View Full Version : Nintendogs

08-18-2005, 02:16 PM
ever since the release of 4 hugee MMORPG titles (lineage2, Everquest 2, WOW, Guild Wars) people have been branding games as nerd contraceptives. in light of this, the company known as nintendo has developed a clever little title for the DS that is aimed solely @ getting nerds a little @$$. Nintendogs is yet another DS title that says to you: "you need a DS to play this!" say what you will, this game will join the ranks of Meteos and Yoshi's Touch and Go as being killer applications for the little hand held that could.
i know there are many sony uber fans here, but i think i can have sex for longer than i can use a PSP, and either way, there is only one killer app for the PSP, Luminess, hopefully the Socom game will change that.
but back to the game @ hand, Nintendogs comes in 3 versions, each with their own 6 breeds of dogs, this very much like the dual versions of the various pokemon games. this game is definitely going to be a system seller for gamers and non gamers alike.

http://nintendogs.com/

k=]
08-18-2005, 06:07 PM
i play nintendoggys in an eb gamez and it really fun....
if i was a nintendo fanboy i WOULD buy this game.....
heh.....
barkin to all de ladeez sayin dat i have a kewl miniature pinscher.....
named kary......
buh seriously.....
if u have ds money in your back pocket, i suggest that u get it NOW!!!!!!!

08-19-2005, 01:30 PM
boy i on toysrus site now waiting to click, the only thing holding me back is that i have to pay down on 2 costumes for Tribe next week

k=]
08-19-2005, 02:06 PM
fuh real.....
buh i really wonder if nintendogz is a gimmick,
or if it is really a "killer app"
it was fun for 5-10 mins, but........
btw, laruto.....
meteos is da shite......

08-21-2005, 08:07 AM
so far it seems that the only DS games that can be seen as being 'gimmicky' are those that are ports or remakes of existing games.
all the games that were designed exclusively with the DS in mind have been quite good if not great. for example, Mario 64 Ds' use of the stylus for certain menu options seems gimmicky but kirby canvas crse is anything but a gimmick.

NB when the N64 was released there were several people who wrote to some major gaming magazines and said that they had the same gimmik concerns about the analog stick on the controller and the rumble feature.

k=]
08-21-2005, 04:17 PM
sony *cough*
*cough* dual shock
nintendo sux *cough*
umm.....
i think(correct me if i am wrong) that sony had an analog controller first, and i think that nintendo is a company of gimmics.....
but...
whatever....
remember de expansion pak for n64?
gimmick....
de rumble pak....
a good way to scam a lil xtra money out of a consumer....
wtf nintendo?

08-21-2005, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by k=]@Aug 21 2005, 03:17 PM
sony *cough*
*cough* dual shock
nintendo sux *cough*
umm.....
i think(correct me if i am wrong) that sony had an analog controller first, and i think that nintendo is a company of gimmics.....
but...
whatever....
remember de expansion pak for n64?
gimmick....
de rumble pak....
a good way to scam a lil xtra money out of a consumer....
wtf nintendo?

lol, i guessing you kinda young, but the original ps1 controller had no rumble or analog.
neither analog nor rumble can be considered a gimmick, i mean every company makes use of it not, both hardware and software companies.

k=]
08-21-2005, 09:53 PM
what i mean by gimmick is de extra 29.99 nintendo would charge a nigga for a rumble....
thus i consider it a gimmick...
a dual shock controller was cheaper dan de rumble pak, and IS another controller, so i don,t consider it a gimmick....
btw laruto,
i callde it the sony ps DUALSHOCK controller/ analog controller cus there was another "digital" controler, the original ps controller....
yes, i am 17(kinda young) BUT i had a ps from de 1990's and always HAD a console (1987 had de normal nintendo),
so i dont think age is really the issue here...
anyways...
in my mind, nintendo was always a company of gimmicks...
look at donkey conga.
duck hunt
boktai (eesh.... a konami game)
pokemon emerald (wireless link)
er...
all de damn pokemon games
de gba link cable
gba sp & micro
pokemon stand alone gamez
virtual boy
n64 rumble pak
n64 expansion pak
and i can go on and on....
all gimmicks

08-22-2005, 11:07 AM
would it be considered a gimmick if every other company decided to follow and utilise the same technology? somehow i think not.

donkey conga./ This trend was not started by nintendo but by the makers of DDR

duck hunt./ you say this like it's a bad thing, you have any idea how many people purchased the PS1 because of the abundance of light gun games?

boktai (eesh.... a konami game)./ konami did this, not nintendo

pokemon emerald (wireless link)./ you know if this did not happen you probably would not have wifi or wireless lan with the psp or ds right

de gba link cable./ never saw someone link their ipod to a pc?

gba sp & micro./ gamers did not too like the lack of a light on the screen so it had to be fixed, i'm not sure if the micro was necessary though.

pokemon stand alone gamez./ most of those that staryed from the original sucked

virtual boy./ yeah this was shit and a gimmick
n64 rumble pak. not a gimmick because the technology has been used by every single hardware manufacturing company kn the gaming business since.

n64 expansion pak./ i believe the best way explain the expansion pak is comparing sdram to ddr, the expansion pak acted like a ram boost for the console which smoothened out audio and visual performance for some of the more advanced titles.

and i can go on and on....
all gimmicks/ please do go on

k=]
08-22-2005, 04:33 PM
aite....
but look at it this way,
i still think de rumble pak was a gimmick, cus all nintendo had to do was integrate the vibrator....
sp is a gimmick, cus all they had to do was put the backlight IN DA FIRST PLACE!!!!
btw.... correct e if i am wrong, but didnt sony have rumble feature first?\i never said duck hunt was a bad thing, but to ppl in 1985, a light gun was a gimmick
remember the companion robot to the nes(whose name i forgot)???
GIMMICK
remember the infra red link port on the gbc??
GIMMICK
look at games like yoshi topsy turvy and wario ware twisted....
GIMMICK
why did a system that debuted first (PS) did not need an expansion pak when the n64 was supposedly technologically superior?
GIMMICK
ddr is a gimmick to me also, using a dance mat to attract ppl to play,in that sense all arcade gamez are gimmicky anyways, so bleh...
look at mario party...er... umm....
6?
de one wit de mic???
GIMMICK
i never said that gimmicks were all bad, cus most innovations start out as gimmicks....
BUT...........
to me, nintendo always relied on gimmicks for xtra sales, hence the reason they lost every console war since the original nes (yes.... genesis sold more, n64 sux and gcn is .... gcn...)
so there :pokeytongue:

08-23-2005, 02:55 PM
you sad silly little spammer want corrections? here goes:

rumble technology needed fine tuning and could not be prepared in time for the launch of the N64 (in fact only 2 games were even completed in time for launch, mario and pilot wings). better to fine tune and release a finished product than to give a consumer a shoddy item.

were you even born when duck hunt was released? trust me light gun games were a big deal back then, no gimmick, and the fact that so many companies, ranging from konami to namco, have been making successful light gun games since should serve as a hint that the light gun was no gimmick.

Yoshi Tosy Turvy and Warioware Twisted were experiments with gyroscope technology, based on the reactions these games get, chances are you will se gyroscopes in future gamepads.

i don't exactly understand what you trying to say about the PS debuting first and not needing an expansion. but anyway, what nintendo was doing with the Expansion pak was catering for developers who were going to really push the limitations of the console, Sony did not feel this was necessary and as such made no preparations for console expansion.

DDR making money and started a trend that was mimicked by several other gaming companies, so as such it is not a gimmick.

Using a Mic with games is another experiment that has apparently proved successful, didn't you notice the preview for a PS3 game which relied on the gamer speaking to the characters to guide them rather than using a controller? truth is nintendo experiments with this a while now, remember that sh!t hey you pikachu? that was the start.

the sad thing is you obviously know the difference between a gimmick and innovation cuz you state it in your post, yet for some reason you can't seperate the sense from the nonesense when you post. anyway i realise that you just looking for a way to increase your post count so i done here with you, i would greatly appreciate it if you decide to keep your future posts in this thread on the topic which is: Nintendogs.

08-24-2005, 01:02 AM
k=] lemme just back up laruto with something quoted WORD for WORD out of the latest PSM magazine........yes i said PSM

"During the week of April 18th, the Japanese market saw the release of two newly coloured DS units, as well as the release of the pet simulator Nintendogs. That week 96,191 Nintendo DS units were sold, compared to the PSP's 33,004 units. In fact, the DS sold more units in that week than the PSP,XBOX,PS2, GameCube,Game Boy Advance, and GBA SP combined"

I couldnt give F*CKALL if the damn thing is a "gimmick"...the gimmick WORKS and the gimmick SELLS. bottom line

08-26-2005, 07:35 AM
the price of the DS had been cut by $20 usd, bring ing it to $129.99, in addition, there is currently a special offer on amazon.com where you can get a NDS, a carrying case for the NDS with some extra accessories and a copy of spiderman2 all for $129.99. damn good offer.

08-26-2005, 09:10 AM
Just referring to the posts about gimmicks vs innovations...

Everything would start out as a "gimmick", once they start to deviate from the conventional way of doing something.

At the same time, couldn't Sony's Analog/rumble feature have been considered a gimmick? I was just a gimmick that sold well and became an innovation as a result!

Nintendo IMO has been a company that hasn't been afraid to take risks in trying to open new forms of gameplay, even though they may not be the first to actually utilize the technology.

Sony (and MS as well) hasn't been ones to really innovate, they just kept pushing better technical specs on their systems and milk the cash cows for each system.

Now don't get me wrong, Nintendo does that shamelessly (Mario/Pokémon anyone?), but at the same time, they do take some risks upon themselves, Nintendogs being a good example...

Sony/MS might get the more sales in the long run cuz they stick to what they know, but Nintendo will always have a rock solid fan base that won't give out so easily...

So I don't mind the gimmicks, as long as the gimmicks are good such that they give us new ways to play a game other than simple mashing a D-PAD and reciting "X-O-X-X-square-triangle-O-O"....

08-26-2005, 05:49 PM
actually i think Nintendo is the most innovative company out there hands down. AND they take the risks. Gimmick, innovative yes, that can be an argument

But you dont see SONY or MS making a congo drum, a game that needs 4 GBA's to play, stylus only gameplay, etc. THese ppl invented rumble feature, thumbstick adn go knows what else that didnt make it or crashed. THey are pretty inventive

to add to that. THeir sales in Japan are pretty damn good. Their games seem to mostly appeal to Japanese rather than the US. I mean PS2 outsold them hands down, but check the FFX-2 and Onimusha controls that tanked in the US. More "gimmicks" for the PS2 that failed, but SONY didnt make these items.

Bottom line Nintendo appeals more to the Japanese culture. Look at the games. US tends to laugh and say it embarases you, but in Japan its something ppl love.

Yes, SONY and MS do not really inovate. Nintendo really does though. They practically own the childrens market with this Pokemon business. They are just exploring an area that hasnt been explored with gimmicks. And to be very honest i WELCOME the damn thing. games are really getting pretty boring without nintendo around

Sorry how everything is comming out backwards...forgive my enthusiasm :P