View Full Version : Nintendo Secret Controller Released

09-16-2005, 08:47 AM
http://www.gamespot.com/news/2005/09/15/sc...ex_6133335.html (http://www.gamespot.com/news/2005/09/15/screenindex_6133335.html)

09-16-2005, 10:00 AM
hmm..looks decent but..umm..i aint know if das d real scene for gaming nah
looking real fragile in my eyes nah
member my hands big as well :(
poor controller might get hurt

09-16-2005, 10:47 AM
did anyone else look @ the video and opinions of the presidents of both Konami and Square enix? this is it, who needs a mouse for a shooter now? keep in mind this controller has an expansion slot which will allow you to use 'standard' design controllers as well.

they took the original NES controller, a zapper and a N64 controller with an ipod nano and tossed them into a blender... and i like the mix... but i am biased and proud.

some edits to upload images...

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/3760/revconscreen0027xl.jpg

and the first expansion for the controller

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/2907/revconscreen0048je.jpg

at first i must say i was shocked at what i saw, but after examining the pics available, i see alot of potential.

09-16-2005, 11:16 AM
you can also use it as a standard controler. But ppl should REALLY watch the video before sayin anything. You can swing it like a sword in zelda, or tennis, use it as a gun in a fps, use it to even control mario and jerk it to make him jump.

I like it.

09-16-2005, 12:23 PM
I like the sword idea, thats kewl.

09-16-2005, 03:15 PM
Tokyo (Japan) - With Nintendo's upcoming game console, the 'Revolution', Nintendo introduced a controller that is far different than traditional two-handed controllers. Resembling a one-handed tv remote-control, the new controller has built-in tilt and movement sensors enabling players to really get into the action. Is this a bold move for Nintendo or will it bomb like Nintendo's Power Glove of 1998?

The sleek ivory white controller looks like a wand and contains the traditional directional controls and several buttons. Sensors embedded in the controller and placed near the television will detect where the controller is pointing and the orientation. Players will theoretically be able to intuitively use the controller to shoot a gun, swing a bat, or even use as a drum. The wireless controller will also "rumble", much like other game console controllers.

nintendo2 For players who just can't bear to leave their two handed controllers, an expansion port is built into the bottom of the Revolution controller that allows connection to another optional controller that contains analog stick and a few extra buttons. At the Tokyo Game Show, Nintendo showed off the controller and demoed several test games.

Obviously game developers will have to code their games to take advantage of the newer controller. It remains to be seen if developers will rise to the challenge. In addition, Nintendo has always marketed more 'family friendly' games like Smash Brothers and Mario, versus blood and guts shoot-em-ups. Being able to swing the controller like a tennis racket is very different, but it could be what will attract people to buy the new Nintendo console.

09-16-2005, 05:18 PM
Nintendo isnt trying to win over SONY and MS fans with this system and that is smart. They do what they do best. They inovate and they are doing it because they are tapping into the UNTAPPED gaming source.....the NEW gamers.

If you noticed nintendos inovations have always been something that is easy to use but is hard to master. Nintendo is breathing fresh air into a now becoming stagnant industry.

Inovation is important and this system has that. Its very bold. And no doubt they are thinking about themselves. They are leaving it up to the third party developers to make something inovative.

Another point. It brings MORE people into the game industry meaning more MONEY for the industry. And we all know, thats the bottom line.

09-16-2005, 07:22 PM
link to the video please...

09-17-2005, 12:01 AM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Sep 16 2005, 06:22 PM
link to the video please...

ent

i need to see that one ...

the controller lookin crazy .... hmmmm ... love to see nintendo's innovation

thier the only company who tries something different

09-17-2005, 12:25 AM
I think it's going to be hard to hit A and B...

09-17-2005, 01:03 PM
Originally posted by dinesh@Sep 16 2005, 11:25 PM
I think it's going to be hard to hit A and B...

maybe using some kinda pinch :)

09-17-2005, 05:24 PM
http://www.gametrailers.com/gamepage.php?id=1656

09-17-2005, 08:47 PM
WTMC, that iz the shit!!

5 puh loys, that is some awesome stuff (hope sound effects are as good in real life).

heh, adult game makers would love to get their hands on this shit.

09-18-2005, 09:40 AM
rofl @ adult games....

this could be where the fps for consoles beats PC.

09-23-2005, 12:29 AM
yuh what this looking real mad

i could actually see meh parents playing this

nintendo will make big waves with this yes

i love it

ps3 and xbox360 will have to take a backseat

09-23-2005, 08:35 AM
ent @ parents using this.

Just watching the piece with the girl making Mario jump by flicking the controller upwards, my mom used to do that exact same thing when playing Mario 3 many many moons ago....*so did I but that's another story :P*.

09-23-2005, 10:01 AM
I just watched that video and I have to say it was everything I said (in another site and forum) and MORE... I think I was spot on... interesting and I have to say that I would MUCH rather buy something I can do the things I saw than to sit on meh fat @R$3 and play some generic run of the mill game over and over. The Rev looks nothing short of revolutionary and I look forward to possibly owning one in the next year. I will still have to buy a PS3 if FF7 is remade for it... but small thing.

09-24-2005, 10:44 PM
ff12 in the making for ps3

i know it coming out but i hear it was for ps2 but i could be wrong since ff9 came out on ps1 when the ps2 was released

now to remake ff7 would be nice, while dey at it dey should give us back ff11

bloody mmorpg killed it

09-26-2005, 01:05 PM
This prolly doh belong here but I too lazy to look for the original Rev thread so bleh:
Revolution specs outed

Nintendo's next laid out

By Charlie Demerjian: Sunday 25 September 2005, 09:48
NINTENDO HAS KEPT QUIET on the specs for its upcoming Revolution console.

But, thanks to a link by a reader, it appears the specs have been outed in the G4 forums.

Scroll down to post by Han_Solo that starts out with 'WHAOHH!!!!!!!!!', it starts in the middle. .

The short story, in case the post disappears, is that Revolution is a 2.5GHz PPC with 256K L1 and 1MB of L2. It supports two threads so it is quite a conventional chip. The GPU is an ATI RN520, and Han explains that the N is for Nintendo, so I guess it is modified a bit. It will run at 600MHz and come with 256MB of graphics RAM. The system itself has 512MB of the 1T-SRAM that Nintendo seems to like so much, it runs at 700MHz. He also says it has not decided on HD support, but I can't see how not.

The more interesting bit is it has a PPU. We wonder if it is an Ageia one, or a custom part. Either way it has 32MB of RAM. This could make a huge difference in the console wars, if true, because it has the potential to severely increase the realism of Nintendo games while vastly lowering CPU usage.

There is a more there, go over, take a look. It may not be a revolution, but Revolution certainly is in the game. Again, if this is all true that is.

09-26-2005, 02:26 PM
in addition to what was already said, the system is using flash memory instead of a HD, anyone knows if there are any advantages to this?

09-26-2005, 04:03 PM
I guess you can move around your info from REV->REV easily by removing the flash memory stick... or update/download games and transfer to PC via that stick (much like the PSP)

09-27-2005, 11:28 AM
Advantage of flash==no moving parts==more ruggid

09-28-2005, 06:55 PM
faster too.

09-29-2005, 03:11 AM
more expensive too

sick video ... damn nintendo ... thats the sh!t right there .. love the sword fighting part in the end ... and the part with the guy using the controller like a gun ... sweet

09-29-2005, 01:30 PM
I'm not so sure that a Flash drive is faster than a normal HD cause last I check the only Flash HDs going into production were max I think 16GB and rated as the same as 5400RPM ATA66 I think.

09-29-2005, 02:03 PM
afaik flash drives are not faster than normal HDD, its solid state but its not ram :)

09-29-2005, 04:37 PM
U talking Flash mem to RAM or just a flash drive to HDD?

09-29-2005, 04:59 PM
The games are not going to be run of the CF like we do with our HDDs right?

09-30-2005, 03:03 PM
all this controller talk going on so i do a new sig