View Full Version : Dota Tournament?

09-18-2005, 07:01 PM
umm out to para and the tourney organizers is there a DotA tournament comming up???

i heard that it will be 3v3 -AP but the 3v3 doesnt make sense to me because there will be ALOT of teams taking part and dota game last 45minutes to 1 15minutes or more

well i dunno even know if this is for sure yet u guys tell me

09-18-2005, 07:11 PM
well honestly..the less ppl in a game the longer it will take 2 finish right.. 3v3 -ap dota is..bleh..
it wil have plenty teams but willwe have the time?
we know how things take long already..and remember we not on vacation anymore so 2 say things could finish late and it go be a cool scene
4v4 -ap or 5v5 -ar would be much better than 3v3-ap imo

09-18-2005, 08:03 PM
http://sg.worldcybergames.com/ocg_010.html

09-18-2005, 09:48 PM
lol @ pinkie's link

i was tellin people that a dota tournament would go down good

i dont think time will be an issue, because if you want to raise that point, simply look @ CS:S tournaments, each match takes 45 mins to an hour , and it works well

all we need to do is make the tourney a knock out tourney , and after that there shouldnt be a problem with time , once we start on time that is .........

but it is a good idea
everyone runnin the dota now, and we have rules to use from the WCG as well

i think its a good idea

09-18-2005, 11:07 PM
well there we go rules say that 5v5 tourney shud be held

is that what we're going with?

09-19-2005, 12:08 AM
IF we were to have a dota tournament .. yes those would be the rules we use

09-19-2005, 12:35 PM
dred rules hoss :D

09-19-2005, 06:55 PM
i still dont understand why manta style is a banned item i find it rel gosu for heros but wuhever rulz are rulz

Silverhawk
09-19-2005, 07:31 PM
them rules r for 5.84c de old dota so that rule doh matter
unless we playing that version

09-19-2005, 08:41 PM
hawk i doh tink the version makes any diference theyre the base rules for ah dota tourney so we cud use those also u can read the quest menu in the dota map for rules and stuff about backdooring and stuff

10-01-2005, 08:34 AM

no official work on a dota tournament and i hear it have team and ting already yes

10-01-2005, 09:07 AM
well SOME ppl like to have their stuff organised from b4 hand jus incase..so the situation could be like one person , lets call him sh asked p and bl to have a team..and then some person came n jumbie d scene..
das how life does be oui...peace

10-01-2005, 11:00 AM
anyone got a sanctioned tournament ban list?>

10-01-2005, 02:23 PM
no official word is korrect, I was considering Dec after UWI exams

10-01-2005, 06:13 PM
lol u need that time to train if u wanna enter ent para!

10-01-2005, 07:01 PM
Originally posted by killa@Oct 1 2005, 08:07 AM
well SOME ppl like to have their stuff organised from b4 hand jus incase..so the situation could be like one person , lets call him sh asked p and bl to have a team..and then some person came n jumbie d scene..
das how life does be oui...peace

for real eh lol

10-01-2005, 07:47 PM
I'm a dota n00b ;) but fuh how long?

10-02-2005, 03:26 AM
December sounds like a scene, holidays always good for tourneys

10-02-2005, 03:35 AM
ah boy ... dota gettin mroe gosu every day yo !

being a recognised WCG game ... its all good ^_^

para, yuh went from n00b a couple nights ago ( so ah hear ) to pretty decent tonight
take alota time to learn those items and heros

but, the other thing ... i been hearin people talkin about some dota hero ban list ... i honestly cant find it ... anyone have a link to it ??
pudge is supposedly one of the banned ... hmm.. sounds like bullsh!t to me ..
makes no sense they spend so much time and release so many updates balancing heroes .. the have some heros " banned " ... supposedly because they are overpowered (so whats all the updates and nerfs for ? )

10-02-2005, 12:04 PM
yeah i play a game with para early this morning. 2hr game iwmc. he was owning in de start and then like ither he get fed up of tiny or didn know what to buy and thn he get pwned for the latter half of teh game

10-02-2005, 12:06 PM
lol @ tracking para's progress

para they have they eye on you

10-02-2005, 12:18 PM
Originally posted by rumbelly@Oct 2 2005, 11:06 AM
lol @ tracking para's progress

para they have they eye on you

well when he playin he nick does be para_plays_dota so maybe if she change to another nickname, she wouldn be victimised in game :P

men does just signal location on map and say para, and 2 or men does go and gangbang!

10-02-2005, 12:38 PM
*sigh* yeah its a bit unfair that you all just swarm in and piggy me. I think my play has increased, still doing some n00b moves and such. Just gonna keep at it and keep taking advice.

10-02-2005, 02:42 PM
the gang bang thing happens to everyone

eventually, u learn where people gang bang, and when

some advice, always keep an eye on the map to see where heros are
if u look at your map and see no enemy heros in thier corridors ( or a specific hero who is hero killing ) ... RUN

also , becareful around certain points on the map where heros can pop out and stun u easily

10-06-2005, 08:51 PM
Indeed @ anticipate the gang bang. Once you deep in enemy territory you hadda watch that mini map. If men missing, assume they coming for you and RTFA.

Ambush is a whole other thing.. Clinkz is a mc!

10-08-2005, 04:13 AM
so far noone has been able to show me this ... "ban list" of heros that supposedly contains heros such as pudge, berserker troll and luna ...

three gay heros yes .. but dota heros none the less

heh ... if so ... troll and pudge ... is da shit son !
mg .. where yuh pudge dey ^_^

then again ... silverhawk go take luna :(

10-08-2005, 04:44 AM
i starting to like some of these heros, hero of chocie right now is AntiMage

10-08-2005, 10:39 AM
again someone show me the ban list plz...

BOX!! where it dey>?

10-08-2005, 05:04 PM
box tell me he never see it

only man who see it is apaprently cold

oh and fellas .... MG gettin real gay with his strats

alyuh wouldnt beleive the shit he comin up with ^_^

after much lookin , the only rules that i can find is that from pinkies link -

Game Version : DOTA Allstars 5.84c
General Rules

General

Game will start with a coin toss. The team which wins the coin toss will choose only one of the two, (a) hosting the game and gets to choose Sentinel/Scourge side of the map to start, (B) or to be the team that chooses the first hero.
Team creating the game must remember to set the game to AP mode.
Team members are not allowed to change seats once DOTA map has started to load.
At the end of the match, players must maintain the final screenshots and receive confirmation from the referee. At the end of the game, replay has to be saved and named as WCG_DOTA_TEAM1vsTEAM2 by the winning team leader or one of the team members at least . Failure to do so will cause the game to be void and no winner will be declared for that game.

Important Rules.

Hero Selection Process:

Step 1: Referee will ask the two matched up teams to gather. Team that will start the selection process will have 10 sec to decide the selection of their first hero. After their first hero is selected the selection of hero will be pass over to the other team.

Step 2: The other team will also have 10 sec to decide their hero.

Step 3: This process will repeats till both teams selected their five heroes. Referee will record down the heroes selected by both teams.

Step 4: The two teams will go back to their seat and start the game. After game complete it's loading both teams are to select the heroes that they have earlier decided (heroes that are recorded down by the referee).

Step 5: If any team is found to have any hero which is selected differently from what was decided earlier, the referee has to be informed immediately. Team which made the mistake of selecting the wrong heroes after game starts will be penalised.

(Warning or Game Loss)

In any situation when any team did not select their heroes according to what they have decided, referee will use the heroes selection list recorded to verify if that team is guilty of making the mistake. Then referee award warning or game loss if the team is found guilty of making the wrong selection.

Manta Style (Warning or Game Loss) : The use of the Manta Style on Medusa is not allowed at any time in the game. Only 1 Manta Style is allowed to be purchased by each team per game. Even when the first Manta Style is sold, that team cannot purchase a second Manta Style. Any team who purchases more than one Manta Style in a single game will be given a warning and asked to discard the Manta Style if it is unused. However, if that second Manta Style has been used, the team will be penalized by our referee.
Teleport Backdooring (Warning or Game Loss): Teleporting directly into back of opponents' base or into the forest/trees area of opponents' base through the use of the Teleport Skill (from Furion) or Boots of Travel is banned. However, teleporting just outside opponent's base and walking in (including windwalking or blinking) is not considered back dooring and is hence allowed. “Base” here is defined as the area bordered by edge structures inside the base at both the Sentinel and Scourge side. The outer most two towers in each lane are not considered as border of base.
Trees Trapping (Disqualification): Any tactics that will trap enemies in trees intentionally is not allowed.
Pooling (Warning or Game Loss): No pooling of any sort is allowed. This means that items bought with a player's own money cannot at any time be carried by any of his teamates. Items bought with the player's own money can only be carried or sold by him. This rule only applies to players on the same team. Players can pick up items dropped by their opponents.
Time Stop Spell (Disqualification) : Morphling is not allowed to use the Time Stop spell copied from same team members.
Pause Abuse (Warning or Game Loss): During hero selection. From the point after hero selection process is completed, pausing without any valid reason is disallowed.
Creep Blocking (Disqualification): All types of creep blocking are disallowed.
Bugs Exploitation (Warning or Game Loss): No Exploitation of any known old or new bug discovered during play. Explanations like “exploiting/activating the bug unknowingly”, “we had no idea this bug existed” or similar excuses will not be entertained. Participants/Teams are expected to know what these are.
Note: If any team discovers that any of the above mentioned rules are broken by opponent, pause the game immediately and notify any of our referees about unsporting behavior of opponent. Referee will decide if the opponent is guilty of breaking the rule. If guilty, either a warning or a game loss will be given to the team guilty of the offence,. The referee's decision is final.

When given the first warning, the game will continue unless referee decides to restart the game. A second warning collected will cause an immediate game loss for that team in the game currently in session. Any team that continues breaking the rules will be disqualified and risk being blacklisted with a ban on the team and its team members.

However, if a false alarm is called, the team who raised the false alarm will risk being given a warning by the referee. The referee's decision will be final and is to be accepted by participants/teams without question or complaints.

• Competition Method : 5 vs. 5
• Teammate substitutions are allowed twice at most. No substitutions will be allowed during the tournament. If any team needs to make more than two substitutions for any reason, the team must forfeit the tournament.
• Map Version: DOTA Allstars 5.84c
• Game Type: AP (All Pick)
• Winning: Best of 1 game. Completely destroy the tree or the throne of your opponent or your opponent concedes the game.
• Game will start with coin toss. Team who wins coin toss will chooses the side which they want to start and create the game.
• Team creating the game must remember to set the game to AP mode.
• At the end of the match, players must maintain the final screenshots and receive confirmation from the referee.
• Team members are not allowed to change seat once DOTA map started to load.
Disconnection
• Any team members who intentionally drop out of the game might cause that member's team to be given a game loss for that game. Appeal can be made but decision by the referee will be final.
• If the game hangs, do not change anything and leave the screen as it is. Pause the game and notify the referee immediately.
• If any players are disconnected within 10 minutes after game starts then the game has to restart.
• If any players are disconnected after 10 min after game starts then the game will continue.
• If all players' systems hang or the game cannot continue because the majority of the players within the same game experience a game hang, the referee can decide to restart the game or award a win to either team.
Penalty for Unfair Play
• Unfair Play
1) Use of any cheat program
2) Intentional disconnection
3) Racist remarks, uses of bad language, un-sportsman/unprofessional like behavior.
4) Upon discovery of player or team coming violation to the rules it will be regarded as unfair play and it will be up to the referee's decision to determine if the team or player is to be ejected.
5) Multiple disqualifications within WCG SG 2005 events will lead to a permanent ban. Ban period will be determined by the organizer.
6) Verbal or physical abuse of spectators, participants or WCG 2005 SG event crews during WCG 2005 SG events

International uses of Game/Program Bugs

• Any uses of bugs can result in warning or game loss. Repeated offenses can result in ejection from the event or even game ban.
• Rules are subjected to modification in the following aspects.
• Use of most recent patch/version release of each official game within WCG committee's own discretion.
• In game settings and required factors necessitated by use of most recent patch version/release.
• Game settings and/or operations guidelines dictated by differences between online and offline tournaments.

thing is .. thats from an older version of dota ..
we may need to formulate some new rules ....

10-08-2005, 05:29 PM
ok . found some more ,

from the dota-allstars website

this is thier own rules, not wcg or cal .. hmm

>>

Rules
The rules will be the same as standard TDA Gaming rules, with the following additions
1) No pooling of more than 1500g of items to any hero is allowed.
2) If any player drops within the first 10 minutes, the game will be remade, NO MORE THAN ONE TIME FOR EACH SIDE.
2) If any team is deemed to be cheating (maphacking, drophacking, etc) they will be disqualified from the tournament immediately.
3) No abusing any known bugs (If you're not sure about it, ask BEFORE the game, and before you try it).
4) No trash talking whatsoever is to occur during the game under any circumstance.
5) Anyone playing on your team MUST be on the roster you used to register, if you need to make changes to your roster, please contact me.
6) If a single game client crashes DURING gameplay, you must take a screenshot of the crash screen, and please make sure that the time and date appear on the bottom right hand corner of the screen.
7) All teams must take a replay (Every single replay of every game will be watched, and the actual win/loss outcome of the game and match will result from the replays, not from player reports).

10-08-2005, 09:21 PM
3) Racist remarks, uses of bad language, un-sportsman/unprofessional like behavior.

please take this rule into consideration i rel hate when d dota sweat runnin and men rel bawlin 'my team is noobs' 'allyuh is shit' etc etc

this goes out tuh men like rick and dem odders it does spoil games

**no manta style on medusa hahahahaha that is kix multiply wit muli arrows is rel rel farm + purge is rape

10-08-2005, 09:49 PM
lol well that wont be a problem since is not no random team playing against another random team..u playing with ppl u want 2 play with
so if u know they are n00bs b4 hand then well u ha no right 2 be vex
cold get me real vex 2day oui..i doh figure i playing on he side again..i ranking he in the same catergory as guyver...P****

10-08-2005, 10:02 PM
Concerning the rules, im waiting to see what rules cal will have for dota.

10-08-2005, 11:11 PM
I had a lil encounter with an a-hole in java when i was playing via net, my hero not mc responding at time and working smooth at times, then he coming with chats calling me ah 'ass and thing' real disrespect.

There is a limit between talks and that kinda disrespect.

10-09-2005, 12:20 PM
Yeah as this gets more popular we getting more ignorant people playing the game. Real men feel they so great and dishing out talks. It annoying eh. But as the Brazilians say, BOA! BOA for dem!

Right now as per the rules, no hero really that imbalanced or item for that part. Manta Style is nice when you have a hero with images eg. Siren, Azwraith, Chaos Knight. But I don't see why it should be banned. Burn on all images is the way it's supposed to be.

I found these rules for 6.16, a lot more up to date.
http://www.trinigamers.com/~pvpgn/misc/rules5.pdf

10-09-2005, 07:14 PM
Take care para is one ah dem big talking n00b ;). Talks make the game it makes things alot more fun, but it has to be creative and somewhat comical (thats what i aim for). Imagine a 5v5 Dota with no human interaction... everyone quiet...

I'll take a look @ those DoTA rules and org with the crew for a date.

10-10-2005, 10:02 PM
The rules looking good but theres so much,it really looks as if yall gonna have to gather all of these together and choose which best suits us or just simply get the newest rules.If they made these then the rules have to be up to date.Btw this thing is still for quite december? Or is everyone ready to just do this sooner and get it over with say like next month.

10-10-2005, 10:54 PM
Them rules slight man - for someone who play under CAL CS:S rules you should say this is joke boy Chunks

10-10-2005, 11:04 PM
Being practical it has to be before the 14th Nov.

10-10-2005, 11:34 PM
That date sounds good to me....
any idea about venue? or will it be java again???

10-11-2005, 06:16 AM
admin team has to work overtime and get things organized. can CG host some prelim games?

10-11-2005, 06:24 AM
Ugh @ before 14th nov, this is on weekends rite ? cuz i have school on weekdays :(

10-11-2005, 06:59 PM
ploy @ java invades cg again!!

that was fun. I'm sure neo will be willing to coperate. Call him nah para and organize times and dates.

10-11-2005, 08:36 PM
will do but its not necessarily java vs cg, we gonna schedule games @ his place.

10-12-2005, 01:28 AM
hmmm where is cg btw lol

10-12-2005, 03:20 AM
sigh @ sudden announcement of dota tourney

its three weeks away dudes and dudettes

10-12-2005, 05:40 AM
Maybe sooner than that. Initially i thought a later date would be best UWI men will get it after their exams, pweff/myself and any of the other n00bs interested would get a chance to up our game, ppl would be generally prepared.

All of these things got squashed when I heard that there is ANOTHER tourney, one that we(gamers) must win on the weekend of the 14th. This GAMERS tourney will be used as a warmup for that one and n00bs like myself will have to spectate for those matches. A cream of the crop kinda scene.