View Full Version : How Safe Do You Feel?
07-10-2005, 12:31 AM
Do you feel safe walking to your car @ a Mall?
Do you feel safe going out in the night?
Do you feel safe leaving your home?
Do you even feel safe in your own home?
Do you feel safe?
I don't.
As citizens we are being forced to live a life of fear.
Fear of robbery, fear of kidnap, fear of rape, fear of murder.
And know the best thing?
We can't do one SHIT about it.
07-10-2005, 12:54 AM
dinesh..some of us living in this kind of reality all d time
i guess ive gotten accustomed to avoiding certain areas, always looking around( i noid)
but i gues ssince i big i does be less likely 2 be a target
nobody doesnt wanna fight with me or nothing :(
it jus so unfair
ive not felt safe for ages now
07-10-2005, 03:14 AM
i feel safe cause i know where i go and what i doing.
If you going odd places ya looking for ya ting, lime in areas where u are well known and above all cut out the gun talk unless u could back it up literally, i does lime with my sisters husbands and they all carry atleast 1 gun each on them, i say this is the best way to combat them let upstanding citizens above the age of 20 to legally buy a gun, if it was id sure as hell be packing a .45 sw and some body armour. Maby a program whrre u get 15 written regerals from high standing members of the community makes you eligable to own a fire arm. But it dosent stop their, proper training in the use of a gun, no i dont mean learning to shoot in general or firearm safety, but their are special styles in gun drawing reloading and holstering that makes u alot more deadly than any asshole who feel he is the shit.
where i live all u have to fraid is de police :(
07-10-2005, 12:03 PM
i doh really fear going out and shizzle...i cud handle meh stories, plus men doh harass me and ting,i cud fit in anywhere more or less.I think d key factor is the fear, i.e if u walkin late at night and u real paranoid,men does sense that and go wanna start shit with u.I does just relax myself and be wary of where i walking and the surroundings.
07-10-2005, 12:31 PM
where i live all u have to fraid is de police
yeah down there the police does molest ppl...mojo has felt the wrath of this a night after sweat :P
07-10-2005, 02:00 PM
lol, yeah a bull for 7 dollars !! nah buh on a real i, oddly enough does feel safe, most ppl wudn't in my situation, considering that every 2 weeks a man does get kidnap in front of my house(literally)
No i do not feel safe
I can handle myself but u cant block or dodge bullets.
I too am paranoid I suspect evryone on the street when im going out or coming home.
There is a gang war going on between my old neighborhood and the drug block a little ways from my new one.Not to mention a rash of breakins in the upscale area next my current one.
At this point I worry about my family.This might sound crazy but evry strange noise i hear in de night does wake me up.I does move thru de house in de dark wid meh knife checkin all de windows and doors.
I fine i shudden have to live like dis man is real bullshit.
If the criminals cud get guns so mc easy the why de ass regular citizens (after a thorough background check) cant get fire arms.
I am no John Wayne but a gun is still a great equalizer in a society where good old fashioned hand to hand combat has died away.Come at me however u like I am for guns in the hands of citizens
Yuh cud say what yuh want u not comin to guard my house and family 24-7.
07-10-2005, 04:07 PM
That's exactly it bob.
If someone watches you funny in a carpark you have to be careful he isn't going to follow you home.
If current goes I always look out the window to make sure it isn't just my house.
When you walking past 'characters' you always on guard that someone will try to grab/rob you.
This isn't right at all.
arite, a serious reply to this thread is due, so here i go.
That early morning that I was allegedly searched by the police, was not quite what I had described it as before. The only reason I let them see me, was that I determined the vehicle to be a police vehicle from a distance away. Under normal circumstances, I would have been in a tree. I could have easily avoided confrontation, but why risk being shot? When I saw the polics vehicle, I crossed to the side of the street that was well illuminated.
My encounter with the police was well thought out by mysel as well as he officers. There were four of them in the vehicle(SUV) 2 in normal uniform and 2 in camouflage (with MP501 lol). The driver and one of the officers in camo, stayed in the vehicle, while the other uniformed officer and camouflaged officer came out. They directed me to move slowly in front of the vehicle where they asked me to identify myself....yada yada. The uniformed officer(an elderly dude) seemed to be cool, while the officer in camouflage seemed a bit tense. This worried me a bit, so i engaged in conversation with the officers to break the ice. After a brief conversation, the situation transformed from having a gun pointed at me to me getting a ride home. One of the questions included if i was in villa with 2 other fellas earlier... to which I replied," why thas where allyuh was?"
The police(crooked cops excluded) are not to be feared, but rather respected. They try their best within their capacity to keep T&T safe. However, there some necessary skills that can be acquired only through several years of training.
1) How to spot a potential threat. After a while, you can tell by a person's actions and movements (in just a few seconds) whether he/she is dangerous.(dangerous here is in the perspective the obsever).
2) Learn how to be intimidating. This is one of the reasons why most of my teachers did not get along well in school. Authority figures don't respond well to intimidation. Being intimidating can easily discourage a potential kidnapping/robbery.
3) The element of surprise. I have yet to see the T&T police take a page from this book.
4) Learn to smell fear. Dogs can do this well. The human body releases odours specific to fear( I am not referring the hormone adrenaline). and fear alone. The people committing crimes are no exception, they feel the same fear that you feel. knowledge of this, decreases the intimidating factor associated with an assailant.
Don't think that knowing these things make you capable of handling a situation. Think more about avoiding a situation instead.
07-11-2005, 12:35 AM
Trinidads police service is terrible , no matter what anyone tells me.
A while ago it had a theif in the road, we called:
Mom: Big theif in the road , come come
Police man: aye ur husband home?
Mom: err yes?
Policeman: good you can wait a few hours till we get a car to send out.
Wtf?
Police officers using the cars our tax money has paid for 'for personal use'.
So when we call, there are never any there....
GG police GG
Trinidad should be in a state of emergency right now, too many things are happening and no action is taken.
You know how many attempted kidnappings occur that aren't on the papers/news ....
07-11-2005, 01:21 AM
everybody needs a scapegoat
07-11-2005, 10:04 AM
scapegoat? highly unlikely,is d truth...i does see man driving out dey woman in police cars and ting...police cars park up by bars and doubles stand and d only ting they investigating is the taste of the alcohol and doubles.i see them tings for myself, e.g a night my father and i stand up by price smart drinking a beer,a police car roll up busy busy.Convo
Policemen:Where allyuh buy dem beers?
Us:By that bar there
Policemen:Which bar?
Us:Behind that car there,you cant see it from here,jus stop past the parked car
Policemen:Aite thanks
Oh,dey in uniform by the way.We pass some ten odd minutes later seeing them welll drinking,so yes laruto,blame d police
07-11-2005, 10:17 AM
I always paronoid and ting before all the crime kick up, but i more conciously aware of the way i look around and watch ppl.
As for police, here is a situation that happen:
Dey does only work for certain ppl-
> Elis Clark get robbed near my house either easrly this year or late last year i thing *-). My neighbour see what was happenin and call she husbund on his cell and he was on his way home from work and close to the police station he so swing in. He say he tell dem ppl gettin rob outside by him rite now. Police movin reel lazy and ask 'who gettin rob'? When he say is Elis Clark, he say dem eyes open up and 8 of dem grab riffles quick off the rack, jump in de squad car and buss reeel speed down de road...
Now for normal ppl-
>*A man jus pick up reel ting from a store opposite my uncle's and run*
my uncle: Boss, y yu not runnin he down?!
officer: Run he down? In dese heavy boots dey gimme to wear?
07-11-2005, 04:06 PM
well from my personal experience, i always got a favorable response.
my former employer's murder last year, they arrived @ the scene within 10 minutes, high traffic area mind you.
kidnapping threat, handled the same day.
07-11-2005, 04:28 PM
Maybe you should tell us your secret laruto :)
I remember my dad used to hook up the TSTT fellas with ah lil beer or 2 and some paleau. You wouldnt belive how friendly they were after that... water in line issue.. fixed the very same day. They even recommended re-wiring the house with a thicker guage industrial phoneline thingy something... Next week I saw 2 huge rolls of wire in the yard from TSTT.
07-11-2005, 08:08 PM
wow, maybe i shud do that too boy para, seein my parents own a bar
07-11-2005, 09:01 PM
i cyah condone the alcohol thing, you know how it is. Just treat the ppl good and they would do so in kind.
07-11-2005, 10:00 PM
No, I could never feel safe anywhere in Trinidad. Our country is quite special indeed. Our criminals seem to be capable in "handling a lot of situations". I wish the same could be said for the police. Police...lol.
As far as fear is concerned, I'm not afraid of anything. Death is inevitable, no matter how comes. Whether painful or painless, it is in the back of my mind. So, let them come...
It's been years since I've really felt safe, but I know one thing with my neighbourhood in St Joseph: Everybody know EVERYBODY in the area. They know who, what, when, where and how.
Frankly, all of the trouble that happens in my area comes from people outside of the area that come in, fight up and cause trouble and really and truly, my community is the type that if they DO ketch a man who causing some problems, they beat him when dey ketch him, dey beat him some more, share some more lixx for whatever he do, share more for who he hurt, carry him to the station, hit him some more lixx again while dey dey and den leave him for the police to put some more on him.
Seriously though, I know Trinidad isn't getting much safer these days but I'd really rather no where else. I don't have much friendly family elsewhere so I'd rather stay here-migrate and come back scene at times.