View Full Version : Ocz New Style Headspreaders

10-26-2005, 10:47 AM
OCZ Technology, a maker of advanced memory modules for hardware enthusiasts, announced Tuesday its new memory modules that feature the company’s new Xtreme Thermal Convection (XTC) cooling system that resembles honeycomb. The manufacturer claims that such design allows more efficient heat dissipation.

“Memory modules that implement conventional, solid heat-spreaders provide sufficient heat dissipation but do not adequately address the build up of heat pockets. Our goal is to get rid of the thermal load as quickly and efficiently as possible. A honeycomb perforation contour promotes the physical escape of hot air from the space in between the individual memory components, thus enhancing the performance and preserving the life of the ICs,” explained Dr. Michael Schuette, vice president of technology development at OCZ Technology.

Currently XTC (Xtreme Thermal Convection) cooling system consists of four pieces: two honeycomb-like heat-spreaders and two small frames that preserve mechanical stability and serve for decoration purposes. The heat-spreaders which are mounted directly onto the memory chips in a manner that avoids gaps between the heat-spreaders and actual memory chips, which provides more efficient heat conduction and dissipation.

The honeycomb-like heat-spreader seems to be made of aluminum, which dissipates heat rather quickly. Additionally, OCZ claims that honey-comb like design has higher surface area than conventional solid heat-spreaders, while the perforations allow convection to even more effectively reduce heat. The company did not unveil how much more efficient XTC is compared to typical heat-spreaders. The size of the perforations, height and thickness of the heat-spreader should be very well balanced for efficient performance, it looks like, which means that OCZ has spend some time finding the best configuration.

The PC3200 and PC3500 Gold Gamer eXtreme Series with CL2 2-2-5 timings and 2.8V voltage will be the first OCZ memory parts to include the new XTC heat-spreader. The Gold GX XTC series will be available in 512MB modules and 1GB (2x512) dual-channel optimized kits, OCZ said.

For pics
http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/memory/displa...1025192021.html (http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/memory/display/20051025192021.html)

10-26-2005, 11:49 AM
Good stuff from OCZ again
These might finally make heatspreaders a viable option. Never used them, always took them off.
Active cooling ownz heatspreaders any day.
Maybe these will own even more when combined with active cooling :D

10-26-2005, 01:13 PM
Well no duh active pwnz passive cooling... was that really necessary to point out? anyways, this reminds me of when Reebok came out with their honeycomb system for their shoes... I guess back then it was their response to Air Nike but if I recall correctly the actual air comb was rather small (meh padna own buss out) and more for style than practical application. Let's hope this new heatspreader is not the same, just for show....

10-26-2005, 01:52 PM
wda @ headspreaders.... i almost overlook this thread as another idle man hoax.

good stuff though. I also noticed that the mushkin XP400 hetspreader has changed as well, but in no way comparable to this. I still not too sure what the new mushkin heatspreader design improves.

10-26-2005, 02:29 PM
no need to b1tch wintry
I was just stating that b4 I made my point about combining the heatspreaders with the active for the best cooling option

hmm i havent heard anything about the mushkin heatspreaders...
u hav any pics of that mojo?

10-26-2005, 02:59 PM
Aight my bad mofo, I had some noobs to deal with today so it prolly spill over for the day. I wonder if there is a copper version to come as thats a better conductor... then again, just cause u can conduct heat better doh mean yuh could get rid of it better hence u end up with more heat than cool. That aside, I would have to guess the mushkin also improves airflow because ultimately its the air that absorbs the heat from the spreader... so... yeah.

10-26-2005, 11:29 PM
for pics of the mushkin, i would have to turn off my PC, disconnect power cable and remove dimms to show differences between the 2 designs.

Yes i bought 1 stick after the other and hence i have one of each design.... how gay is that!!! I think spoilt in the same predicament too so i was going to work out an exchange with him when he around.

10-27-2005, 01:16 AM
dey must have pics online lol
i only finding one set of headspreaders online so i dunno whether it is old version or revision
small ting oui