View Full Version : Console Games over Shadowing PC games?

11-17-2004, 02:25 PM
I was reading an article which focused on Halflife2 being over shadowed by Console games, ill post this article at the end of my post. Basically the articles said that Halflife2 didn't get as much hype as GTA:SA or Halo2. I am expanding on this

My question to you all is

Do you think that console gaming would overtake PC gaming in the years to come?

Thinking of it from a developers point of view,

1) each console has the same specs, devs know what each system is capable of.

2) Pretty good antipiracy techniques, although not fool proof its pretty good requiring hardware modifications in most consoles for this to work

3) Larger market? as the Console itself is cheaper than a PC

Im really into PC gaming and cant see how a FPS/RTS could run on a console, YET games like halo2/friggin starcraft are out on console!!

Article Megagames.com

Description
Just in case you had any doubts, today is the day that Half-Life 2 is officially released. Those of you, who bought a copy in stores early will finally be able to activate it while those who had already downloaded the game through Steam will now also be able to do the same.

To buy the game online now, visit the SteamPowered Website. If you need more information before you decide, read the MegaGames Half-Life 2 Preview.

When first announced, back in March 2003, it seemed that Half-Life 2 may just be the title to save PC gaming from the clutches of the Big Three console manufacturers. Now that we have come to the day of its release, we can only wonder at what might have been. Even though no one will question the quality of Half-Life 2 as a game, or overall elegance of its design, it is obvious, even to the naked eye, that it has failed to create a similar level of excitement as Halo 2 and GTA:SA, its two main console rivals this season, did.

The first reason for this difference is also the obvious one, both console games had the might of giants, Microsoft and Sony respectively, promoting them; companies which stood to gain from hardware sales as well as game sales. Even though Vivendi Universal Games is not of the same caliber as MS or Sony, it is hard to understand why so little attention and investment was put into H-L 2s release. Hard to understand until you realize how publisher and developer decided to concentrate on bickering and legal disputes rather than on the creation of a successful game. When observing the relationship between VU Games and Valve it also becomes obvious how Half-Life 2, a game which was one of the most highly anticipated titles ever, is unlikely to expand its audience by a significant amount.

Is that the whole story though? It seems that game publishers increasingly prefer releasing and bringing media attention to console titles. We can only assume that this preference is a result of financial gain, possibly from exclusivity or other deals with console manufacturers. As a result pressure on game developers to release console versions of their games before or in place of PC versions has greatly increased and traditional PC studios have turned to console as is the case with Peter Molyneux's Lionhead and Fable, made exclusively for the XBox. It would seem that studios that do not accept this particular turn of events may end up, unintentionally I am sure, on the fringes of the industry. This of course is an observation on the direction in which the industry as a whole seems to be heading. Valve's dispute with VU Games is definitely a complicated matter which suggests that both parties were not paying attention to the development process. Something which makes sense when considering that H-L 2 had its source code stolen due to security blunders, had an initial release date which was completely unrealistic had its final release date unknown until a few day before its release and then had retailers break that date only to sell a product which could not be activated since only gamers with internet connections will get to play it.

It is really a shame that Half-Life 2 will not get its chance to shine and compete with other games on equal terms this holiday season

11-18-2004, 12:37 AM
actaully i find both od dem neck to neck with each other

pc have there advantages such as fps and rts

but console is alot better for rpgs fighting games and ole school walk shoot or fight games

hence u get both to have the best of both worlds

atm xbox or ps2 but i lean toward ps2 because of the amount of games
xbox have dey one or 2 big games dat does pop up from time to time

anyway i have to collect mgs3 tomorrow :D

11-18-2004, 09:29 AM
a few years ago, when i first joined G@TT, i made a post about this and i asked if anyone thought it was eventual that the PC would eventually be phased out and replaced by other devices that would be able to do the same thing, i mentioned gaming consoles, online enabled refrigerators and medicine cabinets and several other devices. my post was shot down by a couple of super-moderators on the site at the time, who felt it necessary to describe me as a n00b for saying that console gaming will ever replace PC gaming, bu the truth is, this has been happening ever since goldeneye.
when goldeneye was released gamers realised the potential that consoles had in the fps department and a few years later, when halo was released, the first nail went into the coffin, the fact that consoles could now be taken online for a pretty decent experience was the second nail and the ability to add a hard drive to some consoles was the third. and now with the booming popularity of rainbow six 3 on the xbox and socom 2 on the PS2, we not even going to start anything on halo2, we must ask ourselves this question: Why play a fps on a PC? the online experience is less laggy on a console, you never have to worry about upgrading your console and the graphics on the console are on almost the same level as that of the PC. don't believe that? then check out chronicles of riddick for the xbox.
i am certain that with the widespread use of online gaming on the consoles, we will see several big nme developers bringing their RTS titles to the consoles in the next 3-5 years.
don't think about which is better now, think about which will be better later.
anyone can have hindsight, but foresight is what really matters.

11-18-2004, 09:52 AM
I know for a fact we can expect many future title to be Console only. Remember when GTA was a PC game? then from GTA 3, PC ppl would have to wait for a release after console.

NFSU?? The game is being designed for console and PC ppl are just gettting a 'port', PoPWW released for PS2 already, no word on the release for PC. Original Halo another...

Laruto> Im not saying i rather play a FPS on a console, Im sure very soon (think you can do it now) plug in a KB/Mouse and use that.

Computers would never be phased out though, computers have other tasks to do than just play games, computer fridges etc wouldn't replace the PC but most definately the 'console' may replace a PC for a gamer that isnt interested in the 'other' features of a PC.

Also take into consideration that consoles are cheaper than a PC, if Im gonna play games, and watch anime I can just use an XBOX with the necessary mods.

11-19-2004, 04:13 AM
the games were just an example.
think of anything that your PC can do, and bet your bottom dollar that there are other devices in development right now (unless they are already out) which do exactly what your pc can do without alot of the hassle.
wanna DL music? soon you will be able to do that through your family's stereo.
wanna edit ome video clips and do some photoshop stuff, soon that will be done right on your television.
wanna type up a new resume? word processing machines might make a comeback.

keep in mind that as we go foward the trend has always been to make everything better by making it more 'computerised', so at some point the PC as we know it will become redundant.

11-20-2004, 12:13 AM
lars ... on one hand ah like some points yuh makin ..

but on the other yuh kinda soundin a lil farfetched ...

computers becomin obsolete ?

umm ....

yuh might jump quickly to the conclusion that i have no foresight

but on the contrary, maybe my foresight is a bit different .. i dont see computer becomin obsolete at any point in time ... the whole power of a computer is its versatility ... my stereo can dl music ? my ps can play game and dvd ? my fridge can order online ? ....

my computer can do all of the above ... and more :twisted:

computer would no doubt evolve as technology advances
there isnt any indication whatsoever that anyone is "moving away" from computers to "substitutes"

i think i can safely say we will not see computers being "phased out" within our lifetimes ... in 50 years they'd be nothing like what they are today ... but the general idea would be the same ...

11-20-2004, 08:53 AM
another thing...consoes have only just begun to be upgradable.....

but these upgrades have limits as you can only upgrade to what the core hardware allows...

then its time to buy another console

with a pc u can have the same case for years and mix and match the parts inside to give the performance you require....

i think that consoles cannot overshadow pc as the pc can do much more and can easily be upgraded

11-20-2004, 10:23 AM
necessity is the mother of invention

all of the substitutes are items you would normally need in your household anyway, so why bother with a seperate device that must constantly be upgraded, on a yearly basis (costs aside) in order to maintain quality performance?
besides that, what has the PC started to offer us recently that was actually new? ....... not much at all.for example, think about it like a product timeline, at some point all products will reach a stage where the sales will begin to slow down, the only way to prevent this would be to re-invent the product and add value to it, however it is always easier to get someone to try something new as opposed to getting them to re purchase the item they used before.

11-21-2004, 05:21 AM
all of the substitutes are items you would normally need in your household anyway, so why bother with a seperate device that must constantly be upgraded, on a yearly basis (costs aside) in order to maintain quality performance?

1) why bother with separate devices that each do separate task .. when u can do all in one device :)

2) upgrading is the bane of technology ... bleeding edge is always a must ... that would neva change ..

11-22-2004, 12:04 AM
1) that was already answered, besides ever hear the saying jack of all trades master of none? in addition, developing for a fixed platform has always produced better results than developing for a dynamic one. cost.

2) upgrading is just a harsher word for evolution, which is exactly what i'm speaking about, evolving to a point beyond costly upgrades with limited value times.

11-22-2004, 12:23 AM
The topic was originally focused on the Computer being phased out as a 'gaming machine' I disagree with the statement that the PC would become useless in the future. After all the PC itself must be present in order to make the game. The thought of having a seperate device for each 'use' of a PC would be a waste to a consumer that may want it all.

12-02-2004, 01:12 AM
man, computer own :P

go be real cool in the future when houses and cars become more and more computerized ... press a button ... foot start to cook ... control everything in the house from one remote control ...

ultimate couch potato scenes :)

ps - rum posted this ... mc ting aint log me in

12-02-2004, 03:20 PM
i think console games are more easier to make so they come out first
but in the other hand
console are kinda better in a way
all you need is a console and hence you don't need to upgrade the console to play new games as for pc
new the games newer pc parts you need
as opi say both of them had advantage and disadvantage