View Full Version : Prerendered or not?
05-29-2005, 08:36 PM
Im not sure if anyone brought up the whole PS3 pre-rendered thing with respect to killzone. Today I finally got to see the alleged pre-rendered sequence along with some TechTV comments on the issue.
If indeed that killzone sequence was NOT pre-rendered the PS3 has some OMG awesome graphics coming up soon, however it looks pre-rendered. I then saw a NON pre-rendered Boxing game and the graphics were indeed impressive.
To answer the initial question
I think that Killzone is pre-rendered. I hope to be proven wrong.
inc0gnit0
05-29-2005, 08:51 PM
I think it isn't but was "altered" a bit. The fire and explosions looked WAY too good. But then again maybe I'm just dreaming...
Or it could have been a combination of actual graphics as well as prerendered scenes...
Somehow though, I have a feeling that the game may not look as good as such...but given how it looks, I think everybody will agree, I pray that I am proven wrong! :)
05-30-2005, 12:14 AM
i, like para have my doubts, i doh see how that cuda been NOT pre-rendered, i eh see de boxing game para, buh i know u not easily impressed so i'll take ur word for it, btw good to see you gettin console savvy para !!
05-30-2005, 10:03 AM
Prerendered
05-30-2005, 11:54 AM
wow, thanks for the one word answer......... care to elaborate dred ? how do you know for sure ?
05-30-2005, 01:57 PM
The boxing game looked wickedly real, I was just watching the graphics and ignoring the rambling in the background ;) so i didnt pick up the name. One of the characters got a hook/jab and you actually saw the receiver mouth twist, sweat sprinkle blah blah blah
Never b4 have I seen a console get on so sweaty, next gen is gonna kick brass.
05-30-2005, 02:29 PM
All prerendered. Spoke to a couple of the PS3 representatives. They are saying that the FINAL version is SUPPOSED to look like that but what they showed was a tech demo. The most amazing demo was that of Doc Oc from SPiderman 2.
I think the boxing game you saw was the new FIGHT NIGHT from EA
05-30-2005, 02:38 PM
ohhhhhhh ok ok, thx for de input b00st, i hope as promised all this will be pre-rendered and even more beautiful @ the time of ps3 launch !!
05-30-2005, 03:24 PM
for real. I love the PS2 system, i hate the PS2 fanboys. Its amazing how they make this system push out so much graphics.
The PS3 has some really amazing graphics. Watching the d@mn thing on a cinema HD screen made it even better. No jaggies, full on shading and textures. The thing looked sweet
Makes you want to go out an buy a plasma or HDTV one time dread. I think it may be under SERIOUS considerating in next gen console gamers out there. Gaming getting expensive people, either you pay for it or you dont get it, simple as that.
it is prerendered seeing the graphics card for the ps3 hasnt been build yet
and the specs they placed up are only what they proposed the ps3 to be...
imo sony just did this whole elaborate show just to make sure xbox 360 didnt hold all the attention in e3
05-30-2005, 05:01 PM
I guess. The PS3 in the display was just an empty case, and the controler is apparently just a concept, thank god.
05-30-2005, 08:44 PM
Definitely prerendered.
Confirmed by an interview with the developers (http://uk.playstation.com/news/newsStory.jhtml?storyId=106796_en_GB_NEWS&linktype=NT3), and even more indictably, the PS3's processor isn't even complete yet.
How do you feel about the reaction to the trailer that was shown yesterday?
Jan-Bart: It's been an amazing reception, the rush you get from seeing your own stuff on the big screen like that, and then the reaction to it, it's a big rush, I'm really happy about it.
How long ago did work start on the sequence?
Jan-Bart: We started working on it in late November, and only finished it three days before the show, at the very, very last moment!"
Doh believe the hype.
Also, the 360's games were running on Mac G5s. And the only unique thing that the Revolution offers is something I've had on my computer for the last 5 years.
Yes...I'm bitter. :(
05-30-2005, 08:51 PM
*Xecutiona finds that the 360 games running on mac g5's is rather ironic
i also think that the revolution is a waste of time
kayode you have a right to be bitter
everyone has overhyped their system and now the small fish
are falling through the net, we see that the big companies are
all hot air sigh.........
inc0gnit0
05-30-2005, 10:07 PM
ps3 was on a 6800 SLE or something which is what the RSX (their actual card) should be adapted from. Xec you eh kno de half of it. Microsoft does be usin macs for tech problems and ting. Rell kix.... AT least from watching pics....
05-31-2005, 08:29 PM
"
Also, the 360's games were running on Mac G5s. And the only unique thing that the Revolution offers is something I've had on my computer for the last 5 years."
Where you hear that? That wrong. The 360 games were running off the XBOX360 developers system that they brought to the floor. TO add to that, the 360 contols were still not mapped out yet. In one of the pics you see me playing Condemned (also played NFS MOst Wanted) the 360 controler had a chord. The map for the button layout was a XBOX S Controler. Asking the EA staff, they WERE using that. IT was all locked up in a case. It you asked and was really nice, then they may let you see. No company has the final XBOX360 as yet.
05-31-2005, 11:47 PM
Originally posted by b00st@May 31 2005, 07:29 PM
Where you hear that? That wrong. The 360 games were running off the XBOX360 developers system that they brought to the floor.
Which were Mac G5s. (http://news.zdnet.com/Xbox+360+demos+running+on+Macs/2100-1040_22-5706658.html?part=rss&tag=feed&subj=zdnn)
Confirmed by Microsoft itself.
As for why the controllers had cords.
It's actually amusing. (http://www.anandtech.com/tradeshows/showdoc.aspx?i=2420&p=5)
Doh worry...is not only you who get ketch.
06-01-2005, 08:50 AM
Okie dokie. The developer systems had MS logos on them, but then if thats what they say. Yes i know the 360 controls wernt connected to the console. Actually i think they just attach the damn control at the end of a normal XBOX chord. They removed the consoles after the first day, i guess some ppl were figuring it out.
Other note on E3's teef head scene....all the PSP demo's at last year E3 were hooked up to a DVD player...
06-01-2005, 10:19 AM
I do believe i read an article in which they said that microsoft used G5s to do their development.
06-20-2005, 12:22 PM
http://www.gamespot.com/news/2005/05/20/news_6126204.html
Got a lil fuel for the fire ;)
camrachi-mishima
06-24-2005, 01:01 PM
If it was prerendered or not will not be proven until the PS3 is in our homes and running this software.
While Sony was showing the Tech Demo at the E3 I was in the chatroom over @ IGN and one of the posters who’s known for his knowledge of game programming and what not said that it could’nt be real time, because of the fuel-fire effects and what not. He’s been pretty much accurate in the last few years he’s been a poster so I went on his word with it.
But then on the other hand, the heads of SCEI, SCEU, SCEA, all came forward and all but yelled that it was indeed real time and this would be the performance of the PS3. It really brings back the memories of Sony caliming the PS2 was so powerful it could be used for missile guiding computers and they were afraid of unleashing this “supercomputer” on the world. It also brought to mind, when they claimed the PS2 would push 140 million polygons, all in real time, but Nintendo came forward and called them on the BS, misleading statement.
Nintendo saw the loophole in their vague statement and announced that the real figure would be something along the lines of 50 million polygons or so, and that 140 million polygons would be for untextured, unlit choppy animations and not actual gameplay. We all found this to be true. So is Sony pulling the wool over our eyes for a second time?
Well on the last day of E3 they announced, to the dismay of gamers everywhere that the footage that was shown was not off of a running PS3, but actually PCs that “emulate” the processing power of the machine to come. They stick to the claim that the PS3 will be capable of this performance, and everyone should have faith.
The question really does boil down to, do you have faith in Sony to bring forth a machine of this power?