View Full Version : Update for Tekken 5 coming ?
04-27-2005, 12:36 PM
Taken from the-magicbox.com
Namco is planning to release an upgrade to the arcade version of Tekken 5 in June, the upgrade will have a revised battle system, plus a new survival and team battle mode.
Seem like they going the Virtua Fighter route with Tekken. Virtua Fighter 4 has had 2 updates in VF4 : Evolution and VF : Final Tuned , both of which contained balance changes and other tweaks.
Incase some people are wondering how long it will be till their present Tekken 5 is outdated consider this
Jap release for PS2 VF4 was 1/28/02 and PS2 VF4:Evo was 3/13/03 , in the Tekken scenario , the US got Tekken 5 first and that was approximately 8 months after the initial the first unveiling @ EVO 2004. So should this upgrade take place in June , we're looking at a December - February release for the updated T5 on the PS2.
Lets hope Bryan and Nina are toned the fxck down and that Kazuya gets a safe move or two :kakashi4:
04-27-2005, 01:02 PM
WDA so this is how you update your game in consoles... buy a whole new mc game? Ways!!
04-27-2005, 09:35 PM
yeah is a good question how dat going 2 work out console wise
anyways...wang need some safe moves 2
i was playig vs law 2day and i realise dat after every move i do or something he coulda hit me no probs :(
or could it be that law legs jus long no mc hmmm :34:
04-27-2005, 10:30 PM
i really hope they find a way to make an optional hard drive update instead of having to buy a new version of the game,that wud be cool
04-28-2005, 12:59 AM
Tekken 5.1....
Has this ever happened in the past? How was it dealth with?
Did they just wait and release a newer version?
04-28-2005, 01:34 AM
this happened with Tekken 2 already i know there was Tekken 2b and i think there was Tekken 2c (not sure about the C). I'll check my T5 disc tommorow and confirm.
04-28-2005, 10:00 AM
wda, so you had to buy ah next CD.. how gay
04-28-2005, 10:18 AM
i heard the tekken update would be able to be downloaded from the net ontio the hard drive
04-28-2005, 11:05 AM
most likely there will be 2 options, option a) DL the update to your HD, but this alone will not be enough considering how few of the PS2 HD were sold worldwide, and option B) any console game worth it's salt is re-released within the 1st year with updates that serve to enhance the gameplay, these re-releases are normally cheap thoughm like $20 US.
04-28-2005, 01:07 PM
a hd update is highly doubtful, this aint the xbox ppl , most likely they will go the virtua fighter route and sell the upgrade for 20$. Most ppl down here gonna download, burn and play anyway :P
04-28-2005, 02:14 PM
the upgrade will require the original right?
04-28-2005, 03:02 PM
lol @ para fretting
wconsoleshb
04-28-2005, 03:40 PM
nope you gonna have to buy the new disc
04-28-2005, 06:05 PM
wait wait hold yuh horses
doh get disturb and go and cuss all over de mc place
most of these tings already come with de game for console
dat upgrade was for ARCADE
now if u need any fine tweaks it always have patches online for memory card.
most likey u will have to get the disc from namco, because there is no online for t5
so we will have to pop in the disc go online then pop in the orignal t5 dvd
for verification purposes.
this is how we get a patch
04-28-2005, 09:37 PM
thanks for clearing dat up op...it was somin like dat i hear
04-28-2005, 10:08 PM
Yes it is the arcade version that is being patched, but Namco ain't stupid, they'll tweak enough stuff to make it different enough to re release for console. Console is their biggest market for Tekken 5.
Memory card patches lol..If it were that simple then all games with bugs on the ps2 would be patched using that memory card patch.
Ask yourself this
Why did Sammy release #R on a new disc ? Like with Opium's explanation for T5 , all the data is on the disc everything was there so why did they have to release a new disc ?
Same goes for Virtua Fighter 4:Evolution, again it was jes a upgrade so why they didn't release a little memory card patch ?
The upgraded T5 will have new stuff other than balance fixes no doubt. Jinpachi may also be playable. For this to happen they'll have to redo the character select screen and map moves to button inputs plus do the balance changes and who knows what animations they might change.
This memory card patch thing is not likely to happen.
Both #R and VF4 Evolution both retailed for $20 when re-released.
05-06-2005, 12:24 AM
Originally posted by Geese@Apr 28 2005, 08:08 PM
Yes it is the arcade version that is being patched, but Namco ain't stupid, they'll tweak enough stuff to make it different enough to re release for console. Console is their biggest market for Tekken 5.
Memory card patches lol..If it were that simple then all games with bugs on the ps2 would be patched using that memory card patch.
Ask yourself this
Why did Sammy release #R on a new disc ? Like with Opium's explanation for T5 , all the data is on the disc everything was there so why did they have to release a new disc ?
Same goes for Virtua Fighter 4:Evolution, again it was jes a upgrade so why they didn't release a little memory card patch ?
The upgraded T5 will have new stuff other than balance fixes no doubt. Jinpachi may also be playable. For this to happen they'll have to redo the character select screen and map moves to button inputs plus do the balance changes and who knows what animations they might change.
This memory card patch thing is not likely to happen.
Both #R and VF4 Evolution both retailed for $20 when re-released.
Because NAMCO is ah big company
sony have patches for their games on the memory card
socom2 has patches and they were downloaded online
alot of fightting games dont have online fighting so we wont see ah patch
anyway its a good ting it was for de arcade only,
BTW Para how de ps2 working?
spinner
05-06-2005, 11:31 AM
the update sounds interesting..but are Bryan and Nina that powerful in Tekken 5?
Styx.
05-07-2005, 02:39 PM
YES!!!!!1one
camrachI
04-11-2007, 11:27 AM
Because NAMCO is ah big company
sony have patches for their games on the memory card
socom2 has patches and they were downloaded online
alot of fightting games dont have online fighting so we wont see ah patch
anyway its a good ting it was for de arcade only,
BTW Para how de ps2 working?
Because while consoles are PCs they don't work as efficiently as them when it comes to manipulating major data on the fly. Sure enough, (I can't confirm, but I don't suspect you to be wrong) SOCOM had a memory card patch that was applied via memory card, but not all games are designed and developed the same way as per how it's fetched and processed by the emotion engine. Like Geese showed, many times before it wasn't done, because most likely they were not able to. It'd make a ton more sense to make it available for memory card download as opposed to stamping new discs. While discs are cheap, there is also the major costs of packaging, advertising, registration, and what not.