View Full Version : Winmx/edonkey Shutdown

09-22-2005, 11:09 AM
http://www.hexus.net/content/news/news.php...mlld19JRD0xNjM0 (http://www.hexus.net/content/news/news.php?dXJsX3Jldmlld19JRD0xNjM0)
Two well known P2P file sharing networks look to be gone as of yesterday. The WinMX network and website are not accessible and the New York offices of eDonkey are reported to be closed, according to Reuters.

In June, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that a company distributing software that allows copyright infringement can be held liable. The Recording Industry Ass. of America has since been on a 'cease and desist' letter sending spree, with a number of P2P software companies suspected of being the targets.

We've seen P2P networks come crashing down in the past, only to see other networks take the throne as the most popular P2P solution. It's quite likely that users of the WinMX and eDonkey networks, if they really do disappear for good, will simply find an alternative network to use. By the time any legal action against a P2P network comes to the courts, users have generally found somewhere else to go.

Remaining P2P networks will either become the new, most popular way of distributing copyrighted material, or measures will be implemented to prevent the distribution of such material, keeping RIAA and its legal beavers from swooping in on them.

09-22-2005, 11:14 AM
good luck to the law
free software will always win lol

09-22-2005, 05:57 PM
/me uses A-R-E-S and Soul-Seek

09-22-2005, 11:56 PM
Real badman does use KC Easy too eh... It jus like Limewire and Ares, but it does pull from a diffrent network of users and servers

09-22-2005, 11:57 PM
slsk based in russia belgium or germany

one of dem countries

dey go get real problems looking for de server

becaused it based on ah desktop :P and irc channels

09-23-2005, 08:30 AM
Originally posted by opium@Sep 22 2005, 10:57 PM
slsk based in russia belgium or germany

one of dem countries

dey go get real problems looking for de server

becaused it based on ah desktop :P and irc channels

Some german shit, ploy.

09-23-2005, 01:12 PM
ent@german shit
telling yuh, now i handling torrents behind dis mc university firewall through a german proxy :)
sumting.sumting.de :P

09-24-2005, 01:15 PM
errr crazy no matter wah proxy u using de school sniffing yuh packets
not that de riaa and others wont find but de school will stop yuh
i know students who get harased by school network admins

09-24-2005, 02:38 PM
well as far as i know
the admins are pretty busy with other stuff and they rarely harrass students
the most they do is try to block the ports if they find out which ones are open
then we just find new ones :)
thats how its been going lol

09-25-2005, 03:46 AM
lol, cat and mouse yes, irc for it imo, slsk is nice, but i doh like it, and well i use torrents a good bit also, the greek god can lick my balls though :P

09-25-2005, 06:57 AM
wtf
you only like man to lick yuh balls or wah
but torrent is de best and well morpheus still kicking assets :P
i using it still lol but moving good too
oh yeah a next alt for edonkey is emule it uses kad network and edonkey too
it real mad