View Full Version : Para Gets A Gto2
10-11-2005, 08:26 AM
Whoa, so I got me a GTO2 ;) it seems that when you get a new hardware component that you are really excited about SOMETHING must go wrong. One of my HDDs gets a 'NO OS FOUND' ... SIGH after running a full scandisk nothing...
Early this morning i decided to use my backup HDD (just switch with HDD is the boot) and I was able to boot into windows. Install some drivers yada yada and finally time to see what kinda clocks I can get with the GTO2.
Before I start AC off, make sure the ambient temp = normal, like @ java or sumpting just to make things harder on the stock setup.
At first I moved in small increments.. Then I just threw caution to the wind and moved it to 540core 1180(590)mem X850XTPE speeds and ran the artifact tester. It ran fine for 15mins then mc screensaver came up(mc backup os) and as a result the aftifact tester stopped. I had to run it again this time with out screensaver and It seems stable as a rock.
Imho thats a very decent stable OC, with my AS5 Rev2 which taking its MC time to come here i'll have those temps down to acceptable values.
GPU Stock = 400 OC = 540 GAIN = 140MHz
MEM Stock = 490 OC = 590 GAIN = 100MHz
The card is still on 12pipelines (only so much i can do in 1 morning) and its already time to go to work. More info as time progresses and of course i'll unveil my full PC benchmark as well.
This card will be up for grabs next year :) at a reasonable price. X1850XT immc.
10-11-2005, 08:39 AM
Not bad in the OC region... I wait for the benchies
10-11-2005, 08:45 AM
Talk bout fast on the draw I now leaving to go to work and w1ntry replied,
35minutes stable during a 'para hot' test, thats good stuff, my place gets so hot without AC that I litterally sweat.
I'll see how much I can push it then do some benchmarks.
10-11-2005, 01:08 PM
GJ PARA MC
flashing to XT PE when the AS5 rev 2 arrives?
10-11-2005, 01:59 PM
i could have sworn the man gonna talk bout a new car he get, A Pontiac GTO
http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/9558/gto7lv.jpg
10-11-2005, 02:13 PM
lol@ Laruto gettin chain up. *applaudes* Finally Para get a card and could sit backa nd relax now.Amen! :rolleyes:
10-11-2005, 02:39 PM
1) LOL @ GTO car, I am a van man
2) I'll unlock and OC to XT PE with stock cooler first so I could compare with AS5 rev2
3) Yes chunks lol, you could relax your 7800GT pwns me. I just couldn't let this OC beast pass me.
10-11-2005, 04:31 PM
bah @ all these tech based posts
the car still looking sweet though.
ploy @ pontiac!!!
V8 in we mc!!!
10-11-2005, 08:42 PM
steups, i well say is the drink V8 allyuh talking bout
http://www.goodnessdirect.co.uk/detail/752800b.jpg
10-11-2005, 08:56 PM
I am impressed and I didn't squeeze all the juice from the card as yet, the ram can go further and so can the gpu.
X800GT02 - STOCK 12pipelines
[attachmentid=506]
X800GTO2 - PIPELINES Unlocked - 16pipelines (stock core and mem)
[attachmentid=507]
X800GTO2 - AT X850XTPE speeds all pipelines unlocked
[attachmentid=508]
For a card at that price mind you I was fortunate to beat the rush/price hike, it performs VERY VERY well. The 7800GT stocks @ around 7000 and costs 150US more, granted that the 7800GT can itself OC to 7600.
I am a very happy buyer, have no fear i'll be selling it next year with the AS5 to ensure proper cooling at a reasonable price.
10-11-2005, 10:48 PM
FLASH DE MC :)
find the max OC :)
See if i might change my mind and go back to ATi lol
The 7800GT costs around 100us more (even less according to newegg, 300us GTO2 mcs) actually and it is worth it :)
doxxx give us a lil more info nah
like method of unlocking(soft or flash etc) and software used for ocing. Let our readers know how simple the mod is so that ppl can be trying these gosu mods.
10-11-2005, 11:15 PM
Very easy stuff indeed.
1) Create bootdisk
2) place flashrom (application) and the BIOS you want to use on the disk
3) use the following command
flashrom -f -p 0 biosfile
force as its not a native bios file [-f]
add new bios [-p]
0 = videocard
tada flash done.
Using ATi Tool or Trixx (supplied OC tool from sapphire) increase the CPU/MEM to the desired speed run artifact tester, if no errors 3dmark iymc.
10-12-2005, 08:08 AM
if say by same stroke of stupidity u messed up the biosed and now the card won't work properly, could u use a pci card and correct the error u made ?
10-12-2005, 10:10 AM
DAMNIT.... not my X800XT getting pwned again... lol no scene.. I have yet to OC and well mine is an AIW so I do have more functionality... but damn GJ para. X800GTO to X850XT PE is a helluva jump!
10-12-2005, 10:27 AM
Cereal yes you can do that>
However you will have to use the flashrom -i command to find the id of the GTO in comparison to the PCI vidcard.
w1ntry>
GL with the OC ;), I am really impressed with the performance per $$. At present the prices have increased due to demand *sigh*.
Fellas doh worry its going to be up for sale soon :) i'll be gentle with it though.
I really like that variable fan settings... great stuff. My PC revs like a v8 when its being 'stressed' and almost silent when surfing.
10-12-2005, 12:41 PM
no idea
open it up and find out :)
check ur fans etc etc
make a new thread if u need help though :)
cereal it is always a good idea to backup ur bios b4 a flash so if anything goes wrong u just flash it again :)
GJ again Para MC
find the max OC for me nah
what about temps?
10-12-2005, 02:37 PM
i was thinking about modding the bios in my 6600gt so i was wondering if there was a fail safe incase i messed it up
10-12-2005, 02:46 PM
no idea
open it up and find out smile.gif
check ur fans etc etc
make a new thread if u need help though smile.gif
????
bios saving
Saving BIOS
flashrom -s filename
techpowerup has an archive of bioses so no scene if you forgot to save
Temps + Max OC
I always like to leave something 'in the bag' just incase, i wasn't even planning showing you all the XT PE was gonna just do the XT ;) and then buss down the PE and follow up with the rest.
The ram used on the GTO2 can reach 600mhz easily and can go a slight bit more, the core at 540 can venture in the 550s easily as well maybe even further ;) use that as a guide to what you might get.
Temps during the hot test reached 60C GPU 55C ambient, as mentioned before, my hot test is hot. Turning on the AC helps alot, with temps of 45-47 and ambient high 30s during load. At rest with AC temps were high 30s -low 40s
I hope that the AS5 Rev2 will decrease these temps even further.
10-12-2005, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Oct 12 2005, 01:46 PM
????
bios saving
Saving BIOS
flashrom -s filename
techpowerup has an archive of bioses so no scene if you forgot to save
Temps + Max OC
I always like to leave something 'in the bag' just incase, i wasn't even planning showing you all the XT PE was gonna just do the XT ;) and then buss down the PE and follow up with the rest.
The ram used on the GTO2 can reach 600mhz easily and can go a slight bit more, the core at 540 can venture in the 550s easily as well maybe even further ;) use that as a guide to what you might get.
Temps during the hot test reached 60C GPU 55C ambient, as mentioned before, my hot test is hot. Turning on the AC helps alot, with temps of 45-47 and ambient high 30s during load. At rest with AC temps were high 30s -low 40s
I hope that the AS5 Rev2 will decrease these temps even further.
chunks made a post about turning on his pc and hearing a lot of noise etc etc
apparently he deleted it
or im going crazy :)
well hit we the info whenever u ready :P
them temps wouldnt kill though
the AS5 with AS5 will definitely help the scene
10-12-2005, 03:20 PM
Still have to announce the parts i bought.
sorry for the late reply. Para seemed to answer all questions satisfactorily.
You can also use ATI tool to dump BIOS from card.
IF BIOS messed up, connect a PCI card, boot with booty disk and change active display device by using flashrom -0 or -1 depending which is which.
Flashrom is supposed to be distributed with a readme file with all this explained. All the commands and parameters u will need for **** ups are there. *RECOMMENDED THAT U PRINT THE LIST* :bleh:
10-12-2005, 06:27 PM
now dat is nice
is ah while since i come in de forums, and look was happen
well done para i advise ramp de same ting and he got a card too
now the gto2 cards are out of stock only way now is to find dem in ebay
and now i have to flash my card bios to a KO, because it actually oc nice
10-20-2005, 12:39 PM
Got the AS5 on tuesday, there are drops in my temps for sure and its MUCH more silent at 100% fanspeed than the stock cooler.
My ram temps are almost the same as my core temp... very odd I guess its because I am still using the 'thermal pads' on the AS5.
XT850XTPE speeds
Hot room
Idle low 40s (41), Stess Low 50s
AC room
Idles low 30s(31/2), Stress Low 40s
10-20-2005, 05:29 PM
nice
whey d pics??????
10-20-2005, 05:59 PM
i'll get em done tonight if possible
10-20-2005, 09:55 PM
gg :)
my camera coming soon :)
if i idle i go make a thread bout it lol
10-21-2005, 12:12 AM
after a good bit of Quake4
60FPS @ 1024 HighQ
Not the best performance but it will work, I really hope these X850/X800 gen cards get a boost in performance with Catalyst 5.11
10-21-2005, 09:15 AM
if it runs great at XT PE stock why not flash the card to XT PE?
im a lazy mc so that is wat i wud do lol
i was looking for some physical pics of the card with the AS5 an ting but only people who have time to do that are welcome to do it
i kno para is a busy mc ;)
/me wonders if the thinkpad wud run Q4...
10-22-2005, 11:45 PM
I like the flexibility of changing to different modes easily and I don't mind its 'stock' being XL, safer that way.
virusone
10-24-2005, 12:15 AM
GG PAra .... ummm how long before we get some actual pics of the stuff or your rig jed.... Link we nah
10-24-2005, 05:31 AM
right now i getting some pretty decent OC results, I am breaking in some of those now, as soon as I get that done ill do my posting.