View Full Version : Sony PS3 in 2005!!!!

05-15-2005, 02:49 PM
well i stumbled upon this on the net

PS3portal. com reads.....

n a surprising twist on the next generation hardware race, a Sony representative has stated that a year 2005 release for the next generation PlayStation is a possibility. Responding to questions from Jiji news service, Sony Chief Financial Officer Takao Yuhara states, "For the year end sales season, simultaneously building up both the PlayStation Portable system in America and Europe as well as the next generation PlayStation is one option that we have."

Most industry speculation calls for a next generation PlayStation release in 2006. Sony's third party developers have backed this assumption up with a strong list of PlayStation 2 titles planned for the rest of the year and early next.

The state of the next generation PlayStation software shown at next week's E3 show should reveal if a 2005 release is a possibility for the new system, or if Yuhara's comments were designed to take some steam out of Microsoft's Xbox360

well this seems to be a nice race to the top between Microsoft and Sony.

where is Nintendo?

this can further put the Sony powerhouse console into further mystery.....

* from Ps3portal/ign

Posters have started appearing around the vicinity of the E3 Expose’ on bus stops and billboards which indicate that PlayStation 3 will be indeed called just that.

Nearly every year Sony lines the L.A. Convention Center where E3 is held with PlayStation symbols, the well-known X, Circle, Square, and Triangle pattern. This year, the insignias have taken on a new style, appearing on bus stops and billboards, to build hype for the PlayStation 3, which is expected to show in full force at Sony's press conference on Monday.

[attachmentid=369]

The X, Circle, Square, and Triangle pattern has been diced apart to produce a more alien look. Combined, a half-circle, broken X, sharply cut triangle, and cropped square end up looking more like glyphs from another world.

[attachmentid=370]

Sony's message: "Welcome Chang3." Yes, instead of an "E" the letter is replaced with a squared-off "3," clearly signalling the PS3's presence at the show. While it's still hazy just how much of a presence Sony will make with the PS3, these ads prove that the electronics giant has not forgotten how to play the game.

Indeed, Microsoft's strong showing of Xbox 360 and Nintendo's Revolution debut won't go unchallenged by the king of the hill.

* quotes and pictures from ps3portal and ign

what does this mean for us GAMERS?

the backward-compatible ps3 owners would be able to play the games made for the ps2 but would this decrease the ps3's sales??

how is this setting the example for the Xbox?, which conflicts between ATI and Nvidia have forced the Xbox 360 to not be backward compatible...

is the ps3 really launching in 2005??? or is it just a lil whif of what we have in store for 2006......

2005 is a BIG year for gaming

we would be following it closely.........

05-15-2005, 03:05 PM
how could backwards compatability decrease sales of the ps3 X?
if anything it would decrease sales of the ps2( yuh know the ppl who cheap and wait a good while till price drop etc etc) cause ppl will realise that with a lil more money dey could play the ps2 games on the ps3 ( if i jus talk shit i sowwy :( )
and i more expecting the launch 2 be in 2006 because dey jus release psp...dat would be like an artist bring out an album in june and den another one in july...would compete against each other which isnt really 2 smart imo

my lil 5 cents

05-15-2005, 03:18 PM
u see some people may not see the sense of buying the ps3 with such good ps2 games coming out and prefer to play the waiting game.....

the ps2 and the xbox have games coming out for both systems still and i feel somehow that they are both releasing too soon without milking these markets dry.....

somehow i think that the ps3 might make iot for the 2006 but for the xbox360 i feel that what they are saying with the 2005 release may produce the systems....but not the games...they might be rushing he developers et.

05-15-2005, 07:35 PM
sony is doing 12 1st party games for the PS2 this year, normally when a console is about to be replaced we see a drop in 1st party titles, especially those which appear to be bigmoney makers, eg GT4 and God of War. somehow i doubt that the PS3 will be released this year, it will do more harm than good to do that to the console, all the 3rd party developers have their projects planned for a post-2k5 release, rushing the release date will really upset the developers more. keep in mind while it may be a good thing to most gamers to have new consoles coming so quickly, it's probably hard for the developers to adjust quickly enough to take advantage of a new platform.

in addition, that media release was as a direct result of microsoft debuting enough about their console in advance of E3, the Sony PR time bit the bait... hard.

05-15-2005, 07:46 PM
whatim also lookin at is the revolution from nintendo....some rumours are spreading that the "revolution" is so revolutionary that game developers are being scared away.....

that is not good for nintendo.......

this is goin to be interesting........

06-06-2005, 02:18 PM
Some detaills on the upcoming PS3

CPU IBM PowerPC 3.2 GHz 512 kB Cache L2
GPU NVIDIA RSX 550 MHz
Audio Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, LPCM
Memory Bandwidth 256 MB XDR, 3.2 GHz 256 MB GDDR3, 700 MHz System Main memory: 25.6 GB/s VRAM: 22.4 GB/s RSX: 20 GB/s (read) + 15 GB/s (write)
Storage 2.5" hard drive (capacity not available) Memory Stick Standard/Duo/Duo Pro SD Card/ Compact Flash type I & II
Communication Bluetooth for controllers (up to 7)
USB 2.0 (4 front, 2 back)
WiFi for PSP connection
Gigabit Ethernet
Audio/Video Output Screen size 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p
HDMI (x2)
S/PDIF optical
Media PlayStation CD-ROM, PS2 CD-ROM, CD-DA, CD-R/RW, SACD (hybrid, HD dual disc), DVD, DVD-ROM, DVD+/-R/RW, Blu-Ray Disc, BD-ROM, BD-R

06-06-2005, 03:29 PM
whoa @ bluetooth controllers, that looks interesting, i wonder if this means we can use the controllers as pc controllers also if u have a bluetooth enabled pc ?

06-06-2005, 03:49 PM
I really REALLY dont care about its hardware capability. All the systems are going to be stronger than their predecessors.....thats the bottom line.

People should know by now POWER doh mean nuttin unless you have something to back it up with.

If this PS3 rumour true i say SONY goin an b in real pressure. I already know EA not happy with them for their "early" PSP lauch. Activision also agree with EA on that. the early realease of the PS3 have me thinking....sony getting to complacent? Or they targeting the Japanese market more?

Ent bluetooth controlers go kill battery life? the 2.5GHz wireless seems better. Well once it rechargable

06-06-2005, 04:24 PM
Can we still use our old wired PS2 controllers?

06-06-2005, 07:17 PM
most likely....but most likely the controllers would have something like a docking bay to recharge batteries instead of buying aa all d time....that would get annoying

06-06-2005, 07:31 PM
Anyone else find those controllers looking like a ripoff of the Sidewinder Gamepads?

06-06-2005, 08:00 PM
Them controlers are concept. They arent the final ones.....lewwe hope they stick with that statement.