View Full Version : National Pride Vs Cheap Cell Phones
10-24-2005, 01:07 PM
I have been paying attention to the Digicel advertisment campaign as of late, and being someone who used to work in the advertising industry, i formed some strong opinions with regard to this campaign.. i dislike it.
i believe that as a trinidadian born and bred i am entitled to certain rights and privileges, one of those is the right to criticize that which i do not approve of; remember back in your school days how every now and then you would sit with your friends and to a point bad talk your school? but tell if you used to do the same thing when talking to students from other schools? i'm sure that you would not let someone from another school district bas your school, well it's the same with me now.
i have been using TSTT's service for some time now, it is a local company for all intents and purposes and as such i see it as 'mine' and i must say that it is MY right to say that yes they have lame service or they are a bunch of MCs, but Digicel... they are an outside company, foreign owned, who tell them they could waltz into my country and start to bash it's utilities?! and let's not even go into what they almost did to WI cricket.
does Digicel really think that because they are taking locals into their employ as lower, and in some cases middle, management that we will roll over at their reqeust? or maybe they think their free phones will be the answer... yeah right taking my hard earned money and sending it overseas. and another thing, TT is TSTT's home as well, you don't just bounce in a man yard and start to give him chats like that, absolute crap imho, besides, they going to be riding on TSTT's backbone
really and truly, if your greatest strength is your ability to dwell on the weaknesses of another, then you ent worth my salt.
thanks for the rant time.
just so you know, my issue is quite simply the aggressive nature of the advertising rather than an assertive one.
10-24-2005, 02:47 PM
YOU CAN NOW TALK IN GAMERS FORUMS
Although TSTT has, for some sucky reception I am content with their service any improvement as a result of digi/laq are just extras for me.
The only time I complain is when their service goes down due to a big event (bombing) if I had been in that area or in that accident I would have liked to get a call out.
From a technical view, you don't build a system to cater for every single of your users loggin in at the same time, I am sure TSTT used statistical peak calculations that maybe need revising. PPL don't seem to understand these things.
I'm not die hard TSTT, but I'm in no rush to switch.
10-24-2005, 03:20 PM
too bad tstt dosent think like u do.
TSTT is a owned by who ? a local person guess again.
TSTT will take any opportunity to turn higher than margin profit and exploit you. eg smart choice. ask your self this. why is it people who got smart choiuce ended up with the biggest phone bills ever in their life ?.
why is it i get 256 connection when we can safley br provided with 1.5 at no cost.
why is it TSTT only has a hand full of net service people like 5 or 6, why kis it when u call they just dont care ( btw one of my close friends is a TSTT net express help desk operator and i have a heads up about wat they do to customers.
I hope u and TSTT will get along well, they have ****ed me over way too much
10-24-2005, 04:39 PM
I have answered this already... TSTT service sucks like a cheap vietnamesse (no offense intended) H0!!!! I don't even get service 3 houses higher up than where I live. And their rates SUCK too, and their service sucks, and their excuses for not giving me DSL SUCKS. With so much sucking going on, its a wonder monica isn't working for them.
10-24-2005, 06:19 PM
larry no offense but what u sayin there eh making sense.digicel just voicing the opinions of the ppl...they usin it as part of their campaign...thaz business,like it or not.I dont think they wudda came and start making foolish statements without some sort of research.In any case im not rushing the Digicel thing...TSTT rates will drop and with less ppl the system will get better(in theory)
10-24-2005, 07:18 PM
I see where laruto is coming from, but I have to disagree.
Bashing them, insulting them, changing providers is the only way they are going to change. For all I know I might actually stay with TSTT if their service improves , only time will tell.
10-24-2005, 08:58 PM
In any case im not rushing the Digicel thing...TSTT rates will drop and with less ppl the system will get better(in theory)
my sentiments exactly
10-24-2005, 09:54 PM
Originally posted by Itachi@Oct 24 2005, 07:58 PM
my sentiments exactly
The monopoly needed breaking, lets see how WE beniefit,
I wouldn't mind a 2000 p990 with my next package :)
the competition will do tstt good
and those of us who are sticking with tstt will benefit...
and i am holding out to see how good cdma going to be...
Tstt for me in the time being.
Well for me I lost my cellphone last month so I kinda stuck any way yuh take it. I was going to go buy it this weekend gone but the sis tell me hold out and see what Digicel have to offer when the time of reckon come - so just for the sake of curiosity, I biting and making the wait.
As Para put it, TSTT needs to revise their statistics. BADLY. BADLY. BADLY. They need to put some serious upgrades into place to make room for their customers-I love those Leopard ads that Digicel are putting down because it will finally get TSTT off they mc ass and take the threat seriously for once - yes, the monopoly NEED breaking.
IMO: throw out ALL them customer dept. and start over. The kinda 'sorry is a hard luck. Have a nice day.' attitude when you call with a problem cyah keep going on-serious. The amount a employees I musta cuss already for the year when I call for a lil assistance..steups.
I seeing this as a nice lil wake up call for TSTT and good kick to the jewels. Let's hope that it will move along nicely and TSTT get they ass up and take some iniciative for once.
10-25-2005, 09:22 AM
Originally posted by androsovic@Oct 24 2005, 05:19 PM
larry no offense but what u sayin there eh making sense.digicel just voicing the opinions of the ppl...they usin it as part of their campaign...thaz business,like it or not.I dont think they wudda came and start making foolish statements without some sort of research.In any case im not rushing the Digicel thing...TSTT rates will drop and with less ppl the system will get better(in theory)
then you obviously missed the context of the entire post, the issue is integrity in their marketing tactics, and quite frankly they have none!
think about it like this, as TG members you could sit and say, TG sticking these days, but would you let soeone on another local game forum talk about you like that?
and one more thing, my issue is quite simply, the add campaign, not the levels of service or the rates!
krozar
10-25-2005, 10:44 AM
I am no fan of monopolies, free and open market has been a boon to me when there is competition. (and if not the Federal Trade Commission or whatever the equivulent in TT is should break it up)
Recently Texas deregulated the power industry, I can select from dozens of electric companies, the last form of monopoly is now gone. In the end we pay cheaper power prices than anyone in the country because they are still 'utilities' elsewhere outside the state.
Though I am not familiar with how such things affect a very geographically limited area such as TT. Forien based companies won't put huge offices there or base their operations there. In the U.S. everything becomes based here, Japanese branded car companies for example run their entire operation here from design, manufacturing, to management; with no substantial link to their Japanese counterparts, as the North American division of such companies become corporate entities in themselves.
But if the federal trade economy was limited to my town (aprox. the population of TT) then I would probably have a drastically different view on importation of goods and services.
Yah it's a dicey situation though, more services but at the price of a "Wal-Mart effect". I suppose that in the end we have to deal with living in a global economy.
10-26-2005, 11:17 PM
bush to answer one of yuh questions about de internet so slow
tstt backbone to small. this carrying data and voice, if u play dota with us on the server u will see why.
second dont get to dam hype up about digicel, i not in trinidad but i seeing effects of competiton and it not what u hope for, dey will have plans and way to pull u in and screw u over.
next as laruto said digicell riding on tstt backbone, tstt getting a very nice cut for international calls, but tstt or CW could charge dem hard.
HIDDENED FEES, u doh see dat in trinidad but we will soon, this is a next way to lure u right in. doh watch wah flashly and nice, read de mc FINE WORDS, yes them lil words dat does look like "why de ass i need to read dem" plz read dem
10-27-2005, 01:16 AM
then you obviously missed the context of the entire post, the issue is integrity in their marketing tactics, and quite frankly they have none!
Before yuh look tuh complain about TSTT lack of integrity and competence in providing a service to Trinbagonians, yuh pointin out a competitor's "lack of integrity" in voicing the opinions Trinbagonians have had for years?
Your complaint is pointless.
I cyar believe you thought this thread was worth posting here AND on Triniscene (http://www.triniscene.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=28886). Man keep yuh narrow-minded jingoistic ole talk tuh yuhself eh.
As someone on TS rightly pointed out, if Digicel ads botherin yuh, is because de truth hurts.
10-27-2005, 03:49 AM
i aint know why alyuh fightin down larry there
honestly i was thinking the exact same thing , thier ad campaign is very shallow and seems to be directed to the easily swayed nincompoop
i was thinkin about switchin to digicel , although my only complaint with t stt is that i dont have cell service at home ... if digi can give me that then i might switch
digicel's ad campaign is very very distasteful , its kinda cool that tstt's ad campaign currently throws no insults or "low blows" towards the competition ... tstt with integrity ? hmmm .. it may happen
digicel shooting themselves in the foot, all they needed to do is come and advertise thier service, and buss some nice prices and ting ... but the dissing and underhand tactics leaves a bad taste in your mouth, kidna wonder if thas how they advertising, thats also how they gonna conduct business
PS - bushman .. smartchoice is obviously not for everyone ... typical trini hear free ting and didnt read the fine print .. my phone is now less than half what it used to be .. which is pretty damn cool if u asked me
Smart Choice imo is d REL ting if you living in a house like mine - we run DSL and it's about 5-6 people living in the house, 3 of which are regular phone users. Split the initial cost and thereafter into 1/3's and you have yuhself a pretty nice dealing going on.
I still say when DigiC come here, I going and take up some of they packages and take a flip through and see what going on. Hidden jutsu fees I will look out for heavy.
But on the topic of the ad campaign: it's a cutthroat type scene at times in this new world market man-if yuh have an advantage scene at times, yuh does have to exploit it at times. Doh mind that I myself agreeing yet disagreeing with DigiC blunt and somewhat "harsh" ads at times, yes, but as Kayode put it:
-"yuh pointin out a competitor's "lack of integrity" in voicing the opinions Trinbagonians have had for years"-
TSTT has given themselves rather little pathway to walk on because they have disappointed EVERYONE who is a customer at some point in time.
Heavily. Badly. Sadly.
And at least 5 outta every 10 customers must have wanted to cuss for pound and crown whenever something go wrong, Internet, phone or cell gone wrong and you spend close to an hour on the Help Line waiting waiting waiting. Not that I calling DigiC perfect mind you, but unless TSTT start REAL shining here with some kinda light, they hands will be to the ground when DigiC comes and shows practical golden zen to the utterly fed-up part of the population.
10-27-2005, 12:18 PM
my phone is now less than half what it used to be .. which is pretty damn cool if u asked me
Sounds Like a TSTT Ad to me
I really eh care what digi has to say about TSTT and what TSTT has to say about "you can now talk in..."
Just gimme a good deal on a p990 when it comes out along with nice POST paid packages. Hey I not jumping ship for a discount of $10 per mth SOMEONE IMPRESS MEH!
__________________________________________________ _____________________
I made a point to a friend that TSTT may increase charges from non TSTT cell phones to landlines. That could make things ultra gay for digi. My friend pointed out that if digi does it stuff good enough you might find it easier/Cheaper to talk via cell (bypass TSTT).
You all think TSTT higher rate from NON TSTT CELL phones might cut up digi?
10-27-2005, 12:43 PM
Funny thing is I intend to stick with TSTT for plenty of the reasons mentioned in this thread. I really doh feel like jumpin on any unproven foreign bandwagon, especially when TSTT actually seems to be bending over backwards these days.
But I still doh blame Digicel for playing dirty and making TSTT squirm. Presure does buss pipe...and de more they shame and frighten TSTT, de better it is fuh de consumer.
Is like gettin rape from yuh guardian fuh years, and then quarreling with a stranger when they beat up yuh guardian fuh rapin yuh. Leddem take licks...it might teach them tuh be a better person.
10-28-2005, 05:29 AM
interesting scenario u drew upon there kayo .... odd ... but interesting ... :D :D :D
10-28-2005, 10:26 AM
Yeah pretty graphic... but we get the point. I am disappointed with TSTT and whilst I not necessarily JUMPING ship, I will seriously consider what they offering. In the end whichever has the better price-performance ratio i'll go with. Like AMD vs. Intel.
10-28-2005, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by w1ntry@Oct 28 2005, 09:26 AM
Yeah pretty graphic... but we get the point. I am disappointed with TSTT and whilst I not necessarily JUMPING ship, I will seriously consider what they offering. In the end whichever has the better price-performance ratio i'll go with. Like AMD vs. Intel.
bad comparison ;) More Nvidia Vs ATI, AMD pwns intel.
10-28-2005, 02:48 PM
lol yeah ati vs nvidia
so who will rep tstt?
10-28-2005, 03:47 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Oct 28 2005, 11:42 AM
bad comparison ;) More Nvidia Vs ATI, AMD pwns intel.
Not necessarily so... it could be AMD Turion vs. Intel Centrino... well Pentium M vs. Turion.
10-29-2005, 03:51 AM
so who doin the benchmarks on digicel and TSTT ?
:D :D