning our Halo championship was sent to france and became their national champion, then followed on to be the Halo 2 Champion of Europe earlier this year.
There will also be several expos slated, such as visits from video game companies, the The Tech - Museum of Technology and others. We are also hoping to invite the cast and crew of Bang the Machine to this tournament, the reality TV show in the USA that tells the story of old school gamers trying to re-own their skills.
The weekend event is slated for Mid July, whcih allows you to take advantage of Off-Season Rates and the popular Summerfest concerts on St. Maarten. This is a good chance for gamers to not only meet the gamers from the Caribbean and compete for the championship, but also to enjoya nice vacation in St. Maarten. Snce we have the backing of sevral airlines, hotels and even the Government of St. Maarten, we will be designing very affordable package options to meet your needs if you choose to participate.
One accomodation idea we have is the buddy system, where we will pair off as many of you with a buddy from St. Maarten who can be your host for the week(end). For those of you that want to stay in a hotel, we will make sure have the best hotel accomodation you can get within whatever budget you present to us.
Please feel free to visit our website: www.vxg2k6.com
Here we have pictures of previous events, news about other gaming events on the island, and much more.
If you want more information about the competition, feel free to email me at info@vxg2k6.com. I will come back to these forums regularly to update you on the progress. We want to be able to have things set way in advanced, so that we can give you much time to plan for your trip next summer to St. Maarten.
Peace out guys, and good gaming!
Rolando Brison a.k.a Coconut Gizmo
Chief Coordinator
Video X-Games 2006 Committee
P.S. Here is a link to the st. maarten website, so you can also get a look at what the island itself will have to offer.
www.st-maarten.com
11-09-2005, 03:03 PM
good stuff there, i'll be contacting you soon :)
11-09-2005, 03:19 PM
Posted something on your message board as well as filled out your poll.
vxg_gizmo
11-10-2005, 11:08 AM
Hi guys, i have a lil update to make.
We've tallied our game voting and also read many of your emails and suggestions regarding the inclusion of PC Gaming into the VxG organization. Up until last year, we've been a strictly console gaming syndicate. This is only because the activity for PC gaming on St. Maarten has not bee as big as console gaming, but now that we are becoming more and more internationally involved, we have seen how important it is for us to include PC Gaming into our official roster.
World Cyber Games has also informed us that we might have to increase our PC gaming roster if we are to become an official affiliate with them, antoher insentive for us to increase our pc gaming base.
We'll be having a meeting this weekend to officially include PC gaming on our roster. Off the top of my head, half-life counterstrike, Age of Empires and Warcraft 3 are some of the games getting major votes so far.
We'll also discuss the possibilty of sponsoring a Caribbean server for online gaming. I'll assigne the relevant members to start a feasabilty study on that idea.
11-10-2005, 11:23 AM
Vgx, i got wind of your X games yesterday , i see you got my questionaire ( and link ) ^_^ , thanks for coming and posting for us
some questions
What kind of arrangements can be made for accomadation ( costs etc )
for instance, say 10 of us were to pool and come across, can we get a special rate at a hotel or plane tickets ?
the cost of this venture would be the main problem with our participating i'm guessing
also , wha kind of prizes would be offered ? ( would the trip be worth it? ) ... or atleast , what kind of prizes were given out in the last event
this event look promising
11-10-2005, 11:24 AM
Originally posted by vxg_gizmo@Nov 10 2005, 11:08 AM
Hi guys, i have a lil update to make.
We've tallied our game voting and also read many of your emails and suggestions regarding the inclusion of PC Gaming into the VxG organization. Up until last year, we've been a strictly console gaming syndicate. This is only because the activity for PC gaming on St. Maarten has not bee as big as console gaming, but now that we are becoming more and more internationally involved, we have seen how important it is for us to include PC Gaming into our official roster.
World Cyber Games has also informed us that we might have to increase our PC gaming roster if we are to become an official affiliate with them, antoher insentive for us to increase our pc gaming base.
We'll be having a meeting this weekend to officially include PC gaming on our roster. Off the top of my head, half-life counterstrike, Age of Empires and Warcraft 3 are some of the games getting major votes so far.
We'll also discuss the possibilty of sponsoring a Caribbean server for online gaming. I'll assigne the relevant members to start a feasabilty study on that idea.
ploy @ increase PC gaming
the counter strike and warcraft definitely gets our vote :D
krog23
11-10-2005, 11:59 AM
ull be hearing from me soon wc3 and cs getting my votes for shizzle..things look real nice and stuff hope i can actually get to make it too...
vxg_gizmo
11-10-2005, 04:57 PM
Originally posted by rumbelly@Nov 10 2005, 11:23 AM
Vgx, i got wind of your X games yesterday , i see you got my questionaire ( and link ) ^_^ , thanks for coming and posting for us
some questions
What kind of arrangements can be made for accomadation ( costs etc )
for instance, say 10 of us were to pool and come across, can we get a special rate at a hotel or plane tickets ?
the cost of this venture would be the main problem with our participating i'm guessing
also , wha kind of prizes would be offered ? ( would the trip be worth it? ) ... or atleast , what kind of prizes were given out in the last event
this event look promising
Well, since its early on, we are still working on the packages with the various companies who sponsor and affiliate with us. Basically though, it depends on what you want. Let me break down what the prices depends on, and how it has looked based on past competitons and brief talks with some of the sponsors.
Airlfare: We will negotiate with the airlines. The more people coming, the more the chances are that we can charter a plane from Liat (25 people) whcih will be the rock bottom price, better than anything a travel agent can offer. Thats why we are promoting early so that we can give everyone a heads up and get an estaimte. Right now, next to puerto rico, you guys in trinidad seem to show the most interest in attending, and 25 is quite posible, whcih could bring the price of the ticket to (maybe) $100 US round trip (might be more with taxes).
Accomodation: Depends on what accomodation you want. By December, we'll have a page on our site that will outline the different possibilities for accomodation, whcih can be sorted by Price. The more people you stay with in a room also affects how much it costs.
My ideal recomdendation for hotel: Royal Plam Beach Resort, since they have very large room with 2 kingsize bedrooms whcih 5 of you buddies can stay very comfortably in. Also has pool and it very close to where all the nightlife and hotspots are on the island. Has 3 Tv'sm so you can hook up some systems and practice anytime you want. Shoul cost about $80.00 per person for the weekend. http://www.royalpalmbeachresort.com/ Really a beautiful hotel for an affordable price....Imagine that such a nice hotel can cost you no more than $80.00 for the weekend, you can get other cheaper options that are still very comofrtable, such as the Airport Inn hotel.
We will also include in your package Breakfast and Dinner each day, provided by our sponsors, a whole lot of free vouchers such as theatre passes, nightclub V.I.P entry's and discount vouchers.
All in all, you get an all inclusive (airfare, hotel, registration fees, food, transportation) for a whole weekend (thursday or friday to monday) for anywhere between $200.00 to $400.00. Save youself $1.00 each day from december to July and you'd probably have more than enough to come.
This is all subject to change of course, so please don;t hold me to this. This is a rough estimate based on past competitions. I am dedicating all of my term as Chief Coordinator to making it as attractive and affordable as possible for international particpants.
:kakashi4: (only because this is the coolest emoticon i have ever seen!)
11-11-2005, 09:23 AM
hmmmm
$100 + 80 usd ( cheapest ? )
hmm , hear what team .. yall better start saving :D ( i'll have a free ticket :) .. workin in the bank and all nah .. dsi )
sounds nice though , another thing though ( you din answer in meh last time ah ask ), who bout prizes ? :)
i mean , im sure its impossible for u to say what the prizes would be for nex year, but how were prizes in the years before ?
vxg_gizmo
11-11-2005, 12:35 PM
Originally posted by vxg_gizmo@Nov 9 2005, 12:06 PM
Prizes are expected to be better than ever! Cash prizes of up to $1000.00 (US$), video game systems, airline tickets, other techonlogical gadgets such as ipods and much more can be won at this competition. We are working on becoming a regional championship for the World Cyber Games, and all responses we have gotten from that organziation have been positive so far, so itsa good chance our winners will be sent there. Also, EVO, the worlds most popular fdighting championship, is in direct collaboration with Video X-Games.
Of course, the main prize is the bargging rights of supremacy in your game in the as crowned by VxG, the coveted "Blue-Roo" Troophy - a trophy many have started to call the "Oscar" or "Golden Globe" of caribbean video games. We also send our winners to other islands and around the world, such as Jehiel Alexander, who after winning our Halo championship was sent to france and became their national champion, then followed on to be the Halo 2 Champion of Europe earlier this year.
Sry i had meant to say in the last post that you can check above. But let me be a little more specific.
Prizes have improved every year since the first competition. We started out with a purse (total prize money) of $500, and our last competition had a purse in excess of $4000.00 US. We expect to double that purse next year, brining the total value of prizes in the range of $8000.00 - $10.0000 US. What does that mean individually?
We give prizes in a ratio of "prize value: number of contestants". The more players signing up for a game, or the more players you had to defeat to win, the bigger the prize. The prizes will be the combination of 1) a cash prize 2) a "hard prize" and 3) medals, trophies, certificates. Hard prize in the past have been xbox's, GC's, ipod's, laptop computer's, home entertainment systems, airline tickets. At a minimum, the best game should gross $1000.00 US which is spread {70%, 20%, 10%} between 1st, 2nd and 3rd.
All in all, we aim to be the highest prize giving competition, or the competition with the highest purse, in the Caribbean, whci is why we've had an international pull in previous competitions. This si the first time we are directly marketing to trinidad. So to answer your question, if you spend $200.00 to come here and win $700.00 and an xbox 360, yep, its worth it :kakashi4:
Many side prizes are also given by the way. If you look in our hall of fame, you see we also give prizes like:
Sportmanship award: The players who plays like, umm, a sportman!
Charismatic player award: The player who we all love to hate and all hate to love in the competition. The Mr. Congeniality of the competition, if you please :laughing:
Best under 13 player: the best young kid who comes out to play with the big boys.
Overall champion: Player who has displayed a wide range of skills in gaming. This is based on a point system that is tabulated at the end of the competition. This person gets an extra prize (Cash, Hard and Certifications).
Also, the national champions of the caribbean get to keep the National Championship Cup for one year. If they come back and are able to defend it, they will keep the Cup. The national champions also receive free V.I.P entrance into the next competition in the games they please, and are allowed to skip the qualify round of the National Championship.
11-11-2005, 02:36 PM
Counter Strike Source (base on the Halflife2 engine)???
Warcarft III Now you are talking.
WCG see yah soon.
vxg_gizmo
11-25-2005, 10:20 AM
Hey guys, just a little update.
We'll be sending out our newsletter this weekend. For those of you that would like to receive it, you can either put your email in this forum or you can subscribe by sending an email to info@vxg2k6.com.
The Video X-Games will put its highly anticipated ranking system into effect by the begining of December. The system, codenamed the "Vx-Guage", will be used to rank all contestants in snactioned tournaments on St. Maarten and around the Caribbean according to a complex formula that takes many factors into account, such as the number of contestants, contestant ranking, number of kills, points and other bonusses, level of the event, streak bonusses and many others. The result is a total of points that is awarded to the player.
More info on the system will be available on our website by the end of this week (www.vxg2k6.com).
11-26-2005, 01:03 AM
hmmmmmmmm
"sanctioned tourneys" ? :)
11-26-2005, 09:45 AM
I await my newsletter :D, nice idea with respect to the ranking system these sanctioned tourneys refer to those conducted by your affiliates as well?
11-26-2005, 11:57 AM
If you host counter strike source. i guarantee to bring u around 10 people
11-26-2005, 02:25 PM
He actually IS considering it hence why we sending up eX1/2. Apparently bushman wanna fill up the trini plane!!
11-26-2005, 10:56 PM
yea iwill bring up 2 teams or so we already have almost 2 teams and im recruiting so hopefully by thne we can have 3 teams
11-27-2005, 10:22 AM
ey but bushman ... if eXcalibur going , alyuh really still wanna go ?
^_^ ^_^
j/k
11-27-2005, 11:34 AM
hey 4 teams=20 ppl....we not only goin and play source u kno...they have other games there that we might be able to represent for...how about we only send our best
we can have our national tournaments to decidewhat goes on
11-27-2005, 04:14 PM
time to make multiple accounts and start voting for UT, j/k, although i wouldn't mind visiting St Maarten just for the heck of it, participating or not, i'm going.
11-27-2005, 05:37 PM
done watching that source seems to be priority number 1
gj guys
hope the console ppl get a spot there
< _ < > _ >
vxg_gizmo
11-28-2005, 08:19 AM
Hey guys,
:coolthumb: that you pinned the topic.. frankly i'm honored to be all the way up here in your forum. heheh...
It's a good idea to send only your best, BUT if you want to get the best price to come, the more that you bring the merrier. With 20 people, we can pretty much charter a plane that would drop the price to 75% of the normal ticket price. So i'd still recommend you come with as many as possible.
We had a little delay with our newsletter thanks to some techincal difficulty (html emails can be quite the bitch sometimes!)
Oh about the ranking... sanctioned tourneys are those that we deem "up to standards" for the vx-guage. I'm sure that in trinidad you have several, so on December 1sdt you can submit your tournaments for sanctioning. Eventually it would mean that we'll send a delegation to review that tournament.
Since our president is from Trinidad (Jeff Oliver) we have someone that goes to trinidad quite regularly. I will have the pres. visit you guys next time he's over there.
11-28-2005, 02:11 PM
lars> we will need a cheering section :D
vxg> Wonderful that you have a Trinidad rep, liasing with him before we conduct big events is a must.
11-28-2005, 05:34 PM
i actually i hoping to record the entire thing and do an independent documentary kinda thing, just for fun though.
11-28-2005, 05:39 PM
good plan there larry
another flip out and kill production ?
geese dont worry, in the end i will make sure the contingent from trinigamers, will represent us in the most possible events at the vxg.
Menace
11-28-2005, 07:07 PM
counter strike 1.6 and SF hyper fighting for the vote....
Seeing as this will be your first pc event , I would like to point out a few things for consideration, especially if u guys want to hook up with wcg and eswc.
1. B.Y.O.C Section for spectators and players - for viewing matches live and player practice or warm up's with other teams before matches.
2. Big screen for spectating matches and seperated spectator area as to not disturb tournament matches and players. using tools as hltv or source tv.
3.International rules as to avoid any biases e.g cal , cpl or wcg rules - which are all accessable and downloadable online.
4.Early posting of rules, mapes, schedules, game version, anti-cheat software etc so that teams can properly prepare before making the trip.
5. Oh and my dream which I always have to mention...online league or qualifiers restricted to the caribbean and latin america with lan finals. A vxg event hosted like the worldcup in diffrent country's of our region exclusively.
6.Online registration for foriegn players and teams, discounts or other incentives for early registration.
We the caribbean are way behind the rest of the world and I am happy to see an organisation as VXG doing what i have been lobbying for a few years now. But with that said we need to get this done like yesterday, so I urge u to be vigilant in your endervours so that we can see more caribbean teams and players being represented at events like cpl world tour, with 300,000.00 us in prize money for the 2k6 lead game COUNTER-STRIKE 1.6 for teams placings from 64th - 1st. Which happens to be the most played fps worldwide, not source....*lol(:
Ps. email me for more. GameBoyz@hotmail.com
oh one more thing....WCG used cs 1.6 for qualifiers and then forced players to use source for the finals top us teams as 3D had to learn source in order to maintain thier title of 3 yaers WCG champions. That event turned out to have the least amount of spectators for any wcg counter strike event ever. a few hundred for the finals as oposed to somethinbg like 30,000 specatators live for perivous years where 1.6 was the game played. So my pint is watch what the big events are doing but also lean from thier mistakes.
DO YOUR HOMEWORK AND REPRESENT US RITE VXG.
11-28-2005, 07:43 PM
but menace...what you fail to realise is that times have moved on... why do u think wcg did that with source? because its what is with the times and its what they want
so do like 3D and master source..adapt...play...and hopefully win(for allyuh)
i know yal played in the touneys before and did ok...nice organisation and what not.
but source is the new stuff...and it is being played more widely these days as everything has been ironed out...DO UR HOMEWORK :P j/k
the rules etc would be posted and stuff and i am certain of that...this
tournament running years up now and ill give them their credit they have
things handled
you would be taken care of as a gamer menace im sure and maybe you can bring your fire to the tournament too
11-28-2005, 09:57 PM
hyper fighting ? please get serious. Every major worldwide tournament is using 3rd Strike, the oldest street fighter still used in major tournies is Super SF2 Turbo.
good points there both geese and xec...
Menace, if u read gizmo's posts from before they are trying to get accepted into the wcg, Now WCG is sticking to source becuase they know the importance of moving with the times. Source is still a baby so its not yet widely expected but soon it will be, MOST PPL didnt move on to source becuase of the High End SPecs needed to run it compared to that of 1.6 . The amount of ppl switching to source however is increasing... and i assure soon 1.6 will be a thing of the past.
11-28-2005, 11:14 PM
I can't speak on the console gaming, I can tell you this much Geese keeps track of the intl scene and I 100% trust his console gaming judgement.
On the basis of 1.6 Vs Source, for ages Menace has tried to get us to downgrade from Source to 1.6, Menace with time comes change and WCG has made the change to Source. On the VXG forums you will see that Ronaldo mentioned that WCG requested Source, its not a fad, its very real.
I think the guys behind VXG did a good job, the researched their material and made good choices on their game line up.
Menace buddy time to train up, see you in St Marteen?
Lokes> They also stuck to 1.6 because most of the big tourneys were still 1.6, slowly everyones making the move, we were fortunate that we didn't get stuck using 1.6 and quickly moved on.
11-29-2005, 12:07 AM
me and my teams will be home scratchin if its 1.6
vxg_gizmo
11-29-2005, 12:33 AM
Thanks guys... i'm taking note of all your comments. I'm not afraid to admit that VxG is a bit rookie in the PC realm :34: but thats exactyl why we want to affiliate with an experienced organization like trinigamers.
Keep the suggestions roling...
11-29-2005, 02:15 AM
big issue would be what kinda PC specs would you guys be providing for the tourney ?
Source especially is a resource hog ... need a nice high end machine to run it properly
11-29-2005, 08:42 AM
The WCG rules are quite similar to the one we use, instead of 1:45 round time they use 2:00min ploy :D
http://www.worldcybergames.com/wcg2005/wc_...games_cs_03.asp (http://www.worldcybergames.com/wcg2005/wc_officialgames_cs_03.asp)
11-29-2005, 08:56 AM
Originally posted by Geese@Nov 28 2005, 05:39 PM
good plan there larry
another flip out and kill production ?
i have an exclusive contract so yeah. :kakashi4:
vxg_gizmo
11-29-2005, 12:07 PM
Hey guys,
I twould be good if you guys could post some of these suggestions at our forum, since i'd like the rest of the community to see your suggestions and comment. Also, i'm the only one from my organization that visits here, and i'd like them to see it on our forum.
See ya there...
11-29-2005, 12:17 PM
I can see this trip has already started to unite us in some form or the other, I hope the members of GATT will partake in this UNITY.
GAMING WARRIORS!!
vxg_gizmo
11-29-2005, 12:45 PM
Amen Brother... Amen...
By the way, the forum is at our site, www.vxg2k6.com... on the navbar click on vxg forums...
11-29-2005, 05:58 PM
hey if yall need a console gamer i am the halo man....halo 1 and halo 2 i can do.but i need team huh?
11-29-2005, 09:45 PM
Yeah, erm pops buyin me a nice digital video camera for christmas, so i can be GAMERS' official cameraman, also you all have sponsors ? If you all in need of some, i know de owner of Funcity, he may be willing to, also my pops rell cool wid de ppl in Heineken, he cud ask dem too, but why wud we want to be sponsored by Beer ppl ? :s
11-30-2005, 09:21 AM
No haram sponsers :D
11-30-2005, 02:32 PM
I know if you put up a carib banner you get 5 case of carib free :)
5 case per banner.
11-30-2005, 04:27 PM
lol, well no to heine, but i'll ask funcity
11-30-2005, 07:25 PM
think about the age group this event will attract and think about who will benefit from advertising through the organisation.
11-30-2005, 07:44 PM
Mountain dew(pepsi) the Official Sweat drink!!
tstt...they like to sponsor
11-30-2005, 08:13 PM
TSTT sounds like a good one boy Xec, what about the Wizz ? And also maybe we can tap the sponsors of Arena ?
11-30-2005, 08:19 PM
Maybe we should approach both Digicel and TSTT :D
12-02-2005, 11:35 AM
i like how this moving, here's another bit of info. Most of the gamers that pay attention to this site hail from the east to the west, and the age groups are from 16-25-ish, and under all seriousness, that is a big group that the Ministry of health LOVES to target, and that is especially during the comign seasons of both Xmas and carnival. they like to push messages about AIDS substance abuse etc, but it is hard for them at times to properly target the market.but look at it like this Trinigamers is focusing on keeping the youth of the nation engagaed in activites that will assisit their mental and social development through engaging in events that promote the spirit of competition. don't know about you guys but i think this is a good way to start.
PS, don't focus soo much on IT and game related sponsors, everybody could use a lil PR buy sponsoring ... i dunno i guess you could say Cyberathlete.
vxg_gizmo
12-02-2005, 12:20 PM
Hey guys,
So i assume you're seeking sponsorship to fund your trips here? That would be great for you guys indeed. Our package deals are coming along well so far, and soon we'll be able to accept pre-registration forms. The only holdup is the answer from the Conference Centers we've sent proposals to. Where waiting for 2 more bids before we choose the location and can incorporate bottom line price.
Laruto is right. Goevernment companies also cover sponsorships. We have been given some good incentives from Government. When you s[peak of things like "Keeping the youth engaged in positive activities" and "Representing the youth of {your country}" they feel inclined to do something.
If you would need any kiind of official letters of recommendation or anything like that from me, please just let me know. Best way is via email: info@vxg2k6.com, and i'll have my assistant work on that right away.
12-06-2005, 11:12 AM
God willing ill be there but i gettin my own ticket :) :D :P
i go big up the tg and gt men ploi
halo2 iymc
Crixx_Creww
12-06-2005, 02:50 PM
yeah this sounding like ah bess lime!!
i bringing some girls with me, i know it have some men from dong we side that going up, buh i mention it to some girls and they is like oh that sounds like fun , can we come?
Lol yay.
Yall speak dutch on st maarten as well right?
One of the girls is from suriname and shes a dutch cutey
12-06-2005, 03:35 PM
hmm a big plane/2 small ones :)
Hmm hotels/guest houses, mosques, hospitals, car rental need to map all of this out.
vxg_gizmo
01-14-2006, 01:16 PM
Hey guys, It's me again hitting you guys with some important updates!
First of all, the Pre-Registration form is up and running at our site. For those of you who think you have interest in coming to St. Maarten for the Video X-Games, please takea minute to visit our site and fill in the pre-registration form. (www.vxg2k6.com)
As an extra incenctive, for those who pre-register before March 1st, you'll get a chance for a free V.I.P Pass to the Video X-Games, which grants you al access to al events, luncheons, trade shows, movies and games (a USD $100 Value).
By filling out the pre-registration form, we'll know what we would need to provide for you, and we'll send you back an estimate of the costs. Since this varies depdning on where you're travelling from, we'll be taking extra care to every individual who registers. Once you receive the information, there will be a cutoff date for registrations.
We will have a contact in Trinidad who will be accepting payments for the Video X-Games. That way you don;t need to wrry about Credit Card payments online. You can just go to that office and make your payments there.
All of these are just more ways VxG is making it easy for you to be a part of the Video X-Games. Remeber, our #1 priority at VxG is to provide a top notch Video Game Tournament that people from all around the Caribbean can come and enjoy. This means we will be working hard to get the best possible rates for travel and accomodation, while still dishing out some of the best prizes the Caribbean Gamers have ever seen.
For more info, please email info@vxg2k6.com, or hit us at our forums at our website.
vxg_gizmo
01-14-2006, 01:23 PM
Oh, and if any of you need to get in contact with me quick... th ebest way would be via Instant Messenger. I use msn, and my email is Coconutgizmo@hotmail.com...
I don't get so much time to visit all the various forums, since there are so many international affiliates i deal with... thats why i may take long to reply to your personal messages through this forum. Sorry that you got such late replies to your messages, hopefully by adding me on msn you can get in contact with me quick...
I really have to say a special thank you to trinigamers. The information you have given us about Counterstrike is very valuable, since admitedly, we have never hosted PC Gaming beofre, and we will need help to make t run smoothly. Please conitnue giving us your suggestions at our forum... it is VERY much appreciated
www.vxg2k6.com
vxg_gizmo
01-19-2006, 12:47 PM
Hey guys,
The Video X Games committee is in full swing to start the new year. Several new major updates have been made, since we have now decided on our game roster and schedule of events, and registration has opened.
The Video X Games roster can be found at our website, www.vxg2k6.com. The specific link for the game roster is http://www.vxg2k6.com/thegamestheroster.htm
As you can see, we have almost 20 games on our lineup. Our competition ussually includes 15-20 games, since we are not specifically catering to any particular Genre. Also, notice that we've added PC Games to our roster for the first time ever. Counterstrike Source is confrimed, warcraft 3 with the DOTA expansion is being considered, especially due to the high number of votes it received at our website. The main constraint with Warcraft is time... we'll update that issue soon.
You can also check out the schedule for the weekend at the following link: http://www.vxg2k6.com/the2006schedule.htm
Please fill in the Pre-Regsitration form for a.s.a.p to ensure you can get the cheapest possible fare for coming to St. Maarten. The more of you that register, the better the deals we can get from airlines and hotels.
Next, we'll be putting up the pricing for the competition and the Prizes very soon, so keep visiting our site and forums for updates. Our total purse of prizes is expected to value in excess of $10.000, including 4 trips to the Giga Games in Guadloupe to the winners of Pro Evoultion Soccer, Need for Speed, Tekken 5 and SC3.
01-19-2006, 01:17 PM
A few of our members have registered, I'll keep checking your website for updates.
vxg_gizmo
03-22-2006, 10:03 AM
Hey guys... haven;t been her ein a while, since i been in contact with those of you who have already registered. But i think its time i update everyone else, in case others are still thinking about registering.
So far, Trinidad leads the number of Caribbean confirmed Registrations with about 10. We expect even more of you to come, and probably end up going with a lot of prizes too! Also, Prez, a native trinidadian who lives in Canada (street fighter champ there) will be coming to the tourney also as a guest too.
Anyway, here is some important details about those of you who want to come (all dollar references are USD).
Hotel
Most of you have elected to stay in a hotel, and lots of you have also agreed to share rooms. For those of you willing to share rooms, i think i would suggest you get in contact with eachother. Trinidadians will be getting a very special offer! One of the premier hotels on the island, Royal Palm Hotel, will be offering a discounted rate. Their rooms are Big, beautiful and very comofrtable. It has 3 TV's (plenting of gaming for you while you at your room) one of St. Maarten's nicest pools and its close to eh beach and partty area of the island. It's only about 10 minutes from the event location (depending on traffic), but we will provide transportation anyway. The unit has 2 bedrooms each with a kingsize bed and a king size couhcbed outside. It has a kitchen too, so if you wanna cook up your own dinner you'll be free to to do so. Here is a link to the hotel: http://www.royalpalmbeachresort.com/
The cost will be $140 per night per ROOM. This is very good, since you guys can choose how many of you wish to share the room. Personally, i suggest sharing it between 5 of you. That way, you end up paying only about $120 in accomodation EACH for the entire duration, from thursday to monday. You can even have 6 (2 per bed) and the savings would be even greater. We leave that much up to you.
For those of you who do not want to share rooms or would prefer something simpler, we have mid-town motel offering about $40.00 per night for a single-bed room. Of course, your
own rooms costs you more money, so we STRONLGY recommend sharing rooms.
Hope this is clear... let me know what you think
Airline
For trinidad, this is our biggest holdup. We have ben trying to get a discounted rate but have not received any repsonce as yet. However, i can show you the regular rates that you can expect, travelling with Liat, to attend the competition.
The reuglar fare on Liat amounts to just over $160, plus tax. So to be safe, $200.00 would be the regular fare you could expect in the WORST case scenario. In the event that we do not succeed to gauranttee any lower price, we will advize that you take this offer.
For those of you willing to spend a bit more, or if you have frequent flyer deals with BWIA, you can also fly to St. Maarten using that airline. Caribbean Sun also offers flights, but none of the airliens are cheaper than Liat. We recommend liat, but as you can see, we also recommend you fly on the day before the competition just in case!
Cost
So as you can see, so far you are looking at about $120 for accomdation and about $200 for travel. The regsitration fees have been at the site for some time (hope you saw it already) and those would amount to:
INTERNATIONAL PACKAGE:
Registration Fee (Entire Weekend)
$ 65.00
Price per Game
$ 5.00
Re-entry fee*
$ 3.00
So, say one of you come and sigs up for 4 games, you can expect a total expense of $400.00 whcih includes accomodation, flight, breakfast, lunch and transportation, plus other specials. You can choose how much you want to walk with to spend on shopping (St. Maarten is one of the Nuber 1 shopping destinations!) and dinner. I personally recommend about $20 per day.
Payment
VxG only requires you to pay your registration fee in full BEFORE june 14th 2006, whcih is $65.00. Your hotel reservation will be made, but you will have to pay on your arrival. Your ticket will have to be paid for in trinidad, depending on whether you book online or with a travel agent. The payment will be made to a bank account in Trinidad, and your proof of payment can be faxed to us, or you can scan and email it. We will give you further information as soon as this bank account is set up (expect in 1 week).
The registration fee is non-refundable since as soon as we receive your payment, we would have already begun printing your shirts, badges and processing your reservations. We encourage you to please register on time! There will be a much higher price for late regsitrations (after the june 14th deadline) is any are allowed at all.
Your ideas
Many of you have given some great ideas, such as including portable gaming and PC Gaming. Thanks a lot for the ideas.... Keep them coming. You can email us at this email (info@vxg2k6.com) anytime with you ideas, or drop a post in our forums.
Prizes
The games will be given prizes accoridng to our tradiontal approach, where the highest grossing game gets the highest prize. In other words, the more people you had to beat to win, the better your prize. This makes sense, to reward your efforts and to ensure that those who had the hardest time winning get good prizes. Of course, ALL prizes will be good. Last year, we gave away nothing less than "slim version" ps2 consoles (very new at the time), along with several PSP's, Flights with american airlines, home threates, and more. Expect the prizes to be MUCH improved this year. We will also be offering 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes this year, with the tradional 60-20-10 routine.
Expect a total purse of over $10,000 US Dollars. That at least 750 USD per game.
Well thats about it for now. You now know how much you can expect it to cost for you to come.
We thank you so much for your interest in VxG, and we really look forward to seeing you here.
Best Regards,
Rolando Brison
Chief Coordinator, VxG
info@vxg2k6.com
03-22-2006, 01:26 PM
sweet @ prez being there, now i'll have someone to practice with before the tourney begins :D
03-22-2006, 10:17 PM
i will be coming to this event...if not in the game tournament i will be covering with video etc... in and around the event would there be wifi access? for live report purpouses and/or wifi gaming amongst spectators with psp/nintendo ds around?
03-22-2006, 10:52 PM
I have some issues concerning some info I got from gizmo today. Main issue is 3rd Strike on XBOX. IF I was a pad player I wouldn't have any issue with the XBOX version, gameplay wise it is identical to the ps2 version..HOWEVER it has come to my attention that using PS2 pads on a XBOX can cause input lag, and while gizmo has assured me that there is no lag, I'm not so sure I wanna take the chance of carrying my stick to St. Maarten and it having horrible input lag due to the pcb inside.
My question is ...why not use the PS2 version ? In almost every major console based tournament Tekken, Street Fighter and even Guilty Gear is run on PS2. I know that you are trying to please the local crowd but the foriegners are the one spending large amounts of dineros to come to St. Maarten to participate. I'm sure it would be much more easier to get XBOX to PS2 Converters running with less lag than the other way around.
I am hoping that this rant is taken seriously as I will be spending upwards of $400 USD to come to St Maarten to participate in these tournaments, and I want to enjoy myself and feel that I got my monies worth.
vxg_gizmo
03-23-2006, 09:12 AM
Originally posted by Geese@Mar 22 2006, 10:52 PM
I have some issues concerning some info I got from gizmo today. Main issue is 3rd Strike on XBOX. IF I was a pad player I wouldn't have any issue with the XBOX version, gameplay wise it is identical to the ps2 version..HOWEVER it has come to my attention that using PS2 pads on a XBOX can cause input lag, and while gizmo has assured me that there is no lag, I'm not so sure I wanna take the chance of carrying my stick to St. Maarten and it having horrible input lag due to the pcb inside.
My question is ...why not use the PS2 version ? In almost every major console based tournament* Tekken, Street Fighter and even Guilty Gear is run on PS2. I know that you are trying to please the local crowd but the foriegners are the one spending large amounts of dineros to come to St. Maarten to participate. I'm sure it would be much more easier to get XBOX to PS2 Converters running with less lag than the other way around.
I am hoping that this rant is taken seriously as I will be spending upwards of $400 USD to come to St Maarten to participate in these tournaments, and I want to enjoy myself and feel that I got my monies worth.
Well, you are absolutely right. It's always hard in our organization when it comes to deciding multiplatform. And yes, locals make up a large protion of our game votes submitted online, which was invented to put more demorcacy in the way we choose the system for muliplatform games. But of course, with VxG shifting more and more towards a Caribbean competition, i do try my best to take the interests of all into account.
See, in the past we solved it by using converters. For the last 3 years since using them, we have never had any official complaints. But i understand the sceptisism, since it is in fact a hardware emulator, and cannot be perfect. Also, we had standard arcade pads that we prodivded, and many arcade players found them quite generic enough to use as if they were in the arcade (we use the Tekken Jin Force arcade pads for tekken and SC2 and we use the Official Capcom arcade pads for SF Games).
I am speaking with the head referee, and we basically can predict two things. 1) we hold it on both systems. In order for that to happen, we would have to follow our ussual policy, whcih is that each game must have at least 24 entrants, whcih means 3s would have to have 48 signups in total. This is easily possible with MVC2, but as thrid strike has not warmed up to so many caribbean players yet, i don't see that happening (but its an option and its possible).
The other option (2) would be to change it to PS2, like you said. I woul dbe more eager to do this if you could get me more of your trinidad 3s players whou would agree, and i would also send out an email to the other gaming organizations around the caribbean about this.
Thanks for your comments geese, rest assured that we take it into consideration. If solution 1 turns out to be possible then i guess yoru satisfied (you could probably enter the xbox version and try see if you would have won in xbox too!). We would just need the signups to justify us hosting (and giving a prize) for it. Keep in mind, the winner, if you travel on to EVO Fighting Championship, you will be playing in the arcade, so i strongly recommend using arcade sticks.
vxg_gizmo
03-23-2006, 09:22 AM
Originally posted by Xecutiona@Mar 22 2006, 10:17 PM
i will be coming to this event...if not in the game tournament i will be covering with video etc... in and around the event would there be wifi access? for live report purpouses and/or wifi gaming amongst spectators with psp/nintendo ds around?
Hey man... good job! Looks like trinidad has its first official Press-Man!
We have made provisions for the press. There will be a press box, where computers will be made available for whatevrr you may need (writing, editing videos, internet). There will also be wifi signal in the building, so what you said is also possible.
There will also be a central point (for at least semi-finals onwarfs) where all press members are allowed to plug in their devices to an external output port we will have (whcih will be splitted to accomodate more devices). That way, you get a direct signal from the console that you can use to input directly into a cam or laptop for hgiher quality videos.
Speaking about press... i would like to start publicizing the large interest in Trinidad gamers in VxG in our local and regional media. Anybody wanna make a writeup about trinigamers for me? Your ideals, you games, your previous victories and an estimate of how many of you are coming? Pictures (real ones prefered not avatars hehe) would be nice too.
Email me at info@vxg2k6.com, or add me on messenger: coconutgizmo@hotmail.com.
03-23-2006, 10:37 AM
EVO is now a console tournament, the arcade stick thing is up to the player entering, I heard someone played a mean MSP in mvc2 last year on a DC pad which is damn hard to do :(
Menace
04-03-2006, 10:37 PM
WCG has gone 1.6, so iam awaiting a vxg2k6 1.6 announcement. Time for us trinis to get on par with the rest of the world and start playing the no1. fps game online worldwide
COUNTER-STRIKE 1.6
CHECK THE STATS PEEPS AND WAKE UP TO IT, iMAGINE CAFES IN TRINIDAD DON'T HAVE THE MOST PLAYED FPS GAME WORLD WIDE INSTALLED ON THIER RIGS. WOW@TRINIS
STOP THE DIVIDE AND UNITE THE COMMUNITY !
04-04-2006, 12:20 AM
well menace you have it...the cs 1.6 tourney in st. marteen...you want to enter?
04-04-2006, 10:34 AM
Originally posted by Menace@Apr 3 2006, 09:37 PM
WCG has gone 1.6, so iam awaiting a vxg2k6 1.6 announcement. Time for us trinis to get on par with the rest of the world and start playing the no1. fps game online worldwide
COUNTER-STRIKE 1.6
CHECK THE STATS PEEPS AND WAKE UP TO IT, iMAGINE CAFES IN TRINIDAD DON'T HAVE THE MOST PLAYED FPS GAME WORLD WIDE INSTALLED ON THIER RIGS. WOW@TRINIS
STOP THE DIVIDE AND UNITE THE COMMUNITY !
VXG has decided to go with 1.6 as per the WCG announcement. I have a copy of cs 1.6 but gives a CD KEY error when playing on lan even after applying the lan fix. After we play CS1.6 eX will decide if we should go to St Marteen to enter this competition, if anything will Gboyz represent?
Menace face it, most of the gamers in TnT did not like CS1.6 when exposed to it way back then, CSS took all the fame in TnT because people like it. It took alot of machine power to run it so some cafes opted to stay away but in the end CSS did what CS1.6 couldnt. We can NOW rely on the foundation that CSS has put in place to suggest a downgrade.
It is easier to learn CS1.6 From CSS than to learn CSS from CS1.6, the lack of certain map improvements and the graphics will be missed lets hope the accuracy of the limited weapons will make up for this. This is indeed a big step backwards. Imo CS1.6 is still here because of the low requirements needed to play the game and the relatively high req to play CSS.
Anyways let the training begin, lets hope next year WCG wizes up and goes with CSS?
vxg_gizmo
04-04-2006, 11:55 AM
Hey guys,
As you have heard, VxG is leaning towards reverting to the CS 1.6, mainly upon the advice of WCG who have reverted to 1.6 after a low turnout for CSS last year. Although the official Roster will only be finalised tommorow, when Video X Games has a conference call with our member across the Caribbean, CS 1.6 vs Source is the first item on the agenda and it looks like there it will be 1.6.
I have to thankn paradoxx for sharing his knowledge with me on the whole set-up of CS, and also menace who seems to have a lot of knowledge of CS 1.6. I am hoping that the Video X Games can count on both of your advice in order ot make our first event succesful.
So far, players from Jamaica and Puerto Rico have vested interest in our cs1.6 tourney, and we expect 3 teams from St. Maarten. Hopefully we can have one or 2 teams from trinidad and one from Venezuela and maybe from Guadeloupe, although the Gigagames has informed me that FPS gaming there is quite limited to Halo 2.
So basically, with at least 8 teams we can have a good tournament indeed. We'll just tweak to the rules and format to make it last, and throw in some mixed comeptitions for extra consolation prizes.
Prizes will be discussed in nxt week wednesday's conference call, but i expect to build up a purse of at least 1000 $USD from sponsor prizes and also divide the registration fees 60-25-15 for to the top 3 teams.
Menace
04-05-2006, 11:50 PM
Great, all i need to know now is the prize structure for cs, cuz its a considerable cost for a 5 man team Once that info is out and its favourable, we will be thier.
As for my fellow trini's we welcome scrims as usual and for my buddy para, hope too see 1.6 finally make it to java and given a fare run.. pce gg vxg_gizmo
vxg_gizmo
04-07-2006, 05:44 PM
Hey guys,
The official game roster is out and is available at the website. Here is the exact link:
http://www.vxg2k6.com/officialgamelist.htm
As you can see, most of the games are gonna be played on the PS2 console, after tallying our votes and due to past experience in hosting these games on that console. We know that some want xbox and some want DC and some even want gamecube, but we hope that everyone will go along with the decision to host most multiplatform games on PS2.
Also, you'll notice that Counterstrike has been officially made Counterstrike 1.6 for the VxG competition. We hope that you guys from trinigamers will stil be sending a team, despite that the game is not going to be Counterstrike source, whcih is your usual version of play. However, the feedback from this decision elsewhere has been ok, as most who play source now used to play CS 1.6 before, and will be burshing up on the 1,6 skills for our tournament.
Prizes:
We are posting a minimum prize of USD $1000.00 in cash for the winning team of Counterstrike 1.6. Each player of the winning team will also be given a software bundle with games yet to be determine (legal titles of course). The secon place team will receive a minimum prize of USD $300 in cash and will also receive a software bundle. As more people sign up and send in registration forms for this game, the more our sponsors will be willing to give out for this competiton. So come out in full force and we can probably bring that first prize up to $2000!!
Well, thats my weekend briefing. I am in barbados right now and i have no internet at home where i'm staying, so i won't be online until next week. My assistants will check my emails until then, though, so you can always email us at info@vxg2k6.com.
Next week i will be in puerto rico meeting with the Gaming organizations there. They send their regards, and are looking forward to meeting the trinidadians for the first time at VxG. you can check our their new site at:
http://s13.invisionfree.com/GamerGuild/index.php?
Later guys... have a good weekend.
Menace
04-14-2006, 09:47 AM
GameBoyz is recruiting 1 - 2 players that are interested in attending vxg2k6 that has time to practice on lan and can play cs and has access to HS internet.
pm if interested.
*where is breakop (armyofone) when i need him ..lol
06-03-2006, 02:08 PM
hmmmm interestinggg