View Full Version : G.A.M.E.R.S PC Game of the year !

12-12-2004, 05:37 AM
** - indicates expansion pack

i condensed this list from a much longer list on another website ..
i know what i voting for

12-12-2004, 02:35 PM
2 votes for the hl2
yippie

basically seems they are voting for the same gaming
seeing source is the orig. multi player for hl2

12-12-2004, 02:48 PM
i chose the multi , cause though HL2 is hot

multi is what does it for me ... play de single ... beat it .. yay it was hot .. play the multi

12 months later ... still playin the multiplayer, cant even remember the ending for the single player :)

but like u said ... basically same game so far :) ( like i didnt tink it would be lol )

12-12-2004, 06:26 PM
source is the sh!t fellas the most played game in java!!!!!!!!!!

12-12-2004, 07:29 PM
My vote goes to source.Undoubtidly one of the best fps mp games i have played in a while
DIE SOF DIE

12-12-2004, 08:53 PM
LOL@ DIE SOF DIE
Yeh fuh real eh... but honestly i rather hl2 anyday,just the ideas they put into the game and its storyline is incredible.Thats just my opinion anyway.

12-13-2004, 01:09 AM
Although i dind't complete POP WW ill give it to HL2,

Source being put up there is kinda weird, Although CS was sooo popular back in the day, HL got the credit not CS.

12-14-2004, 10:01 PM
Ahh i see the votes climbing for hl2,good good.but fellas this isnt a race against the two.Vots for you fav, once its on the list that is

12-14-2004, 11:22 PM
I think Riddick should be up there. I think it could give HL2 a run for its money

12-15-2004, 12:39 PM
errr rum counter strike is half life 2 really

it was meant to be de multi for it

so in real fact hl2 win so far

12-16-2004, 02:01 AM
yea opium, everyone knows that

there can be considered separate in a sense though

so far look like HL2/CSS take the cake

not a single vote for anything else ....

12-16-2004, 07:24 AM
Only 9 ppl vote you know:P
Why not throw it on the frontpage?

12-16-2004, 01:49 PM
this is alwasy a hard question to answer, i need to ask my self which of these sequels (the only new titles that i notice are WOW True Crime and Farcry) actually brought something new to the table, which had the best graphics based on the minimum required specs, which is the most fun to me either alone or with a crew....

i have to say that my vote goes to UT 2k4, it was alot of Fun SP and MP, the Free Demo was one of the best ever released, it ran with ease on Gforce2 cards and was even playable online with a 56k connection.

plus i kinda biased but what the heck, at the core everyone is.

12-16-2004, 11:29 PM
UT Demo was really nice. I must admit UT had me captured for a while.

12-17-2004, 01:06 AM
Originally posted by dinesh@Dec 16 2004, 07:24 AM
Only 9 ppl vote you know:P
Why not throw it on the frontpage?

thats a really good idea actually

12-17-2004, 04:08 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Dec 16 2004, 11:29 PM
UT Demo was really nice. I must admit UT had me captured for a while.

it also offered some of the best gameplay modes featured in any FPS shooter this year, i mean we had Assault, Bombing Run, Double Domination [SIZE=1] and of course the noobs got to try Onslaught.

12-18-2004, 01:21 AM
yea but ...

how could u possibly rate ut over hl2 ....

ah mean .. it is personal preference but stilll mengggg

12-19-2004, 11:25 AM
Half Life is a lovely game, wonderful graphics, innovative gameplay but the amount of options in UT 2k4 and variety of different game modes, to me, makes UT2k4 the more impressive game.

12-29-2004, 10:35 AM
u know lars .. been playin some UT lately , the game is actually pretty damn good :P
personally not my pick for GOTY, but i could see how someone would pick it

but anyway, heres the results from Gamespy.com GOTY voting -

PS2 Choice Awards

1. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 40%
2. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater 14%
3. Burnout 3: Takedown 4%
4. Katamari Damacy 3%
5. Ratchet & Clank: Up Your Arsenal 3%
6. Need for Speed Underground 2 2%
7. Call of Duty: Finest Hour 2%
8. Final Fantasy XI 1%
9. Killzone 1%
10. Star Ocean: Till the End of Time 1%

GameCube Choice Awards

1. Metroid Prime 2 Echoes 34%
2. Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes 9%
3. Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door 8%
4. Tales of Symphonia 5%
5. The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures 4%
6. Call of Duty: Finest Hour 4%
7. Prince of Persia: Warrior Within 3%
8. Pikmin 2 3%
9. Need for Speed Underground 2 3%
10. Viewtiful Joe 2 3%

Xbox Choice Awards

1. Halo 2 59%
2. Fable 7%
3. Ninja Gaiden 6%
4. Knights of the Old Republic II -- The Sith Lords 5%
5. Burnout 3: Takedown 5%
6. The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay 2%
7. Call of Duty: Finest Hour 1%
8. Need for Speed Underground 2 1%
9. Dead or Alive Ultimate 1%
10. X-Men Legends 1%

PC Overall Choice Awards

1. Half-Life 2 58%
2. World of Warcraft 12%
3. DOOM 3 3%
4. Unreal Tournament 2004 3%
5. Rome: Total War 3%
6. Far Cry 2%
7. Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines 2%
8. Lord of the Rings: Battle For Middle Earth 2%
9. Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War 1%
10. EverQuest 2 1%

GameSpy's Top 10 Games of the Year - OVERALL

1. Halo 2 (Xbox)
2. Half-Life 2 (PC)
3. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (PS2)
4. Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater (PS2)
5. World of Warcraft (PC)
6. Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC)
7. Ninja Gaiden (Xbox)
8. Burnout 3: Takedown (PS2/Xbox)
9. Metroid Prime 2 Echoes (GCN)
10. Katamari Damacy (PS2)

halo2 get overall game of the year yes ... guess ah really need to play that considering in such a strong year for gamin over all platforms and that won eh ?

this year really had alota games yes i aint play 1% of all them games up there nah
presha

12-29-2004, 11:58 AM
Honestly I dont see whats all the hype on Halo2, however Halo2 has a large fan base and that could be the propelling factor

12-29-2004, 03:07 PM
I feel XMEN legends bribe to get up there.
Halo2 isn't "all that" it's the XBOX Live that people really play it for.
From what I've heard, really kickass stuff. Have to throw in a "mod chip switch' on mines so that I can get on xbox live and not get banned:(
MP aspect is where it really gains its points.

12-30-2004, 12:24 AM
thats the odd thing para,

the GAME OF THE YEAR overall was picked by the editors @ gamespy

wasnt jus a gamers voting selection ... which i find odd ... they did rate it above HL2 to be honest :S

12-30-2004, 11:42 AM
think about it like this, what does Half Life2 offer to the PC gamers and what does Halo 2 offer to the console gamers, if you look at it like that you can see why halo will get the edge, i mean good fps on the PC are a dime a dozen, half life2 may offer some riveting gameplay and a decent sp but Pc gamers looking for a Mp fix will more than likely look elsewhere. Halo on the other hand had no competition, the only other Mp shooters for the consoles that supported online play were tactical by nature (Rainbow Six: Black Arrow etc).
so it kinda makes sense why the editor would pick halo 2 over Hl2.

12-31-2004, 06:45 PM
yea maybe

but i personally would prefer to look at it from a gamers pov and not with respect to what system the game is for or what it does for that system ...

cause then basically wha u might be gettin at is that HL2 is better than HALO2, but Halo2 stands out alot more on that system because its a "console" FPS ...

but .... its still not better than HL2 :)

oh well

01-17-2005, 04:30 PM
HL2 is my vote. Game is immersive and if I weren't pushed for time-I'd be enjoying the scenery a lot more...doh mind I getting a few bullets from the Combine soldiers in the process :P

But seriously-try Katamari Damacy. A bottle a rum and a PS2 with that game and I swear you go never stop laughing.