View Full Version : XBOX priced at USD 300

06-07-2005, 02:50 PM
Hmm im sure $300 is the price on the videocard alone. Thats one good thing I like about consoles, they are generally subsidized, the consumer really beniefits.

Microsoft plans to heavily subsidize its XBox 360 console in order to keep its launch price down to reasonable levels and possibly to trouble rival Sony, expected to have a problem keeping its PS3 price down to similar levels.

Major investment bank UBS reckons MS will subsidize 360 to the tune of USD 75 in order to achieve a launch price of USD 299. These estimates may be the result of complex calculations but most gamers had figured as much out since Microsoft's J. Allard had claimed that the console would launch for around USD 300; add to that the information released last week, by the Toronto Globe and Mail, that each 360 would cost MS USD 375 to make and feed the data to Big Blue, the print out should read USD 75.

The news is really not that remarkable as console manufacturers are known to subsidize their products at launch in order to convince consumers to buy them. The real money is made through sales of games, expected to become even more expensive for next-gen consoles.

Last time round Sony subsidized its PS2 at launch but had the flexibility to begin making money on the hardware later on in its production-cycle, as the company was making most of the hardware itself. Microsoft did not have the same options available with the original XBox and is still making a considerable loss on every unit sold. This time however, it is expected that MS will be able to begin making a profit on the XBox 360 fairly soon

06-07-2005, 03:08 PM
Looking good, I might actually be able to afford this.

06-07-2005, 04:16 PM
I know shivadee would love this, just reading his posts i can tell that he is an xbox fanboy.

06-07-2005, 10:49 PM
YES thought i woulda had to slave all summer in a job just to scrape about $500 US so i can afford it but this is much better.still need a job though.

06-08-2005, 07:53 AM
well if i decide to pick one of these up, it will be in xmas 2006, so i'm hoping that the cost would be down a bit to $250.

06-08-2005, 08:55 AM
Lol yeah. Althought i try my best to remain unbiased, i guess the fanboyISM slips out. I doh like fanboys, so i doh like it when i get so....but sometimes.......well all of us are fanboys to some degree.

I guess im an XBOX fan since i bought the d@mn thing about 3 years ago. But recently the information i have been getting first had from EA and Activision has me believing that this rounds its going to be good to be an XBOX fan.

3 Bill is the usuall starting price for a console. Thats the base model i think, unless they are only making one. The 4 bill one i think comes with the HDD, although i think they will put in the HDD and disband the 4 bill price.

06-08-2005, 11:20 AM
From my research on videocard technologies it seems though the G70 (sonys vid card) is so highly rated the R520 (XBOXs) is owning all bases.... No official reports thus far... ill wait and see.

BTW, has anyone ever tried taking out their videocard from an xbox and placing it into a pc? or is the videocard soldered onto the board (onboard)? with all these subsidised parts it would be nice to sprang some and place them into your pc.

06-08-2005, 11:27 AM
how long u think a 3rd party BIOS will take to be released? For $300U.S. that sounding like a better deal than buying a PC. I know that this time things will slightly different because of the architecture of the CPU. I am pretty sure the 1337 console MOD research ppl will come up with something of interest as always. XBOX mods to a fully functional PC, we'll see how 360 goes.

06-08-2005, 03:19 PM
Im looking at it from that angle as well. If you can get the system to run linux why not windows.. then find some way to output to VGA and things should be kewl!

It would be a kick ass portable PC, lets see how this goes.

06-08-2005, 06:09 PM
who willing to volenteer their xbox for a good cause :P

06-08-2005, 08:30 PM
lol, i think they talkin bout 360 dere boy cereal, buh thas a good thought indeed fellas, i doubt is un-doable

06-09-2005, 01:07 AM
haha i was thinkin bout that....but then i realised that you mite hav tuh get diff drivers etc....i dont think Nvidia has xbox drivers for the computer lol

06-09-2005, 10:29 AM
I now see para post about xbox video card. I am assuming that you meant the original Xbox here. Everything is onboard. Although the XBOX was the most powerful gaphics for it's generation, it was still pretty weak. NVIDIA Geforce 3MX i believe. putting that on a PC wouldnt make sense even if you could remove the GPU (this was when they were still called GPU) from the board.

On the brighter side, most mod chips, can store numerous BIOSes, so with the flip of a switch, you can switch from XBOX, to PC, to media centre once you have these BIOSes (dont ask me where to get them they are Illegal) u can even setup an OS loader like GRUB to load which OS you want. yes Micr0$0f+ wind0w$ media centre edition works pretty well on the XBOX.

So you dont need to take the video card out of the box. use it in the box!!!

06-09-2005, 10:30 AM
Hmm the platform might be off also... the processor used in the xbox is a power pc... its no x86

06-11-2005, 12:59 AM
WHO WILL DARE DESECRATE SUCH A BEAUTIFUL MASTER PIECE.DAMN INFIDELS!!!!!!MAY THE ALMIGHTY BILL HAVE MERCY ON YOUR FORSAKEN SOULS.......ok im done.

06-11-2005, 01:37 AM
yeah @ CPU architecture. As i mentioned in my first post, that would be the greatest obstacle to get over before any OS runs on the XBox 360.

08-18-2005, 09:57 AM
Microsoft Corp. on Monday revealed the details concerning pricing and bundling of the Xbox 360 console due out later this year. Apparently, Microsoft will offer two versions of the console that will feature different accessories; additionally, users will need to get additional cables, adapters and other items for advanced gaming experience.

The most affordable version of the Xbox 360 console that will be available for manufacturer suggested retail price (MSRP) of $299.99 (pricing for EU is €299.99, for the UK is £209.99) will include the Xbox 360 console itself, a nine-foot wired controller, a faceplate as well as standard AV cable.

The Xbox 360 with more valuable bundle that includes the console, a 20GB hard disk drive, a wireless controller, a headset, a faceplate, Xbox Live Silver membership, a component HD AV cable as well as bonus media remote controller (which will be included for limited time after the launch), will be priced at $399.99 (EU - €399.99, UK – £279.99). Microsoft said that the more advanced flavour of the console offers “ultimate experience right out of the box”.

Owners of the Xbox consoles will be able to get additional wired controller ($39.99), component HD AV cable ($39.99), faceplate ($19.99), 20GB HDD ($99.99), 64MB memory unit ($39.99), wireless controller ($49.99), charge cable for wireless controller ($49.99), researchable battery pack for wireless controller ($11.99), wireless network adapter ($99.99), headset ($19.99), universal media remote ($29.99), S-video AV cable ($29.99), SCART TV cable ($29.99) as well as HD AV cable (39.99).

The Xbox 360 – along with an impressive lineup of high-definition game titles from the world’s best publishers and developers — will make their debut in North America, Europe and Japan in time for this Christmas holiday, Microsoft confirmed.

Microsoft Xbox 360 console is based around microprocessor developed by IBM, high-definition visual processing unit designed by ATI Technologies, I/O controller engineered by SiS and some other key components. The gaming machine will provide a broad set of multimedia capabilities in addition to games.

If only tekken was on this platform oui

b@st@rd
08-18-2005, 10:36 AM
Console's aren't versitale enough for my liking. Besides after a year you're running after the facts and it's outdated.

And most important: who's gonna play games with a gamepad when the good lord invented mouse and keyboard >.<

08-18-2005, 01:06 PM
if only tekken was on pc...

08-18-2005, 01:09 PM
At E3 this year a LIL TINY section dedicated to PC games, they dong in the BACK. SONY, NINTENDO an MS and other 3rd party companies with games for consoles DOMINATED the floor.

Talk to a man in ATI and a man at the NVIDIA booth. Man even the man from VALVE tell me: The PC Gaming companies WILLING to put the power in the PC, but ppl not willing to PAY for that power. And yuh DUN KNOW Americans cheap. Daz y u see Id and now Valve making console games. Look even BLIZZARD commin to console, doh mine is not an RTS.

08-18-2005, 01:13 PM
nah tekken is best on a stick

cobra
08-18-2005, 03:38 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Jun 8 2005, 10:20 AM
From my research on videocard technologies it seems though the G70 (sonys vid card) is so highly rated the R520 (XBOXs) is owning all bases.... No official reports thus far... ill wait and see.

BTW, has anyone ever tried taking out their videocard from an xbox and placing it into a pc? or is the videocard soldered onto the board (onboard)? with all these subsidised parts it would be nice to sprang some and place them into your pc.

This is good, i will buy this system for sure but i hadda buy ah tv card with hd support