View Full Version : R520 Errr X1800 News

09-08-2005, 09:35 AM
WE FINALLY managed to get some solid information's about the R520 codenamed Fudo. Confused?

ATI decided to call the R520 Radeon X1800. We used to talk about R520XT, PRO or XL so new you will have to switch to Radeon X1800XT, Radeon X1800PRO and Radeon X1800XL.

We believe that ATI didn’t want to go for the X900 cliché as this is a brand new generation of products featuring Shader Model 3.0 and some interesting video features. Its marketing machine didn’t want to be that predictable.

Someone at ATI said it's so good that it deserves twice as big a number than 900 and ended up with X1800 as a product name for this new Radeon based on R520 marchitecture.

The mainstream card, based on an RV530 core, will be named Radeon X1600. This card is supposed to fight 6800 standard in mainstream segment. Radeon X1600 should sit around $199 price tag.

The entry level RV515 is going to be called the Radeon X1300. This very affordable ATI cheapo card should land around $99 price mark. ATI will finally offer wide range of Shader model 3.0, HDR and some nice video features for the whole family.

The cards will be launched in the first week of October. µ
ATI WILL have a few variations of its brand new R520 core. Some will be faster, some will be clocked slower, some will have more pipelines and some will be more available than the others.

We revealed that the top end R520 XT will end up clocked to 600MHz core with sixteen pipelines and memory at quite high 1400MHz. We already said that those cards will be quite hard to get as ATI will have some trouble to produce as many as the market would want it to. We believe that whoever gets one might end up having the fastest card around.

The other two cards will also feature sixteen pipelines but their core and memory speeds will end up working slower than the R520 XP performance but limitedly available king.

The R520PRO will be second in terms of speed and will work at 550 MHz core while its memory will work at 1250 MHz. This card should be widely available and will have sixteen pipelines.

Third in line is R520XL. This card will work at 500 MHz core and 1000 MHz memory but we guess that its price will be more acceptable for most of you. This is sixteen pipelines part and will be highly available.

There might be even more cards based on the R520 architecture. µ

09-08-2005, 11:21 AM
there will be a lot of mc OCing going on now :)
especially if there is a linear increase in performance with clock speed unlike the G70s

09-08-2005, 12:36 PM
SKUse us....

Whilst I have been awaiting Fanny getting back from the USA, I thought I would share this bean with you. HEXUS has heard lots about R520 (Real Codename - Raptor), and its brothers and sisters. ATI will be introducing this in the middle of October this year. We have some specifications for you but that can wait for another day.

The name of this new card will be X1800, which we have seen on the 'net already today. But the real juice of this bean is that ATI have some more SKUs coming and they will have the following names:

X1800 which is based on the R520 VPU.

X1600 which is their mid range SKU based on RV530.

X1300 is their low-end SKU based on RV515.

Of course with any new generation comes new mobile parts, we believe this will be in the form of the X1400.

Other news we are hearing is that ATI love their GT brand so much there will be the GTO and GTO2 launched very soon. Essentially the GTO is a 12 pipeline GT, and GTO2 is X800XL (16 pipeline GT). They have decided that the XL and 850s will be gone for good. So the new lineup will be X800GT, GTO, GTO2, and their new VPUs.

ATI have also essentially end-of-lifed their X800 series on AGP. The highest AGP card which you can get now is X700. I am sure if the demand from the channel and partners occurs ATI will use their bridge chip and create a new SKU. But, to be fair the rapid shift to PCI-Express has shocked everyone.

GTs!!!

09-08-2005, 12:59 PM
/me prays to the ati gods to bring the new gpus to agp

09-08-2005, 05:59 PM
http://www.hkepc.com/hwdb/r520firstlook-e.htm << X1800 pics up here ,
x1000 series looks like it will keep up with Nvidia cards still... and beat them if the architecture is superior ...
Also there will be an X1800 XT PE clocked at 650mhz and equipped with memory capable of 1.6ghz but will have a default clock of 1.4ghz... also there are rumours that the R520 core has a 512 bit memory controller built in and later models may use this.. imagine a card with 80 or 100 gigabytes of memory bandwidth??? O_O scary performance with anti aliasing and ultra high resolutions , Nvidia will be blown away....

09-09-2005, 11:04 AM
No nvidia will use all the money they getting from the 7800 line and its spawn to match performance... thats how it is in this fight

09-09-2005, 07:31 PM
yea
no 7800 ultra lol
good lawd @ the agp ppl
forget the high end if you want yuh agp to last
get a x800xt and wait :P

09-09-2005, 08:16 PM
2 x1800 for mwah

09-12-2005, 08:13 AM
ATI DECIDED to put some additional pressure on Nvidia’s 7800GTX. Its soon to be released card will feature 512MB of memory. This memory is not such a big deal but in the eyes of consumers means the world to them. We confirmed that two flagship Radeons X1800XT and X1800PRO will come as 512MB cards.

The Radeon X1800 XL will be more affordable 256 MB card but less memory means a lower price, of course. Nvidia will have to respond with a 512MB version of Geforce 7800GTX and we suspect that the green company from California plans to drop the prices of its 256MB models at the same time.

ATI is using some fast memory this time and as you could imagine 512MB of memory clocked at 1400 or 1250MHz might be an expensive piece of architecture.

We will see about the availability in first week of October as this is the planed launch date. We don’t want to get into specifics as each time we reported about a fixed date, ATI all of a sudden decided to change it for a day or a two. µ

09-30-2005, 09:56 AM
WE FINALLY learned that R520, now formally known as Radeon X1800 generation will have eight vertex Shader units. That was a big question that was very hard to answer. The Last generation had six vertex shaders but we learned that vertex data was never a big limitation. Only one "game" suffered from a vertex date limitation and this game is, believe it or not 3Dmark05. All the other games were always pixel performance limited.

We already said several times that R520 will have sixteen pipelines and ATI likes to say that it has sixteen pixel processors.

R520 generation will be able to process sixteen textures as it features sixteen texture units, and its possible to render sixteen Render back ends in a single clock.

The R520 can compare sixteen Z compare units, very important when you want to optimise Z information's.

As R520 is very programmable chip you will be able to process as much as 512 threads on this GPU, this means that two GPU together brings a nice number of 1024 threads and Intel and ATI believe that programming with threads in mind should get you to faster performance in dual setups.

You should learn more about R520 next week when ATI presents it to the world. Hey I'm off to Ibiza

Inquirer.net

10-12-2005, 11:01 PM
All i have to say is NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
All in Wonder X1800 is already in beta

To launch soon

By Fuad Abazovic: Tuesday 11 October 2005, 09:46

ATI MULTIMEDIA'S team finally did it this time. Because of lots of R520 delays, the All in Wonder team managed to finish its prototype card at the time when ATI launched its X1000 generation.
We know that the cards are out there, but ATI is still not ready to talk publicly about them. As before you can expect to see X1800XL, the second fastest chip, in All in Wonder cards as this is how ATI did things in the past.

We expect that ATI will go live soon with this card but it might wait till it actually can ship them. We expect that will take place in the next few weeks.

The biggest problem at the All in Wwonder multimedia team was the huge delay between the normal high end card and the All in Wonder variant of the card, but this time around the company did things right.

You should be able to buy one before Yule.

*wintry goes off to cry bitterly in a corner*

10-13-2005, 05:45 AM
doh worry, its not like oyu could have afforded it :)

10-13-2005, 10:03 PM
What u talking bout I could have sold meh left kidney for it!!! and meh AIW did cost close to 400USD so I mean... but anyways I good with what I have... I go haffe do some serious overclock-no-jutsu to make sure I not too far behind yuh!!!

10-13-2005, 11:30 PM
I beggin yah to try a while now :), I see newegg got some GTO2s selling @ $254 shipped

10-14-2005, 11:57 AM
$199 OEM ;)

10-14-2005, 12:11 PM
Not on newegg (sold out)

10-14-2005, 02:30 PM
still exists though
so far the 7800GT is still owning, well worth the extra $100 so
the GTO2 seems to be settling around $250

10-14-2005, 03:12 PM
7800GT is definately good. I'll wait for R580 or 7800 on 90nm,

10-15-2005, 08:05 PM
When I reach back to T&T dox... wait and see

10-15-2005, 10:35 PM
Lawwwd w1ntry gonna pwn us all

10-16-2005, 11:03 PM
not necessarily ;)

10-24-2005, 01:00 PM
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/quake_...nce/default.asp (http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/quake_4_high-end_performance/default.asp)

ATI’s pulled off one hell of an accomplishment. As shown by our testing, with one simple driver update, ATI’s gone from last to first place in Quake 4 performance. There’s a wealth of data you can glean from these benchmarks.

For one thing the RADEON X1800 cards really don’t begin to shine until you turn on 4xAA. For an example, let’s take a look at the Quake 4 numbers at 1600x1200 in high quality mode. While the margin between the X1800 XT and GeForce 7800 GTX was merely 5% in favor of the X1800 XT 512MB without AA, the margin opens up to a whopping 18% once 4xAA is applied. Meanwhile, the X1800 XL goes from finishing behind the GeForce 7800 GT, to outperforming it by 10% at 1600x1200 with 4xAA/8xAF.

The tables turn a little once Quake 4’s ultra quality mode is turned on. The GeForce 7800 GT is able to outperform the RADEON X1800 XL, while the GeForce 7800 GTX pulls to within 16% of the X1800 XT. We have a feeling that the X1800 XT’s 512MB of memory is helping it maintain its lead a little here. That would help explain the X1800 XL’s surprisingly slower showing in Quake 4’s ultra quality mode (remember that the ultra quality mode is borrowed from DOOM 3, using uncompressed textures and full resolution normal maps, with a typical level taking up over 500MB of texture memory.)

Now that’s ATI’s demonstrated that they can deliver a faster OpenGL RADEON card, the onus is now on them to deliver boards to retail. The RADEON X1800 XL still hasn’t shown up on Price Watch. Both ZipZoomFly and Newegg carry X1800 XL boards from ATI and Sapphire (with prices starting as low as $380), but this is still woefully inadequate to compete with the avalanche of GeForce 7800 GT cards that can be found on the market. As we showed you earlier this week in the news, the GeForce 7800 GT can be easily purchased online with a free copy of Call of Duty 2 for as low as $340. ATI’s got to get more boards on the market in order for prices to fall.

Meanwhile, the RADEON X1800 XT can’t be purchased at retail yet. ATI has stated availability of November 5th. That’s about 2 weeks from now. Until ATI is actually able to deliver a product on time, we’ve got to take this date with a grain of salt. Sure, it’s possible ATI may be able to deliver on their promises this time, but given their track record it’s prudent to be skeptical. If ATI can deliver though, they’ve got an excellent chance at regaining mindshare among enthusiasts.

Clearly ATI’s got a strong product. The benchmarks we’ve presented to you today show they’ve got the fastest graphics card on the market for Quake 4. Now the question is how will NVIDIA respond? It’s certainly possible they may have a few tricks up their sleeve in the driver department to improve the performance of the GeForce 7800 GT and 7800 GTX as well.

10-31-2005, 11:06 AM
R520, Radeon X1800 can address 1024MB memory

1024MB R520 cards possible

By Fuad Abazovic: Monday 31 October 2005, 09:52
THERE IS a lot more that needs to be told about the R520 memory controller. ATI invested a lot of time and money to make it happen. When ATI was making the R520, it wanted to make at least one part that will last more than just one generation.

We asked around and it turns out that the R520 memory controller is very flexible, and can support even future memory standards such as GDDR4 but more interesting is the fact that it will let you use more than 512MB of memory.

As soon as memory prices goes down ATI might introduce a 1024MB card, not because you need it, rather because it can. The R520 memory controller can address 1024MB of memory and as far as we know, the G70 can only address 512MB. We might be wrong about that are we're prepared to be corrected by the Graphzilla spinCrew.

Just when we are slowly walking toward the standardisation of 512MB of graphic memory on a card, it's good to know that we will be able to go even further because of its investment in its memory controller.

We know that this transistor investment paid of at least in Open GL games, as ATI managed to get a magnificent performance increase from its last R300, R360, R420 generation of cards based on a similar R300 base design. Nvidia is still scratching its skull, trying to figure out how ATI managed to get such a performance increase without cheating. If ATI was cheating we would be all be talking about it by now, wouldn't we? µ

It seems this new memory controller is running the scenes, well worth the investment. As mentioned previously I can't wait till ATi uses it on some next gen stuff like DDR4 which supposed to be mass produced come Q1

10-31-2005, 11:17 AM
well well that is good stuff
Ati did a good job in the end. Now we waiting for releases and available cards