View Full Version : Cell Phones As Gaming Platforms

11-05-2005, 12:11 AM
As a gaming platform most 3g phones are capable of more intensive games than a Gameboy advance or Snes ... but what holds them back Java , the only language that works on most of these phones as a standard, Java's strength is that it works on Every OS , from Linux to Mac ,but it is slow and inefficient compared to C , basic etc.
Also the controls and screen on most mobile phones are much inferior to that of a gameboy , the buttons are much too close together on many models for the hands of an adult , also the screen is usually tiny....
Otherwise the mobile phone is the perfect gaming platform , everybody and their mom.. and grandmom have one or several , they come with bluetooth and wi fi capability ( multiplayer!) and colour screens , but sadly most of what we get for them are simple games like Snake or mario clones .
Also lastly they need a standard media to sell these games on , storage on most phones is limited to less than 10mbs , a complex game with high resolution sprites will take up much more , And to prevent piracy etc.
Lastly most mobile phones
So to become gaming platforms , phones need :
To use C , Python etc. as standards in all OSes.
More ergonomic controls
larger screens .
More storage , and / or a standard external media eg. mini disc, solid state memory card .

http://www.armadilloaerospace.com/n.x/johnc/Recent%20Updates John Carmacks blog , referring to phone games .

http://www.gamespot.com/mobile/action/quak...ile/review.html (http://www.gamespot.com/mobile/action/quakemobile/review.html) Quake for mobile phones

http://www.gamespot.com/mobile/action/duke...m3d/review.html (http://www.gamespot.com/mobile/action/dukenukem3d/review.html) Duke nukem for moble phones

11-05-2005, 12:29 AM
cough ngage cough

11-05-2005, 12:40 AM
i'm talking about EVERY cell phone , not just the few designed for games in mind :P , the biggest strength of cell phones is the no . of people with them , not that many have Ngage's or Gizmondos .

11-05-2005, 12:46 AM
yeah...but its the developers choice adn to tell u the truth the battery life of these fones bad enough for me to be playin half hour of top gun when im real bored and 3/4 of my battery done.

a phone is to make calls...and das it.

das like studies saying that 70 % of the time we use the phone we in the bathroom so they make toilets with phones on them.

they serve a purpouse and really ppl dont want to play big games on their phone...hence the ngage's failure

11-05-2005, 12:47 AM
Question
Is windows for mobile devices C based?

Battery time is a very important factor as well and all these added functionality may just create a bigger phone... Some ppl think that the p800 is to big, imagine what they would say about a full fledged game/phone.

NGage was kewl but really didn't cut it!. If there is anyone to create a proper practical hybrid my bet is on nintendo and they already have a large game base..

Need?
Is there really a NEED to sweat full fledged games on your phone? For me I use my games to pass time while waiting on a dentist/doctor. When i want to do some hardcore gaming PC/PS2 in the dance.

11-05-2005, 10:09 AM
Buy a gameboy.

11-05-2005, 09:08 PM
ent buy a gameboy

or psp

my cell phone right now handling mp3s movies alarm clock planner and yes ah a phone

if i really need to run games on my cell i will play tetris or bubble bubble

games dat make it fun but not stressing

even though it have cells dat have gpus and what not, motorolas have them eg razor

11-07-2005, 07:36 PM
Originally posted by Xecutiona@Nov 5 2005, 12:46 AM
yeah...but its the developers choice adn to tell u the truth the battery life of these fones bad enough for me to be playin half hour of top gun when im real bored and 3/4 of my battery done.

a phone is to make calls...and das it.

das like studies saying that 70 % of the time we use the phone we in the bathroom so they make toilets with phones on them.

they serve a purpouse and really ppl dont want to play big games on their phone...hence the ngage's failure

doh tie up yourself there at all, make calls alone? cell phones ready to do any and every thing. think about how many text messages are sent vs how many calls are made every day, and that is just in Tdad, elsewhere people can joke that a cell phone is used on average for anything BUT making calls. i have to admit that battery life is a problem on most cell phones when people attempt gaming, but hopefully that problem will be ironed out during the next year.
Ngage fail because nokia ent know they ass from they elbow with respect to competing with nintendo. the majority of phones released over the course of the next year will be able to play games of similar, if not the same quality, to the GBA.
cell phone porn is currently a US 10 billion dollar industry, and games are expected to make more than that over that over the next 2 years.
through work i have met with people who established very successful companies involved in cell phones, and not 1 of them does deal in calls.

the cellphone is a viable gaming platform, although it is much more for novices and very casual gamers who may just be looking for a way to kill 15 minutes while in a taxi or on lunch.

11-08-2005, 10:03 AM
I rem hearing on G4techTV that the cell phone gaming market is a multi-million/billion potential market. I think it makes sense even though I doh game on meh phone much I think alot of ppl do and it'll pick up as time goes along. I agree that nintendo might have what it takes to make a sucessful hybrid... I mean look at the new mini gameboy. Now just to add another flap like a clam and make it a cell.

11-08-2005, 08:19 PM
i tink cell phones is much better off as media players than gaming platforms

and the only games we can use are java games, which is heavy emulated.

and i just modified my phone to use 3.5mm stereo jacks to listen to mp3s