View Full Version : Video Games Causes Violence Among Youths
I know we are not in america where the debates rage on that Violent Video Games taint the nation youths and turn them to violent crimes. But i am sure some of you guys parents do use that excuse to try and stop you from playing games...
I think all parents should read this article, very well done, i might add.
http://gr.bolt.com/articles/violence/violence.htm
07-29-2005, 09:01 PM
Check out that ugly graph on the right. It doesn't take a genius to conclude that violent crime is at the lowest it has been in a good thirty years. For effect, I’ve also marked the release of the Playstation console, the first Grand Theft Auto game, the PS2 console, and the infamous GTA 3. Wow, look at those surges in violence!
There are too many manipulated variables to draw a valid conclusion from graphs like that.
It's like saying that the death penalty didn't have any effect on the rate of murders, even though many variables may have changed after the penalty was put into effect.
I would add however that video games of the sort desensitize youngins about violence and crime.
What about GTA!--->> Having a hooker in your car is hella fun! Lets forget about HIV
07-29-2005, 11:48 PM
people!!!!!
there is a rating system for a reason!!!!!!
ppl who consider this should think that a 9 yer old has no right to play gta, and any parent who does so should be held accountable for their children's actions......
nuff said
rubbish utter rubbish
If yuh psychotic yuh psychotic
Games have not a damn thing to do with it
You must be really detached from reality if you carry out violent acts based on what you've played in a game or saw in a movie.
i.e Mentally disturbed from the get go if you cant discern reality from fantasy
Ive playing video games since b4 the ESRB was even a thought.
Survived the likes of Doom , Duke Nukem , Mortal Kombat, Thrill Kill and all the other stuff that was supposed to turn me into a serial killer .
If all of the above was soooo bad for me?
How come I turned out alright?
07-30-2005, 09:12 AM
ppl who consider this should think that a 9 yer old has no right to play gta, and any parent who does so should be held accountable for their children's actions......
Your parents can stop you from downloading something, or getting a game from a friend?They screen everything you borrow/download?
parents who show an intrest in thier children would do that...
although the child may habour ill feelings towards the parents
when they are placed in the same situation they will understand why.
Americans are stupid (or the People)who let games control them emotionally and physically i just have to...... LOL.
games are here so u can have fun and ease your mind not killl and rob and steal.
another plus for games and gamerz
http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/commen...omment-opinions (http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/commentary/la-oe-johnson27jul27,0,1432940.story?coll=la-news-comment-opinions)
I have to agree.... that not just parents should be doing screening, but also us as a gaming community. The software insatlled in gls endures that minors can't play M rated games not so?
My neighbour has kids, 2 boys. I am really good friends with the parents. One of the kids is in form 3 and the other in standard 5. While I sometimes give the one in form 3 access to a lil bit (not much) porn, the standard 5 one doh get none, and none of them gettin a copy of GTA from me.
07-30-2005, 12:30 PM
Weather you want to give them access to something or not, the internet is a free place, and no matter what safeguards are put in place at home nothing can stop a teen from getting something if he really wants.
Nothing short of sitting down with him everytime he uses the computer that is.
07-30-2005, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by loki@Jul 30 2005, 09:52 AM
parents who show an intrest in thier children would do that...
although the child may habour ill feelings towards the parents
when they are placed in the same situation they will understand why.
not unless they trust their child...
parents have to be really naive to trust thier children honestly
07-30-2005, 04:20 PM
yep ! naive to trust their kids, like look @ my parents, they trust me and i've smoked weed and cigs, i drink and i've had sex in my little brother's bed ;)
anyway about violence in games, i think thas bullspit, if anything it helps you vent anger from real life, in the game and makes you a happy camper :D
07-30-2005, 04:50 PM
*dinesh printscreens and goes to blackmail Itachi
You had sex with your brother in a bed? :o
Another little itachi yes.
My parents still dont trust me, insist I leave the doors open when I'm online.
07-31-2005, 01:49 PM
IN THE WAKE of Hot Coffeegate author Steven Johnson, the man behind "Everything Bad Is Good For You", has written an open letter to Senator Hillary Clinton, the woman largely behind launching the avalanche that has buried Take Two, Rockstar and half the gaming industry up to its neck in trouble. We’ll let the letter do the talking.
"Dear Sen. Clinton:
"I'm writing to commend you for calling for a $90-million study on the effects of video games on children, and in particular the courageous stand you have taken in recent weeks against the notorious "Grand Theft Auto" series.
"I'd like to draw your attention to another game whose nonstop violence and hostility has captured the attention of millions of kids — a game that instills aggressive thoughts in the minds of its players, some of whom have gone on to commit real-world acts of violence and sexual assault after playing.
"I'm talking, of course, about high school football.
"I know a congressional investigation into football won't play so well with those crucial swing voters, but it makes about as much sense as an investigation into the pressing issue that is Xbox and PlayStation 2.
"Your current concern is over explicit sex in "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas." Yet there's not much to investigate, is there? It should get rated appropriately, and that's that. But there's more to your proposed study: You want to examine how video games shape children's values and cognitive development.
"Kids have always played games. A hundred years ago they were playing stickball and kick the can; now they're playing "World of Warcraft," "Halo 2" and "Madden 2005." And parents have to drag their kids away from the games to get them to do their algebra homework, but parents have been dragging kids away from whatever the kids were into since the dawn of civilization.
"So any sensible investigation into video games must ask the "compared to what" question. If the alternative to playing "Halo 2" is reading "The Portrait of a Lady," then of course "The Portrait of a Lady" is better for you. But it's not as though kids have been reading Henry James for 100 years and then suddenly dropped him for Pokemon.
"Another key question: Of all the games that kids play, which ones require the most mental exertion? Parents can play this at home: Try a few rounds of Monopoly or Go Fish with your kids, and see who wins. I suspect most families will find that it's a relatively even match. Then sit down and try to play "Halo 2" with the kids. You'll be lucky if you survive 10 minutes.
"The great secret of today's video games that has been lost in the moral panic over "Grand Theft Auto" is how difficult the games have become. That difficulty is not merely a question of hand-eye coordination; most of today's games force kids to learn complex rule systems, master challenging new interfaces, follow dozens of shifting variables in real time and prioritize between multiple objectives.
"In short, precisely the sorts of skills that they're going to need in the digital workplace of tomorrow.
"Consider this one fascinating trend among teenagers: They're spending less time watching professional sports and more time simulating those sports on Xbox or PlayStation. Now, which activity challenges the mind more — sitting around rooting for the Packers, or managing an entire football franchise through a season of "Madden 2005": calling plays, setting lineups, trading players and negotiating contracts? Which challenges the mind more — zoning out to the lives of fictional characters on a televised soap opera, or actively managing the lives of dozens of virtual characters in a game such as "The Sims"?
"On to the issue of aggression, and what causes it in kids, especially teenage boys. Congress should be interested in the facts: The last 10 years have seen the release of many popular violent games, including "Quake" and "Grand Theft Auto"; that period has also seen the most dramatic drop in violent crime in recent memory. According to Duke University's Child Well-Being Index, today's kids are less violent than kids have been at any time since the study began in 1975. Perhaps, Sen. Clinton, your investigation should explore the theory that violent games function as a safety valve, letting children explore their natural aggression without acting it out in the real world.
"Many juvenile crimes — such as the carjacking that is so central to "Grand Theft Auto" — are conventionally described as "thrill-seeking" crimes. Isn't it possible that kids no longer need real-world environments to get those thrills, now that the games simulate them so vividly? The national carjacking rate has dropped substantially since "Grand Theft Auto" came out. Isn't it conceivable that the would-be carjackers are now getting their thrills on the screen instead of the street?
"Crime statistics are not the only sign that today's gaming generation is doing much better than the generation raised during the last cultural panic — over rock 'n' roll. Math SAT scores have never been higher; verbal scores have been climbing steadily for the last five years; nearly every indicator in the Department of Education study known as the Nation's Report Card is higher now than when the study was implemented in 1971.
"By almost every measure, the kids are all right.
"Of course, I admit that there's one charge against video games that is a slam dunk. Kids don't get physical exercise when they play a video game, and indeed the rise in obesity among younger people is a serious issue. But, of course, you don't get exercise from doing homework either." µ
07-31-2005, 03:24 PM
my mother and i ague constantly on this topic....i think now she can shut up
07-31-2005, 05:52 PM
Just wanted to give a little input.
When yall speak on the issue of trust (or the lack thereof), you speak in the context of a child who wasn't raised that well.
Children who are raised maturely and honestly from a young age, with proper attention and discipline given to them, can be trusted much more than those who aren't.
Yes...there are young people who can have computers in their rooms and actually spend the right amount of time studying instead of playing games and watching porn.
When people say "What? Children with TV in dey room? Dey mad?"...they're actually saying, "I can't imagine my own child with a TV in his room. I haven't raised him to be responsible enough."
I definitely not saying that any child will be perfect. But in the case of adult videogames, parental supervision is just half the equation. You should have raised your child to say to himself, "Ay, hear nah...this eh my kinda scene yet. I go handle a lil Ratchet & Clank 3 fuh de hour."
When you're not hovering over your child, that child's broughtupsy should be enough to keep them from doing the wrong thing.
It's more than just what yuh keeping them from doing now. It's what you've been teaching them is wrong since birth.
children like that very rare these days kayo.
@ Lokes - Ent? In a way parents just not watching or teaching their children properly.
When I was younger and started on video games, my mom actually encourage me to play them to keep me off the idleness on the street which at the time was rampant-she preferred me inside safe and behind a console or pc over outside and doing weed and fighting.
IMO: you should give your children the freedom to experiment with games from a young age but speak with them thoroughly beforehand about the dangers and intrinsics of happenings in the game so that they WILL know what is right from wrong and they will know how to tell the difference and how to dismiss the surreal from the real.
08-02-2005, 08:55 AM
I doh have much time so i'll keep this brief. I think that video games like many other factors contribute to the overall degradation of society. All the men in here raving about how its BS need to think about a few things. Firstly yes a man made an excellent point about desensitization thru violent games, as I mentioned in another thread, you guys know about the kid that killed 2 cops GTA style and when they asked him why he said "we all have to die sometime", btw his mother is sueing EA for GTA which she claims had a negative impact on her child (i think that is BS but notwithstanding its prolly a factor). Secondly these days with the limited interaction or rather in person interaction that these games promote I think it is contributing to the segregation of youth which as well know today esp in a country like T&T is just harbouring the racial divide that politiacal leaders seem to be pushing so well. If we all sweat togehter we'll all get alother better wouldn;t you say? (in most cases anys). Also material that is M rated is so for a reason and as such its the responsiblity of a parent to keep an eye on what their child is doing, but I mean come on, reasonably speaking we all know as being a child at some point in life you'll hide it and sneak a play when ur parent go to the grocery etc. So its near impossible for a parent to keep an eye 24/7 and playing these games can in some cases lead to violent acts, not only in children but in adults as well. I'll call a few more cases, a boy was killed over his Xbox, a 3 month year old infant died from NEGLECT cause its parents were playing WOW. I mean come on, even games that are not necessarily M rated can have negative effects when one does not seriously consider the effects in the long term it could have. Also violent and sexually explicit games can educate the otherwise ignorant of ways in which violent act can be carried out. Creative bad ways as it were. I am not in any way saying M rated games are bad, I am saying that we would be fools not to consider the effects that it has on todays youth as one of the MANY contributing factors to violence, indifference, desensitization, racial divide, violence against women, drug abuse, etc.
THink about it a lil.
That's prob. the reason I won't have children. I might remember levelling up rather than feeding them.
My memory dat bad :/
08-02-2005, 10:39 AM
Just in case things weren't bad enough for them check this $hit out and tell me how videogames esp ones of this nature NOT making things worse:
Rockstar to release Bully game
Pouring hot coffee on
By Aaron McKenna: Tuesday 02 August 2005, 07:24
SOMEBODY really ought to copy Rockstar and Take Two a memo on digging holes. With the fallout from Hot Coffeegate still landing half the industry up to its neck in crap they’re pushing ahead with a videogame entitled simply "Bully".
Rockstar Games describes the upcoming title as one where gamers play a "troublesome schoolboy" who "stands up to bullies, gets picked on by teachers, plays pranks on malicious kids, wins or loses the girl, and ultimately learns to navigate the obstacles of the fictitious reform school."
Alright, so the pitch does have you playing the anti-bully-turned-bully, but really chaps you could have been more sensitive. The schools bullying watchdog, Bullying Online, here, has come out with strong statements against the game with the organisation's Liz Carnell telling the press: "This game should be banned. I'm extremely worried that kids will play it and then act out what they've seen in the classroom....Bullying is not a game by any stretch of the imagination. We have around four suicidal children contacting us every day." According to the organisation two million children in the UK are "bullied" in real-life school settings each year.
08-03-2005, 12:22 AM
Originally posted by loki@Aug 2 2005, 02:50 AM
children like that very rare these days kayo.
Children or parents?
I feel alyuh missing the point. The parent raises a certain kind of child. Children doh just become themselves on their own.
08-03-2005, 12:29 AM
They calling for the game to be banned and it eh even released yet?
Ignorance runs rampant.
Millions of kids face bullies everyday.
Better they play a game where they can fight against them than they decide to take them out Columbine-style.
A game like that is therapy, it's a form of release, and from what I see described there, it seems as harmless as Home Alone. Movies like Back to the Future have been telling the geek-beats-bully-and-gets-girl for decades.
Is not tuh say yuh killin other kids and brushin teachers. Nutten in that game seems far removed from real life.
Please...this is nonsense.
08-03-2005, 12:37 AM
Bullying is not a suitable topic for a computer game. In term time this charity is contacted by up to four suicidal pupils a day. Between 16-20 children a year kill themselves in the UK due to school bullying. Amusing subject for a game isn't it?
Look at that idiocy from the Bullying website.
By that logic, movie companies shouldn't make romantic comedies, because we all know that countless people commit suicide every year over relationships gone wrong.
Nonsense.
Originally posted by kayode@Aug 2 2005, 11:22 PM
Children or parents?
I feel alyuh missing the point. The parent raises a certain kind of child. Children doh just become themselves on their own.
i understand where u are coming from kayo, in my case i come from a family where my parents married too young.. they where not ready to be in a long term relationship and to raise a family. bleh.
but however i do wish my parents where gamers not the kind that W1ntry mentioned that forgot thier kid to play WoW.
I am talking abt an online fren of mine and her husband and thier 2 yr old daughter.
The mother is an anime enthusiast and a part time gamer,(she only plays games to vent:D ) The father is a webmaster and works for some tech company or the other... He is a horror lover , movies and games and goes by the handle Terrormaster :D his former site was www.digitalnecropolis.com which sadly died but he is programing and building his own online game. The daughter is a cartoon/anime enthusiast and also plays video games mind you its kiddy games but then again she is only 2 and very smart. Her parents don't leave to her own devices n such, she is either with the mother by her pc or by the dad on his pc or watching cartoons or movies, or playing on her new vtech :D
what i am trying to say is that, the blame can be only put on the single person and not anyone else. Its up to the person to decide what is wrong or right and what they should do or don't. And with parents its up to them to decide how they should balance thier life... Blame the People not the Games !
08-05-2005, 01:51 PM
http://www.economist.com/printedition/disp...tory_ID=4246109 (http://www.economist.com/printedition/displayStory.cfm?Story_ID=4246109)
08-05-2005, 03:34 PM
but allya doh see how men in java does be lashing men for source. IT CAUSES VIOLENCE I TELL YOU. let any 1 lash me in java nah, ya go see violence. LOL
08-05-2005, 05:20 PM
bushy right....
it is not the game, but the person.....
i have seen many a little kidd cuss at spyro the dragon and pokemon......
peltin lash at ppl cus dey cant make a jump or find a certain item.....
:new_snipersmilie: :ablow:
more importantly.....
some childran really do imitate things in games....
these people are called retards.......
if children can't distinguish real life from video games, they should begin seeking professional help.................
08-05-2005, 07:05 PM
Counterstrike and GTA are so cool.
I am going now and get a machine gun and shoot anyone that I see.
whoaaaaaaaaaaa coooooooooool.
Now is just to get a flame thrower and some hookers
nice article Kayode. a good read.
i still maintain the fact that if someone gets violent from playing video games it is thier decisions and only them should take the blame
Its like I said b4 if you cant discern reality from fantasy you have serious mental problems.
08-11-2005, 09:51 AM
I was trying to find the GTA rating rescending thread but I too lazy, this thread should suffice:
Grand Theft Auto killer convicted
Game not an influence on triple homocide
By Nick Farrell: Thursday 11 August 2005, 07:40
A 20 YEAR old who claimed in court that his addiction to the game Grand Theft Auto and childhood abuse caused him to kill three small-town police officers, has been convicted of murder.
M’learned friends for the defence lawyers tried to convince the court that Moore’s actions were as a result of the hours he spent playing video games from the Grand Theft Auto series, in which players shoot police officers and steal cars.
He told coppers after he was caught that "Life is a video game; everybody has to die sometime" and his reason for the killings were because of a mental defect.
M’learned friend for the prosecution Lyn Durham said Moore knew what he was doing when he grabbed a patrolman's gun and killed two officers and a radio dispatcher and knew it was wrong.
The Jury didn’t buy the story either. It only took them an hour before convicting Devin Moore. He could face the death penalty when he is sentenced today.
The victims’ families have filed a civil suit against the video-game Rock Star and two stores, claiming the games Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto: Vice City were responsible for the policemen's deaths. Where this verdict leaves the civil case is another matter. If Moore knew what he was doing at the time of the murders, it would be harder to prove that the games somehow influenced his decision.
why sue rockstar and stores that sell the game...
ppl rel stupid when they ready.
found something new in my email today... nice read
http://www.g4tv.com/specials/features/5285...ogame_Life.html (http://www.g4tv.com/specials/features/52858/Violence_A_Fact_of_Videogame_Life.html)
Violence: A Fact of Videogame Life
written by Jennifer Villarreal on Monday, October 24, 2005
This article represents the opinion of the author alone.
Violence happens in videogames. Can't talk your way out of that one, and why should you? Playing violent games is an easy way to get out aggression. It relieves stress. But those things sound like excuses and I'm not here to rattle off excuses. Really, the main thing is that violence in games is...I'm saying it...it's fun.
Totally fun.
It's fun to shoot somebody in an FPS or smack them around in a fighting game. More thinky types tell me it's fun to plan battles and wars and crap in those strategy games, and I'm happy to take their word for it.
So violence exists in games, and that probably has a lot to do with it being fun to simulate violent acts.
Now maybe you're expecting me to say something about how you need to make sure everyone's aware of what's fantasy and what's reality. And how something can be fun when it's time to pretend, but in real life, there are consequences. Uh, I guess. I mean come on now, if you can't tell the difference between putting a disk in your console and using a controller to jack a car and then mow down pedestrians in a game on your tv screen and jumping into a real car and using it to mow down living, breathing pedestrians IRL then I can't help you and neither can anyone else.
But I'm not really here to call bs on the excuses people make for their own horrible behavior. I'm not even here to say what's right and what's wrong. I'm here to just say what's what. And what's what is, violence is one of the things that people enjoy about videogames.
The plain truth is, we're a violent people. So naturally, we enjoy violence in our entertainment.
Very rarely does anyone want to stare that little bit of information right in the face. We enjoy violence, because we are violent. We like watching and participating in violence--in our sports, our movies, our videogames. We do. Of course, that's not all we like about sports and movies and videogames. We're all for human achievement, as well. All the training, the artistry, the skill involved in those pursuits.
But damned if we don't really dig shootin' and hittin' and kickin' and blowing stuff up real good for entertainment's sake, particularly in our videogames. And that's not 'cause the games (or sports, or movies, or comic books, or whatever) made us violent. It's because we're violent in the first place, and so we enjoy depictions of violence in our entertainment.
Now you're looking at me and you're saying "Duh". Well, okay. Duh.
I'm just saying, if what people really liked was picking flowers, reciting poetry and giving stuffed bears to each other, we'd have a hell of a lot more games about that crap and a lot fewer shooters, war games and the like.
We have violence in games. We like violence in games. We are violent. It's not the prettiest truth, but it's true.
Now, who's up for a deathmatch?