View Full Version : 7800gtx 512 Mb Clocked At 550/1800 Mhz
11-01-2005, 08:04 PM
7800GTX 512 MB clocked at 550/1800 MHz
Ultra renamed resurfaced
By Fuad Abazovic: Tuesday 01 November 2005, 13:52
NVIDIA WONT have new Ultra card but instead it will dramatically increase the speed of its upcoming 7800 GTX 512 MB card. The regular Geforce 7800 GTX with 256MB is working at 430MHz core and 1200MHz memory.
Nvidia won't call it an Ultra, but the Geforce 7800 GTX512 MB will be indeed clocked at ultra speeds. Those cards won't be available and launched on the seventh - they should surface toward the middle of the month but Nvidia should have 6800GS already by next Monday.
We know that new Nvidia card is a very much tweaked original G70, Geforce 7800 GTX PCB design and this time the card will work at a magnificent 550MHz core and at 1800MHz memory. Nvidia felt threatened by the X1800XT and therefore decided to use new Samsung memory. You can find details about this memory here. However, we are not sure whether Nvidia will use an exact 1800MHz clock but should be close to this number.
When it comes to cooling, we know Nvidia is using a new type and we kind of expect dual slot cooling because of the chip's high frequency. Nvidia is still using 110 nanometre based G70 chip, but it managed to clock them more than we ever managed to using clock water cooler cards. If you recall, 520MHz was the highest possible clock that we achieved and here here is the link to refresh your memory. Our cards worked at 500MHz stable but Nvidia managed to clock its new cards to 550MHz and can still cool them with air. We believe that Nvidia tweaked its existing PCB design big time so managing to get those cards to such high speeds.
At such high frequencies and twenty four pipelines, we believe that R520 "Fudo" might experience unbelievable performance spanking and we believe that the situation might drastically change in Nvidia advantage.
But will Nvidia upset all of its Geforce 7800 GTX 256 MB supporters? You can bet it will but Geforce 7800 GTX 512 MB card sounds too good to be true. µ
Im still not too convinced that NV is releasing a card but this seems pretty much more true than false.
11-01-2005, 11:36 PM
where every u get dat info from is FALSE
reason why
G70 max clock speed obtained so far at stable is 520mhz
and dat is when u overclock hard with very good cooling
now gtx normal speeds is set at 430 best recommended speed is 490
i doh tink any manufactor or even nvidia could do a bump like that
than again nvidia make the chips test them sell them at it recommended speed
not wanting a paper launch dey could have reserve the special ones that can make it to that speed. heck 550 is not much far from 520
* i just check my maximum core speed and i got 526 and so is spoilt, i tink we got the card from the same batch and same batch of chips too* :o :o
11-01-2005, 11:48 PM
I know that the current G70s max ~520 core
It is quite possible that the current G70s could have been the 2nd best cores (GTXs) and 3rd best (GTs)
Who knows :D
Maybe sometime I will remove the GTX hsf and see which stepping it has but that will be a very long time from now lol
Im sure you agree with me dey
11-01-2005, 11:55 PM
i kinder remove my hsf already
to install the ac3 from evga
u asked if dat hsf make sence?
i say yes and it makes perfect sence too
all the nice metal plating is not just for style it is meant to expand cooling
and i forget to mention the boards out now do support 512mb
i forget dat clean so we might not see much of a change in pcb design but i feel a change of a var resistors and increase in voltage volia 550/with new mem
i feel the is being limited in certain aspects, since it uses less power than a 6800
now to wait upon the tweaks that will make it to that speed
i shall fry my card and swap it for another card
11-02-2005, 01:38 AM
I forgot that you had an ac3 oui
Well I dont think I will be buying one of those (my budget cant include it). When i get the card i will figure out a way to improve cooling ;)
Yea i know that the current pcbs do have the support for the extra memory. This is also why I think that nvidia was planning this from the beginning.
The fry and swap thing is not for poor college students <_<
11-02-2005, 09:23 AM
I just wait for the benchies... unfortunately or fortunately for my bank account I won't be upgrading to such lovely pieces of machina anytime too soon. But its nice to look at and go wow...
11-02-2005, 10:18 AM
Im pretty sure the price will be ridiculous like Asus' Dual GPU 7800GT.
Only for those who really want it oui.
I cant imagine seeing much of these available at any one time so gg credit cards
11-02-2005, 12:21 PM
ent
then again nvidia might just drop the price on de gtx to 450msrp
and gve de x1800xl some good shafting
sell the ultra for 600 and get de x1800xt and next set of shafting
nvidia not doing paper launches anymore and we see dat, with de gtx
11-02-2005, 12:41 PM
Well GTXs can be easily found around $460us so I dont think it would make that much of a difference than the present situation.
11-02-2005, 12:57 PM
Originally posted by opium@Nov 1 2005, 11:36 PM
where every u get dat info from is FALSE
reason why
G70 max clock speed obtained so far at stable is 520mhz
and dat is when u overclock hard with very good cooling
now gtx normal speeds is set at 430 best recommended speed is 490
i doh tink any manufactor or even nvidia could do a bump like that
than again nvidia make the chips test them sell them at it recommended speed
not wanting a paper launch dey could have reserve the special ones that can make it to that speed. heck 550 is not much far from 520
* i just check my maximum core speed and i got 526 and so is spoilt, i tink we got the card from the same batch and same batch of chips too* :o :o
It just means this GPU better than yours, whether its the same g70 or maybe a lil sumptin they held back on for ATI.
Just sit back and watch.
11-02-2005, 03:01 PM
In the words of Duke: "Hail to the King Baby"
Nvidia nails R520XT with 512MB 7800 GTX
It's Ultra you know but we call it GTX
By Fuad Abazovic: Wednesday 02 November 2005, 14:03
NVIDIA'S UPCOMING Geforce 7800 GTX 512 MB version is going to be one heck of a card.
This card really looks great and we managed to confirm the data that we wrote about it yesterday. You can find that here.
We still don’t know the price of this card but it really puts ATI's Radeon X1800XT in a very hard position. This card is competing well versus old Geforce 7800GTX with 256MB of memory clocked at 430MHz core and 1200MHz but I don’t think that R520, Radeon X1800XT has much chance against 550MHz core and 1800MHz memory. Nvidia got it right this time and just nailed ATI.
Nvidia misdirected us trying to sell the story to its partners that there won't be any G70 Ultra but what the company did is just renamed this project to Geforce 7800 GTX 512MB and decided to stick with the same name. Nvidia already did this when renaming NV47 to G70, and in the end we learned that we are talking about the same chip all the time. So Geforce 7800 GTX 512 MB is what we used to call the 7800 Ultra and it has every sign to be very fast. It was a sneaky move from Nvidia but never mind, as long as it takes Nvidia back to the performance crown. This time we are not talking about a frame here and there, we are expecting a massive performance lead.
But will it upset current 7800 GTX 256 MB owners? It sure will but this was the only way that it could play it I guess. It will be fun to play with this card once it's out and we expect it will be the fastest card. A new king is coming.
GG and to think just the other day my X800XT was a 'high' end card... ah well at least I gots the AIW functionality.
11-02-2005, 03:16 PM
Well well if that is true (sounds 75% true to me, will always have some doubt until i see a launch) then GJ NV. However the current GTXs are owning and will continue to own. GT still holds best bang for buck as well.
The X800XT is still a great card. It is now mid end though. Doesnt matter, It is still the best HTPC card to me.
Just dont play FEAR :P
11-02-2005, 03:43 PM
Well this should speed up ATi to produce its R580, GJ Nvidia.
11-03-2005, 12:55 AM
wait no paper launch oui
nvidia coming out with ah full bang
nah de gt wont last as de best bang for buck card anymore
gtx price will fall as we sing already
get ready for a msrp for the gtx to be 450
11-03-2005, 11:12 AM
http://www.mvktech.net/components/com_simpleboard/uploaded/images/7800GTX-512MB-bg-01.jpg
OUR COLLEAGUES at MVKtech.net forums managed to get the picture of Nvidia's upcoming Geforce 7800 GTX 512 MB card. But Nvidia made the site take it off. However, you can find the original thread and the picture here
The card has a monstrous cooler and we believe we have seen this card before, someone leaked it before but Nvidia has categorically denied it and said that this is a Quadro cardbut we now know it is not.
The same chaps managed to grab a BIOS from an XFX Geforce 7800 GTX 512MB and the chaps learned that XFX card obviously clocked even higher than the specs, it's working at 580MHz core and 1730MHz memory in 3D, the throttle frequency is 500MHz core and 1730MHz memory while in 2D card, you switch to a 275MHz core and 1730MHz memory.
Since you can already download that BIOShere this means that XFX cards are almost available and that the company is just waiting for Nvidia's whistle to start selling them in retail. A week or two from now anyway. µ
11-03-2005, 11:41 AM
i see that pic already when the gtx first came out
its a quadro fx5400 heatsink, the leadteck extreme edition 7800 gtx has the same heatsink
i have my doubts on whether that true or not
11-03-2005, 12:27 PM
SEX!
I almost bought a Dell GTX with that Cooler but i got a better deal on a BFG GTX oc soon after.
Great cooler, the leadtek extreme ownz.
I fraid to see the price of that thing though
11-03-2005, 12:42 PM
Im sure its less than US$700 ie the price of the x1800xt
11-03-2005, 03:01 PM
Most likely
Anybody feeling to buy one these to guinea pig it for us? :P
11-04-2005, 02:04 AM
i guinea piged for the 7800gtx
someone will have to get dat not me nah
sli i done try dat
now i will wait ah next 2 years for ah new system
11-07-2005, 06:34 PM
EXPECTED LAUNCH MONDAY 14TH NOVEMBER!
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetai...ductCode=322746 (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=322746)
11-08-2005, 10:24 AM
Nvidia bussin back hard, gg nvidia.
I feel sorry for all those ppl that rushed the expensive eVga GTX, I recently purchased one on behalf of a friend and he kinda vex that this new Gosuer vidcard coming out mere days after his purchase.
11-08-2005, 10:28 AM
Dread with the like 200USD difference... should ppl really be SO upset?
11-08-2005, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Nov 8 2005, 10:24 AM
Nvidia bussin back hard, gg nvidia.
I feel sorry for all those ppl that rushed the expensive eVga GTX, I recently purchased one on behalf of a friend and he kinda vex that this new Gosuer vidcard coming out mere days after his purchase.
STEP UP PROGRAM!!
Just add $$ lol
11-08-2005, 11:05 AM
650 MSRP ( which im sure would be close to 600 in stores, as seen with the 6800GS and the GT/GTX) compared to $584 he paid, YEAH!!
11-16-2005, 11:48 AM
All I have to say is.... GG......read!:
NVIDIA IS KING (http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/285/1/)
Now for some porn... well 'geek' porn anys... things that'll make even the most hardened OCer wet, enjoy.
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/6328/7800gtx5125vy.jpg
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/7773/7800gtx512sli5km.jpg
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/6775/howprettyisthat1ef.jpg
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/1097/howprettyisthat27ns.jpg
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/9287/howprettyisthat30xn.jpg
Now for some benchies:
This shows single GTX 512 and a whole other range of cards
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/9721/benchies6ir.jpg
SLI and stuff... seems alot CPU limited... even with a FX-57... we need FX-60 NOW!!! Oh btw the following if u look closely u see 4x-8x that means they set it to 4xAA and 8xAN
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/3323/3dmark1ad.jpg
Some game action
http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/5701/doom1hb.jpg
Well now to see X1800XT in crossfire to compare...
11-30-2005, 10:19 AM
Looks like 3DMark2005 approacing the kinda scores 3DMark2001SE hit with the dawn of the 68xx and X8xx take a read:
Gainward breaks 3Dmark 05 world record
18614 with two Gainward 7800 GTX 512 cards in SLI
By Fuad Abazovic: Tuesday 29 November 2005, 11:39
GAINWARD managed to get the world's top 3Dmark05 score. With help from a chap called Kinc, it managed to get the top score. The chap was using an AMD FX 57 CPU and managed to clock it to astonishing 3928 MHz in overclockers' favorite DFI LAN party Nforce 4 SLI motherboard.
He used two of just released Gainward PowerPack Ultra/3550PCX (7800GTX 512MB) Graphics cards in SLI. The boards were overclocked to 779 MHz core and 2052 MHz memory and the chap managed to get the highest 3Dmark05 score ever.
You can check how those guys got to this score but it's not something that you can run for 24/7 but it sure is something that you can run to get the top 3Dmark05 score. Pictures are here but you can find the official scores at Futuremark'sORB site. And yes, those guys use to be called mad onion.