View Full Version : Need Some Help With A Speedstream Adsl Router...
11-07-2005, 10:18 AM
I just hooked it up for my TSTT ADSL access, and it's working ok enough.
Just a few things bothering me.
First and foremost, there's no onscreen indicator of my net activity. Yuh know nah, the two little computers that light up in the tray.
I hooked up via USB...if I hook up via ethernet, will I get the indicator?
Also, there's no connection process at all? Just turn your machine on and you're on?
Finally, it seems to cut off after extended periods of inactivity, and you have to restart the machine to get the connection working again.
Any advice or help for this?
11-07-2005, 10:52 AM
the only "issue" i know about is the connection process ..
the little speedstream router connects to TSTT for you
you can access your personal router by accessing http://speedstream
there you will see your connection, you can disconnect and reconnect from there
the default administrator user : password is admin : admin i beleive ( you should change the password for security reasons )
in there you can also play with the firewall , forward ports, etc etc etc
normal router stuff
11-07-2005, 10:56 AM
As far as i know connecting via USB and connecting via LAN are the same, usb emulates a lan connection at 10mbits.
Navigate to Network Connections (in Control Panel) and see if you see an Internet Connection, If so place a check in the 'show when connected' box as I did in the picture below.
A question, you mentioned ethernet/usb compatibility I assume you are using the Speedstream5200?
This device is a router and is independant of your computer unless you power it off or reboot it otherwize the internet connection is the same as it was before you rebooted your pc...
When net goes down go to your router and see whats the problem, you can do this by http-ing to your default gateway by manufactuer default its http://192.168.254.254 user/pass admin/admin check around there and see if TSTT messed up.
11-07-2005, 04:35 PM
Well I will take these points into consideration, but I just realised that my good old Speedtouch modem (from my cancelled account...I moved) is mine to keep, so might just go back to that.