View Full Version : Bomb/explosion On Fredrick St
07-11-2005, 03:29 PM
Yeah fellas, i now get news that a bomb or some form of explosive just went of on Maharaj Jewelers near Fredrick Street. I heard reports that 2 are dead.
More news live from CCN ;)
07-11-2005, 03:32 PM
ways! worldwide terrorism oui
*androsovic goes to put on tv
ok never mind nun on tv...i go wait for d 6 o clock news
07-11-2005, 03:35 PM
I heard Sharon H. Cudjoe made a trip, or well she atleast knows all the details.
BTW cellphones @ town taking a beating!!! Like everyone hadda talk about what happened.
07-11-2005, 03:42 PM
I heard this thing real serious!I have a friend working nearby the explosion and ppl legs blown to pieces and stuff...real terrorist crap dudes :34:
Hopefully now that "The Little People" are affected by terrorism the current government would do something about it <_<
It had to happen some day right?
hmmm.... the gf just send me a text cos cell phones hopeless I can't call her she can't call me. Thanx a lot tstt.
Thank GOD she's ok.... please update this thread if anyone gets more news updates.
07-11-2005, 03:49 PM
Well yeah fellas I heard ppl lost limbs (hands legs)
Cellphone ARE down, town is being locked down.
I have used SMStt.com to message lots of ppl telling them that i am alright etc etc, if they cant get word in ill get word out.
Even though I not working very close there, ppl in town tend to walk around/shopping etc I have found myself at that location often.
07-11-2005, 03:51 PM
A helicopter just passed by... I hope ill be able to get outta town within a reasonable time...
(the device may have been a grenade)
07-11-2005, 03:52 PM
thats so weird bombing a jewelry store...wouldnt you just steal the loot somehow and get out....this is not just a robbery i assume...is there anything else new Para as maybe why?
humm a grenade...causing all that damage?thats a bit much even in an enclosed area
07-11-2005, 03:54 PM
oh FCK
It's the mc Jammat?
SHIT
I was supposed to go tong today....
I better get on the phone
07-11-2005, 03:58 PM
another coup? Damn it! As I said...it had to happen sometime :sad2:
Yet still this is some scary crap! :sad2:
*pokes everyone for new information*
07-11-2005, 03:59 PM
i seem to remember a particular retard in high government office saying that trinidad is prepared to handle a terror attack.
damn it i hope i'm not called to arms..... :angry:
07-11-2005, 04:08 PM
Well i heard there was a report on
http://i955fm.com/
Live stream
07-11-2005, 04:09 PM
Lataz fellaz
I gone to stock up on crixx and tuna
07-11-2005, 04:16 PM
oh lord...it was a small explosion,not as big as ppl hyping it up.police lockdown frederick street
07-11-2005, 04:17 PM
Town is one a lock down, TV6 non essential staff has been sent home.
07-11-2005, 04:22 PM
Para you on the way up ?
Got a digital camera?
We're not seeing any images..
07-11-2005, 04:26 PM
it on tv6 now...1 man confirmed dead 6 ppl in hospital
07-11-2005, 04:29 PM
ways, i jsut went to watch the mc thing and andro take the news from meh ;)
I hear rumour that another bomb was set off, this can be just a rumour....
07-11-2005, 04:30 PM
mobilise anbu
07-11-2005, 04:35 PM
Town on a mc lock down dread, babylon all over the place. Our building has been set 1 way... out only...
Hoss, I eh know how maxis gonna treat meh...
07-11-2005, 04:37 PM
wow
good thing i didnt go in town 2day 2 look for a job oui :(
called d parentals and everything seems 2 be ok...when dey reach home is when i go stop worrying
god speed 2 everybody though
07-11-2005, 04:41 PM
so the 6 in hospital is definate?btw did the grenader escape or is he among the injured?I feeling real sorry foir Para oui!Its stress everyday to get out of POS
wtf @ another , no one is dead btw
07-11-2005, 05:11 PM
wtf! hoss i see/hear that on tv6...dey had videos and shizzle...1 man is dead, 6 in hospital
well i get it from gial that 7 ppl hospitalised i eh really know wtf goin on,
presha
:o oh shit wtf is wrong with ppl??
07-11-2005, 05:56 PM
wow this is real bad and just saturday rick and i waz talking about if something like that would ever happend to sweet T&T.
well it just did *** LONDON know Trinidad.
i can't even leave work ....... :sad2:
07-11-2005, 06:00 PM
I heard a few minutes ago that NO one was killed, they made a mistake.
I heard our beloved prime minister wasn't in the house today?
He on vacation, erm I mean foreign business again?.
Those pictures real graphic
07-11-2005, 06:20 PM
Well i was in tong with meh driver going cricket.. it get cancel and he decide to hustle a trip up to san jaun
We there and see people running down the road.. all them music men toting they big speakers down to deigo stand..
2 ladies get in the back of the car
They said they were a couple people with sub machine guns running around and one entered golden doors
That could explain why one of the wounded had bullet wounds
07-11-2005, 06:27 PM
Whoa, exclusive coverage by lats .
This is some real shit.
I wonder if NOW they are going to declare a state of emergency.
07-11-2005, 07:01 PM
sorry for the graphic pics...
YOu should see the real stuff.
07-11-2005, 08:15 PM
well meh grams workin ansa house right around the corner and she said it sounded like thunder, but louder and then she juss heard ppl screamin, so she ran down the 4 flights of stairs and went home before the rush to leave town started, this bombing however spoiled my whole day as my dad called me and told me that my mom would pick me up in 5 mins :( i was spendin a nice day with the gf and i only get to spend 1 hour in de end :(
07-11-2005, 08:35 PM
itachi> I sure what you were doing only took 5mins, stop bitchin ;)
Well i left work a lil after 5, it was actually even EASIER to get a maxi. Maxis were lined up waiting to be filled. Apparently with all the action going on in town everyone rushed outta town early.
07-11-2005, 08:45 PM
well i was on woodford sq.....hear bomb...look tuh run but the macko in me took over
i went to see and found d woman lyin dere all gore up
i say **** dis son and run back to d office
i reach inside to see my gyl dere panickin worried bout me
well i was on my way to golden doors tuh check a fone...sigh
one thing tho...props to d policve and fire services...very fast
action indeed...and alluyh mcs who think it could have been
avoided jus think of the situation and then make a comment
with sense..
props to the emergency services
07-11-2005, 08:51 PM
Props to the gamers crew for the speedy coverage of the events. ;)
07-11-2005, 10:01 PM
I not going 2 lie. Props 2 gamers on exclusive coverage. Alyuh very detailed.
I was in my office at d BOTTOM of d promenade in Min. of Finance and around 2 so, i hear a muffled *boom*. I thought it was d mc AC or generator get blown again. Nex ting yuh know 20 mins. later a man say a bomb gone off on Frederick St. I thought he was joking. 5 mins. later panic start 2 go through d work place. I switch d radio from 96.7 to 95.5 and news start 2 stream bout 10 minutes later.
One time i tell my supervisor lewwe throw! My supers look to ask my what 'to throw' mean. I tell she, lewwe get outta here! Cuz all d ppl from HR and the other offices was bussing out and the other OJTs start to pack up.
I speed up d road, went up Charlotte street to see Chin d chinee man closing up he supermarket + variety stores. And get a taxi one time to reach home by 3:25.
07-11-2005, 10:13 PM
"...one thing tho...props to d police and fire services...very fast
props to the emergency services"
Props my @$$. It's one thing for them respond quickly. It's another thing for them to actually handle the situation at hand, which they did quite poorly. The woman on the ground in the third pic was on the ground bleeding and did any AMBULANCE personnel, doctors, or anyone for that matter attend to her within the first few minutes of arriving on the scene...hmmm...I think not. The ambulance service in this country is poor.
07-11-2005, 10:27 PM
akira akira
oh so negative
where u in town standing up watching exactly what happened when d ambulance personelle reach?
doh tell me that u heard from he dat hear from she dat d doctors jus lime for a while when dey reach..if so u need a clout
is true that the services in trini not as good as we want them 2 be, but sometimes yuh does hadda ease up dem fellas, it does have some who does try hard hard
07-11-2005, 10:30 PM
um...u see what really went on??? the police HAD to make sure the area clear 1st amd i eh go lie the ambulance service is poor...but they worked and came there as fast as they could...they drive you know...they dont teleport
07-11-2005, 11:19 PM
*UPDATE
According to the 10 o clock TV6 news, it is believed to be a hand grenade. Not 100% sure, but that's what they saying. They say a hand grenade was thrown into the garbage can/dustbin, but they then saying they unsure about what type of explosive device it was
Akira... i real disappointed by ur statment. Seriously, the police+ambulances was in wukkin form today. You really can't argue. Daz like if i playin BF2 as a medic and is a 6v6, 4 men dead from a hand grenade and me as a medic have to go and resessitate (i know i didnt spell it rite) them in the open area. I go must wanna scan the area and thing like box say. You can't just run wild wild.
07-11-2005, 11:24 PM
The public service in Trinidad will never earn my respect, never.
Why was the responce fast?
The foakers know it's going to be on TV, Live, and very soon indeed.
This is trinidad, do we really care about anything else except looking good?
I wouldn't be surprised if this was a poltically motivated scheme...interesting how Manning was MIA..
Worse yet we have the DOMA president telling people to "come out and shop tommorrow"
Downtown owners and merchants ass...heh
I want to see pictures of town tommorrow...ghost town?
07-11-2005, 11:26 PM
i heard it was a small c-4 in a bottle...because the man reportedly set the explosives and walked off rather far....with C-4, a timed explosive is the easiest thing to make, sending current through the minuite hadn and once it touches the hour hand the circuit is completed and the explosives work....the news re3ports say that 2 clocks were used...
07-11-2005, 11:29 PM
Originally posted by dinesh@Jul 11 2005, 09:24 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if this was a poltically motivated scheme...interesting how Manning was MIA..
Worse yet we have the DOMA president telling people to "come out and shop tommorrow"
the most bullshit i have ever heard from you dinesh....i am dissapointed
that is sooo politically biased and has no real relevance to what exactly happened
i suggest you keep your conspiracy theories where they are dreamt up...until the facts are gained and you are in a position to make judgements and comments like that
and another thing...arent the police and the army and the ambulance workers people too?????
when the world trade center in the US crashed...and all the police and fire service people did their est...did you think the only reason they did it was to impress the camera?????...no we see them as heroes
no matter what...the basic human instinct is to help the other...these people did their best becasue they were really wanting to do their best...not becuz of tv6 news...
you really couldnt see their faces...you really couldnt see how those police men looked...they didnt care bout no damn camera...they were shocked and they were doing your best
dinesh please wake up!!!!!
i give those men respect because of their actions.
dinesh, u stating your point poorly and in a manner that questions credibility..
XEC de man has a point.
07-11-2005, 11:48 PM
I really don't give a shit if I am stating it poorly or not. That also extends to what anyone tells me.
There are alot of things going on that people don't know about, going on 'behind the scenes'.
I now hearing another one might have one off..don't know if it's true.
*dinesh goes back to listening to the radio
07-11-2005, 11:49 PM
ok let us all put this on a political and economical perspective
POLITICAL : right...manning tell a man put a c-4/hand grenade in
a bin outside maraj and sons in town...it bows up...people get
injured/die.. he loses in the polls because of the average trini
blaming the prime minister for each and every problem...then
foreign interest in our country turns from economics to terrorist
threat,...more US pressure, our spot with the ftaa capital
shaken heavily bcause of terrorism threat...and this is politically
motivated based on the fact that the prime minister was not in
his office today rite???
Economical:
foreign investors scared off because of terrorist threat...US
pressure and investigations limits our exports due to the
country "harbouring terrorists"....having us really stifled in our
own economy...the price of the TT dollar falls because obviously
noone wants a tt dollar where they bombin
now...CSME???FTAA??? what is that??? no son none of that due
to rise in terrorism and we go loose out to foreign goods again..
i could go on...
but how is this benefiting a man in the poles is beyond me.....care to tell me dinesh? or maybe mojo??
07-12-2005, 12:33 AM
horse wat the hell this country gettin to boy.wat is the purpose other than to cause chaos and terror for puttin an explosive in a bin.people rel need some licks boy.....one good ass cut......
07-12-2005, 01:11 AM
Originally posted by dinesh@Jul 11 2005, 10:24 PM
It was clear that he (DOMA President) was making statements to ensure that the business sector of the country isnt affected by this tradegy. While not saying "come out and shop" he wanted ppl to come out, which in a technical manner had the same effect.
Lets give the guy a fair chance, we dont know his intentions.
My best bet to the cause of all this is that it COULD be gang-related...
After all, they are going to more extreme lengths in the meantime, and it could also explain the guy that was found with gunshot wounds....
These days though, who knows???
mEGAvI
07-12-2005, 09:42 AM
well i hope nothin like that happen in the south land... tings real bad in tnt well that is what happens when we sleep with the enemy...illegal quarries anone?
MucHreSPect
07-12-2005, 10:11 AM
i kinda with SPK on the Gang part, gang violence has been escallating recently.
but i kinda wondering since when gang violence became so random, normally when somebody gets hit it happens just after they leave their homes ar as they are about to get home. i doubt even Trini gangs could be so random.
07-12-2005, 10:32 AM
the cause?
While many think its Abu... they are the obvious targets to such slander. Should anything happen, 'iz the jamaat'. Personally If the device was really a grenade, i think it could be someones idea of a joke.
"lewwe throw the grenade in a dust bin in town nah"
Dont think that I justify this "joke", some persons just think differently.
I also have a 2nd theory, it could have been a way of replying to Mr Mannings claim that 'yeah we safe'. Apparently the bombers took a radical method of voicing their opinion.
__________________________________________________ ____________________
There was a bomb scare this morning and PTSC was shutdown, all maxis were not allowed to enter the complex and dropped of passengers on south quay.
Men, Women and children were like herds of cattle being rustled by the police into the Countrys' capital, a noticeable event occured when a guy that washes the maxis made a comment in a manner in which you would question his sanity.
"They sending the maxi that way (points to the east) because it have ah bomb, and allyuh going that way (points to the west) right into the bomb."
__________________________________________________ _____________________
A very interesting thing I only noticed up until now. There was a busroute search yesterday morning.
I know the busroute search thing-they had some jeep patrols along the Beetham area after the incident due to reports of people getting robben in the traffic jam.
07-12-2005, 10:59 AM
I get info from my 'sources' that is wasnt a grenade. It was an explosive device hooked up to 2 clocks, whoever do this know what they was doin.
At this point things reach the point where it FAR FAR FAR passed rediculious. I does be in town all the blasted time and now i hada worry about being blown up?! The one thing i glad i thought i wouldnt see in trinidad was this...... Plenty fingers being pointed, but i doh give a flyin *@#^ who do it at this point as long as the shit stops (or should i say is put to a stop), dem ppl will see their day.
Well Laruto, with respect to ur bit about it being random...think about it.
Ppl from 1 gang can stake out other members from another gang...notice that maybe a few of them does lime around that area...so one morning, just leave a lil present for them and buss outta there...
Random, I have my doubts.....
After the London Bomb Blasts our "Prime Minister" said that we are ready for such a situation and clearly we are not, (no country is) i think the person who did it, did it to prove a point "that we are not!!" if u think like a criminal thats wat u would do, after i heard the statement by "Manning" the only thing that came to my head ws "WTF IZ HE TALKING BOUT" he can't be serious and i remember thinking that if i was a "criminal" i would do it just to prove him wrong.
but the person who did this should be punished severly.
it is such a cowardly act.
ppl don't care about life in this country anymore, crime is outta control and the leaders only care to looking good, taking trips, talking shit, building unneccessary structures "stadium", and don't 4get fill their pockets.
we as citizens have to take control of the situation bec the gov't issin't doin anything or not enough.
look @ how other countries deal with their Gov't, we does jus tlk...
just my point of view...
07-12-2005, 12:44 PM
BOMB scare in chagaunas, Centre city mall, less than 5 minutes walk from my office.
WTF now we will have Bomb Scares all over Trinidad, bec some pplo wanna leave work early :P.
com'n ppl this is serious stop with the prank calls
07-12-2005, 01:15 PM
flicking pennywise close down too!
i was now going to buy a bottle of Axe body spray.
whoa @ AXE dem girls goin mard lol...
this is all we country need after wat happened yesterday, i feel sorry for our nation
I wonder if CG open, mojo and neo wah goin orn dred
07-12-2005, 06:01 PM
Bomb scares all over town oui... Express house got closed down due to one today. Somehow it was well timed (lunch time)... we were told to check back in 2hrs so we got a longer lunch time...
OF COURSE!!! THEY HAD TO SEARCH THE MUSLIM MAN!!! ie ME!!!
Nothing big though, i didnt make a scene.
I think it was to prove a point also
Too bad people had to get hurt in the process
And they (the gov) thought we was ready ?
They cant handle crime how they gonna handle terrorism?
Yet another reason why I havent voted since i gained the right to.
All talk and no action.
07-12-2005, 07:06 PM
things just sad now yes , I hope this thing doesnt happen tommorow when I got late classes...on a more comedic note, trinitaku chatroom get a bomb threat :P
07-12-2005, 09:37 PM
this is so frickin lame, since summer holidays start for me, trincity mall has gotten 6 bomb scares, 4 of dem when i was intending to lime in de mall, this gettin rell sad now, come on citizens of TnT have some sense nah, haha joke over, people can't make a living if they livin in fear
itachi> I sure what you were doing only took 5mins, stop bitchin ;)
yeah buh para as suspected, after this bomb crap my parents not lettin me leave the house for a while, i only gettin to see her this friday for her grad, after that is unsure when nexx i seein de wifey :(
07-13-2005, 12:11 AM
ent @ seeing d wifey
i does cyah be all up in d wifey late hours again nah
parentals read moving frontish
I WILL MISS U JAVA :(
Well thank God for living in St. Joseph. I pass in front the area 15 mins before the bomb went off on meh way to Wizz on Edward Street.
Parents nah moving frontish w/me-just tell me stay outta POS if I have no business dey.
07-13-2005, 11:05 AM
I pass in front the area 15 mins before the bomb went off on meh way to Wizz on Edward Street.
Drop anything in a dustbin on your way?
On another comical note, on my way from mosque yesterday I got my watch battery repaired. While waiting in line for a sub yesterday I kept fidiling with the watch trying to set the time... everyone kept glancing...
"the muslim man timing the bomb"
They searched my bag AGAIN!, Luck me, they didnt find the bomb, i had it on me ;)
07-13-2005, 11:43 AM
Alright fellahs. Let me set some things out from a militatry perspective.Like a lot of us, i too was in town and ketch ass to get out. The bomb was a simple explosive device made out of chemicals that could easily be obtained from Agriculural shops. with the right combinations, chemical weapons can also be made from the same materials. As para can tell you, the local muslim community is suspect due to stereotyping. As Executiona can tell you, it makes no sense for the government to bomb ourselves.
On the topic of the incident, the bomb itself was a simple home made device that was relatively harmless. The perpetrator either thought it was a harmless prank, or knew he was making a shrapnel bomb by placing it in the bin. A random act is just that. Random. Don't knock the protective services, because if i wanted to make a more potent bomb, or buy an AK and let loose in Port of Spain, I could keep that to myself and do it! Nobody would know! If it was the jamat, we would know. The coup would have come again in the same day. At least the Police and the Regiment trying now to find the coward, and prevent further issues.
We can say that we're ready to deal with a terrorist threat. We are. The Americans, British, Spanish, Australians and the Russians can say this, and still they are victims to terrorism. Look at the reality. Terrorism is hard to prevent. In most cases, we have to fight it as it surfaces.
Sorry for going at length guys, but some people really need to get the facts on these matters before we ha to hear a ignorant man mouth.
07-13-2005, 02:05 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Jul 13 2005, 10:05 AM
Drop anything in a dustbin on your way?
On another comical note, on my way from mosque yesterday I got my watch battery repaired. While waiting in line for a sub yesterday I kept fidiling with the watch trying to set the time... everyone kept glancing...
"the muslim man timing the bomb"
They searched my bag AGAIN!, Luck me, they didnt find the bomb, i had it on me ;)
Shave the beard man.
What subway?Trincity?
Joker where did you obtain the information that it was a simple devicE?
I hearing everyone talking about a clock, they find one of the hands? :blink:
07-13-2005, 02:45 PM
Henry St.
07-13-2005, 05:46 PM
dinesh as i tell you...the reports of a small amount of c-4 explosive was used.
its not a comlex thing to make a time bomb...the clock uses the hands to complete a circuit that sends a charge to the c-4 in a bottle that was placed in the bin....what did the most damage was the metal from the bin...the explosion sent it flying, slicing off part of a woman's calves and seriously injuring the 60 somin year old woman who lost her leg
07-15-2005, 10:25 AM
whoa fellas more breaking news.
Another bomb scare, they locked down town.... again... This time i heard they found something but that may only be rumour.
I got word of this and left home later than usual, from the reports i got from a co worker my timing was 10mins off (as he now got 10min before me). Being muslim and holding your bag horizontally because you are carrying food doesnt swing to nice with the babylon in blue... I doh wanna put myself in that situation.
I heard they found another bomb in the promenade before it went off.
Keep us posted.
Yes THIS MORNING!
07-15-2005, 11:06 AM
Today/tommorrow is going to be interersting.
Something happening tonight.....
Geyad.
Men dunno when to quit yes :(
07-15-2005, 04:49 PM
I heard that same talk today, but its only a rumour... however police presense in town has been elevated.
07-16-2005, 03:02 PM
Well here's one you might not have heard about, yesterday the Point Lisas Port got a bomb threat.According to my dad ( the Admin Officer/Asst Port Manager) Police and those other ppl arrived and searched the Admin building and then decided to "WAIT IT OUT". The result was the entire staff of Port Pt Lisas and the protective services waiting in the parking lot for a bomb to explode, during the wait no one could leave. At about 930PM they allowed everyone to pack up and leave.
Really makes you wonder doesnt it, also a police officer told my dad how they went about looking for bombs in POS. They'd find one officer and send him to kick over bins looking for bombs while all the rest waited behind him.
Some funny stuff yes.
07-16-2005, 03:26 PM
Service name :Police
Slogan: To protect and Server
IQ- (-5)
Mass of Brain-2g
07-17-2005, 07:25 PM
umm...
para.....
were u one of the retards who was leaning ON express house with de bomb scare???
hope u smarter than that........
oh yeah....
is tstt network up again?
can joo send textes??
07-17-2005, 10:36 PM
www.smstt.com
Check there
But text messaging is working from Tdma --> Tdma phones.
07-17-2005, 11:19 PM
lol, you go even ask meh that? I asked the ppl standing near by... if there is a bomb why stay so close by?
I went straight out from express house to the mosque then got my watch battery changed then took in some subway. By the time i was done things were kewl.
07-17-2005, 11:27 PM
Para changing watch battery
*dinesh sences something
07-17-2005, 11:34 PM
lol@ para and watch battery......
but u doh tink dey go find the remains of a sony-ericsson p800 is it as mr doxxx????
or at least a lil eXl grafitti...
07-18-2005, 11:18 AM
Hoss the funiest is the security patrolling the corridors with a box shot after the incident. I wanna know how that gonna make things better...