View Full Version : Ps3 ... Do U Have The Money ?

07-26-2005, 10:26 AM
Sony chief warns PS3 will be "expensive"

Last week at Sony Computer Entertainment's PlayStation Meeting in Japan, company president Ken Kutaragi appeared on stage to discuss further information on the current status of the PlayStation 3.

Kutaragi started out by reconfirming that the PS3 will be backwards-compatible with PlayStation and PlayStation 2 games and support high-definition TVs. "We're looking at a life cycle of 10 years with the PlayStation 3. We're currently shifting from standard TVs to HD TVs," said Kutaragi. "But in the next couple of years, most flat-panel TVs will be full HD. We're releasing the PS3 with full HD features from the start so that consumers won't have to buy another version of the console in the future. For the same reason, we're using Blu-ray as the PS3's disc format."

"I'm aware that with all these technologies, the PS3 can't be offered at a price that's targeted towards households. I think everyone can still buy it if they wanted to," said Kutaragi to a mostly Japanese crowd. "But we're aiming for consumers throughout the world. So we're going to have to do our best (in containing the price)."

Then Kutaragi issued a somewhat ominous warning. "I'm not going to reveal its price today. I'm going to only say that it'll be expensive," he stated.

presha

07-26-2005, 11:00 AM
well im going 2 do my usual...
wait a 3 years den get one..hopefully by then we go have a drastic price drop :)

07-26-2005, 11:06 AM
Dread I KNOW i doh have the money for dat... however if they remake FFVII for it I am willing to sell meh spleen to buy it LOL...

07-26-2005, 11:14 AM
I hoping that I wouldnt be one of the n00b that buys a version that is 'outdated' within a few years... eg buying a V5 PS2...

I'll wait for something stable and something modable so i can atleast put the games on a HDD and dont bother with 'laser' compatibility.

Can I use my PS2 gamepads on the PS3?

07-26-2005, 11:20 AM
ENT @ Para

What's the backwards compatability like?

07-26-2005, 11:57 AM
isnt that where u would be able 2 play ps1 and ps2 games on the ps3? i think so
and para i would hope so because that boomerang looking thing is not a flick nah..i like to KISS- Keep It Simple..Stupid

07-26-2005, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by killa@Jul 26 2005, 10:00 AM
well im going 2 do my usual...
wait a 3 years den get one..hopefully by then we go have a drastic price drop :)

that is the real plan there
especially as i have my new graphics card
i go play pc games and wait for that price to drop

07-26-2005, 01:19 PM
MC PS2 games hardly ever make it to PC... not as much as the XBOX games...

07-26-2005, 01:24 PM
Well what do u expect, the Xbox was a PC in disguise. X86 700MHz CPU, Geforce2 64MB video and a HD, plus running on an MS OS... last I checked that is a PC. So its pretty easy to port to a proper PC wouldn't u say? I mean it is DX after all... my dream was that GT would be ported... alas such a dream would never be fulfilled.

07-26-2005, 01:26 PM
true from xbox u got kotor 1 and 2, halo, fable can't remember what else off hand

come to think of it i haven't really seen a ps2 port to pc

07-26-2005, 01:49 PM
Honestly i dont know the reasons why some ppl who have powerful pcs go and buy xboxes (besides getting the game 'fast') a little waiting and bam you get the game on PC.

If tekken was on the PC i would never had bought a PS2... I guess thats why some games are reserved for the specific consoles...

Imho (and it is opinion) I think the best combo for a gamer on the basis of game availability is
*drum roll*

a PC and a PS2. Best of both worlds, fighting games, fps, strat, alot of online play... you get good emulation with the PC bringing you lots of Nintendo Titles...

07-26-2005, 02:37 PM
You make some good points ther para. A PC and a PS2 seem to be the best of both worlds... though I suspect a shift with the 360... I personally only own a dreamcast that I doh even use much and well I not buying an Xbox or PS2... I may consider an Xbox 360 for the LIVE play or the PS3 IFF (iff: if and only iff) square remakes FFVII for it. Otherwise I am a PC gamer all the way. I also hope sony gets its online act together. I eh paying one setta money plus 2 front teeth just to get a box that hot, expensive and is a paper weight. Better have good MMO FPS and stuff otherwise FIAH.

07-26-2005, 03:40 PM
I staying far from those new consoles till things settle with them.

I think the console manufacturers should realize by now that they need to work on distribution of Hardware Updates and Software updates.... Im sure ppl are fedup of buying a New PS for added lens support or buying a new game to get a balance change....

Sony/Xbox listen to me!! build an add on card for the PC and your problems solved :)

BigBoss
07-26-2005, 06:41 PM
Folks G4 and psm hav confidently said sony is lookin at a price range of 399 to 599 dollars folks so yeah start savin from now doh be like killa an gettin Consoles late (U know is only luv killa LOL)

07-26-2005, 07:20 PM
$600 usd
i think i will take that and buy a 7800gtx
maybe some ram as well

07-27-2005, 12:54 AM
i think $600 is the safer bet

maybe even more

i mean, the PS2 came out at $300 , or $350 not so ?

and that had no where near the tech that the ps3 is proposing

07-27-2005, 08:48 AM
True @ Rum. When PS2 came out at $300+ I know men who sleep in front of stores to get one and then about 4-6 months or more later when Sony chop the price close to $200 or less dem same men want to plan bombing.

I agree with console makers should realise by now that they should be adding PC portability to their consoles because with the outdatement of their technology like lenses and hardware bug fixes really get to some people, esp. since locally people can mod they PS2 etc here and nobody eh go tell dem nutting.

This is why I GLAD when I got the PS2 I got a Canadian refurbished unit with all of the latest upgrades because when I send mine for the burn-cd mod this weekend, the man was charging about $900 due to the fact that the serial # code was an older model but when he open it up and see it refurbished with the upgrades, he chop off at least $400, chook price to $500 and hand me a nice 5 free game as well. Heck, I was lucky God Of War ran on it without the problems that the Europe units had!!

07-27-2005, 09:13 AM
If I were to even buy a ps3, it would be after the Ps4 is released. :)

07-27-2005, 10:39 AM
with respect to someone saying they see very few ps2 to pc ports, maybe these games ring a bell, Metal Gear Solid 2, Silent Hill and of course the now infamous, GTA3 trilogy.

07-27-2005, 11:31 AM
laruto .... u do know that u only called out a FEW games right ...

07-27-2005, 03:45 PM
Last i read SONY announced that it would be for 4 bill US. gamasutra.com have it.

07-27-2005, 03:51 PM
4 bill us (or 400 ;) ) is the last price i heard but i havnt really taken interest in the new consoles since the last hype @ E3.

11-09-2005, 09:09 AM
Hmm I wanted a more general PS3 thread but this will have to do... I guess not many ppl eating the hype no more... anyways. IF this comes to be, I wonder if ppl will be so eager to buy a PS3... take a read:
No pre-owned games to be allowed for Playstation 3

That's the speculation, anyroadmap

By Marc McEntegart: Wednesday 09 November 2005, 11:11
A PATENT may allow Sony to ensure that no game would be playable from any console other than the one in which it was first read.

Joystiq is reporting that this patent is the source of the many rumours that will mean as much to gamers as DRM is for music fans.

The technology would allow an authentication code to be read and then rendered unreadable, making the software unplayable on any machine but the one which first read it.

But this has caused considerable backlash from the gaming community. While many are aware of the double profit companies make on pre-owned games, this would ensure the death of trading games between friends and even going to a friend's house to play a little multiplayer.

No less than Ken Kataguri himself is listed among the inventors, which makes it look like this is a move that came from very high up. It has already been pointed out that many Playstation users have had to replace their console, surely this would leave us high and dry in that event.

While the PS3 hasn't been expressly mentioned in the patent in English or Japanese it would be the obvious place to employ this new technology, regardless of how little gamers will appreciate it. Between this and the DRM scandal, Sony could be looking at a serious drop in interest in the PS3. You can be sure you'll see more on this as it develops. As gamers, we can only hope that modern technology won't undermine the tried and tested barter system.

Now DAT is REAL BABALLS :nono:

11-09-2005, 12:35 PM
heh games console wars going interesting

ppl making suicide consoles

hyping up consoles that is really sh!t

and the console rumors that will send ppl crazy

11-09-2005, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by opium@Nov 9 2005, 12:35 PM
heh games console wars going interesting

ppl making suicide consoles

hyping up consoles that is really sh!t

and the console rumors that will send ppl crazy

Hmm ok so based on what you've said and the fact that there are only 3 consoles.. can we second guess you mean:
Suicide console: Xbox 360
Hyped crap: Revolution
Rumour Ridden: PS3
Cause I mean they doh really have nutting else to compare...

11-09-2005, 12:51 PM
imo Everyone of those consoles gonna come out decent. there isn't one of the 3 MAJOR consoles that I can say 'is shit'

11-09-2005, 01:12 PM
*Xecutiona puts up hand

i think the xbox is sh!t...but thats my opinion

11-09-2005, 05:42 PM
Sony just @$$ Fakked everyone with even the slightest thoughts about playing PS3 games, they ent no different from Microsoft (remember what they did with the Sun Microsystems issue and Java based programs)?