View Full Version : Nv 6800 Gs

11-07-2005, 11:39 AM
http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=ODgyLDE=

Another Hard Launch?

We will be checking to see if NVIDIA lives up to their "hard launch" claims with the 6800 GS. Here is what they have to say about it.

NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS-based graphics cards are available for immediate purchase at approximately $249 USD from many of the world’s leading add-in card makers, including: Albatron, Chaintech Computer Co. Ltd., eVGA.com Corporation, Galaxy, Innovision, Leadtek Research Inc., MSI Computer Corporation, Palit Microsystems, Inc., PNY Technologies, Inc., Point of View, Prolink, Sparkle Computer Co. Ltd., and XFX. GeForce 6800 GS-based add-in cards are available from major online retailers worldwide and are also powering PCs from the world’s leading system builders.

The Bottom Line:

We are very impressed with the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS as it seems to be more than worthy of its $249 price tag. NVIDIA is simply offering a ton of performance at a very attractive price.

What’s even better is that NVIDIA has said this will be another “hard launch” meaning that you should be able to go out and purchase this technology today. The Radeon X1600 XT is not scheduled to be available until November 30th.

NVIDIA has not only one-upped ATI in the enthusiast mainstream market segment in terms of performance, they have also beat ATI to the punch at $249 price point with the GeForce 6800 GS. The 6800 GS is provides a better gaming experience than the Radeon X1600 XT. If the X1600 XT and 6800 GS are similarly priced and fit your budget, it would almost be foolish to not buy the 6800 GS for your gaming needs.

GG Nvidia

11-08-2005, 02:10 AM
I've been reading up on this it performs simliar to the 6800gt and currently priced at 209us on newegg. Now apparently this baby could overclock quite abit, getting 6364 from 5106 in 3dmark05.

To put it mildly, our particular GeForce 6800 GS sample turned out to be one heck of an overclocker. We were able to take our card up from its default 425MHz core clock speed all the way up to 540MHz, and were able to increase its 1.0GHz memory clock sup to 1.23GHz. Yes, that an 115MHz increase in core clock speed (27%) and a 230MHz increase in the memory clock (23%). And as you'd expect, pushing the core and memory clocks up by over 20% had a significant impact on performance. To demonstrate the benefits overclocking had on performance, we re-ran the default 3DMark05 benchmark and our custom Doom 3 benchmark at 1600x1200 with 4X anti-aliasing and 8X anisotropic filtering enabled. As you can see, our 3DMark05 score jumped by over 1200 points and Doom 3's framerate went up by 9.3 frames per second, an increase of about 25%. If this type of overclock turns out to be typical of all GeForce 6800 GS cards, we suspect there are some very happy budget overclockers in the world today...

11-08-2005, 10:20 AM
Its Nvidias reply to the GTO/GTO2 while it can't unlock the pipelines like the GTO2 those scores indicate that its performs almost on par but slightly lower.

I expect the price of these cards to increase dramatically as the GT02 did.

11-08-2005, 11:23 AM
No flash and OC :(
Just OC... thats boring :P

11-08-2005, 11:53 AM
The flash had that Oh so kewl gosu feeling to it :) I got some TP gonna apply it to my card tonight and have my machine benching over this week for Hall of Fame.

11-08-2005, 01:00 PM
I still find you coulda hit the XT or XT PE bios :)
But XL is fine :)

11-08-2005, 02:35 PM
If i wans't considering selling it off (like next yr) I would have done so, as is I don't ppl to use the line 'nah boy you OC it so the life reduced'.

There are OCed GS out there already, Ive seen an XFX with elevated stock clocks, while this doesn't mean that this card will OC 'higher' for those not into OCing can rest assured that their card has a little extra :)

What would have been even better with the GS would be an unlock of pipelines, that woulda hvae raped the GTO2 as is its a more available and atm cheaper mid/high end vidcard.

Actually it competes with a x800pro rather than GTO2 both 12pipelines and both serious OCers and similarly priced and both available :)

I just love the competition,

11-08-2005, 03:07 PM
*CRaZYMoFo sighs
when $$ ownz fun... small ting though :D
U selling as XL or flashing back to GTO2?

11-08-2005, 03:46 PM
What I checking is that Newegg has HIS X800GTO @ 200USD and there are Sapphire's for 150USD.... 0_o ...GG man...

11-08-2005, 04:41 PM
HIS comes with ati silencer and is already OCed.
All HIS cards are like that.
Also the packages are different. HIS is retail while the Sapphire is OEM.

11-08-2005, 04:42 PM
Well the point I making is its a GTO thus in theory can be unlocked and OCed more (esp with the large HSF on the HIS) and I mean at that price yuh can't go wrong.

11-08-2005, 05:11 PM
Originally posted by w1ntry@Nov 8 2005, 04:42 PM
Well the point I making is its a GTO thus in theory can be unlocked and OCed more (esp with the large HSF on the HIS) and I mean at that price yuh can't go wrong.

I don't think the GTO's can be unlocked, only the GTO2's. The OC potential is based on the batch of GPUs used and the mem something I don't think the GTOs posses. The GTO2 uses some gosu samsung 1.6ns with an x850 GPU.

Hey i can be wrong.. maybe the HIS is a GTO2 with a silencer.. is it?

11-09-2005, 10:11 AM
I just read a review of these cards (6800GS)... damn thats decent man... getting X800XT performance from a 12pipe card... impressive and at 250USD MSRP thereabouts... *Sighs* would be nice to have a card like this to put in a system to sell :P lol

11-09-2005, 10:56 AM
Actually its near GT/XL perforamnce at stock and XT oced right?

11-09-2005, 12:19 PM
i see de card selling for 209 at monarch computers

11-09-2005, 12:35 PM
Yeah it is around XL a lil over and under (usual thing in ATI vs. Nvidia) and OCed it would be around/above/below the XT. Hmm that 209 u see is that OEM, Retail and is it the same reference cooler or better? oh and what brand?

11-09-2005, 12:55 PM
I would advise the 'non OCer' or ppl that don't like to run their card above stock to try the XFX for 215 its got alot higher clocks than the eVGA and at a price of

US$215.00 @ Newegg.com

Anandtech made mention that they think its going to be SOLD OUT soon because of the season (makes excellent present). Lets see if it follows the same pattern of the GTO2.

Its so kewl eh, when ATi brings out something gosu, Nvidia on the follow up (vice versa) and each trying to give more performance for $$$

What is the use buying a GT/XL anymore?