View Full Version : Skill In Mmorpgs ?

07-21-2005, 10:00 PM
http://www.actiontrip.com/features/skillandmmorpgs.phtml

Many MMORPGS lack competitive gameplay , rather it is replaced by a system that rewards those who play these games the longest ,rather than skilled players, in an FPS game someone can hop in halfway and still have the highest frags at the end , but in many an MMORPG the person who was there first and played the longest will be stronger than anyone else due to his 'stats' . To me this makes no sense , the whole point of many MMORPG's is to become more powerful by doing monotonous tasks repeatedly eg. ' Kill 10 bandits and return their red sashes for a reward ' or just walking through the forest/ asteroid field and killing all the wildlife , ( www.darkspace.net , space has wildlife :P ) , to gain more XP/ money etc.
I much prefer a fun game , maybe an MMORPG with based on hand to hand combat A la TEKKEN or an FPS or strategy game , but wandering aimlessly isn't fun to me. What drives an offline RPG is the story, and the need to find out what happens at the end , but an online RPG usually lacks drive , the only 'fun' thing would be interacting with other players and completing tasks together , or to form clans that gather regurlarly to help each other out .
Of course some games break the mold and allow new players to actually be competitive against older ones eg. Guild wars , but they still have the same monotonous gameplay as Wow , Lineage , everquest and countless others !
I would much rather play a game like counterstrike or battlefield online , where the GAMEPLAY keeps you playing , not the need to reach level 60 ! Until MMORPG's aquire better gameplay or something else to give them drive eg. Shattered galaxy or Darkspace , where you have to defend your race's territory from attacks by aliens and hordes of rebels , but both games have the aspect 'leveling up' that i find so desipicable .

In reality, the very nature of RPGs goes against the idea that the most skillful players are the ones receiving the most accolades. For one, there is no level playing field. One guy may be decked out with epic armor because he plays the game all day long, and the other may have very ordinary equipment, as he has a job, a family, etc. If we suppose that both of these players have the same amount of knowledge about their class and the class they are facing, and sufficient level of motor skills (nothing out of the ordinary mind you), then there is a strong chance that the guy with the better stats will win. His advantage is based on calculations by the game of the inputted stats, rather than his skills. And even if the other guy wins, it just could be that the random factor in these calculations (a number of critical hits, or resists per match), may tip in his favor, giving him an edge. All the while, however, an unordinary level of skill is not a factor in this Player vs. Player conflict. And even if it is *a* factor, it’s far from being *the* factor.
In simpler terms, being an ordinary MMORPG player, I could certainly win at least a number of matches against the supposedly best player in all the land, and that is certainly not something I could hope to do against Fatal1ty, being an ordinary player.

07-21-2005, 10:16 PM
/me awaits the abuse by WOW players :P

07-21-2005, 11:35 PM
I understand what trini has brought up here, but the goal of the MMORPGS are different to those of a FPS, RPG etc It is once again up to the preference of the player.

It can also be argued that playing WOW has finanical profits to be made by these hardworking players. They can sell their characters or items. Though we can do something similar with account based games its alot easier in these online rpgs.

07-21-2005, 11:53 PM
i think it unethical when someone leverages their willigess to pay to get ahead in an MMORPG ... and i think its illegal to do sell items for real world money in many MMO's also .
But whats the point of ANY game ? to have fun ! i think playing a good game of battlefield is alot more fun than running around in a group trying to kill some animal .

07-22-2005, 12:10 AM
i think playing a good game of battlefield is alot more fun than running around in a group trying to kill some animal .
AHHHHHHHH U think plaaying bf is more fun than killin an animal...this may not be the view of others
so basically this is pointless
as basically u saying dat fps and whatnot rule the world and die mmorp players die
is all about what the gamer wants 2 play
i could be a gamer who loves rps and those kinds of games
harvest moon ,breath of fire, etc etc
who are u 2 say dat mmorpgs take no skill?
and u say dat ppl who play the game longer will be better off than skilled ppl
scenario:
i am skilled person in mmorpg eg WOW
u are n00b with nothing 2 do no life etc jus 24/7 behind d pc playing WOW
play for 1 week straight taking forever 2 complete missions etc etc
me with the nack i have for these kind of games figure them out quickly and progress

what u trinithemc need 2 understand is that ALL games take a level of skill 2 play, so even when men say sof doh take no skill 2 play, they talking assness
so much more i could say..but i tired so das all for now

07-22-2005, 01:21 AM
a mmpog is a social thing

07-22-2005, 04:30 PM
well trini i doh know bout everyone else but it seems like you dislike MMOs for a silly reason, in fact i kinda think that some players of MMOs who sell their earnings and so on may make good business men later on in life.

07-22-2005, 06:15 PM
ive been living off mmpogs for years lol

07-22-2005, 06:19 PM
I remember bushman ads on G@TT...heh

07-22-2005, 09:11 PM
Lol.. trini it all depends on what kind of gamer you are..

I have a high level on WoW.. and it required alot of skill to play and beat people in PVP... in questing depends on what class you are and the skill levels

Example - Warrior is the easiest cause they wear mail and plate and take shitloads of damage.

Mages / Priest- Hard to play because of their limiting to cloth and their long spell casting times

And im sure once you reach in the higher levels you can understand that level dont really mean that much for people 10 levels higher/lower than u

If you dont like mmos.. Guild Wars is the MMO for people who dont like MMO..

On the other hand try and play a MMO and make it to the high levels before you make these kind of comments

07-23-2005, 01:21 PM
Maybe if he had TSTT DSL and not that high latency GreenDOT he could have given WoW a shot, maybe give his opinion another look.

07-23-2005, 04:16 PM
ouch that was a low blow :P

07-24-2005, 01:31 PM
Originally posted by bushman@Jul 22 2005, 12:21 AM
a mmorpg is a social thing

exactly the point, trini ur being a mc here, mmorpgs don't have a competitive element cuz the game isn't about competition, there are not matches that are set up, all battles are random, unless u doin a quest, stop being a jackass and hating on rpgs cuz u doh have a brain to play them, plz, rpgs do take skill(yes even mmos), i'd like to see you start off the matrix online (cuz that now start) and 0wn some ppl, it's not as easy as it seems, so plz, don't diss it cuz u can't play it.

07-24-2005, 09:39 PM
actually Lineage 2 is a game where knowledge plays in eg for castle sieges and a number of otehr wars and events.

also fps has the same elemtn that you describe when a man now begind to play it people who have logged in hours upon hours playing will always be better so your point is quite stupid. as lvls are gained in a mmpog each lvl gets hardr and harder so much to the point that if i play for 1 year a man can catch up to me eventually and even pass me. The same applies to FPS games, people can reach up to otehr peopls skill vlls after some playtime too

07-25-2005, 03:37 AM
Originally posted by Itachi@Jul 24 2005, 12:31 PM
exactly the point, trini ur being a mc here, mmorpgs don't have a competitive element cuz the game isn't about competition, there are not matches that are set up, all battles are random, unless u doin a quest, stop being a jackass and hating on rpgs cuz u doh have a brain to play them, plz, rpgs do take skill(yes even mmos), i'd like to see you start off the matrix online (cuz that now start) and 0wn some ppl, it's not as easy as it seems, so plz, don't diss it cuz u can't play it.

Yuh wrong about MMOs not being competitive.

In Lineage 2, competition is a huge part of the game. WoW is built from the ground up to encourage confrontation between two factions, and it also has CTF/Conquest games between teams that you have to set up.

In fact, once yuh hit lvl 60, competition is half of what WoW is about.

07-25-2005, 10:10 AM
Me-I like my MMO's seriously. I sweat those a lot since I'm the only gamer in the family, and thus-you kinda stick to a one player scene most of the time.

MMO's-my only complaint is that some of them are REALLY intrusive, and if you not careful-they will suck some good lifetime out of you.

*remembers himself beasting Morrowind-Icewindale the night before A+ exam* Steups-mc game :P

07-25-2005, 02:01 PM
Originally posted by kayode@Jul 25 2005, 02:37 AM
Yuh wrong about MMOs not being competitive.

In Lineage 2, competition is a huge part of the game. WoW is built from the ground up to encourage confrontation between two factions, and it also has CTF/Conquest games between teams that you have to set up.

In fact, once yuh hit lvl 60, competition is half of what WoW is about.

Hmm i dunno where i got the feeling that level 50 was the max level in wow.

07-25-2005, 06:21 PM
lvl 60 max lvl and then the bordum starts =)

07-25-2005, 06:32 PM
As opposed to boredom from lvl 1 ;)

Bob
08-05-2005, 10:51 PM
Do MMORPG's have endings?

I have been watching my bro play Maple Story for months now and I just dont get it.

Day in Day out

What is it that drives you to complete an MMORPG.

If you dig em thas cool I aint hatin.

But i want a goddamn reward for wasting so many months of my life behind 1 game.

What keeps you guys playing? help me understand

On a side note my bro get a friggin chicken neck smothered in batter when he buy Royal Castle today. LOL only bone and flour!!

BigBoss
08-05-2005, 11:56 PM
if i had dsl and money WOW and lineage 2 is all i wud be sweating (and bf2)but still mmorpgs separate the hardcore gamer from the DEDICATED HARDCORE PLAYER i hav played mmo's and had fun and i do understand what u are sayin but trini doh limiting yuh knowledge of mmo's as experience and character development because in the best of mmo's das only d tip of the iceberg (i hav watched experts play lineage and wow for hrs so i know what i am saying) AND D ONLY TING I HATE ABOUT DEM MMO'S IS D PERIODIC PAYMENT GAYNESS (I'E D MAJORITY OF D BEST MMO'S)

08-07-2005, 09:40 PM
Originally posted by Bob@Aug 5 2005, 09:51 PM
Do MMORPG's have endings?

I have been watching my bro play Maple Story for months now and I just dont get it.

Day in Day out

What is it that drives you to complete an MMORPG.

If you dig em thas cool I aint hatin.

But i want a goddamn reward for wasting so many months of my life behind 1 game.

What keeps you guys playing? help me understand

On a side note my bro get a friggin chicken neck smothered in batter when he buy Royal Castle today. LOL only bone and flour!!

I speak with my experiences with WoW

Well what blizzard is trying to do (and is succeding) is to add new content in every major patch. Every major patch there is something new to do.. A new raid instance.. A new Bonus to PvP to get end game gear.

And once u hit the high levels the fun starts.. WoW encourages the competition aspect of gameplay.. along with your raid instances to get the high level end game gear.

So you dont really get Fedup of the game.. you would get fedup with your charecter... if so just make another one and dont spend time just leveling this one guy.. it will get boring. With lots of races and classes to explore you WONT get bored.

08-18-2005, 05:09 PM
WoW is fun :D