View Full Version : Enemy Territory : Quake Wars

06-24-2005, 01:23 AM
I found this interesting article/preview when i was on de net.
It was written by MICHAEL FILBY (PARALLAX) of www.jolt.co.uk .

http://assets.jolt.co.uk/picdump/_mainsite/articles/050623/qw/main2.jpg

Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory was an unexpected treat for the online community when it appeared a couple of years ago – and for many reasons. For a start, the multiplayer-only ‘expansion pack’ was a genuinely good game, offering class-based teamplay in a World War II setting. Secondly, it was completely free. That last fact is quite remarkable, especially since it was better than the rather miserable and ordinary game it was based on. The fact that it was a stand-alone pack meant you didn’t even have to go out and buy the original, either. After the success of RTCW:ET, developer Splash Damage has once again teamed up with id Software to make a rather surprising second instalment in the ET series.

There are several pretty major changes this time around, though. Firstly, the action has been shifted from the RTCW universe to the world of Quake. The action will be set around 200 years prior to the events of Quake 2, and will revolve around the Stroggs’ initial invasion of Earth. The two main factions will consist of the Earth Defence Force (or the EDF), and the Strogg invasion force. The main difference between the two factions, other than appearances, will be the weaponry. While the EDF will be equipped with all the futuristic Quake weaponry you’d expect, the Strogg will have weapons with an utterly alien feel to them.

The second major change is less welcome though – it’s not going to be free. If we look on the bright side though, we can take solace in the fact that this will mean Splash Damage can put far more resources into the game. After all, if you consider the excellent job they did on RTCW:ET as a free release, the stage is set for ET:QW to blow it out of the water.

Although we’ve heard whispers of a single player mode, the main focus will again be on the multiplayer component. Each mission will be objective based, and will offer a number of character classes for you to select. Although precise details of the classes on offer have yet to be released, expect the standard mix of assault, heavy assault, infiltration, scout, medic etc. Interestingly, you’ll be given a specific objective for each level depending on what class you pick. In addition to this, we can also look forward to the return of the awards system, but this time it’ll be souped up. An online ranking system is promised that will reward you for not only your proficiency at killing, but the use of your class-specific skills too. Although, again, no precise details of how this will be achieved have yet been made known, we would certainly welcome the opportunity to be rewarded for fulfilling otherwise thankless support tasks.

Another promising new addition is the presence of vehicles to make traversing the predominantly outdoor levels more palatable. Like the magnificent UT2K4, the vehicles will each have a unique feel to them, but will also fall apart appropriately when battered by bad driving or shot at. From the buggy-like Badger to the hulking Goliath walker units, the 40+ vehicles will each have their strengths and weaknesses, and react differently to the environments on offer. For example, tanks will be great off-road, but will be outmanoeuvred by quad bikes on paths.

Speaking of the environments, they’re looking pretty tasty. The team are using a new graphical technique to make the landscapes look both lush and varied. Things like multiple light sourcing will be making the night-time missions more challenging than you would expect, and you’ll even have the option to destroy many of the lamp-posts and so on like in Splinter Cell, although the moon will obviously be ever-present to ensure things don’t get too dark. Marry this all up to the Doom 3 engine that’s powering the whole shebang, and the result is something that’s actually looking far more pleasing to the eye than the forthcoming Quake 4.

Other features on offer include a built-in voice communications system, and the ability to give vehicles special attributes depending on your class, like in Battlefield 2. For example, a medic in a vehicle would grant a healing bonus, while a heavy assault class would grant attack bonuses. Get a few team members of different classes into a vehicle, and you’ll have a veritable powerhouse. Of course, you’ll also all die if the vehicle blows up, but you can’t have it all…

Enemy Territory: Quake Wars is looking extremely promising, but it has a lot of competition. Not only is Battlefield 2 upon us, but it’ll also have been joined by the amazing looking Unreal Tournament 2007 by the time it’s out next year. Needless to say, it’ll have to do something fairly special to compete with such big-hitters, not to mention the ever-present likes of Counter-Strike and the forthcoming Day of Defeat: Source. Early indications point to the objective and class-based play, abundance of vehicles and use of deployable structures and bonus-granting base buildings adding up to a great online shooter. Frankly, we’re looking forward to this more than Quake 4.

Pics :
http://assets.jolt.co.uk/picdump/_mainsite/articles/050623/qw/03_s.jpg
http://assets.jolt.co.uk/picdump/_mainsite/articles/050623/qw/02_s.jpg
http://assets.jolt.co.uk/picdump/_mainsite/articles/050623/qw/01_s.jpg

Original Article : http://www.jolt.co.uk/index.php?articleid=4146

06-24-2005, 08:23 AM
O....M.....G!!!!

I want this game!!!....I need a new PC now for sure, but that's okay :).

That's an interesting concept about switching to the Quake universe, but I need to see more, if it will really fly or not.

06-25-2005, 12:58 AM
well all i in it for is de strategic team gaming, with leveling up and soldier classes etc. but battlefield 2 does this pretty well, so ID will have to do pretty good to top battlefield 2, buh i think they can do it, i mean come on WET was free and it was DAMN good !!!

06-25-2005, 10:22 AM
wow looks awesome

but u wont say anything b4 i see it and try it out :D

06-27-2005, 11:16 AM
Hey if it involves a level-up upon good teamwork and strategy...

I all up in dat.

WET was free and good for days. Lewwe see how this one runs.

06-27-2005, 11:41 AM
saw the trailer of it and thaught it look pretty decent
saw a medic usin the.....shocky thingees....to bring back some alive. so i inferinf that if a team member died u can bring him back if u are playin as a medic or at least thats wat i infer from the video, i most likely wrong bout that bring ur team mate back from the dead

06-27-2005, 04:28 PM
no cereal u are correct, you can bring teammates back to life, but this is nothing new, it has been seen in WET and BF2

06-29-2005, 08:31 AM
It depends on the level of injury too. For e.g.: in WET, you could only revive once the person was shot down and the body wasn't riddled with aftershots or hit with a blast of some kinda (grenade, airstrike) to ensure death a.k.a. semi-conscious state if you wanted to revive them.

BigBoss
06-29-2005, 11:26 PM
I cudn't help thinking this will Be like UT But after readin d article its completely different and a helll of alot More strategic .It seems way more strats go be involved in this as compared to UT 04 and previous quake games. But it seems this an UT O7 go be warin An from wuh i seen UT really cyar com Round UT WANT NUTTIN AT All

06-30-2005, 12:19 AM
The game looks quite interesting maybe competition for BF2, however it might need a newer gen card to run properly. BF2 runs on ANYTHING ;) cept SPK system

06-30-2005, 07:38 AM
Well heyoh dey! I now pick up a ATI 9250 yesterday. Now for some better RAM and I'll turn that damn Dell into a relative gaming system yet.

06-30-2005, 08:43 AM
9250 ? dred i livin on a 9600 and i still feelin like t00ts, i find meh games does run messy :(

06-30-2005, 08:56 AM
The only thing I can put in that damn thing is PCI cards :(

No AGP. No PCI EXp. Nutting :(

06-30-2005, 11:03 AM
oh that happened to me a while back, do what i did, buy a new frickin mobo :s

06-30-2005, 01:13 PM
Well I can't exactly mess with it just yet-still under warranty. I want to build my own but that go take some good time.

Might as well buy the best I could carry for now and make wit dat.

BigBoss
06-30-2005, 01:24 PM
Ah Lord Another Game I will Be dependant on java to play :34:

06-30-2005, 04:29 PM
well boss, it wudn't make sense playin it @ home as it's made to be a multiplayer game, i predicting the single player wud be quite boring

07-02-2005, 03:03 AM
Aye ent i give alyuh the whole vid i record in E3 with the Quake Wars trailer?

07-03-2005, 12:54 AM
well b00st if you give loki it, you can count it as not seen, cuz loki is a lazy mc who doh appreciate it when ppl give him stuff !!!

b@st@rd
07-29-2005, 04:50 AM
They RUINED the game.

It should have remained in WW2 setting =/

07-29-2005, 08:38 PM
you must b one of them men that eh fedup for WW2 games. Me eh sayin nuttin till I play it, all they showing is cinematics.

b@st@rd
08-08-2005, 07:57 AM
Originally posted by b00st@Jul 29 2005, 07:38 PM
you must b one of them men that eh fedup for WW2 games. Me eh sayin nuttin till I play it, all they showing is cinematics.

Naaahhhwww maybe teh game is good but if it's not ww2 themed they shouldnt call it enemy territory IMHO.

08-08-2005, 11:02 AM
hmmm name doesnt matter for me eh..

i will check it out, when its out. anyone have a date for it?
i can wait for DoD either.