View Full Version : What We Need Tstt To Do

11-03-2005, 07:20 PM
split internet access into several packages , cheaper , low bandwidth package for n00b users eg. 300tt for 256k , and others with more bandwidth for us gamers and power users eg. 450 tt for 512k upload / downlod . As it is 256k doesn't cut it , one torrent can eat up the entire upload stream even if its capped @ 5 or 6 k , and 256k download is laughable by international standards .
Also for internet cafe's who pay 700-1200 tt a month for dsl , they need 1 mbit or more , 256k or 512 k split among 30 computers ends up less than dialup !
We need to lobby tstt to make changes to how they deliver us internet access . TSTT has tons of bandwidth doing nothing , we deserve better ! Also the constant ping spikes need to be fixed ! its impossible to game at times when your pinging 300ms on dsl .

11-03-2005, 07:51 PM
We dont have to do anything, competition will accomplish all.

11-04-2005, 01:57 AM
u have to stop bitching and understand tstt cannot support what u want

its not that tstt wont mind give ppl what dey want

reason why tstt cap everyone so hard is that dey cannot support all of us

we could get 3mb downloads all we want, but u wont be able to make full use

reason why is their fibre connection, hence de bottleneck

trinimc go and do some research before yuh start to rant about tstt

yes tstt can upgrade their lines for bigger output and input, but who going to pay for dat?

tstt doh own de internet, dem actually have to pay to larger corps for internet sharing.

11-07-2005, 10:39 AM
well said opium, well said

couldnt have put it better myself

11-07-2005, 01:38 PM
Actually I disagree. I spoke to a colleague who tutor's TSTT technician in Chagaramas and he said (and this was early this year) that TSTT has and UBSURD amount of bandwidth. In chag at the training facility they have a T1 and that site was hardly used. He also said that we could get much better service cept that management is like a dinasour and real beaurocratic nonesense does play off and we suffer. So actually I have to side with Trini and say that TSTT has what it takes, just doh want to do it. Look at how all a sudden they woking dey @$$es off to improve both Cell and Land line coverage. Prior to competition what did they do in a timely manner? i'll tell you NOT ONE F&*(. ppls waiting over a year for a land line, I STILL WAITING on DSL.. yuh call and they say, no modems, or the lines need repairs. You make a report and it gets lost in oblivion. I was speaking to a padna of mine and commenting on how the service industry in T&T needs a kick in the nuts for the POOR no wait ATROCIOUS QOS we have. And it brought this to my attention... there are 2 types of bad service:
1. Bad communication and customer relations:
Yuh call a company they put u onto stores or sales and the person on the phone sounds like:
You: Good day I am calling to find out about product X.
They: Nah we doh have dat
You: Will you be getting new stock soon?
they: aye ramesh I coming now.... nah I doh know wen
You: Ok thanks...
they: CLICK.

2. Yuh call somewhere like 824-TSTT
You: Wait 30mins on service representative...
them: Good day how may we be of assistance?
You: I already ordered and paid for my DSL connection and I would like to know whats the hold up on my modem?
them: Hold while I transfer you to a technician.
You: (technician on) Hi, I spoke to you all last week and they said my connection is active all I need is the modem, whats going on?
them: yeah well we don't have any modems right now.
You: but they said it was in the office but it was not programmed.
them:Hold on... right, its here but yeah its still not programmed it should be delivered in 2 days.
You (3 days later): Hi I called earlier this week about my modem, whats the status?
them: whom did you speak to about the modem?
You: Mr. X
them: Well thats strange indeed we have no modems here currently which suggests it went out already... i'll transfer you to a service rep.
You: Hi, (fills in blanks) yeah so whats going on?
Them: well sir the problem is we have the phone registered to 1 person but the DSL is being ordered by another person (spouse) and the software cannot handle that type of transaction you will need to place the line under 1 person and they will have to order the DSL.
You: Why wasn't this brought to my attention before?
them: sorry sir I do not know...
You: when should I come in and do this?
them: anytime tomorrow.
You: (next day calling before u go to make sure) Hi I was told to come in today because the line is under a diff name..etc...
them: Strange, that's not a problem we can perform the transaction under a different name. I don't know why you were told that...
You: LOOK I WILL COME IN IF I NEED TO, TELL ME WHAT I NEED TO DO?
Them: Sir I will perform the transaction and we will contact you when it is ready.
You: fine.
2 days later you get teh DSL modem.

The point of this LONG and DRAWN out story (which is based on aTRUE occurence btw) is that you get a nice polite person talking but nothing getting done without either:
a. getting on like a ole n1gg@
b. knowing someone high up who will threaten someone and get it done
c. running around like a chicken with its head chopped off till SOMEONE with a BRAIN helps you out.

TSTT bleh might as well be a dentist performing triple by-pass surgery with plastic utensils.

oats
11-07-2005, 03:19 PM
rofl

11-07-2005, 05:36 PM
So what you trying to say, a dentist can't use utensils?

11-07-2005, 05:56 PM
I doh understand that dentist thing either...

11-07-2005, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by oats@Nov 7 2005, 03:19 PM
rofl

Seconded
:banana:

11-07-2005, 06:37 PM
Originally posted by opium@Nov 4 2005, 01:57 AM

yes tstt can upgrade their lines for bigger output and input, but who going to pay for dat?

Most DSL lines in trinidad can take 1mbit , mine can , my brother's can , a few cafe's can get 1.5 , most modems have a command that can tell you the approx max speed your line can give , its under ATU (X) rate or TX rate , so the lines aren't holding them back...
I saw in the papers awhile ago they announced that they upgraded their backbone from 100mbits to 380mbits , thats over 3x the bandwidth , before then i never saw 256k DSL go under 250 kbits on a bandwidth test or get less than 30 kilobytes a second on a good FTP server ... so bandwidth wasn't in short supply , they can therefore afford to DOUBLE the amount of bandwidth available to customers , AND have room for expansion for new broadband users .
Its just that tstt to damned lazy to offer us good service!

11-07-2005, 07:51 PM
Originally posted by trinithemc@Nov 7 2005, 06:37 PM
Most DSL lines in trinidad can take 1mbit , mine can , my brother's can , a few cafe's can get 1.5 , most modems have a command that can tell you the approx max speed your line can give , its under ATU (X) rate or TX rate , so the lines aren't holding them back...
I saw in the papers awhile ago they announced that they upgraded their backbone from 100mbits to 380mbits , thats over 3x the bandwidth , before then i never saw 256k DSL go under 250 kbits on a bandwidth test or get less than 30 kilobytes a second on a good FTP server ... so bandwidth wasn't in short supply , they can therefore afford to DOUBLE the amount of bandwidth available to customers , AND have room for expansion for new broadband users .
Its just that tstt to damned lazy to offer us good service!

Go call TSTT and tell them to up the bandwidth then.

11-08-2005, 08:34 AM
Trini u have to understand that not the whole of Trinidad is on DSL yet, so they're catering for what if every one of their customers apply for dsl, i mean if EVERYONE had dsl, i don't think TSTT wud have the bandwith to give us all mbit lines, just hold ur freakin horses and wait, all good things come with time, we're a freakin 3rd world country for cryin out loud, if u want faster dsl move to another country, STOP BEING A WHINEY BITCH !!

11-08-2005, 09:59 AM
Originally posted by Pweffy@Nov 7 2005, 05:56 PM
I doh understand that dentist thing either...

Whats to be understood?. It was an ubsurd comment just to say TSTT sucks as much as IF a dentist were to attempt triple bypass surgery with plastic eating utensils, which makes NO SENSE TO try far less what would happen if one did. anyways... Oh Itachi... umm man the language man the language, we doh need animosity in de forum man... we have enough of that in T&T with all de killings, kidnappings and government acting like monkeys throwing $hit at each other every day in parliment.

11-08-2005, 10:04 AM
yeah i sorry abt that dred, is just that i mean, come on, wud u all prefer to be stuck with dialup for the rest of ur life ? i mean just be happy with what you have !!! *sigh* ppl never satisfied eh :(

11-08-2005, 11:26 AM
I hear what yuh saying... I man salting with dial-up home.. needless to say I doh use the net home much... in meh office is a bit faster so I download stuff at work.. but no p2p stuff so I suffering in terms of meh anime and thign since taku gone down... and well yeah dial up torrents??? LOL yeah RIGHT.

11-08-2005, 11:45 AM
are u daft. TSTT can MORE than support 1.5mb lines for eveyr 1. my buddt works in the net exress tech service department 824 TSTT and he downloads gigs in minuets. all TSTT offices have 1.5 andupward. all the network cards in the exchange has 1.5 mb cards installed. Why would tstt install 1.5 mb cards to all the lines if they cannot support it. also just the otehjr day cable and wireless doubled the bandwith we get sooooooooo, i agree with wintry and the rest. TSTT has the means but they just dont want to give it to us

If eveyr 1 applied to get DSL TSTT has the ability to provide. and as far as being happy with wat i have. Buddy im paying for a service where anywhere eklse in the world ( where their is competition) id be getting a 1.5 mb line for wat im paying

`also note 824 -TSTT has 5 phone operators. that shows how much they care

PS. Please use the edit button instead of triple posting.

11-08-2005, 04:35 PM
Actually, right now they are teaching dentists how to do double bypass surgery using plastic forks and knives. Triple bypass is not scheduled until next year.

11-08-2005, 04:40 PM
Originally posted by dinesh@Nov 8 2005, 04:35 PM
Actually, right now they are teaching dentists how to do double bypass surgery using plastic forks and knives. Triple bypass is not scheduled until next year.

Isn't it bad for an admin to be spamming? :huh:

11-08-2005, 04:50 PM
^^ This is TG, spamming is not really a problem :P
This thread is bs anyway

11-08-2005, 05:55 PM
No, there is a hidden message in there, and it has to do with tstt.
Try decifering it and you get candy.

11-08-2005, 08:05 PM
basing tstt as a dentist

he means that we need the tools to do what we are meant to do as in profession

ah dentist with out his utensils is basically ah backside who know it all and cah do sh!t

11-09-2005, 09:12 AM
NOW DIS IS WHAT I TALKING BOUT:
Super-fast 3G user Broadcasts live via Manx Telecom

By Tony Dennis: Wednesday 09 November 2005, 10:44
IN A strange twist of fate, the BBC (British Broadcasting Company) became the first commercial user of Manx Telecom's super-fast 3G network. It borrowed a wireless Sony laptop and sent out a live broadcast using Skype.

Owned by British network operator, O2, on November 1st 2005 Manx Telecom became the first European company to offer commercial support for HSDPA (high-speed downlink packet access). It's such a silly acronym that everyone's started to call it super-fast 3G instead.

The BBC had turned up at a Manx school expecting to find a 2 Mbit/s ADSL link to carry its broadcast. As Manx Telecom is the Isle of Man's only telecoms provider, they were asked for help. And Manx Telecom promptly lent the Beeb a Sony Vaio laptop fitted with the first commercially available HSDPA compatible PCMCIA card from Sierra Wireless.

Curiously O2's CTO, Dave Williams had spent time telling assembled journalists that super-fast 3G wasn't really intended for VoIP usage. But the Beeb obviously didn't know this.

In essence, HSDPA is W-CDMA's answer to CDMA2000's EVDO. It offers faster download speeds but the fun starts when you try to establish just how fast it can go. At present Manx users will experience a peak download rate of 1.3 Mbit/s but the upload link on runs at a mere 128 Kbit/s.

The reason for this lies with the fact that the network has been built with equipment supplied by Lucent. Presently it's capped at 1.8 Mbit/s but by January 2006, the uplink will be cranked up to 384 Kbit/s.

However, by Q3 2006 O2 and Lucent expect to have raised the download speed to around 3.6 Mbit/s – rising to 7.3 Mbit/s by Q1 2008 and 10.2 Mbit/s by Q4 2004-Q4 2009.

Does all this matter, though? The INQ got to play with one of the Sierra Wireless equipped laptops and it genuinely felt like having a regular ADSL link. The difference being that the laptop was in a coach travelling back to the airport at around 30 mph!

As Dave Williams was fond of saying, HSDPA delivers the kind of 3G we were all promised in the first place. Whether it'll sound the death knoll for commercial Wi-Fi hotspots as he says, is a matter for debate.

O2 definitely has an HSDPA enabled handset on test but refused to name the supplier. The INQ suspects that given the Sierra Wireless card is using a Qualcomm chip, it's probably a proof of concept device built by Qualcomm. They did the same thing when regular W-CDMA was launched.

More intriguing is the prospect of an HSDPA compatible version of the Ovation from Novatel wireless. Basically it’s a portable Wi-Fi hub which creates an instant hot spot. The Internet connexion is supplied by 3G. Manx Telecom hopes to have such a beast in time for the famous TT motorcycle races next year [2006].

When will O2 offer super-fast 3G on its other networks? Probably around Q3 2006 and in Ireland before the UK.

How much does it cost? Well, Manx is offering bundles. You can buy the Sierra Wireless Aircard 850 for £49 (inc VAT). You'll need to sign a Pronto Connect Max contract. For the first three months rental is free. After that you get charged £39.95 per month for 100Mb of data.

Pricing will probably be similar in the UK.

Now if Laqtel could offer DIS, dat would PWNZ ALL... but thats just wishiful thinking.