View Full Version : Amd Pricecuts

10-25-2005, 12:05 AM
Amd today has put pricecuts on quite a few of its processors and phased out a few at the same time. On the desktop side of things only semprons and x2's got pricecuts while the non 64bit semprons were phased out as well as the athlon 64 2800+ and 3000+.

http://www.digitimes.com/mobos/a20051024PR206.html

10-25-2005, 11:28 AM
Read this article myself, opterons got a pricecut as well. The prices didn't drop as much as I wanted them to...

10-25-2005, 11:36 AM
not that much diff in the X2s.....
bah
ebay was giving me dem prices :P
good thing is that ebay might now let me get a 4200+ for the price of a 3800+
ebay!!!!!!!

10-25-2005, 12:27 PM
I was considering jumping on the opteron bandwagon however I decided that its to much trouble for small performance increase. The OC bug had me :)

Next upgrade for me is X2, if possible since opterons moved to 939 I might go for dual CPU boards and get the low end X2s at a cheap price sometime in the future.

Wonder if they would make Dual Core Semprons!!!

10-25-2005, 12:40 PM
Well the Opterons do kick severes @$$ in the memory performance dept... however for the dual Opteron u'll need the 2xx series and then there's the price of the mobo... and as for that sempron comment...
Wonder if they would make Dual Core Semprons!!!

I am sure they could... but why *in that van wilder voice [see Harold and Kumar go to White Castle]*.

10-25-2005, 01:34 PM
dunno bout dual core semps yet
that would come later as right now it would damage the sales of the current X2s
yea the OC bug had me too
i going with an X2 though :)
which one is the secret :P

10-25-2005, 03:36 PM
3800 and 4400 fuh the win!!!

10-25-2005, 04:14 PM
ent
dey had a nice deal on a 4400+ on ebay
4400+ and some OCZ gold ram for $500 so, bout 6 more hrs dey
too bad i eh transfer my pc money to spend yet

10-25-2005, 09:02 PM
i think i'm waiting till next year and AMD DDR II ... got a good enough system already. , but price cuts here are tempting.

10-25-2005, 09:42 PM
dem men rape d deal oui
might as well buy d tings from newegg lol