View Full Version : X1800xt Benchies

09-16-2005, 10:31 AM
http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/article/1813/

I am very disappointed with ATi pricing scheme, i expected more affordable prices.

The X1800pro is priced @ $450 which is about the price of a 7800GTX, the X1800XT($600) competes head to head with the 7800GTX with the GTX winning in the end for ~$150 less.

Should I get confirmation that these values are accurate, my next vidcard would be nvidia.

Should ATi increase to 20/24 pipelines and 512bit memory with their next release they are going to pwn, they have already laid a very good foundation for future development.

09-16-2005, 10:37 AM
Well its a kinda unofficial or rather illegitimately obtained benchies but the site is respectable so I give them the benefit of the doubt:
Hardware Analysis X1800XT Benchies (http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/article/1813.1/)
Now for some pics (note I only bothered with the 1280x1024 res as I think its most refective of the majority of gamers choice and cause higher SLI PWNZ and lower is CPU dependent:
http://img352.imageshack.us/img352/3136/doom35ay.gif

http://img352.imageshack.us/img352/5194/farcry4xe.gif

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/7138/hl23sj.gif

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/3842/splintercell5zy.gif

09-16-2005, 11:19 AM
I just saw something on another review site where they have a 32 and 24 pipeline version slated... I am not sure whats going on here..maybe ATI is playing a cat and mouse game and this was no accidental leak... to give nvidia a false sense of security then WHAM a 24pipe R520 beast rares its head on launch. And of course Crossfire will be ready and waiting... can u imagine what will happen? 0_o

virusone
09-16-2005, 12:13 PM
No hoss ATI playing the smoke and mirrors game..... I mean men waiting for the coming of ATI’s Messiah and this is what we get..... So when are we gonna see the real deal ATI.... I for one am very disappointed... Oh wait…, I wasn’t going to buy an ATI card anyway…., BUT I’M STILL VERY VEXED

09-16-2005, 12:22 PM
No hoss ATI playing the smoke and mirrors game..... I mean men waiting for the coming of ATI’s Messiah and this is what we get..... So when are we gonna see the real deal ATI.... I for one am very disappointed... Oh wait…, I wasn’t going to buy an ATI card anyway…., BUT I’M STILL VERY VEXED

lol fanboy post iwmc.

I doubt its smoke and mirrors, it wouldnt be in ATi interest to do so.

"make the customers think your product is shit, then surprise them"

Heck it might make some ppl rush and buy Nvidia.

09-16-2005, 03:20 PM
it is making ppl buy nvidia lol
depending on how it goes really
so far it looking to go 7800gtx and wait for ati to hit me a great 32 pipeline crazy ass card deal nxt yr so
i real liking the cheap cooling mod lol

i fedup hear bout the speculations
i jus waiting for the real sh1t and then i go see wat is the scene

09-16-2005, 07:25 PM
same here, I highly doubt ATi is coming out with any surprises. Cats out of the bag already.

09-16-2005, 11:08 PM
what de hell is dat??

ati brought out a pricer and slower card?

this not suppose to happen,

looking like dey going back to the ole ways again,

try to take de competion late and still didnt make it

i know dey didnt want a paper launch, but it happened again

and the most sad part is that nvidia took lead in hl2 bench, which was suppose to be ATI's grab em by de bawls win

well i hope newer drivers will improve it

now i am either happy or just feeling sorry

gg ati better luck next time

09-17-2005, 12:42 PM
Well opium I agree/disagree with you on some points, I agree that ATi did mess-up this series in terms of lauch date and performance of the card itself.

However comparing the tech advancements in this card compared to Nvidia 7800 series... well there is no comparison. Nvidia just added pipelines/increased clock (more or less). ATi changed their process, enhanced their memory controller with the possibility to do 512bit memory bus (although not implemented), they have also ramped up their clocks to some kick ass speeds.

I still stand by my opinion that next year when ATi adds a few pipelines/opens up that memory controller, Nvidia is gonna feel it hard. Nvidia better start developing similar advancements from NOW otherwize ATi gonna lash some mc.

For now me as a consumer, I have the choice of taking a 7800GT/GTX (the cheaper high end card, compared to nvidia) or buying an ATi GTO (which is kick ass in its own respect)

Opium dont forget that highend cards dont make up a large % of the companies revenue, I think ATi plans to make up for its highend with the GT/GTO. I have already read that there MAY be a mod to get 16 pipelines on a GTO, if so thats a mc X850XT for ~$250 US.

09-17-2005, 06:09 PM
ah boy

ATI's (Chris Hook) first reaction to this article was: " Fiction. I don't believe these numbers were ever run on a 520 ".

And then a second response (from Chris) came in:

"This is a complete hoax - done with an OC'd X850, we think. Call our partners yourself and ask if they have R520XTs in house. The numbers aren't even close."

http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=3069
interesting isnt it lol
i still mc waiting

09-17-2005, 08:40 PM
ploy, Early Oct immc as well ;)

/me secretly hopes ATi makes a gosu card

09-18-2005, 02:10 PM
NOW IT FAKE?????

but from the looks of the carts it dont lok fake to me

reason look at doom3

09-18-2005, 07:42 PM
[quote]
Sources close to ATI claim

By Fuad Abazovic: Sunday 18 September 2005, 19:46
OUR GOOD friend Sander Saucy pants turned busy Friday afternoon and so therefore we had a long working weekend in front of us. Anyway he managed to raise hell as its "R520XT" numbers made Nvidia happy while ATI was not that happy at all with the scores.

Obviously ATI wanted to find out what was going on and who might have sent Sander Sassen the card, and it transpires ATI claims there's no possible way that those scores are true.

ATI claims it still hasn’t sent a single R520XT board to any of its partners. The Radeon X1800XT is getting ready and the first batch of the card is produced but not even the big OEMs have these cards.

We spoke with numerous people on Friday and Saturday, and it turns out that the only cards that might be available for some key partners are Radeon X1800XL cards.

Those cards are clocked at 500MHz core and 1000MHz memory and should be available in quantities at launch in first week of October.

One of the key things that you must bear in mind is that R520XL, Radeon X1800XL can not be overclocked well. Voltage leakage will prevent you to increase voltage and that will limit your overclockability. This voltage leakage was the key reason for such of delay of R520. Only the flagship Radeon X1800XT will overclock like crazy. So even if some board partners tried to overclock some of the Radeon X1800 XL cards it simply would not work as you could never even touch those XT speeds of 600/1400MHz, so ATI and others claim.

There are some theories about these scores but some people at ATI who have the access to R520 hardware claim that Sanders' numbers are completely out of range. To make it even more interesting, one source confirmed that even Geforce 7800GTX are out of the range.

We need to point out that ATI has a dispute with our friend Sander, as it has had with other colleagues of ours. Sander is apparently precluded from ATI's upcoming R520 editor gigs for reasons best known to ATI.

We hate to be in the middle of any wars, even though my job is to be the middle man to take all the dirt from both ATI and Nvidia but this is just getting ridiculous. Boys with toys I guess. Whatever happens you will see the real R520 scores in just over two weeks now if not sooner. µ
[quote]
Inquirer.net

09-18-2005, 09:17 PM
too many impatient mcs lol

09-19-2005, 02:40 AM
well then let hope ati have some good stuff

09-19-2005, 06:40 AM
Opi both you and spoilt have GTXs?

09-19-2005, 10:04 AM
MOST OF our colleagues have already reported that the Radeon X1800XT will be shipped at 600MHz core and 1400MHz memory, but we have to say that we always used 600+ and 1400+ numbers. It turns out that there is aheadroom to clock this chip even faster.

ATI still hasn't made the final decision of the speed of its flagship Radeon X1800 XT card but it will be faster than the anticipated 600MHz core and 1400MHz memory.

Such cards might not be in the stores at launch date, the plan is to have them two to three weeks after the launch, but ATI will hace X1800XL cards at the time of its announcements.

Nvidia release 80 driver should increase the speed for the current G70, Geforce 7800GTX generation and will put some more pressure on ATI. So ATI kind of can clock faster and we already reported that ATI chip can work at even 700+ MHz clock but we don't think that yields will be good at these speeds.

Whatever happens, it has to end up faster than G70 - that is the plan but as usual Nvidia will do something to respond. It won't be the G70 Ultra but it might be a new card at 90 nanometres. We don't think Nvidia will announce that card in Q4, it's more likely that we will see a card to top the Geforce 7800GTX sometime in 2005. Things are heating up. µ

09-19-2005, 11:35 AM
The plot thickens....

09-19-2005, 11:51 AM
At a MSRP of US$600 this is gonna rape some Bank Accounts. Might as well SLI 2x 7800GTs

09-19-2005, 12:17 PM
btw way i hearing crossfire buss????

some other shit on another site and i am not sure it real

600usd will buss pocket but yuh know how ati does make card to cost more

so even though msrp is at 600 it might cost $650-$700

and we know that the xt versions like the pe again will come in limited quantity

09-19-2005, 01:00 PM
Just hadda wait oui, Opi both you and Spoilt have GTX right, you all not sharing 1 ;)

09-19-2005, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Sep 19 2005, 12:00 PM
Just hadda wait oui, Opi both you and Spoilt have GTX right, you all not sharing 1 ;)

Well doxx if they are indeed shaing a GTX... which I mean isn't unreasonable considering the price... once dey not sharing undies too :excl: its no scene.... :wacko:

09-19-2005, 03:13 PM
heh, I was thinking if they have 2, they could SLI !!

09-19-2005, 03:43 PM
yeah we have 2 cards

but spoilt psu dont have the juice to push it

weak enermax :(

even though it rated to be 535W

here is some pics with the trial

mines is the pc in the bottom

and PLZ DOH THEIF MEH WIRING STRAT

09-19-2005, 05:32 PM
lol @ floppy drive in HDD area. SLI GTX!!! do it do it do it ;)

09-20-2005, 09:25 AM
WOW... thats a HUGE HSF!!!!

09-20-2005, 11:06 AM
WE KNOW video is very important to ATI, and its next generation R520XT won't be an exception here. ATI plans to offer wide video feature set with its R520 and plans to brand it as Avivo.

The two most important features that you will see in the R520 video engine are going to be hardware support for H.264 or should we say High Definition video, and second feature of Radeon X1800XT, the flagship R520XT, known as a dual link DVI support.

You kind of need it for displays such as Apple's 30-inch cinema HD display. This beast has support for 2560x1600 resolution and not too many cards can support it. It's interesting to note that none of the other R520 variations of RV530 won't support dual link DVI.

We believe that it doesn’t make much sense, as this display is incredibly expensive and only the richest of the rich in the richfest arena will go for it.

We expect that our NDA (non disclosure agreement) colleagues will tell you about Vivo, if not today then very soon. µ

09-20-2005, 11:06 AM
looking smooth
xp-120 up in the mix :)
bench the mc!

09-20-2005, 11:22 AM
120mm to cool the x2, works out kinda good 60mm per cpu ;)

S
L
I
THEM

AVIVO iymc
http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2536

09-22-2005, 08:08 AM
Clock Speeds

BACK IN August, ATI told its partners that 600/1400 are the clock speeds that it was aiming for, but it didn't tell them that those clocks would be the final clocks.

Around the same time, we received news that R520 - now officially known as the Radeon X1800XT - is going to be overclockable to skyhigh limits. We still stick with our story that the cards are going to work at 700MHz+ but this of course won't be the shipping speed. Yields would probably be very low at those speeds.

But if you look at the memory ATI is using for chips that you can clock to 1600 MHz, there's still a lot of headroom there. We suggested that memory will be very overclockable and we haven’t been wrong on this one either.

It turns out that the new speeds ATI is touting secretly to its partners for the R520XT are 625MHz for core and 1500MHz for the memory. I believe that this is going to be just enough to beat Nvidia, which has a secret weapon called Detonator 81. I think that ATI's lab boys are testing a new driver as we speak, and at this time there is absolutely no way to say that even 625MHz/1500MHz will be the final shipping speeds. It's all on ice, and ATI also wants to throw sand in its competitor's face, no doubt.

One more thing. Whichever wins, the Geforce 7800GTX or Radeon X1800XT, it's going to be by a very small margin so if you own Geforce 7800GTX you should be fine. µ See Also
Radeon 1800XT to go faster than 600/1400MHz
R520 frequency goes to 700+ MHz

INquirer

09-22-2005, 08:19 AM
lalalalalllala
more daily articles about nothing lol

whey d chinee 7800gtx SLI benches??? (real world stuff more important)

09-22-2005, 02:32 PM
dem sli benches go have to haul

we have too much work on we hands

and spoilt needs a new psu

maybe in a few months

09-22-2005, 02:59 PM
A few months? 0_o ..... geez things must be REAL rough

09-22-2005, 03:45 PM
why not use Opi OCZ psu?

09-22-2005, 04:51 PM
nah i will take ah whole day to take out and put back in dat psu

every dam ting so neatly runned in there it not even funny

09-22-2005, 05:58 PM
Like ah pair of chinese doh know how to SLI ;)

09-22-2005, 06:11 PM
forget the x2 4400+ for now
drop the SLI in opi system :)
just chook one chinee gtx into the other chinee system and SLI :)

09-22-2005, 10:12 PM
Let the GTX mate...