View Full Version : My Ps/2 Mouse Port Died, Anyway To Fix It?

09-24-2005, 03:52 PM
My grandfather killed my mouse port by trying to remove his camera from the usb himself... i dunno how he did it , nothing appears to be damaged but the system will not detect any mice from that port , i'v used 2 different mice and neither work , running a USB mouse now ..
Is there any way to repair it? it will decrease the re sale value of the mobo if its damaged.... else i'll have to package a USB mouse with it and try to convince people its just incompatible with their mice .

09-24-2005, 04:17 PM
Happened to me a while back, had to go all USB itmc (keyboard/mouse), its about time they take of PS2 from mobos ;)

Sorry got no clue on how to help if the port is indeed dead, maybe it was the mouse that died?

09-25-2005, 01:39 AM
Well if the mouse port is dead, I don't think there's any reasonable way of fixing it...

You might as well get a new mobo if you REALLY wanted to...or just get a USB mouse, unless u really like the mouse u have, then get a PS/2 - USB converter...

virusone
09-25-2005, 02:02 AM
Hoss the only sure way to repair a PS/2 mouse port is to re-solder the connections one by one (yeah real haedache)...... Of course I would not recommend it if you know nothing about soldering.... so USB might be the only simple option you have...

Still can't undersatnd how your gramps killed your mouse in the first place.... Did you check to see if there any pind broken of inside the port.... just an idea

09-25-2005, 12:49 PM
that will only work if something is wrong with the actual connector (which i doubt)

More often it's and I/O controller chip on the board that ****s up. I've seen this happen many times. An IC is not something u can open up and fix easily.

09-25-2005, 01:56 PM
All in all, you cant repair it, if its a fault with any internal workings of the PS2 controller.

09-25-2005, 03:06 PM
actually it was my mouse pins bent... the other mouse i tested it with is just plain dead , thanks anyway .

09-25-2005, 04:57 PM
breathe a sigh of relief dey oui
now yuh could go and dust out yuh case :P

09-25-2005, 08:25 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Sep 24 2005, 03:17 PM
Happened to me a while back, had to go all USB itmc (keyboard/mouse), its about time they take of PS2 from mobos ;)

Sorry got no clue on how to help if the port is indeed dead, maybe it was the mouse that died?

ploy,

Can't take all the credit, virus mentioned a bent pin scene.

09-25-2005, 09:25 PM
This happened to me once a long time ago.
Blame it on my dad for 'wrenching' it out.