View Full Version : Trini Gamers Very Important Concerns

Menace
07-11-2005, 09:09 PM
Firstly Tourney 2 was better run than 1, but their is room too improve, the overall tourney again took to long, due too mainly machine limitations, so maybe we could have some peeps help out with lending their power rigs, so that thier could be 20 tourney pc's instead of 10. and if that happens then a double eliminatoion format will make sense so that teams get too play atleast two maps, and have a chance at a come back. also we need atleast a second place prize so that the noobs won't be scared.

Secondly the official tourney advert and official details needs to be available sooner and to more peeps and on more mediums , again we think too small peeps we need to get this tourney on a more national level its about the only decent one that we have that i know about. :bleh: word of mouth and the late post on gamers and this forum is not even close to enough. and i have offered my assiantance with this issue. we got Trinipulse.com with over 9000 members 90% of them locally based and a equally high figure on Triniscene.com Lets use these mediums and other formats and get the word out and up the attendance.

THirdly I have noticed that ex1(aka para team) has alot off influence on the way the tourney comes off e.g para wanted dust,tides and inferno for tourney 3 and the maps are dust tides and inferno - coincidence maybe but para u need to be careful with what u say and do...EYES ON U....

Lastly - I see a very big mistake in the making, we have managed too build a community around a game designed for competitive play and when we finally have something to build from, THe leaders in the community are messing with the formula in its tender stages...basically new games will allways come out but the question is whats their staying power, counter strike has proven itself by being around for 6+ years it has done wonders for esports worldwide and has already shown what it can do on the local scene for uniting us and improveing the competive drive in trinidad...which will inturn lead too increasing the demand for dsl and pusing us too a more online format of play where we will not need to rely on local cafes to unite us but...we can meet on our trini servers and form teams and make friends.. the server is the home of a gamer it maybe online or lan based not the chat room or a club keep that in mind. Because of CS and places like Java i have heard that we may soon finally get a decent online css server something with real bandwith and not the shared home connections and underfed cafe servers.
So i make this call out too my fellow trini gamers play your newgames(bf2) but don't forget the value of what we have and lets keep building it up..don't just let para say bf2 and everyone jump high and go bf2...cuz if that happens with every game release we will never get anywhere in my life time atleast. :blink:

OH yea for the peeps that like using my name on this forum, guys idk u and u peeps most def. don't know me. DOn't hate appreciate and leave that for TOURNEY 3...GB will be their with not just 2 starters this time around, and i hope all the bf2 talk aint an excuse for peeps to say they weren't playing css so that's why they lost
no crying allowed. U BEEN WARNED IN ADVANCE Iam BRINGING THE PAIN. I want quality food to eat...practice up TRINI'S

Time for ex to be dealt. CS1.6 > CSS forever

07-11-2005, 09:50 PM
oh my bad i thought this was about something other than counterstrike..i'll be going now.

07-11-2005, 10:10 PM
1) I think that the regular java machines can be used for the tourneys as people use them all the time without complaint but due to a request by a few competitors only the best machines were used for the last tourney. What could be done is a switching if need be (eg row 1 is for T and row 2 for CT) so that people end up using the same machines if there is a feeling that some machines better than others.

People's personal machines are a good idea but they need to be ready to go BEFORE the tourney. Bringing your machine after tourney done start and wanting to change the hardware and needing to configure the firewall and now looking to copy CSS from somebody eh go wuk.

2) Totally agree with pre tourney preparation time

3) I don't think Para saying he likes X map swings the vote in his favour - in fact I think it does the opposite because people tend to vote not just for what map they like but also AGAINST eX (the whole basis for most eX1's competitors is to beat eX1 and nothing else)

Trying to be objective personally I didnt like the way the maps were voted in ie with such a short timeframe but I also dont think it would have really made a big difference. I assume the short timeframe was because the tourney is so soon he wanted to have the maps and order decided from (relatively) early so that it can start being advertised. Which is in keeping with #2

4) Doh worry BF2 eh taking CS:S place. We just like a little variety and play other games as well. We don't need to stick to only one game to be good at it :)

07-11-2005, 10:57 PM
Well menace, i am disappointed that you would think of me in such a poor manner after all my efforts to keep things fair and promote a competitive gaming arena.

It was very fortunate that I got the rotation that I wanted, while you may think that everyone in GAMERS thinks eX are their heros etc etc and will vote for the map "I picked", eX is known as the enemy. Mark, Rum, Rick all want eX1 to get their ass cut. If i say im voting for X they will gang up and vote for Y. We are still friends but as i mentioned in the email, they want the mighty eX1 to fall.

Running 20machines was an option... however Ill be blunt, we expected that your team would show up so we arranged for the best machines to be run.

Menace you should only know how much troubles i go through to make Gboyz (your team) happy at java. I try to get things for you all so good that should you loose you would have no excuses. Last tourney i got the best pc in the house for you to use and gave 2 members of my team lower end machines so that your members would attain higher FPS.

I agree that we should start promotions soon, although you are not seeing anything, alot is going on in the private forums with admin members. RB/Geese is working up a flyer for us as we speak and I drafted a letter which RB is going to put on a letter head. I understand your worry with regards to this, you have every right to. Your concerns ARE being looked into, albeit in a non public manner.

With regards to sweating BF2... Menace, hoss... It took alot of effort on my part and the efforts of java staff to get CS running at java. The mentality that SOF2 was the FPS for life had to be erased from the brainwashed minds of SnS Gamers. CS didnt make the cafe a success, the cafe made CS a success. By extension GAMERS took CS out to a larger community.

We are constantly looking for competition, not eX but GAMERS. We wanted to give BF2 a fair chance. You would notice that we improve our tourney structure with each iteration, we intend to leave NO room for error.

I have to look out for ALL gamers in this org and if they wanna give BF2 a shot so it shall be done. I personally prefer CS Source over BF2. Please acknowledge my role @ gamers, I have to please everyone, from console to pc I try my best to ensure that every clan says "ploy GS". I have already received much ridicule but I keep on trying, for every 10 ppl that are made happy there is 1 person that might disagree.

We have sweated BF2 @ java and alot of persons are bored with it already and resuming source. We just wanted to try something new. I didnt dictate that we should, that not how things run @ gamers. Explore the site and you would see requests by our members to sweat BF2.

__________________________________________________ __________

No one is dissing you on the site, they are using a command called [ you ] (minus spaces) which puts the name of the active user in place of the block. Emporio also have it as a feature on their site.

07-11-2005, 11:27 PM
nice to see that the next tourney would be better laid out than the previous 2. Also good to see issues being discussed out in the open. Tourney will see the return of team CG if our chinee mafia stays in this hellhole called Trinidad.

But with respect to source running well on the older machines, NOOOOOOOOOO.... para pull off a matrix in sweat Saturday and at least 4 ppl on these lower end machines claimed to hit him in the head...... and i sure he thought he was gettin orn sweaty!!!

07-11-2005, 11:48 PM
Mojo wasn't that during the time that para said that I was doing some maintenance on the server? Don't be ridiculous. If it was something that was happening all the time then yes you could blame the machine but if its an isolated period of time then MAYBE it wasn't the machine's fault eh?

I mean if at least 4 people all experienced the same lag at the same time its just logical to realise that it was the server giving probs.

Try to not make such irresponsible comments as this is a serious matter.

07-12-2005, 12:05 AM
I'm sorry if I sounded irresponsible in any way. In my opinion, the gameplay is best when run at 1024x768 resolution. Many players have grown used to the shadows and directional lighting to tell where shots are being fired from. That extra 20 fps could tell you exactly where the grenade was thrown from. I am not trying to say that the game is unplayable, or any less enjoyable, but I would also like to stress the importance of "leaving no room for error"

I hope this response was a little more responsible.

07-12-2005, 12:19 AM
both myself and vlad play on 800 * 600, vlad has MAD FPS, I built him a new PC and he just likes that res, same goes for me.

Yes, during sweat we were getting some problems worked out on the server. I believe i said that in game... Ill not bring up the
PG Vs CG game :) (yes i almost went there)

The game is playable on the older machines... actually veryyy playable. I only got spoilt because I am used to playing on my machine. We can do 20 for the prelims and 10 for the finals, in a manner suggested by pweffy earlier.

However i think if you bring YOUR own pc you can sweat with that right thru, personally i dont like someone else on my PC cept my bro (vlad).

07-12-2005, 12:29 AM
i agree that 800*600 res does work fine, but the reason i prefer 1024*768 is that in 800*600, the mouse position has exactly 800*600 possible points on the screen. With 1024*768, u get 1024*768. These few extra positions come in extremely handy when aiming from long distances with guns which carry no scope(CV-47 is my personal favourite).

I have no problem with bringing my machine btw.

07-12-2005, 10:36 AM
I fine i more accurate on 800*600, but daz jus me...
I didnt experience any lag for the day, and i rarely get lag on the slower systems.

07-12-2005, 07:49 PM
this thread so damn misleading eh.

07-12-2005, 10:24 PM
why u say that laruto?

rampage
07-13-2005, 12:07 AM
because men talking about counter strike resolutions when the main topic is trini gamers important concerns. i think what laruto mean is that it the thread straying.

on another note in regards to promotion. i been wanting to help out TG with promotion. i asking for a banner months now,. yes you heard me, months now. no one ship a banner over yet. i ask for some info in regards to a promo email that i go be sending out, with some needed details about TG, no info yet. i eh gonna complain though, just highlighting that people willing to promote is just that allyuh hadda be there to provide the info / needed things to assist them with the promotion.

07-13-2005, 12:52 AM
Originally posted by rampage@Jul 12 2005, 11:07 PM
because men talking about counter strike resolutions when the main topic is trini gamers important concerns. i think what laruto mean is that it the thread straying.
on another note in regards to promotion. i been wanting to help out TG with promotion. i asking for a banner months now,. yes you heard me, months now. no one ship a banner over yet. i ask for some info in regards to a promo email that i go be sending out, with some needed details about TG, no info yet. i eh gonna complain though, just highlighting that people willing to promote is just that allyuh hadda be there to provide the info / needed things to assist them with the promotion.

procrastination, no time, stickin .. laziness

all of the above :)

doh hold it against us nah

07-13-2005, 12:58 AM
Originally posted by rampage@Jul 12 2005, 11:07 PM

Yep its all true, ramp has been asking for weeks for a promo letter and ages for the banner.

and I agree laruto, very misleading topic indeed.

07-13-2005, 02:46 AM
ok now i see, sorry fro straying too far.

How come no one asked the members to work on a banner to be submitted? I guess this would be a nice time to do so. Unless you all want to use the logo from the other thread when we get something satidfactory.

07-13-2005, 10:08 AM
banner should include d logo but not entirely bout that
to me we was 2 have a graphics team
i think we need 2 reform this team and get d ball rolling working on dat banner
i know chunks didnt have PS for a good while due to cicumstances and rb does be busy and what not
time 2 step up 2 d plate fellas
i think working with shizz go be a good idea 2, we have seen his graphical talents
so gl hf guyz :)

07-13-2005, 01:51 PM
MoJo, think for a second. In the middle of a firefight you have no time to look for all these shadows. you don't need no look for where d bullet pass. Use your ears! you'll hear where it coming from! I bringin up our game for tournament, but for allyuh betterment <_< . hear d scene, right mojo? Your biggest mistake was to dis me before the game about my ears, when i come to shake your hand before game. That make me move more ruthless on your whole side. Remember a few things.
When i took up sniping, you saw no shadows and no bullet trails. two things that you said are essential, did not work for you. Pablo uses a lot of stealth,and so do I. For tournament your whole side ran around like chickens because they couldn't find us, including you. In any game, by the time any skilled man misses the first shot, he hits you with the second. You'll know where he was, but you're dead already. By the way, I was Cobra Commander :kakashi4:

07-13-2005, 02:51 PM
Well joker, i think mojo knows that PG mashed up CG like
blacks on blondes.

I was unaware that mojo hit you ah 'ears' comment. I wouldnt lie I would have loved to take your spot in the tourney to blow out the chinese mafia myself, damn random draw.

CG, i dunno how you gonna regain your dignity hoss, might as well org and play a rematch.

07-13-2005, 04:31 PM
with respect to the gameplay advantages with better machines, I maintain what I said about shadows and overbright lighting and good FPS. For someone to say that these things in no way affct gameplay, is far from the truth. Even para admitted that playing on a high end system does spoil you to certain extent. You get accustomed to seeing stuff that u wouldn't see on the typical machine. These minor graphical details are what makes Counterstrike Source superior to CS 1.6. It is wrong that they should be overlooked.

As for team CG and counterstrike, the only 2 serious men on our team would be the chinese mafia. I just entered for fun and to support the venture. The other 2 guys on the team, neo and killa are often found at CG playing with n00Bs. But IMO, the only 2 ppl who play on a competitive level on our team are opium and spoilt. I hope for the next tourney, we actually train at least once before the tourney.

07-13-2005, 07:53 PM
i honestly think the map voting for the 3rd tourney was strictly in EX1 favour

whatever map para called for they got it

im not against anyone here but i really thought it was one sided

plus since tides was played already i think it shud be replaced.....but im no judge here

07-13-2005, 08:02 PM
my only problem with the map choosing is dat i was unaware of map 1 voting voted for map 2, and missed map 3
d time spans where 2 short
i mean come on...
and on another note, allyuh shoulda let ppl get time 2 experience d new maps b4 d vote...
i eh go lie, me didnt vote for de_inferno cause i dunno d map, and after running it a few times i wouldnta change my mind
doh like it
but say what...life tuff

07-13-2005, 08:41 PM
AWWW come on MoJo u can do better than that u have no excuse only two men on ur side could play well if that's the case then SHUT UP and play u don't go dissing joker when all he wanted was a competitive hand shake well.......**
i guess our gameplay prove it all in the end
and to be honest i played real shit lol.......

07-13-2005, 08:51 PM
Each vote spanned 2 days, we needed to get the maps voted for and get the line up on way. This weak really screwed me over due to the events.. I wanted to do some calls etc

As you can see killa, phoenix post (right above yours) kinda contradicting yours.. kinda... If the general populace didnt want those maps it wouldnt have won. I know it looks fishy, but thats just how it turned out.

07-13-2005, 09:24 PM
I am superadmin and I have a magical way to change peoples votes and manipulate everything to my needs
*dinesh edits many votes and changes all to what he wants.

Come on....

People have brains, they vote for what they want.
If the vote happens to be in Ex|1s favor whose fault is that?
Certainly not EX|1's.

07-13-2005, 09:40 PM
ok well for instance in the voting for tourney3 sumhow rum voted for the map but when rum posted he said he didnt post it and that he cuddnt vote anymore ....... can sumone explain that?

07-13-2005, 09:46 PM
What ? Your english has be confused.

07-13-2005, 11:34 PM
he means as 2 how rum couldnt get 2 vote , like somebody else voted for him or wat not
and i not saying that inferno vote was rigged or watever
well apparently d masses wanna play it for tourney..so

since is map 3 we team go jus have 2 make sure and end all matches b4 map 3 oui :)

07-13-2005, 11:35 PM
from what i remembered is that rum left his acc logged on in java
and someone voted on his behalf
basically rum fault

and not seeing when voting process where is the fualt of the ppl on the forums

i dont post much in these forums but i still take the time to check it through each day to make sure i dont miss anything, cuz this is really the only way to get confirmed news on whats going on within trinigamers

and i know most of u mean does be online everyday
how hard is it to do a new posts for the day and see what topics are recently active and see whats happening.
and i know for sure i voted against para wishes twice...
but one thing tho eXcalibur members voted....

07-13-2005, 11:39 PM
well all with the exception of vlad... vlad believes that 1 vote doesnt count... good thing we eh loose by 1 vote or tied otherwize....

Yes lokes counter voted me on the first 2 maps... (i think) very weird indeed.

07-13-2005, 11:42 PM
lol @ dinesh trying to hide that he voted on rum's behalf...

but seriously this thread is addressing too many issues and mixing and confusing ppl. maybe we should use this thread to start other threads.

eg:
one thread for the advertisement and marketing of GAMERS.
one thread for voter padding etc
one thread for comparison between para and Nijelian ....lol :laughing:

i not serious about these topics, but i'm sure that persons can separate topics in this thread and create more defined threads.

07-14-2005, 12:04 AM
Come on fellas, I am in no way Nijelian. If i were the very same ppl that helped build GAMERS would leave.

07-14-2005, 12:38 AM
There is no voter padding.
Thread split needed iwmc.

07-14-2005, 04:19 PM
ok i'm starting a thread for resolution of the issues of voting for the tourney maps.

I doubt it will make a difference, but just to give those who were left out a chnace to voice their opinions

Menace
07-19-2005, 07:28 PM
ON the voting issue, One i did not find it till map1 and map2 were already chosen and the last day for map 3 vote... I barely got in a vote and non of my team members did. Reason being i kept looking in the tourney section for news ,etc. related too the upcoming tourney, i guess that was wrong of me, also the votes were rushed, only posted for 2 days, i did not complain about this before cuz I believed the reason for this was to announce the official tourney 3 thread a.s.a.p with the details of the upcoming event, TO give teams more time to prepare which obviously has not happend yet and the last map vote was done like 10 days ago. SO whats the issue now at this point iam not even sure if thier is going to be a tourney. and if its still to be in july then i can't see this event being a success, in fact it will be more like a step backwards its already july 19th peeps.

Let me know if i should stop my team from training for this event.

VERY CONCERNED MEMBER.

07-19-2005, 10:04 PM
Train for August 14th.

Right now we gathering resources so we can put a prize with the announcement. We already organizing something for the Console ppl atm.