View Full Version : Meh Eye To Big!!

07-01-2005, 11:00 AM
Fellas I dont know whats wrong with me, I have usually been a smart shopper with respect to pc parts sometimes I splurge on items and spend a little more for that 'extra' but nothing like this...

I have had my eyes on the FX-55 (sandiego)... the X2s... the 7800GTX and should the mc R520s be released I think i may go for one of those. I know all of these are waste of money but I still want it!!!

I have even thought up of excuses to justify my choices... this is when i know its sad. Pweff pointed out that he doesnt look at CPUs above US$200 however he relys on OC. If i get a FX my OC potential is out of this world!!!, ill be able to OC to a 57 and beyond easily. If i get an X2 i get 2 cpus then if i OC... Would I need 2 CPUs yeah... (ill make up something)

My above arguments are not sound!! they are weak, I hadda save my money for ah house for me and the GF to get marrid. I cyah be going owning all bases with my new PC just because I can. I have actually added these items to my cart! and placed the order then cancelled.

FELLLASSS!!! MEH EYE TO BIG!!
Talk meh down, tell meh bad stuff bout them parts. Tell meh i eh need to upgrade.

07-01-2005, 11:08 AM
*mojo bitch slaps para.

snap out of it!

Only ppl who rollin it it does buy them shit. Living in your parents' house after you get married is ot an option! I know u asked us to bad talk the parts, but i'll go the other route...

SCENARIO:

PARA WIFE: OOOH WILLY!;
PARA MOMS: WILLIEEEEEEE! BREAKFAST REDDDIEEEE!
PARA: I COMMIN MAAAAA
PARA WIFE: ALREADY????

07-01-2005, 11:15 AM
doh worry para

i was feelin to do that same thing actually

actually, i think you should buy it
for the first time, i'm lookin at these high end parts and they are lookin like they are actually worth thier money, and not jus ridiculously over priced

the 7800 is a sweet card , and 550 - 600 is not bad for that kind of performance
and well the FX cpus are jus the daddys

07-01-2005, 11:23 AM
i would bad talk the upgrades, but that would just be immoral :P

07-01-2005, 11:24 AM
is not only u padner, i done start to organise my 2nd pc and i hav real expences and started dipping into my unit trust whihc i have set aside for future business plans, i say curb the urge with midrange parts like me.

4400+ or 3700+
i say wait for the R520 i am the 7800 is a waste of money.
im also gonna wait for the new boards coming out soon.

that talk about the fx 55 is bs lol. i seriously wont pay more than 300 for a single core and no more trhan 500 for a dual core. the 3700+ is very good mid range value CPU. u could get 1 of dem and be veyr happy for only 300 USD

07-01-2005, 11:32 AM
i say if u have to absolutely buy them parts at least wait for the price to drop with the 7800 at least

07-01-2005, 05:27 PM
i say buy it!! sppend your muny like there's no tomorrow!!! and when you wake up the following day youll realize you have d dreddest pc out!!

07-02-2005, 02:07 AM
I did some checking up on the dual cores... they arnt doing as well as one would think even in threaded applications. They market the X2 as being 1.9 X better than a single core... but the results only show slight performance increase..

As always a good benchmark puts the mind in set. As pweff mentioned earlier @ java it would be nice to see a sandiego/venice clocked to FX 55/57 speeds and view the results

07-02-2005, 12:14 PM
Originally posted by PhoeniX@Jul 1 2005, 03:27 PM
i say buy it!! sppend your muny like there's no tomorrow!!! and when you wake up the following day youll realize you have d dreddest pc out!!

and then the day after you wake up and the next man has the dreadest pc out....AND PAID LESS FOR IT!!!!!!!!!

07-02-2005, 12:16 PM
for real eh i feelin like that now :( :(

07-03-2005, 11:59 AM
lol@para goin crazy with the highest end shit
seriusly
u could go 7800 or wait for fudo or go X850XT crossfire (buy slave now and master later when the boards really settle into the market and most bugs get fix etc etc)
i think splurging on a fx55 or X2 4800+ is madness
3700+ or 4400+ if u want dual core oui
if u wha greater oc jus water cool d mc
i also looking at the dual cores even though i mostly gaming cuz i wha start encoding etc etc
watch the prices and go highest end if yuh want but i doh think it make sense togo highest end for everything

07-03-2005, 02:56 PM
i say don't buy it para, marry de woman and get her into sick ass pcs too and gaming, then u can use the capital she'd be makin to help u build 2 bad ass pcs :P

07-03-2005, 05:46 PM
Put all yu spare cash in a back account that yu cah touch to keep the money from burnin a hole in ur pocket.

07-03-2005, 06:25 PM
with all the munny you spending through in a diamondback for me you wont even notice it in all the cash you spending hahahah

07-04-2005, 03:10 PM
Well fellas i got some files!! that I would like to drop on you all.

The 1mb cache on the SD doesnt really affect performance Vs Venice (its 512k counterpart), some ppl argue that the venice will run faster as more cache = more heat. I cant vouch for that statement.

I still think that the 1mb cache will come in handy for 64bit apps and 512k is the gosu size for 32bit apps (even 256 cutting it rather sweat as with the pal sempr0ns) as of now it not doing much.

The FX CPU doesnt have anything extra in its design cept higher clock and unlocked multipliers. Should you OC a SD to 2.6GHz for all intent and purposes its a FX-55. In the older days the FX used to have cache advantage over the other CPUs (general) but wiht the SD this adv is negated.

Dual cores are not suited for gaming/development. Given some time it may come in handy right now its not.

Lets say my budget for a CPU and Vidcards is US$700 the best shift would be to buy a venice and get a really good vidcard. Anyways Im over my gaping on the FX/X2s

After all this talk about cache i noticed this CPU posted on a forum
http://www.markonecomputers.com/product.as...%5F64%5F007%5F5 (http://www.markonecomputers.com/product.asp?pf_id=AMD%5F64%5F007%5F5)

THis may well be a hoax or the 10x multiplier SD that i wished came into existance.