View Full Version : Uwics Lan Party
Greetings from the University of the West Indies Computing Society. I wish to invite GAMERS to our fund raising LAN PARTY @ the Computer Science Laboratory. We are trying to raise funds for Laser black printers to replace the dot matrix fleet used in the lab presently.
Event details:
ALL INCLUSIVE COST: $40
SWEAT ONLY: $20 (no food)
DATE: Friday October 7,2005-Saturday October 8, 2005
TIME: 9:00p.m-4:00p.m
GAMES:
Unreal Tournament
Unreal Tournament 2004
Quake 3
Starcraft Brood War
Counter-Strike
HALOCE
Warcraft 3 TFT v1.19B
maybe more...
Free refreshments (vegetarian and meat) provided.
If you want to get the most of your game, bring your own PC (same price though)
Anime will be showing using a Projector and conference screen. We look forward to your support. Thank you,
Lester Nidhan
PRO
09-28-2005, 11:51 PM
4 p.m. hoss?
=(
wha i supposed 2 do that hour of the morning..jeez and crixx
sigh @ byoc or else only sof/wc immc
ah go try 2 attend idmc
Originally posted by killa@Sep 28 2005, 10:51 PM
4 p.m. hoss?
=(
wha i supposed 2 do that hour of the morning..jeez and crixx
sigh @ byoc or else only sof/wc immc
ah go try 2 attend idmc
err.. killa 4p.m. is Saturday afternoon.
Walk with toothbrush and toothpaste if u planning to stay for entire sweat.
Register for SWEAT by paying @ supervisor's desk @ the lab where sweat being held or send email to uwicomputingscoiety@gmail.com.
09-29-2005, 12:10 AM
any chance of console activity ?
depends on what time my gf birthday party finish :P
09-29-2005, 10:02 AM
sounds good, sux that I can't make it.
yeah i might not be able to make it myself, or else i'm pretty sure that we could have sweat some console games too... :S
Hmm, I'll try to make that one :).
*wonders if Curtis and Naresh will be present there :P*
09-29-2005, 08:14 PM
i sure the seegos will be there.
Hmm...what anime would they be showing?
*wonders*
Well if anyone wants to watch Red Vs Blue (entire series to date), I can bring that for sure :).
yes curtis and naresh will be there last meeting we held, they said that they will be attending. As for anime, we have lots... too much for such a short time frame.
I talk to phoenix and boxlunch who both said that they will try to attend.
*UPDATE*
SWEAT without food - $20
09-30-2005, 02:09 AM
Hmm it seems interesting. If it have a few ppl i know going i might jus head up also. If Box and phoenix go i go try to be there. Would be nice if i had a byoc machine oh well.....
hmmm seeming interesting :)
all those from gamers who going??
Hmm...one thing I'm wondering...
For speakers, are we strictly limited to headphones, or can we still bring smaller (3 speaker max,) setups, not anything to draw 100+ W, but just enough so that it would be audible?
I ask this cuz right now i don't have the $ to buy a good headphone setup, so i wanted to bring the core 2.1 speakers from my X-530 setup once I coming BYOC.
nah @ speakers. headphones are permitted, but the only loudspeakers will be used for the screening of anime.
Dang, now i hadda find someone to borrow a pair of headphones... :(
10-03-2005, 12:19 PM
so lemme see if i ha dis right. daz 9pm from one day to 4pm d nex? i figure i up for one day. i dyin for a counter strike sweat :blink:
arite, another adjustment to the original post.
NO more $20 sweat. The final price is $40.
If anyone feeling financial pressure and really cant pay $40, pm me before the event so i can try to arrange something. This is a fund raiser, but i intend to try to keep the gamers tradition going.
Originally posted by SPK@Oct 2 2005, 10:22 PM
Dang, now i hadda find someone to borrow a pair of headphones... :(
Hit meh a call nuh man if yuh going-I could lend you my pair if you want. No mic on it though-the cord for the mic buss but it still game worthy.
Hmm...one thing i notice though, it seems as though a certain person from another association looking to pull up with a squad as well...
Could this be the meeting ground for some serious LIXX to be shared? :) (and preferably the other squad coming will be on the recieving end :P).
yes i saw the thread too
I didn't post it, but one of my colleagues took the initiative. Good to see activity in that org. UWI is a good place for inter-org battles to take place. Neutral Territory iwmc!
I hope GAMERS is well represented. That is my main concern.
10-05-2005, 12:58 PM
Well i'll be going.Mojo did a nice job here advertising. :coolthumb: I feeling d vibe like it'll be worth it.I'll be going and Lokes already told meh once he getting d lift to go its no scene.I already tell him today to rounds up some java regulars to make d move.I'm in so i'll take a stroll down to the desk and pay soon.Umm u said its a straight 40 so no food now huh? :doh: :cry2:
Well I jumping in dis one for sure, hope I'll get the car to lug my PC down there though....
fellas try to pull in phoenix and box nah.
I hearin stuff about members of other orgs being present and i want to make sure that gamers crew get spots. Please confirm with lokes so that i can organise spots for u guys.
From what i heard so far, ity sounding like
Chunks
Chunks bro
Lokes
Anyone else want to confirm that they commin? The only way to ensure that u get a spot is to pay in advance.(and yes ppl already started reserving spots)
*grrr...*
And I won't be down that side till Friday self :(.
Mojo, if u can pay for me in the meantime, u will be reimbursed come Friday night, will definitely be in a mood to sweat, for good or bad reasons...
*mumbles and goes back to preparing for CCNA come Friday morning*
10-06-2005, 12:26 AM
Call names nah spk :) Who coming?
Well all that was said was that Nijelian looking to bring down a squad from their 'HQ'...if anything, hopefully he'll say who coming down. :)
10-06-2005, 05:36 AM
OH reallly.. ;) I think i know of the best crew to attend such an event.
10-06-2005, 07:21 AM
well yes this go be a crazy night oui...nijelian and the dissidents int he same place for like an entire day
how will dey make out..who will crack 1st
find out next time on the amazing run
fellas no violence please... we doe want campus police escorting anyone off de campus. :P And from what i understand, neji will be there.
So far, the names I recognised that coming down is Rommel and Shizz, but Nijelian says he still has to 'confirm with the regulars'....
I think I'll pay the $40 just to see the face-off between the different orgs, that would be some interesting battles... :)
10-06-2005, 12:29 PM
:o OH OH OH Violence!? Can I bring my camera??? PLEASEEEEEEEE :D
So the main game we'll be battling this other organisationw ill be?.......I just wanted to know if i'm just a spectator or a player.
10-06-2005, 02:19 PM
$20 for sweat alone?
no para.... $40 for sweat. That was the last decision made. Whether u eating or not. And even though I am teh PRO i have to pay $40 if i want to sweat :(
10-07-2005, 05:31 AM
*sigh*, I'll see what can be arranged.
thinking about this
gotta balance some stuff
10-07-2005, 05:14 PM
Shit, I forget about this yes.
I would of come in and scam some food at least.
Grr...now I dunno if I go be able to come...stupid exam I failed by 3 ****ing points out of 1000!!!
I go try something though...
10-07-2005, 08:18 PM
Remark!
LOL...no chance of a remark, it's an objective grading system, not a subjective one.
And it's just about official that I'm stuck at home :(.
anyone going this morning
i got a ticket they can use :S
*sigh*
I hope there's another one soon, I'll come to that one for sure...
10-10-2005, 09:23 PM
Well i went but only for a lile an hr maybe 2 for the most.Sadly them fellas eat out all d food when we reach and they hand no more coming in anytime soon.It looked like a descent thing.The lab is naturally big but i didnt expect it to be over packed.PPl was on the side waiting for men to move and go home.The atmosphere was relaxing.The anime section i figure was the downside of the whole thing along withe the quality of the pcs which arent really gaming pcs at any rate.The bro told me they started with naruto and then suddenly to Akira...*pulls out hair screaming* NOT AKIRA AGAIN! NOOOOOOOOOO :new_shocked:
Well it looked like fun.I would've stayed longer and played some Dota and CoD which were the main games of the night but meh bed was calling meh.