View Full Version : Para Videocard Choice

09-29-2005, 12:05 PM
Arite, I have thought this thru.

I am waiting for ATI to release their R520, should the R520 perform poorly compared to the GTX or fail to obtain a score of 10k on 3dmark05 overclocked, I will not buy it. A cheap pricing may sway me to ATi but that hope is unlikely.

If the r520 scene buss, I will buy a GTO2 asap with hopes to obtain one of the unlockable to 16pipelines. Even if the pipeline SOFT mod doesnt work, it still owns.

AT stock it performs like a x800pro,
Unlocked 16 pipelines it performs as well as an X800XL,
OCed (its a MC work horse) it performs as well as an X850XT and some ppl have achieved PE performance.

I have had experience indirect/direct with the X800pro/XL and if thats the bottom end of the barrel it would more than satisfy my current and near future gaming needs.

The 7800GT/GTX are options, however if i purchase one of those it would just be to get a high score rather than need. These days I sweating DotA and if I take up DOD, a GTO2 would more than satisfy my needs.

Hey i might just say to hell with it and buy 2 GTX in SLI with a 4400 and a 600w OCZ :)

09-29-2005, 02:11 PM
only time will tell
christmas sale!

09-29-2005, 03:34 PM
Hoss, I not waiting for no mc christmas sale.. ultra gay wait.

09-29-2005, 05:33 PM
well i waiting on mobos too :)

09-29-2005, 07:24 PM
i was actually thinkin of dual 7800GTXs in sli mode, buh i waitin for R520 to see how

09-30-2005, 03:57 AM
men sellin their body boy

09-30-2005, 11:24 AM
^^ whey dat come from?
who selling dey body?
RBTT ftw

09-30-2005, 02:40 PM
Newegg has a new stock of X800GTO2s @ a slightly higher price. Its weird they are marketing it as a 16pipeline videocard which puts it as a X800XL.

09-30-2005, 06:37 PM
the price will technically always be nice lol
invest in a vf700cu/ati silencer though :)

10-01-2005, 12:02 AM
i just holding of till the x1800xts come out, then X800GTO2 immc :)

There are Cu and Al versions of the silencer 5?

virusone
10-01-2005, 12:43 AM
ATI ....NOOOOOOOOO. Anyway hoss men have their preferences. BUT..., 2 7800GTX's MAY KICK SOME SERIOUS ATI BUTT JED and there's always Nvidia 512MB version of GTX....

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=26595

Nvidia to release 512MB version of GTX

Available at launch

AS THE R520 Radeon X1800XT and LE both comes with 512MB of RAM, Nvidia kind of had to do something about it. Nvidia decided to react with a 512MB version of its already existing Geforce 7800GTX. Till this point, only 256MB versions were available. We believe that Nvidia earned some money selling Geforce 7800GTX 256MB versions for $549 and earned some serous money on memory. ATI on the other hand wants and has to push with 512MB of very expensive memory.

Nvidia believes in availability and wants to send press samples shortly before the card is available but we suspect that this might happen shortly. It needs to make a new PCB in order to accommodate more memory chips and we don’t think that Nvidia will play with the card's clock. We are quite sure that GTX remains working at the original 430MHz core but there is some space for Nvidia to overclock the memory. We still don’t know whether that will take place or not.

Nvidia doesn’t plan to give up without a fight and we are sure that Nvidia plans to adjust the prices to put some additional pressure on Radeon X1800 and the rest of R520 generation. µ

10-01-2005, 03:46 AM
the silencer is cu i think
the zalman has the choice, i say go the cu though

10-01-2005, 02:24 PM
Silencer 5 Rev 2, Cu base Al HS