View Full Version : Cartoons Vs Anime

04-28-2005, 12:48 AM
I dont know how to describe it but I can now tell the difference between a cartoon and an anime... While watching naruto or something, someone n00b will come up and say aye waz that cartoon you watching... I would reply its an anime.

There were some really nice 'cartoons' that i liked DBZ, Teknoman, Transformers.

Transformers = cartoon
DBZ and Teknoman were translated animes...

Question

Am i right in putting a definititon between anime and cartoon? They are different right? or is anime just a japanese word to mean cartoon or (animated)?

04-28-2005, 03:43 AM
Anime and Cartoons are different in many ways, here are 2 differences. The style between anime and cartoons can easily be noticed by the artwork,no cartoon will ever look like an anime. i find anime have more elegance to it than cartoons. Also cartoons are directed towards the young crowd, children to teens. Anime on the other hand caters for everybody. From children, straight to adults as you can see by the blood and gore and sexual content in anime.

04-28-2005, 09:55 AM
Could it just be the style of Japanese animators that make the difference or do these animators intentionally try and make their 'animes' different from a 'west' cartoon?

04-28-2005, 10:37 AM
um fellas.....cartoon is an animated fiece of filmwork

ANIME IS CARTOON
just japanese cartoons....diff cultures have diff styles of animation

anime is the japanese translation to cartoon

04-28-2005, 09:48 PM
first thing anime is a not a japanese word
its just short for animation

while the genre is basically the same meaning that they are all animated media

american style of animation is geared to mostly kids with the exception of some like Bebe's Kids , the 2 Heavy Metal movies and stuff like South Park n thing are geared towards a mature audience. the american style of drawing or animation is basic and straight foward.

However on the other hand Japanese Animation is a more advanced and artistic form than thier american counterparts and animation and manga are mostly geared to an older audience ( teens and adults). the anime that are usually geared to children are more the comical type like early naruto and detective conan and such anime.

while yes in the general sense u can say they are all just cartoons, the basic thought that comes to the mind when the word cartoon comes about is american base cartoons like Tom and Jerry n such which is an insult to the HIGHLY artisitc work of the Japanese. Hence the need to have a distinct difference between the 2. Hence Anime = japanese Cartoon= american style

karrion
05-22-2005, 10:08 AM
That's not true. Anime is geared towards many audiences not a mature adult audience. That's down to western preception.
Japanese animation are going to reflect the culture of japan so some shows will be deemed mature adult because they don't treat children/teenagers like idiots like in the western world mainly america and the anglo english speaking world. They show many of the teenage animes in europe/italy and france way before the english side got wise to it and started to watch it for themselves which due that the intelligence of an average american teenager to a french one is considerably different. The american one would be like a kidegarten kid compared to the french teenager. Naruto was always geard towards a teenage audience. Pokemon,Doremon and the such are the childrens stuff.
A show like the following is the usual target audience.
Bleach 13-18
Naruto 12-16
Conan 5-13

Also your forgetting that many anime was inspired by american cartoons in the first place. It isn't an insult to call anime a cartoon at all.That's another misguided gaijin perception. If it wasn't for the early manga artists who burrowed several elements from american cartoons you wouldn't get the much adored anime/manga style that is copied by so many people today.

BTW :Transformers was originally made by Toei, japan's biggest anime studio like most of the early eighties american toy tie in "cartoons" so transformers could be considered an anime as well.

bandit
05-22-2005, 03:41 PM
*sigh*
based on my 'immense' background in terms of knowledge and common sense I would have to agree with executiona
Is d same ting <_<

karrion
05-22-2005, 03:50 PM
Course it is. Anime is just the french word for cartoon and specifically japanese ones. Before it was saddled with everything else.

05-23-2005, 06:04 PM
Yes.....i guess this is wat grown men sit down and argue about......o and they are not technically the same as an anime is much better.....I'm being a hypocrite are'nt I?

05-28-2005, 02:55 AM
People putting cart before horse in this thread.

The overriding term for all animated work is animation. Not cartoon. Anime is a genre of animation, just like cartoons.

"Cartoon" has its roots in humor. It's actually defined as a humorous or satirical drawing, or animated version thereof. The term was eventually used for animation geared towards children.

Anime is a particular type of animation that originated in Japan and is characterised by certain art styles and themes.

The themes are generally what seperate anime from cartoons. Sex and violence aren't the only "mature" aspect of anime. Anime deals with all aspects of life in Japan, and is aimed towards all audiences, like manga. There's anime that deals with adult/adolescent romance, corporate life, family life, social commentary and a variety of different professions.

But that said, don't make the mistake (that I made) of automatically assuming that anime is better than Western animation because it's more mature. There's plenty totally trashy and worthless anime. But in my opinion good anime outnumbers and outclasses good Western animation.

Also...not all Western animated shows are cartoons.

Here's some reading if you want to follow up.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anime

Also, the word "anime" is just a shortened version of the Japanese word for animation..."animeshon".

01-03-2006, 09:49 PM
We are learning about this in 3D modeling and in the Anime club in school. Just started actually.

1. Ever noticed the HERO's look women like? Allot of emphasis is done on this because of the Japanese and how they view women. A sort of sign of purity and gentleness.

2. The ANTI HERO is usually a burly looking guy. These are similar in design to Samurai warriors. Ever notice in REALIZED Heros, ones that were bad and then turn good, when they are bad you cannot see their "pretty" face? Similar reason

3. Characters are usually drawn in straight lines. Its primarily a depiction of the katana or samurai sword. The whole honour and heritige thing comes in here.

VERY interesting stuff. Of course this is barely scratching the surface. Details of storyboarding for ANIME as well is VERY different to "cartoons'

another note.

Allot of people including myself would just say MANGA is comics. Actually MANGA is the WESTERNIZED form of ANIME (or is it the other way around) I was very surprised. Its usually when they bring a comic series or anime series to the US or outside of Japan. (this is OFFICIAL release). You obviously notice there are differences in the JAPAN and other release. The other release is sometimes watered down a bit.

4. Japanese anime usually has ALLOT of emphasis on spirituality, physlophy and religion. They throw crosses around in a series like is joke (Trinity Blood). Outside of Japan its usually allot more carefully done. they dont want to "cause trouble" with people ridiculing and banning anything.

good stuff...thats all i know so far though :(

01-04-2006, 09:05 AM
i disagree on your views of manga.

Manga is the birth of most anime. They start in these comic forms from various mangaka's and based on popularity and such, they are made into anime, this is the general basis. Although there are some series without manga. And then they are series that diviate from the manga (FMA). Then they are the anime series that finishes way before the manga like Berserk and Bastard and also Hellsing.

01-04-2006, 11:58 AM
Also FMA finished before manga, lokes is correct on Manga usually gets turned into an anime, but keep in mind some anime are based on other things (game based anime) and then there's the likeness to that and the comic book based cartoons (ole time X-Men cartoons :P)

2 Stupid Dogs FTW !!!!

01-04-2006, 02:21 PM
omg another cartoon vs anime thread O_O
transformers ..the battle wether it is a anime or cartoon sigh

01-04-2006, 10:58 PM
o well. I guess i had it mixed up. I now learning....but doh worry i go get it right in a bit. I starting to read manga these days. Loki yuh right i shoulda start this LOOOONGGGG time ago

riskbreaker
02-20-2006, 03:28 PM
Anime is nice Japanese cartoons with blood and violence and ting.

When you say 'Cartoon' you refer to them lame American cartoons with no blood or nuttin (including Powerpuff girls which is surprisingly gorey...).

camrachi-mishima
02-27-2006, 10:45 AM
Ummm. The only difference between a "cartoon" and an "anime" is the terminology. Both are the same thing from different regions.

Ford makes cars

so does Nissan, they are still both automobiles, different styles, same thing.

05-25-2006, 02:23 PM
anime vs cartoons eh..definatly anime