View Full Version : SONY PSP CRACKED

06-16-2005, 10:03 AM
HACKERS HAVE worked out a way of unlocking Sony’s PlayStation Portable so that they can play unauthorised programs and games.

A program which is spreading on the Internet this week allows control of the PSP, although it is a bit complicated. It requires two memory cards, which are switched while the PSP is working and could cause damage if done improperly.

However, the fact that it can be done will really annoys the suits at Sony who have had a policy of tight control over the machines. It also means that PSP games could be pirated.

According to Associated Press, there are some other problems with the hack. It only works with version 1.5 of the PSP. Sony have already issued version 1.51 and the hack does not work on the updated version.

Read more, here (http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20050616/ap_on_hi_te/psp_hackers;_ylt=Ami1KXXYa_6ZpF2ohiGqSPgjtBAF;_ylu =X3oDMTBiMW04NW9mBHNlYwMlJVRPUCUl). µ

Hmm the above link is giving probs. Read the article below.

NEW YORK - Gaming enthusiasts have figured out how to run unauthorized programs and games on the U.S. version of
Sony Corp (SNE.N).'s new handheld game console.

Like its rivals, Sony had tried to keep its new PlayStation Portable on a tight leash, installing controls so it couldn't run programs and games not vetted and licensed by the company.

But the PSP, released in the United States in March, has been the target of fervent attempts to unlock its capabilities, which go beyond any previous handheld game machine.

Sony's restrictions were defeated by a program disseminated on the Internet this week. It requires two memory cards, which are switched while the PSP is working.

The exploit may not be practical or safe (an accompanying warning says it could cause damage if done improperly), but it represents a challenge to Sony's policy of tight control and opens the possibility that PSP games could be pirated.

Sony has previously taken a hard line against those who install unauthorized software on its products. In 2001, it went after a Web site that provided software for the Aibo robot dog, saying he was altering their product without a license.

Sony officials did not immediately return requests for comment Wednesday on the latest hack.

The hack works on PSPs with version 1.5 of the "firmware," the equivalent of a computer's operating system. Version 1.5 is the original firmware version for U.S. PSPs, but Sony in May released version 1.51 for users to download. The hack does not work on the updated firmware.

The earliest version the PSP, released late last year in Japan, was hacked several months ago.

06-16-2005, 10:33 AM
naaahh.....not me and riskingmy psp yes...only legal stuff for me...this bw takes away the wifi onlinr capabilities as the psp sends info that i has been tampered with and you would get bannedf rom servers

06-16-2005, 03:22 PM
JK done have PSP games to upload to yuh Mem stick eh :)

06-16-2005, 03:55 PM
DSL and a memory stick, what more you need!

06-16-2005, 06:54 PM
um so how much space a game is?

06-16-2005, 10:12 PM
Well i think the games so far have not nearly used up all the disc space. I think a UMD disc is 1.8 Gigs. I think most of the games arent even at a gig yet. Games like Lumines and Metal Gear taking up like 400MB and change......so yuh dun know ;)

06-17-2005, 03:37 PM
Originally posted by Xecutiona@Jun 16 2005, 09:33 AM
naaahh.....not me and risking my psp yes...only legal stuff for me..

so if they find a way to use a modchip or somethin so wit de psp u wudn't use it ? stop being an ass, just say u waitin till all de moron try it and it works well before u do it urself

06-17-2005, 03:40 PM
yeah well dats d ting itatchi lol

and um....400 mbs for a game..the psp runnin it off the memcard jus so?

then again the memory stick kinda expensive too....i guess once yuh usin it wit yuh pc....u cud mix n stuff....i hadda get another mem stick

06-18-2005, 12:32 PM
buy the SANdisk mem sticks. And Action Replay bringin out a MAX memory stick which even cheaper.

06-20-2005, 12:21 PM
Memory stick pro right? as in the sony type?

These mc memory sticks always more expensive... mc sony couldnt use normal SD...

06-20-2005, 01:15 PM
if action replay make one itwould be cheaper....im lookin foward to dat

06-20-2005, 07:17 PM
ah hope it come out. The guy who had it in his PSP from action replay said it isnt in production yet. THey having copyrwrite infringement from SONY. SANDISK used to advertise "CAN BE USED INTHE PSP AS WELL"

SONY tell them they not allowed to use the PSP name on their products for mem cards, htey only have rights to the digicams as mem stick duo. SO i guess dum ppl who dont know that mem stick duo = mem stick duo getting shaft :P

06-21-2005, 12:08 AM
hmm, now a psp lookin like it worth the money, ch33per memory, hacks, nice nice :D

camrachi-mishima
06-24-2005, 01:10 PM
well it's not that simple. They found out how to dump the roms of the disc, but no one can play it yet, and it’s still not gonna be that great of a deal. Well unless you have $400 to shell out for a 2 gig stick.

I started homebrewing on it a week ago and I got these running

Flashed bios:
Changed wallpapers of the PSP
Changed boot screens
Changed icons
Changed boot music
Running:
SNES EMU
GBA EMU
GB EMU
SEGA GEN EMU
Doom
Doom II
Goldeneye 64 off Doom engine.
Single stick play!

The GBA is the newest so far and it runs like total crap. Unplayeble. But considering it was written for the Japanese firmware which is still at 1.0 and I got it running on USA 1.5, I won’t complain. A newer, working one should be running fairly decent in a week or two.

06-24-2005, 08:16 PM
Will flashing the BIOS affect wireless play with games?