View Full Version : Torrents Not Working On Dsl

10-12-2005, 10:52 PM
Torrents not working on dsl.. normal speedstream 4200 modem running through a Cnet switch , i forwarded the ports but it still won't work , other P2P works fine... any help?

10-12-2005, 11:10 PM
which ports u opened? and for which protocols?

i think bit torrent requires TCP and UDP protocols allowed on ports 6880-6889.

Also it might be the client causing problems. state which client you are using and exactly what errors are reported.

10-12-2005, 11:14 PM
Torrents working fine on my side. maybe its the torrent itself givin the problem or the tracker.

10-13-2005, 05:44 AM
Maybe TSTT sensed you had GreenDOT and is playing with you.

Honestly, read the error message
Rejected by tracker
No tracker found
I/O Error (not enough disk space)

10-13-2005, 07:29 AM
Azereus .... usually it has no problem with tracker , but it refuses to connect to any peers or seeds at all even though it detects thousands, sometimes it doesnt find the tracker , gets like 60 peers and stays in the red anyway , the normal bittorrent client works but @ 4k a second... haven't tried any others so far .
I'v forwarded TCP and UDP 6000-7000 since alot of games etc. use this range... still doesn't work. Turned off the firewall in the modem and called tstt to turn off theirs... still doesn't work . Windows firewall is off as well.
Kazaa works fine... most games work fine...

Maybe a firmware upgrade? help please .

10-13-2005, 10:16 AM
Dont upgrade the firmware... I've heard some ppll got seriously messedup when they did that.

10-13-2005, 10:25 AM
actually the firmware upgrade helped us out with the constant disconnects and what not....

use bitlord or abc or something...ent u say normal bittorrent works?? then i doubt it is the ports or the router/switcch

10-13-2005, 11:01 AM
my bad missed the
"normal bittorrent works"

Indeed, try another client.

10-13-2005, 01:26 PM
i agree that azureus is not n00b friendly but it's still my client of choice closely followed by ABC.

10-13-2005, 02:42 PM
On my side ABC fuh the win fyah fuh java.

10-13-2005, 06:23 PM
Azureus = not that hot
ABC = very good for queueing up torrents
Bit tornado is still my fav overall, to me that client gets u to max speed faster than the others......

10-13-2005, 10:57 PM
the reason i like azureus is that i have numerous OS's installed on my pC and the azureus download folder is on a partition of a disk accessible to all of them. I can keep my torrents active no matter which OS i am using at the time.

10-13-2005, 11:32 PM
Well for us single OS ppl a java based application isn't all that attractive, to slow. I guess it all comes down to preference.