View Full Version : Sony P990

10-11-2005, 02:41 PM
http://212.213.255.72/keepthls/newsimg/051010_sony_ericsson_p990.jpg
Sony Ericsson announced today the next addition to their smartphone line - the Sony Ericsson P990. There were a lot of rumours and spy photos recently, but no source managed to guess the model name right - P950 and P1000 were the most used.

The Sony Ericsson P990 is really jam-packed with features. To the already impressive feature set of P910, the new communicator adds UMTS(3G) support, 2 megapixel auto focus camera, FM radio with RDS and Wi-Fi (WLAN 802.11b) connectivity. It seems that the only thing the new smartphone lacks is EDGE support.

The P990 runs on a new Symbian OS version 9.1 with UIQ 3.0 software platform. The new multi tasking OS version allows browsing the Internet, sending and receiving files at the same time as talking. The Opera 8 web browser can be used in landscape mode and supports frames and Javascript.

The P990 will be commercially available in Q1 2006. No price has been announced yet.

Sony Ericsson press release

Sony Ericsson unveils UMTS P990 smartphone

London, October 10, 2005 – Sony Ericsson emphasised its continued commitment to Symbian OS today with the announcement of its next generation smartphone to the global development community. The P990 will be the first commercially available smartphone to adopt the enhanced Symbian OS version 9.1 and UIQ 3 software platform. This flagship UMTS smartphone is Wi-Fi enabled, has a 2 megapixel camera with autofocus and features a new hardware keyboard beneath the flip-down keypad. The phone will start shipping during Q1 of 2006.

The P990 is the next in a line of successful Sony Ericsson smartphones - the P800, P900 and P910 – and is based on the same proven concept and recognisable form factor. All have been popular with users, operators and software developers thanks to their powerful productivity features. Operator feedback and download statistics from the Sony Ericsson Application Shop have shown that consumers, both business and personal, are interested in using their smartphones to the fullest potential. Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) can be as high as 4 to 5 times that of more traditional voice-centric mobiles.

To ensure a large proportion of applications are available on the new Symbian and UIQ software platform when the P990 goes on sale, Sony Ericsson has decided to announce the smartphone well in advance of availability so that developers have time to create and certify as many applications as possible.

As with its predecessors, the P990 is designed to be first and foremost a great mobile phone. It also offers all the benefits of UMTS including video calling, high-bandwidth multi-media downloads and the ability to browse the Internet with full HTML pages. These are viewed in landscape on the new Opera 8 browser. In addition, the P990 is prepared for all major push e-mail clients enabling full e-mail access with attachments, anywhere, anytime.

The P990 has multiple text input methods enabling it to support all users’ needs and preferences. Writing e-mails is made easier by the new hardware keyboard positioned beneath the flip-down keypad on the main body of the phone. Reading them is made simpler on the large 2.8 inch QVGA touch screen. Multi tasking – being able to browse the Internet, send and receive files at the same time as talking – is now possible due to the enhanced capabilities of the new software platform.

Memory has been extended in order to handle all multi-media downloads and e-mail attachments. Memory Stick PRO Duo up to 4GB will be available in the market at launch and the P990 now has up to 80 MB user free memory. A 64 MB Memory Stick PRO Duo is included in the box, preloaded with a VPN client and trial version of a virus scan package.

The combination of UMTS and WLAN features will also significantly improve the efficiency and flexibility of applications such as e-mail, browsing the Internet/Intranet and video telephony. WLAN, available in hot spots all over the world, acts as a complement to high speed 3G services, enabling widespread access to corporate network services.

Other new features include automatic time zone change to the Calendar diary and updated PC sync software with extended synchronization possibilities. Additionally the 2 Megapixel camera with autofocus, digital zoom, photo light plus the bright TFT screen and video recording provide a high quality imaging experience.

In a separate announcement today, Sony Ericsson Developer World and UIQ Technology outlined their plans to support UIQ 3 developers.

Developers can program in C++ or Java™ to create powerful professional and personal productivity tools for the P990. The smartphone is based on Java Platform 3 (JP-3). It supports four new Java Specification Requests (JSR’s) including Web Services (JSR-172) and is the twentieth phone from Sony Ericsson supporting Mobile Java™ 3D, demonstrating the company’s leadership in this new technology. Standard Java™ applications can be run with either the flip-down keypad open or closed.

The P990 will be commercially available in Q1 2006. The variants will be:
- P990i Dual mode UMTS (2100MHz) - GPRS 900/1800/1900 for Europe, Asia Pacific, Middle East, Africa
- P990c Dual mode UMTS (2100MHz) - GPRS 900/1800/1900 for Mainland China. Launch for mainland China dependant on availability of 3G services.

The P990 will be available in 4 hardware keyboard variants: QWERTY, QWERTZ, AZERTY and Russian

10-11-2005, 03:50 PM
para's new toy? :)

10-11-2005, 04:07 PM
fuh now my new toy is a GTO2 :), have to see the price on this bad boy before jumping ship.

Would be nice if DIGI stocked this and offered me a price for disc from TSTT.

10-15-2005, 02:53 PM
the 990 is really neat too

but not as "obzocky" as the older models :)

http://212.213.255.72/keepthls/pics/sonyericsson/sonyericsson-p990-00.jpg

10-15-2005, 03:14 PM
Nice pic of the 990 with the flap down. The 910 and I think the 990 as well are better shapped than my 800 and I find the 800 to be very kewl.

obzuscky is partial to the users, I am a power user I love functionality and use alot of it, a friend of mine @ work was one of those guys who found 'the phone too big' he got a 900 to test and he said

"I was sick and wrong to say anything bad about this phone"

The wireless feature will make it 'uber' as is I had to use the bluetooth to get that kinda functionality on my p800.

This phone targets a certain crowd and im one of them ;) You may not like it but some ppl do. Some ppl like their phones thin, some ppl like flips, some ppl like functionality like waw.

Hey i dont condemn all non PDA phones, i like the V620 (Man phone) and the w800.

10-15-2005, 07:54 PM
the v635 is the man phone...hahaha

10-15-2005, 10:15 PM
de w800 is hopefully my nexx fone.....

10-15-2005, 10:34 PM
Originally posted by Xecutiona@Oct 15 2005, 06:54 PM
the v635 is the man phone...hahaha

I must be mistaken then, v635 is the black sexy looking one?

Cyah go wrong with the w800 itachi

10-17-2005, 10:19 PM
nah the 620 is the black one .. the 635 went back to the silver look, like the 600, jus change up the front a lil bit

the W800 is a boss phone for real , hopeing to get one mehself
right now, they retailing for about 500 us, waitin for the price to come down some

virusone
10-18-2005, 03:18 AM
Actaully guys take a look at this like choice for a complete celephone... Check it out

Sony Ericsson W900i announced

Features of the W900i include:
GSM 900/1800/1900 plus UMTS 2100
QVGA 262K color screen
2 megapixel camera with autofocus and 30fps video capture
470MB of built-in storage plus a Memory Stick Duo card slot
Music player can handle MP3, AAC or AAC+
Stereo Portable Handsfree with remote control (3.5mm jack)
Bluetooth
The W900i should begin shipping later in the fourth quarter 2005.

10-18-2005, 04:32 AM
http://212.213.255.72/keepthls/pics/sonyericsson/sonyericsson-w900-00.jpg

http://212.213.255.72/keepthls/pics/sonyericsson/sonyericsson-w900-01.jpg

wooooo ... SEXY !!!

10-18-2005, 05:42 AM
VERY interesting.
Similar to that samsung phone you have rum (your dads) in terms of accessing the keypad?

Sony really trying to do the ipod/phone oui, actually the nano is so small I don't see why someone can't just 'stick' it on to their phone oui. Felt/saw one yesterday, its small much thicker than a CC (lol) but small

apple should take a shot @ cell phones, partner with someone and do a nano/cellphone, I would buy one. Anyways back on topic w900i ftw ploy.

10-18-2005, 10:46 AM
AS IT turned out, yesterday's latest handset launch from Sony Ericsson was a 3G (W-CDMA) version of its Walkman handset, the W900. Not a portable video player with cellular capabilities as some had predicted.

The W900 can play back video but the crucial point about this particular Walkman phone is that with its support for faster download speeds, it will become viable for more mobile network operators to offer full MP3 music downloads using over the air (OTA) technology.

Such a move cuts out the middleman – which in this market is Apple's iTunes service, of course. The handset boasts 470 MB of internal memory which puts it on par with Motorola's Rokr. Sony Ericsson quotes a maximum Memory Stick Pro Duo capability of 2GB seeing as 4GB ain't out yet.

What the W900 does give the company is a range of Walkman phones since it also has the original W800 and the W550 (which mutates into the W600 for the Americas). This is beginning to have a pronounced effect on its unit sales which increased to 13.8 million in Q3 2005. That gives it around 7 per cent of the market.

Like Nokia, these results have caused Sony Ericsson to raise its estimate for total global handset sales in 2005 to over 760 million units. So the market is looking increasingly healthy.

Buried away in the announcements was a Walkman branded accessory - the MMR-60. What's this? Only the handset vendor's answer to the iTrip for iPods. Basically it broadcasts music from the latest Sony Ericsson handsets via FM. As a result it will only become available in 'limited markets'. It's illegal over here in Blighty.

Another interesting move is the MDS-70 home audio system. Basically it's a jumped up docking station with Hi-Fi speakers which incorporates Sony's S-Master technology to provide a decent sound when you're playing back from a Walkman handset. Intruigingly it has a different part number for sale through Sony branded outlets.

Sadly Sony Ericsson has missed the chance again to provide a decent set of stereo earphones for the W900. Instead there is just a plug-in set of stereo buds in the shape of the HPM-80. No Bluetooth headset. Well, at least the HPM-80 has a built in controller that provides the usual play, reverse,and stop functions so you can control the handset from the headset.µ

10-18-2005, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Oct 18 2005, 03:42 AM
VERY interesting.
Similar to that samsung phone you have rum (your dads) in terms of accessing the keypad?

Sony really trying to do the ipod/phone oui, actually the nano is so small I don't see why someone can't just 'stick' it on to their phone oui. Felt/saw one yesterday, its small much thicker than a CC (lol) but small

apple should take a shot @ cell phones, partner with someone and do a nano/cellphone, I would buy one. Anyways back on topic w900i ftw ploy.

para u see motorola new phone yet?

i tink is the ROCKSTAR some ting so

this is de ipod and motorola combo in 1

10-19-2005, 11:32 AM
nah opium that phone boring