View Full Version : PlayStation 3 Revealed
cobra
05-17-2005, 03:25 AM
The Sony E3 Media Briefing has concluded and it has been confirmed: the next-gen system will be called the PlayStation 3. Ken Kutaragi proudly took the stage and announced a number of the new features for the system.
* Backwards compatibility with both PSone and PS2 games.
* Will use Blu-Ray discs for media; also supports: CD-ROM, CD+RW, DVD, DVD-ROM, DVD-R, DVD+R, and SACD
* Cell processor at 3.2GHz
* 2.18 teraflops of performance
* 512MB total: 256MB XDR system RAM at 3.2 GHz; 256MB of GDDRVRAM at 700MHz
* Slot that supports a detachable 2.5in HDD
* Six USB ports; Memory Stick Duo, SD and Compact Flash support
* 2 HDMI outputs, 1 A/V output, 1 SPDIF optical output, and a 1 gigabit ethernet port
* Video chat, Internet access, digital picture, audio, and video viewing
* Capable of handling seven Bluetooth controllers
* WiFi capable
Graphics:
* Chip is called RSX "Reality Synthesizer" by nVidia, runs at 550MHz
* 128 bit pixel precision and 1080p support
* 300 million transistors; 90nm process
* Said to be more powerful than two GeForce 6800 Ultras
05-17-2005, 10:04 AM
pictures??? pictures???
im really looking foward to this system...things looking up.
this race is going to be tough
05-17-2005, 02:08 PM
Check pinkies PS3 post, i put in an anandtech link. This PS3 gonna own all bases.
05-17-2005, 05:06 PM
should someone merge the ps3 threads?
05-17-2005, 06:59 PM
When i see the press conference i go tell yuh if it owning anything. Them specs doh mean a fart if they dont have companies to use the capability.
Saw the XBOX360 press conference on E3insider.com. Yuh go bawl. SquareEnix (not just the FF creator) signed to XBOX, and 40 titles are scheduled for lauch/ Not just That. LIVE just get REAL DAMN good.
You can now attach multimedia devices (including competitor products) to the XBOX360 and upload or download information. You can also watch pay per view on live, video chat in games, message when watching movies or playing music. Thing lookin mad. And those that online dun know LIVE leaps and bounds ahead of SONY online already.
Ah tell yuh MS real kissing @ss to get ahead, and nuttin wrong with that if it working, and it working
05-17-2005, 07:03 PM
b00st have you seen the Sony online packeages?
with the p2p capabilities and what-not.....
MS jus usin their msn-tv service with their Xboxes...doh get cetch there lol
05-17-2005, 07:28 PM
Unless you fly around the world alot i dont see a reason to get a PSP, not yet. The games are just as Setterfield on XPLAY said, its Dreamcast-like ports. The ability is there.
The PSP capability is looking to attach teh GBA ability with the GCN. You wont want to play PSP on your PS3, you can get Downloadable content on the wifi service of the PSP. The only thing really is unlockable features in the same game for either system, and how much ppl do that?
I might sound like im knocking the PS3, but i not. I just feel it is seeming more and more apparent that SONY is expecting ppl to buy their console because it have PLAYSTATION on it. To me it doh matter i buying the 2 conoles whern they come out.
The new nintendo i dunno yet. I see the new Zelda looking real nice, but then the game relasing when the new consoles are comming out and the Revolution is backwards compatible. So i eh bothering with a GCN now.
I was seriously considering a PSP. I already have a DS. It not as good of course, but the only time i use them handhelds is on the plane. I go pick up the CONTRA ALIEN WARS EX for the GBA and an RPG or somethign and that go keep me bz for the flight.
Music on the PSP is great, video is great. Plenty ppl dunno the GBA/DS can do that too. on divineo.com you can order a 1GB flash card to replace the GBA games ( the DS flash card is out now) and rip and upload games and emulators on your DS and GBA. And yes there is a media player function as well, and a TV function. Plug you console into the system on the road. bleh..but is still a gimmick.
I go wait a year. Wait for more PSP games, then get it.
inc0gnit0
05-17-2005, 10:36 PM
I just watch e3-05 on G4 dey and all I can say is WAAAYZZ. Ps3 have de technical aspect on LOCK. I could say Killzone and shut up right there but their line up is ALOT more attractive than xbox360 and well... the revolution kinda revoltin at de moment (zelda look hot tho!). Yeah but back to ps3... that was jus bliss boy... Killzone 2, tekken 6 (already?), well it's not necessarily a game but the tech demo for FF7 look decent! :P and a few others. I am genuinely impressed with sony. Here's hoping the printer like model is durable and they figure out how to split a screen into 7 sections without people going blind (bluetooth for 7 controllers nah)
KILLZONE!!!!
PLOY PLOY... I saw that preview of prerendered PS3 graphics on G4TV earlier this evening. It was frickin awesome. :coolthumb:
I thought we would never see the day that graphics on consoles would be superior to PC graphics. From this preview this might be the case. If this becomes reality, I'm pretty sure that the reign of consoles for high end graphics will be short-lived. Remember HALO?
05-17-2005, 10:56 PM
Killzone is looking frigging awesome!!! that game might be a console seller for sure, well for me anyway.... but again they alot of the stuff pre-rendered, which makes sense since most of the companies did not get their development kits too long ago.
here's a lil thought, although i know what the fanboys will say already, please try to think about it for a while.
what type of effect, if any, will blu-ray discs have on the ps3? it's really only this year that any developer's even started making use of dual layered discs so is a jump from 4gb to 50 gb actually feasible? would it be putting a strain on the developers to make use of this space in such a short space of time?
personally i don't think that the developers are going to place too much emphasis on making use of that space with the 1st few batches of games, because well maybe it's more trouble than it's worth at this point. we saw how long it took for developers to fully take advantage of the PS2's power (i'd say God of War was the peak), so do you really think the industry is ready this generation of consoles?
05-17-2005, 11:12 PM
killzone was bad for PS2....just underrated...
KILLZONE 2 wud rock the sales....the gfx tech is better than anything that is out for the pc market with the development of the cell processor workingwith the GPU
hehe ps3...ps3.....
uh huuuuuuuuuh!!!!