View Full Version : Best Memory Out Today

virusone
09-18-2005, 10:05 AM
Well guys... This debate actually started in the Trading Centre Area where alot of guys posted their thoughts based on their choices/ preferences with regards to DDR Memory... Visit the following link for a look at some the opinions....

http://www.enterthegosu.com/Invision/index...?showtopic=2219

I know for a fact that most "IT" ppl forget that Memory (like the PSU) plays a very important part when building your version of UGM (or at least something close to it).... More so than the video cards and other stuff we rant and rave about everyday....

So as the question posed in the initial thread read " but what is the BEST RAM out there right now" of which I think some ppl had reasonably aite handles on, in their replies........ But....... I still doh know nah :unsure:

09-18-2005, 10:44 AM
I wouldn't call brands, but it's all about perspective.

a man running database queries on a server will have diferent needs from the hardcore gamer.

TCCD can hit higher MHz than Winbond UTT.
Winbond can hit lower timings but requires high Voltage.

267MHz @ 2-2-2-6 (1T)==318MHz @ 2.5-4-3-7 (1T)

that's my Winbond UTT vs Samsung TCCD Ccomparison link (http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2386&p=7)

09-18-2005, 12:41 PM
will have to run separate comparisons for 512mb sticks and 1gb sticks

09-18-2005, 01:11 PM
Agreed @ one thread for 2x1gb and one for 2x512mb,

I have similar views to Mojo, I think that Winbond kicks ass, but I also hold TCCD in high regard esp if a low multiplier is in use on the CPU.

OCZ, Mushkin have some good binning techniques for the Winbond Chips imho.

09-18-2005, 03:41 PM
i eh forget allyuh with the ballistix reviews yet eh
i havent found the time to search for them
all i have been working with is results from another forum on the 2x1gb crucial value and the ballistix sticks where the focus was more on higher mhz than lower timings, i will double check

would have been so much damn easier if i had already built the sff lol

virusone
09-18-2005, 10:13 PM
But men claiming that they see real gains in using 2x1GB as opposed to 2x512MB..... and vice versa... So what's the real deal here...... I'm actually looking for some good 1GB sticks for my new xmas rig.... I mean does this make sense

09-18-2005, 10:35 PM
Right now the optimal amount of ram is 1gb (2x512), but thats if you are running a single cpu. Right now i am unsure about duel core cpu. You have to remember that havin too little bit of ram is not good, but havin too much ram can slow down a pc abit. So having 1x1gb or 2x1gb on a single cpu pc, will run slower than 2x512 on a single cpu. Also depends on what kind of memory you buy, oc etc

09-18-2005, 10:41 PM
pinkie.... your post is a bit misleading.

The only way more memory will slow down a PC is if:
1) teh power supply cant handle it.
2) The bigger capacity Memory is slower than the smaller (as is the case here)

BY NO MEANS WILL HIGHER CAPACITY MEMORY WITH THE SAME SPEED AND TIMINGS PERFORM WORSE THAN SMALLER CAPACITY MODULES.

09-19-2005, 02:39 AM
i thought it was the ram type and memory controller causes the slow down

but anyway soon we will have to live with 4gb of ram soon

word from my magazine source, Virus Infested Spyware Trojans Accepted will
"NEED" 1gb of ram in 64bit

and i emphasize NEED hence 4gb will be the norm

heh remember when 256 on xp wasnt enough?

09-19-2005, 11:36 AM
Is not it will perform worse, is that performance will drop a little but not by any huge margin, a few percent. Thats also why i said it depended on type of memory and oc etc. 512mb have tighter timings than 1gb. So yes if both had the same timings then the memory should perform the same.
Sorry for any inconvenience.

09-19-2005, 11:46 AM
Arite before I start, more ram is better, however 4gb ram isnt going to perform much better than 2gb and imho I think that 2gb isnt going to perform much better than 1gb at present.

With pinkies statement in mind-> More ram usually requires a bigger swap file, which may "slow down" things somewhat... but hey you can adjust that shit cant you ;) I wouldnt mind reading an article on this topic pinkie feel free to post something on that topic.

64bit impact
Bringing up 64bit might be premature... 64bit tech isnt going mainstream soon, I think that is something we can all agree upon.

By the time 64bit is the norm AMD would have already had M2 up and running and 1gb sticks latency would have reduced to CAS2 at high freq. Heck all tech should see a boost in performance over long periods of time, its not like tech goes backwards... (Moore's Law)

64bit addressing will need more RAM, maybe... does it make sense to buy that NOW for a tech that isnt going to be utilized for maybe another year...

X2
I am going on a limb here, I am not sure but I think the X2s have a single memory controller, there is a limit to how much a memory controller can do, I highly doubt the single cores under utilize the memory controller. Is it proper to say that an X2 would use ram better than a single core? I think not.

Virus should you look to make that leap and go for 2x1gb definately go for the Ballistix, you would be sorry if you didnt. In the 512mb arena, TCCD/BH-5.

@310US Crucial works out pretty evenly comapred with similar timed 512mb sticks. Hey you already sold your GOSU 512s might as well buy the 2x1gb and tell us how it works. We can bench it to our scores.

09-20-2005, 02:02 AM
What i was thinking bout was kinda outdated when i had orignally put my first post. I saw it in a magazine long days back before 2000 or so. Here is a link that gives you an idea what i was talkin bout. These days it probly apply to much larger amounts of memory.

http://www.ex-designz.net/article_read.asp?id=170

09-20-2005, 10:57 AM
I agree with the page file being bigger can cause performance fluctuations, but the article posted by pinkie was written by a n00B. ROFL @ searching for an address in Memory. RAM means random access memory. no searching goes on. It's solid state storage, so u don't need to worry about rotational delay either. So the only issue is the page file, and that is common to all systems since u can configure it.

And yes the X2 has a single dual channel memory controller implementation.

09-20-2005, 12:54 PM
Well it is an interesting topic and had me searchin. Though practically all of what i could find relates to older hardware and os.

http://www.epinions.com/cmd-review-4E4F-20...-39ECDEBF-prod4 (http://www.epinions.com/cmd-review-4E4F-20DE767B-39ECDEBF-prod4)

virusone
09-21-2005, 03:25 AM
Hence my concern Pinkie.... I like fast efficient systems thatrun as little unecessary stuff as possible....

In the past (about 1 1/2 years ago) I've personally tested 2x1gb ,4x1gb and 2x512gb sticks from Corsairs on 3 diferent machines and I really did not find any notable differences in boot times nor using basic applications.... The real results came with games and encoding that's where I found that the 2x512gb rig took some serious hits.....

Nevertheless with the advent of new memory designs and those kickass X2 Processors (gettin the 4800+) do you guys think that Ballistix is the best choice:

Crucial BL2KIT12864Z503 Ballistix Series 2GB (2 x 1GB),Timing 3-4-4-8, Voltage 2.8V, Heat Spreader, DDR 500 (PC 4000), Dual Channel Kit

(Umm only Para say so... ;) and lord knows finding proper benchmarks/ reviews on memory is almost impossible).... :confused1:

09-21-2005, 11:07 AM
i'll see what i can do with respect to benchmarks. I viewed an archive of 2x1gb OCs which aided in my recommendation for the Z503s.

Getting 2x1gb wouldnt hurt as I mentioned before I have a preference with my ram, with that exact product you quoted (Z503 ) you can't go wrong.

As explained before imo I doubt the X2 will use memory any better than a normal CPU. If i were buying I would buy the 4400, but then again thats my opinion.

When i get my machine up and running I wanna do some tests Vs the X2s and the sandys on the forum.

virusone
09-21-2005, 10:44 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Sep 21 2005, 10:07 AM
If i were buying I would buy the 4400, but then again thats my opinion.

Hoss why the 4400 over the 4800??? Do they perform the same, basically?? Or is it a "bang for buck" issue??? At present it's (X2 4800) supposed to be the fastest chip at least in the benchmarks.... But then nothing is written in stone...

09-22-2005, 07:56 AM
I'm sure I could OC the 4400 to a 4800 easily, never buy the 'top' when you could OC ;)

As promised.

1. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 304MHz | 3.0v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
2. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 300MHz | 2.9v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
3. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 296MHz | 2.85v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
4. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 295MHz | 2.95v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
4. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 295MHz | 2.95v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
4. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-7 1T @ 295MHz | 2.9v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
5. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 290MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
6. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 289MHz | 2.9v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
7. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 285MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
7. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 285MHz | 2.?v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
7. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 285MHz | 2.76v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
7. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer L503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 285MHz | 2.76v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
8. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-10 1T @ 281MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
9.| 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 280MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
9. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 280MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
9. | 2x1GB Patriot PC3200 - Infineon CE-6 | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 280MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
9. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 280MHz | 2.9v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
9. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Z503 - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-10 1T @ 280MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
10. | 2x1GB OCZ PC4000 EL Gold - Samsung UCCC | 3-4-4-8 1T @ 275MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
10. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 275MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
10. | 2x1GB Mushkin XP 4000 - Samsung UCCC | 3-4-4-8 1T @ 275MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
11. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 273MHz | 2.85v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
12. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 270MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
12.| 2x1GB Mushkin XP 4000 - Samsung UCCC | 3-4-4-8 1T @ 270MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
13. | 2x1GB Patriot PC3200 LL - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-2-6 1T @ 265MHz | 2.75v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
13. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 265MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Unknown
14. | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 263MHz | 2.6v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: No
15. | 2x1GB Mushkin Hi-Perf Blue - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-3-6 1T @ 262MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
16. | 2x1GB Corsair ValueSelect VS1GB400C3 - Infineon BE-5 | 3-4-3-7 1T @ 260MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
17. | 2x1GB Mushkin Hi-Perf Blue - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-2-6 1T @ 258MHz | 2.9v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
18. | 2x1GB Mushkin Hi-Perf Blue - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-3-8 1T @ 257MHz | 2.75v | Link! - SPi 32M Stabe: Yes
19. | 2x1GB Corsair CMX1024-3200C2 v1.2 - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-2-6 1T @ 255MHz | 3.0v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
20. | 2x1GB Corsair CMX1024-3200C2 v1.2 - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-2-6 1T @ 251MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
21. | 2x1GB Buffalo DD4333-1G/MD - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 250MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
21. | 2x1GB Corsair CMX1024-3200C2 v1.2 - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-2-6 1T @ 250MHz | 2.75v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
22. | 2x1GB PQI Turbo PC3200 - ? | 3-3-3-10 1T @ 246MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
23. | 2x1GB G.Skill F1-3200USU2-2GBHS - Samsung UCCC | 2.5-3-3-6 1T @ 241MHz | 2.85v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
24. | 2x1GB Patriot PC3200 LL - Infineon BE-5 | 3-3-3-6 1T @ 240MHz | 2.7v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
24. | 2x1GB Crucial Value - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-7 1T @ 240MHz | 2.?v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
24. | 2x1GB Buffalo DD4333-1G/MD - Micron -5B D | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 240MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
25. | 2x1GB Crucial Value - Micron -5B D | 3-4-3-8 1T @ 239MHz | 2.6v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Unknown
26. | 2x1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum Edition - Infineon BE-5 | 2.5-3-2-7 1T @ 230MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes
26. | 2x1GB OCZ PC3200 Performance Series - Infineon | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 230MHz | 2.8v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Unknown
27. | 2x1GB Transcend PC3200 - Samsung UCCC | 3-3-3-8 1T @ 225MHz | 2.75v | Link! - SPi 32M Stable: Yes

09-22-2005, 08:25 AM
ent@ never buy the top when u could OC
lovely post para
great list
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820146578 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146578)
pull out d cred cards lol

09-22-2005, 02:20 PM
exactly what i did

Spoilt pc 4400+ OCed to 4800+

my pc 3700+SD OCed to 57FX

save me the cash to buy better stuff

09-22-2005, 04:50 PM
"OCed" to 2.8GHz if it aint pass prime it doh count ;)

09-23-2005, 12:11 AM
yeah i coulda push plenty more if it wasn't for prime and all so no Prime, no mc recognition for your oc!!! :nono:

09-23-2005, 12:56 PM
well i have to try prime again soon

i have no idea what casued instablitiy in prime

this time new psu and ram is running better now

some how i feel its the cpu

i might give it ah test tonight,

btw this test does produce some nasty heat spikes although it never went past 50

09-23-2005, 04:06 PM
Wrt memory performance on the X2 being better than normal... I believe not (men in here show me some forms dread... anyways). I have seen reviews that show the Opterons are much better in memory performance and thats due in no small part to having if memory serves me right 3 HyperTransport pipelines instead of the A64 single. It does usually have higher latency because of ECC registered modules, but perform better at larger capacities. (they are server chips after all). On another note I look foward to the INSANE memory boost the M2 should have with PCIe ondie and support for DDR2.

09-23-2005, 05:52 PM
Try and see how high you can go stable.

09-24-2005, 02:31 AM
it offical its not stable @ 2.8 :(

but for some nice reasons i getting sweet at 2.75 :)

prime still running and its about 61/2 hrs gone :)

09-24-2005, 10:31 AM
ploy, post up a lil screenshot with prime and CPU-z in the same screen ;)

Do 2 CPU-z, 1 with mem and 1 with CPU.

Actually I have a thread, if you could post your stuff there that would be awesome.

http://www.enterthegosu.com/Invision/index...?showtopic=2251 (http://www.enterthegosu.com/Invision/index.php?showtopic=2251)

09-24-2005, 11:16 AM
i doh really have the time to to this kinda testing anymore.....
my PC dedicated to runnin wow server, and my programming and DBMS assignments for school :(

09-24-2005, 11:22 AM
No one interested in your 25mhz oc arite mojo

kidding ;)

When i get my new rig running, i'll post away.

09-24-2005, 11:48 AM
when will that be para?
or u doing the usual?
keep specs underlow? lol

09-24-2005, 12:02 PM
lol @ downlow (had that talk last night)

when i get my full pc specs i'll post em up along with benchmarks/ocs etc.

09-24-2005, 02:16 PM
well i just installed riva tuner and saw it can oc nicely to 500/1300

superpi has been done

i will start the benched when 3dm03 is done downloading

09-24-2005, 02:35 PM
gj opi
is 500/1300 the max or safe?
well para hit we a paper launch of ur specs nah
wat stuff u looking at getting? :P

09-24-2005, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by opium+Sep 24 2005, 01:16 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(opium @ Sep 24 2005, 01:16 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'>well i just installed riva tuner and saw it can oc nicely to 500/1300

superpi has been done

i will start the benched when 3dm03 is done downloading

Once you following all the steps in that thread, you GTG and we will have some good stuff to look at. Make sure and readover and follow to a T! I trying to keep that thread neat.

<!--QuoteBegin-CRaZYMoFo@Sep 24 2005, 01:35 PM
gj opi
is 500/1300 the max or safe?
well para hit we a paper launch of ur specs nah
wat stuff u looking at getting? :P

I moving like Nvidia opening my mouth when I could produce results ;), I sure you have a basic idea of what I am going with.

09-24-2005, 04:37 PM
yea yea but i want a paper launch :)

dis laptop real pissing me off jed
to much gay ibm/intel/sju standard software

09-24-2005, 04:42 PM
doh worry crazy as soon as the para pc roars we orn like boil corn. ATi holding meh back :)

09-24-2005, 04:51 PM
lol ATi holding the world back
i see trinimc wha run a sff soon too
will there be a sff crew here eventually? who knows lol
i think it is rum bro who running a x-qpack etc etc

09-24-2005, 05:34 PM
ok meh pc just "meow" its scores

check de Oc hall ah shame plz