View Full Version : which is better ps2 or xbox
04-24-2005, 06:11 PM
hey guy's i need ur advice which is better the ps2 or the xbox i wanna purchase 1 so i need to know which is the better one :kakashi4:
04-24-2005, 06:46 PM
ok dude no sense askin that here cuz everyone got their own opinion and it really all comes down to wat u like.....personally i am a xbox guy and would recommend it but i bet many others would disagree.......even though the new systems not comin for another yr or so i will hold out unless yuh budget low then pick the xbox :coolthumb:
04-24-2005, 06:57 PM
depends on what kinda gamer you are...
xbox tends to have the high graphics etc...while slacking on gameplay
ps2 is a big gameplay pusher and with games such as gran turismo and god of war they have won this console war
it is all up to you though...
if you play online u go hadda PAY for xbox live while with the ps2 u use free servers...
(tru trinis love freeness)
if u having a hard time chosin ...yuh could probably look at the games on each console and see which ones u like better or something ...personally i like a ps2 better to me it have d better games....although i keep wishin halo 2 was for ps2 but say what ..
04-24-2005, 08:25 PM
I had the same choice and I chose a PS2 just for the tekken :)
04-24-2005, 08:29 PM
I say jus wait for PS3....but if u think u can save up some cash over the next year, buy an X-Box for now (since X-Box2 apparently wont be able to play X-Box1 games 8-) )...
04-24-2005, 09:06 PM
if u a hardcore fighting gamer then buying an xbox is a nono
for 1 d controller is utter balls and 2 some of the best fighting games done come out for xbox ( TEKKEN 5)
but i guess if u for the side scrolling games and thing xbox go be better....but is all about wha u like 2 play
personally if i get an xbox free i selling d beetch to buy an original copy of t5 :P
04-24-2005, 09:44 PM
i'm a hardcore gamer but i've heard reports of the ps2 the new slim 1 over heating n the xbox making alot of noise.....hmmm
04-24-2005, 09:46 PM
The slim PS2 (V11, V12) have laser and heat issues. Try and source a (V9, V10)
04-24-2005, 09:50 PM
yeah @ over heating issues
but once u keep a fan on it u safe
or even better if ur room air conditioned
i dont ever leave on dat ps2 without a fan on it nah
04-24-2005, 09:59 PM
tisk tisk...typical sony crap....thats why the xbox is the king...however it is owned by microsoft which i, as a xbox fan, am ashamed of but at least we have halo and no way ps2 can touch that and btw killa the xbox controller is very good but u obviously have been influenced by others...the controller actually fits your hand perfectly ......and the ps controller is too small and crappy.
04-24-2005, 10:27 PM
hitikori
if u read what i said
i said FOR FIGHTING GAMES
d control is balls hoss
no doubt bout it
big and stink
i wouldnt even want 2 use dat control for any game...
and plz dont start no talk bout yeah ps2 is shit xbox run things cause we go jus go into this never ending loop
it was already said it up 2 d type of games u play
full stop
04-24-2005, 10:37 PM
hard luck killa but yeah i did say that it is up to the gamers but its shit for fighting games at all...well to me...its all in the mind set.....and plus the big controller to the ral xbox player is better cuz its perfect for any game....it fits your hand perfectly but as i said its up to the gamer
04-24-2005, 11:03 PM
The xbox controls gay no mc, fortunately you can use converters
04-24-2005, 11:22 PM
sigh....hitokiri....is halo2 your only reason why u say xbox is better???
well then if that is your argument, here is my reply
gran turismo 4
tekken 5
gta:san andreas
god of war
killzone
and the list goes on
04-25-2005, 12:11 AM
Gosh, this thread going to turn like all the others, everyone saying why their console is the best :)
*dinesh says his Xbox is the best.
Seriously, the game lineup for the Xbox 360 going to be kickass, developers of FF on board too :)
Like everyone else, it's all about your preferences. I tend to have a liking to my xbox controller over the weak, small, fonny Ps2 ones, but that's my point of view.
Heck they're getting so cheap now, you may not have to choose :P
04-25-2005, 12:15 AM
He's a huge X-Box fan, and there are alot of good games on X-Box (not anywhere remotely near the amount for PS2...btw, x shoulda mention devel may cry, but anyway 8-) ). X-box controlers,i'll admit hard to get a feel for (N64 controler kicked @ss :P), but i like the size and weight of it...
04-25-2005, 09:33 AM
ps1 controller for life
something odd bout the ps2 one..it have a different feel with the d-pad
it may look the same...but no n00b it not
i most likly gonna invest in getting back a ps1 controller 2 use for meh ps2 specially for fighting games
04-25-2005, 01:08 PM
well this is just going to be another thread where fanboys flex their imaginery muscles, and look we have a couple mods doing it right now!
but to be frank, it's really dependent on what you want to play, alot of people here are anti microsoft or anti sony, do not buy into the propaganda, especially from those who make blanket comments about either console.
while the earlier xbox ttiles were lacking with respect to gameplay you must admit that this has changed alot, keep in mind that the 2 best RPG's to come forth on the current generation of consoles are xbox exclusives, these are KOTOR and Jade Empire. of couse you cannot mention rpg's without bigging up the PS2's Noctune.
alot of people will big up God of war as a goty contender, but it lacks any replay value, the undisputed king of good gameplay remains GTA San Andreas which is currently available for the ps2 and will soon see an xbox release, and as is the case with all multiplatform games, it will look distictly better on the xbox while maintaining the same, if not improving, the game play.
fighting games have found a new home on the PS2, i mean tekken 5 and soul calibre 3 being ps2 exclusives is a very big deal, not to mention the abundance of 2d fighters (although the better 2d fighters were also released on the xbox with smoother online play).
if you like your driving games, well the only exclusives to talk about are the granturismo series and the Project Gotham series, and i personally believe that Grat Turismo is infinitely better than PGR.
platformers? well the PS2 has owned this genre quite well over the past couple years, and there have been some lackluster showings on the xbox.
if you are like me and you do not mind playing a FPS on a console, then forget the ps2, xbox is where it's at! yeah the PS2 had killzone, which i liked alot, but there a couple control issues with that game 1)jump button replaced by an action button which has very limited use 2) impossible to aim at certain locations 3) the console could not handle the game's full potential. and Killzone was the best shooter on the ps2. funny but i see no one mentioning that Half Life 2 is going to see an xbox release soon.
with respect to online play, i ask again, which games are free on the PS2? somehow or the other i do not thin it's much, and i know for a fact that all the ps2 games DO NOT support free online play. Microsoft has done a much better job with respect to handling online gaming, you pay one flat annual rate when you buy your kit and you are good t ogo from there, the only thing you have to pay from there is for additional maps etc. sony however felt it was best to let individual publishers handle the online gaming forcing gamers to have mulktiple logins for each and every game they want to play, plus microsoft encourages use of their HD by developers much more than sony with respect to additional maps.
think about this, you have to purchase certain network items for both console b4 going online, with xbox live your 1st year's cost is included in the kit, which is in the vicinity of 40 canadian dollars. for sony you still have to pay individual companies to play their games online.
as for modding, the xbox is a mod heaven, almost limitless what can be done with this item anything you can do with a ps2 when modding you can do on the xbox, only the xbox does it better.
in the end you need to look at the most important thing, which console has more games, and this is something that the PS2 has without shadow of doubt.
04-25-2005, 01:28 PM
yes more games but how much of them suck......90% maybe.and X the halos are not the reason i hold the xbox superior (in my opinion) but that they have the followin:
halo
halo2
DOA3
KOTOR
FABLE
JADE EMPIRE
Star Wars Republic Commando
the listc can go on but i lazy but i not sayin ps2 is shit but its time is almost over as xbox will reign supreme
04-25-2005, 01:29 PM
yes more games but how much of them suck......90% maybe.and X the halos are not the reason i hold the xbox superior (in my opinion) but that they have the followin:
halo
halo2
DOA3
KOTOR
FABLE
JADE EMPIRE
Star Wars Republic Commando
the listc can go on but i lazy but i not sayin ps2 is shit but its time is almost over as xbox will reign supreme
04-25-2005, 04:15 PM
you may be wrong on that last point shadow, considering that this console war is almost done, i highly doubt that xbox can reign supreme.
the next gen war however...
ps, is it just me, or is this thread in the wrong place?
04-25-2005, 04:53 PM
heh you are right laruto wrong place...
Im sticking with my PS2, its what I need to maintain my competitive edge. All the good Xbox games come out on PC (later).
Halo is great, but i aint playing no FPS on a console, sorry bill.
04-26-2005, 12:41 PM
If you have a console already dont bother to buy another.
Yep this gen war is over, PS2 outsold the systems. The system isnt sh!t, its amazing how they made some games with the power of that system, but now cross platform games are SERIOUSLY showing blemishes on that system, and the load times are becoming ridiculous. i backed XBOX from day one, i liked their sale and marketing strategy and the HDD inclusion was appealing. If its anyone who have the clout to take out SONY its MS.
04-26-2005, 01:01 PM
Im not going to get a next gen console till about 1.5 yrs after release
04-26-2005, 07:07 PM
smart move in waiting over a year, it will give you enough time to assess the quality of titles coming out on each system, though i must admit i almost already feel which i will get.
04-26-2005, 07:30 PM
From my little research i have reaslized that these consoles dont come out perfect the first time. There are versions (like software) and some where down the line things become stable.
Its like buying a V1-5 PS2, those would be the ones that were released within the first yr of manufacturing. They are not defective but the later versions got BETTER support for media etc etc
04-26-2005, 07:37 PM
plus after a year or so prices does drop :)
so normal onworking poor mcs like myself could afford 2 get a new one
but as usual im always late
when ps2 come out i now get my ps1
new ps coming out i now get meh ps2
04-26-2005, 07:54 PM
The new systems go be so dam expensive and the old consoles still runnin strong with dread new games (but my PS2 is messed up :( )....i better start savin up and invest in a good PC and done yes...
04-28-2005, 06:34 PM
PS2 all de way
just because we see that xbox got mods when it first come out
we was amazed by it and still likes it for what it does
now we have to smell the what de ole v7-10 could do
we have mods now to make xbox look like crap
i will admit that u get better eye candy on a xbox,
but since most games from xbox end up in pc we can get better eye candy
PS2 all de way
metalgear2095
04-30-2005, 11:52 AM
ive owned xbox, ps2 and gamecube. And i think xbox is great but being a gamer for a very loong time i tend to get bored of games fast (like right after i beat them) and Xbox just doesnt have enough quality titles for me. I might feel different if i had xbox live since they are always people to play with. But i dont, so for me ps2 is best cuz there is always a good new set of games to look foward to.
nintendo still makes the best games. if only they had more and they were cheaper.
xbox has a few good games that look great. the xbox controller is only better than ps2 controller for shooters. everything else ps2 is better
ps2 has many good games and a few great games and a MUCH better controller for most games. ps2 is the overall better buy for me.
04-30-2005, 08:36 PM
PS2 all the mc way, ps2 just owns all bases, btw i need to get a ps2 i still have a ps1 :34:
04-30-2005, 10:36 PM
well it looks like im one of the few xbox lovers here....i use to take rel shit from gamers 3 yrs ago wen the xbox came out and now look at them...they respect the system.therefore i not sayin that xbox better(even though it is) i jus sayin we all hav our own opinions and we are entitled to them.....PLUS PS CAME OUT FIRST SO WHO DO U EXPECT TO HAVE THE BIGGER FANBASE?but u hadda admit that xbox still alive regardless of all of ps efforts to put down all competition.
cobra
05-01-2005, 04:39 AM
i would get an xbox..
anyone know where i get one cheap :P
05-01-2005, 11:31 AM
Originally posted by shadow_hitokiri@Apr 30 2005, 09:36 PM
well it looks like im one of the few xbox lovers here....i use to take rel shit from gamers 3 yrs ago wen the xbox came out and now look at them...they respect the system.therefore i not sayin that xbox better(even though it is) i jus sayin we all hav our own opinions and we are entitled to them.....PLUS PS CAME OUT FIRST SO WHO DO U EXPECT TO HAVE THE BIGGER FANBASE?but u hadda admit that xbox still alive regardless of all of ps efforts to put down all competition.
Thing is most people would buy an xbox for FPS gaming, whereas PS2 would be for more Fighting games, some companies have already started to release games on both systems, and yes you may wanna argue and say yes xbox have fighting games but the all the hott titles like Tekken 5 and Street Fighter series all on ?.....PS2, and for fps just about to be released for ps2 the new installment of Raven Shield 2, now that is gonna be a dred game .
PS2 is just gonna pwn all consoles !!
still looking for a ps2 to buy :( anyone has one to sell pm would be nice <_<
05-01-2005, 12:21 PM
yeah i guess yuh right there ghost cuz xbox fightin games doh give yuh much to do......except for the doa series lol
05-01-2005, 02:04 PM
Originally posted by Ghost@May 1 2005, 10:31 AM
Thing is most people would buy an xbox for FPS gaming, whereas PS2 would be for more Fighting games, some companies have already started to release games on both systems, and yes you may wanna argue and say yes xbox have fighting games but the all the hott titles like Tekken 5 and Street Fighter series all on ?.....PS2, and for fps just about to be released for ps2 the new installment of Raven Shield 2, now that is gonna be a dred game .
PS2 is just gonna pwn all consoles !!
still looking for a ps2 to buy :( anyone has one to sell pm would be nice <_<
so i'm gonna guess that you are the admin member who does the least research <_< .
unless i'm mistaken there are Street Fighter game/s on the xbox, and they have online play here which is not available on the ps2. the only really substantial fighters that have found themselves as PS2 exclusives are the Tekken series and the VF series, SC3 is supposed to be exclusive as well so i guess you could add that. keep in mind alot of the fighting games see an xbox release, which feature a robust online system and enhance graphics (sometimes anyway). so your point about the xbox lacking solid fighting games is null and void, even though there are fewer on the xbox and some take longer to be released on the xbox, they more than compensate for this with the inclusion of the xbox live service. the xbox controller is not the best for fighting games, but 3rd party pads as well as converters are available. so to be honest the strengths of both systems balance it out making both consoles tied with respect to fighting games.
PS: DOA is shit!
FPS .... well the PS2 does have... Killzone and umm uhh, well nothing else worth mentioning to be quite honest, every other FPS on that system worth mentioning is available on the xbox which provides the gamers which much needed online MP through one general server, in other words: 1 universal login ID and password will allow you to access any of your titles online.
ravenshield 2.... :34: i could have sworn that when rainbow six 3 went to the consoles they decided to go without the Ravenshield tag, either way this is actually the 3rd ranbow six 3 installment (Rainbow six 3, Rainbow six 3; black arrow, Rainbow six 3; lockdown) as a result of xbox live the xbox version of this series in the money maker for ubisoft when compared with the ps2 version.
the PS2 isn't 'gonna pwn all consoles' because they have already one this battle due to a more substantial market share which they won as a result of an early release and wide variety of quality games. right now people need to start looking at the next-gen battle.
05-01-2005, 04:29 PM
Like Laruto said the XBOX may not have Tekken 5 but it does have EVERY other major fighting franchise and most if not all have online capabilities. Right now if I had the $$ I would get a XBOX with live just for fighters. I just got my ps2 for convenience...
cobra
05-02-2005, 01:09 AM
Originally posted by Geese@May 1 2005, 03:29 PM
Like Laruto said the XBOX may not have Tekken 5 but it does have EVERY other major fighting franchise and most if not all have online capabilities. Right now if I had the $$ I would get a XBOX with live just for fighters. I just got my ps2 for convenience...
agreed i will borrow geese's ps2 but i would buy my own xbox :P
05-02-2005, 01:57 AM
With PS2, u WILL get ur money's worth no matter what due to the seemingly endless array of dread games, and the fact that u can use it to play CDs and DVDs (although i doh really use it for that)... X-BoX has some must-have titles, but not that many...
05-02-2005, 05:51 AM
Have all 3 consoles. I choose the XBOX. I have yet to see a cross platform game better on ANY console than XBOX (minus SPY HUNTER - who cares, and NFS HP2).
XBOX appeals to me more. Many ppl i know (not everyone of course) who have been playing games as long as I have really appreaciate this console for what it is worth, and I am not talking about modding, which really hands every other consoles (including the PS2 HDD capability) their collective a$$es, they simply dont have the memory, even with the software memory expanders.
doomtack
06-16-2005, 11:24 PM
dunno bout ya'll but both microsoft an sony put'n out big stuff
i find d bes ting for now, get d one system dat apeals most to
you...because they both have ups an downs. plus look at wether u could get games or not easily.
riskbreaker
12-15-2005, 01:18 PM
PS2. :banana:
12-15-2005, 02:12 PM
could someone please lock this thread?