View Full Version : Tribute To Sci Fi

09-13-2005, 02:34 PM
Well these days the hottest night on Tv for is most definitely Sci Fi fridays, but i figured that since i have some free time here @ work, i'd do a little tribue to some of my favourite scifi shows.

so to start things of, this first show had by far the coolest main character in all of sci fi TV, the man was a han solo for the small screen, he was Gil gerard, he was Buck rogers.
In the year 1987, NASA launched the last of America's deep space probes. Aboard this compact starship a lone astronaut, Captain William "Buck" Rogers, was to experience cosmic forces beyond all comprehension. In a freak mishap, his life-support systems were frozen by temperatures beyond imagination. Ranger III was blown out of its plan trajectory into an orbit 1,000 times more vast, an orbit which was to return Buck Rogers to earth 500 years later.

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/3559/buckrogers0tx.jpg

next we have a show that has recently seen new life in the form of a kickass remake, battlestar galactica.
"There are those who believe... that life here... began out there. Far across the universe. With tribes of humans... who may have been the forefathers of the Egyptians... or the Toltecs... or the Mayans... Some believe that there may yet be brothers of man... who even now fight to survive... somewhere beyond the heavens" -- read by Patrick Macnee
"Fleeing from the Cylon Tyrany, the last Battlestar, Galactica, leads a rag-tag fugitive fleet on a lonely quest. A shining planet, known as Earth" -- read by Lorne Greene

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/7058/battlestargalactica6ur.jpg

the remake was arguably more gritty than anything to have ever graced sci fi television, it is said that the direction of this show is what caused to demise of the last star trek series, enterprise... Gone is the technobabble and mindless space battles of the show’s earlier namesake. This is a program that introduces many new elements to the Galactica Tale. The Cylons look like US now, they could be anywhere, and they seem to have developed a monotheistic religion that is in contrast to the human polytheistic religion. The Cylons begin by wiping out the twelve colonies and sending the survivors… all 47,000 (approx) of them on a desperate search for the fabled 13th colony…. Earth.

http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/7204/imagelgbgcast4zy.jpg

one of the few new classics has to be without a shadow of a doubt stargate sg1, you could day that this series re-invented the direction of scifi tv and you would not be wrong... This sequel to the 1994 movie Stargate chronicles the further adventures of SGC (Stargate Command). It turned out that the Goa'uld Ra was only one of many alien System Lords who used the Stargates to conquer much of the universe. When Earth uncovers a working cartouche to decipher the coding system of Earth's stargate, they can now travel anywhere. Earth's military sends out SG teams to explore new planets, find technology, and oppose the Goa'uld. Jack O'Neill and Daniel Jackson from the movie are part of SG-1. They are joined by Sam Carter, a scientist, and Teal'c, a Jaffa who is convinced the Goa'uld are not gods.

http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/1084/stargatesgi0rv.jpg

but everyone has their favourite of all time when it comes to scifi tv shows and mine has got to be Star Trek, The next generation, while i'm neither a trekkie nor a trekker, i loved hearing the narration by Patrick Stewart in the intro. "Space... The final frontier... These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise. Its continuing mission: To explore strange new worlds... To seek out new life; new civilisations... To boldly go where no one has gone before!" Monologue of captain Jean-Luc Picard in the opening credits

http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9435/startreknextgeneration0tf.jpg

so anyone else wants to share their fanboyish admiration for scifi television?

reaper2051
09-14-2005, 10:50 AM
'It was the Dawn of the Third Age of Mankind, 10 years after the Earth-Minbari War. The Babylon Project was a dream given form. Its goal: to prevent another war by creating a place where humans and aliens could work out their differences peacefully. It's a port of call, home away from home for diplomats, hustlers, entrepreneurs and wanderers. Humans and aliens, wrapped in 2,500,000 tons of spinning metal all alone in the night. It can be a dangerous place. But it's our last best hope for peace. This is the story of the last of the Babylon stations. The year is 2258. The name of the place is BABYLON 5.' - Commander Jeffrey Sinclair (Michael O'Hare).

http://topkool.free.fr/images_seriestv/babylon5_05.jpg

http://www.tulsawalk.com/parks-places/tulsa/trekexpo99/babylon5.jpg

http://www.tulsawalk.com/parks-places/tulsa/trekexpo99/biggs-01.jpg
Richard Biggs(1960-2004)

09-14-2005, 12:44 PM
Ploy I am at present watching all of the Original Startrek and have the other series downloading.

StarTrek
StarGate: Atlantis + SG1

I wanna get into galactica, just dont got the time atm.

09-15-2005, 11:34 AM
Galactica DVD rips available now, worth checking out imo.

i want to start watching Enterprise, never saw an episode of it b4, heard the intro music and i don't really like it, but i am certain it will grow on me.

09-15-2005, 12:04 PM
Enterprise is kinda weird, Its kinda like EP 1,2,3 supposed to be in an older time compared to The Original Series but it has newer graphic tech and 'better' sets which make it look 'newer'.

Its in the past but it looks like its newer than TOS... NOOOOOOOOO

09-27-2005, 06:12 PM
Excellent veiws....big up to startgate sg1......sci fi rules

09-28-2005, 08:49 PM
I surprised nobody eh mention Dune, by Frank Herbert yet.

09-29-2005, 11:15 AM
thas cuz the thread really ent take off here the way i thought it would, it almost seems as if the core scifi fanbase just not here on this forum.

but on other forums, dune got mad props from a couple guys

10-02-2005, 12:31 AM
:) well yall ask for dune so i jus gonna repost my fanbase lol

:coolthumb:
as laruto would say my TRIBUTE TO DUNE

well as you all know the orignal novel from Frank herbert is what made the movie what is
and if you dont know what im talking about damn you ! j/k D-U-N-E like laruto heres a lil info on my fanaticism on this movie

"Deep in the unconscious is a pervasive need for a logical universe that makes sense. But the real universe is always one step beyond logic."
from "The Sayings of Muad'Dib" by the Princess Irulan <for the fanboys>

David Lynch's 1984 film "Dune" was the first complete attempt to capture Frank Herbert's vision onto film.
The film had a long and torturous history - it was extremely difficult to make: for example in order to give the illusion of a completely barren desert, film crews were sent out to pick the desert near the studio clean of any vegetation or hint of plant or animal life.

The film also ended up at being more than three hours in length. Unwisely the decision was made to cut it down to just over 2. However this cut hurt the film's exposition, and thus made it nearly incomprehensible to anyone who hadn't read the book.

However to those who had read the book, it was a lavish vision (with an excellent cast including Patrick Stewart, Kyle MacLachlan, Jurgen Prochnow and Francesca Annis) of the Dune world. It is also a vision that Frank Herbert was actually able to approve while still alive
You can now get the anniversary collector dvd of this movie out now its been out for awhile a must see imo.

Now The Novels:
The Dune phenomenon began in Frank Herbert's books, and is carried on in the work of his son, Brian and his collaborator Kevin Anderson.
Few science fiction series have been as beloved or as often read as the Dune series; beginning with the publication of "Dune" in 1965, and now with the publication of House Corrino in 2001, the books weave a rich tapestry of a saga which is yet to end. It is a universe that still has may corners to explore; and the announcement of further Dune prequels will apparently continue that process of discovery.

Listing of available novels in the dune universe:
The Originals
Dune
Dune Messiah
Children Of The Dune
God Emperor Of Dune
Heretics Of Dune
Chapterhouse:Dune <final book in the series>

no for the prequels i will do some info on these
Dune: House Atreides
This book, set before the original Dune, tells the tale of Duke Leto, Paul Atreides' father, the death of the old Emperor (due to poisoning) and the rise of Shaddam IV, and the beginnings of the battle for Ix.

A useful explanation of the story before the story
Dune: House Harkonnen
This details mostly the tortured history of the evil House Harkonnen; including the histories of Duncan Idaho and Gurney Halleck, also the struggle for Leto's friend, Rhombur Vernius to retain Ix.

Dune: House Corrino-
The new Emperor has a plot to clamp down on the Universe and gain ultimate power through producing artificial spice. Leto and Rhombur fight to regain Ix. Paul Atreides is born.

The Emperor is eventually brought to his knees by his inept plotting; but will it last?

Dune: The Butlerian Jihad
This prequel takes the reader back to the very beginnings of the Dune universe: a universe in which thinking machines have enslaved much of humanity, and some, like the ancestor of House Atreides are proud to serve. Others, like Serena Butler, are keeping the flame of defiance alive.

on the last note there is Dreamer of Dune - the biography of Frank hebert ..a must have
and something you wont see around but if you ever meet me in person might get your only glimps of it
The Dune Encylopedia<to bad i didnt really know its worth until later would be in mint:P>

Video Games
Emperor - Battle For Dune-pc
Frank Herberts Dune-pc
Dune 2000 pc-playstation <nothing to special back then yes>

Now and finally
THE MINISERIES

The Dune Miniseries of 2000 was a mixed blessing. People who watched it could be put into four catagories.

People who read the book but didn't watch the 1984 film.
People who read the book and saw the 1984 film.
People who didn't read the book and saw the 1984 film.
People who neither read the book nor saw the film.
For those who read the book but did not see the film found some things to admire, such as respect for the length of the text, but more to criticise - including the inflation of Princess Irulan's role, the total lack of water discipline amongst the Fremen, the use of rhymes in the way the Baron Harkonnen spoke.
Those who read the book and saw the film generally had more difficulty with the miniseries: whatever the faults of the 1984 Lynch film, it certainly had a grasp of the style of the Dune world. For example, the Sardaukar in the novel were portrayed as killers without mercy. In the movie, they were a faceless menace. In the miniseries they wore large floppy bonnets.

Those who didn't read the book and saw the film in 1984 may have found the production harder on the eyes, but the story easier to understand. The Lynch film lacked storytelling due to its truncated length, which the miniseries partially made up.

Those who neither read the book nor saw the film either liked it, or were generally very confused. However without the context of the text or previous film, they were the most open and generally accepted it best. Overall, the further glimpse into the Dune universe was welcomed.

The Children of Dune Miniseries of 2003 was a great improvement on the first Dune Miniseries in many ways, and furthermore, it had no comparisons to suffer from apart from the original text.

The film's strengths included the performance of Alec Newman as a more mature, sadder Muad'dib, and Barbora Kodetova as Chani - their on-screen love seemed to possess genuine tenderness and warmth.

Irulan's role was again expanded, however in some ways in the second film, it was contracted: her presence in a plot against Muad'dib in Dune Messiah was wiped out in the miniseries.

Jessica Brooks and James McAvoy, although older than the twins in the original books, did play the parts of Ghanima and Leto as though they understood the books, even though the script strayed from much of the original plot.

Overall, this was more warmly received than the original miniseries, and rightly so.

i aint got pics need to search ze web :laughing: most post soon
:kakashi4: love and peace!"vash the stampede"