View Full Version : Fastest Integrated In The West, Geforce 6100

09-24-2005, 02:07 AM
Finally an integrated motherboard solution thats worth its salt , low end gamers can actually be happy with this , its faster than Geforce MX and low end Geforce Fx 5200 cards , albiet it needs a good bit of system RAM to work . It beats the Intel and ATi solutions easily , also offering sm3.0 support than both lack . Combined with solid nvidia nortbridge and soutbridge chips , we have an all round good performer, perfect platform for a barebones system , or for someone like me who wants to ugrade to A64 / Pci-X and wait for new video cards to drop in price .

Review from anandtech : http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2539

Our first benchmarking tests indicate that buyers have some reason to be excited about NVIDIA's new 6100 Integrated Graphics chipset family. Despite the fact that serious gamers would find any integrated graphics board far too limiting, the great majority of boards that are used in systems are integrated graphics boards. In our head-to-head competition with the ATI RS480, the current integrated performance king, the bottom-of - the-line 6100 outperformed the ATI in almost every benchmark. That certainly means that the 6150, clocked at 475MHz instead of the 6100's 425, should perform even better.

Of Course i would have to stick to old school games eg. Counterstrike 1.6 , or play new ones at lowest settings, but it will be acceptable for a few months , more so than blowing 50 USD on an x300SE that is no faster and i will throw out when i get my X1600 XT or 7600 GT....

09-24-2005, 10:43 AM
Lots of money to be made in the onboard graphic dept. As I told MG, the performance of this onboard vidcard did not surprise me, nvidia did this already with nf2, not withstanding that it may be possible for them to 'shit up' I think they have onboard video down good.

And as you mentioned in your last paragraph, its a nice option for persons playing the waiting game and could live with a low end graphics card.

09-24-2005, 11:44 AM
allyuh rushing things
6150/430 is the sweet spot :)
wait for the rest of the mobos to come out in a few weeks :)
my cred card getting bored >_<

u-atx is coming for allyuh desktop mcs (somewhat lol)