Star Wars: The Old Republic Ingame Multiplayer Gameplay

Discussion in 'Gaming Media' started by ck, Jul 5, 2010.

1. ck

ck New Member

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6_oE7YzVr8"]YouTube- Star Wars: The Old Republic Ingame Multiplayer Gameplay

Having played Knights of the Old Republic 1&2 I was very excited for The Old Republic and with Bioware's pedigree for rpgs I had high hopes. But after seeing this video I must say I'm alot less excited for it now. While the cg trailers were cool and all I still want KOTOR 3 more than this.

What are your thoughts on it?

2. TaC_Up

TaC_Up New Member

Reminds me of wow, except a hunter is tanking, not interested. I'd rather see how the warhammer MMO pans out but really I'm just waiting for Diablo 3.

3. Larutus

I like it, the combat looks less like 'hit for hit' than most mmo's tend to. For a game that has yet to go beta, this is pretty impressive.

4. doomtack

doomtack New Member

it just looks more like the person playing it did not know what was going on... I'd wait to see more gameplay to judge this one

5. ck

ck New Member

Actually beta has started but what I gather from ppll in the beta it has a pretty nasty NDA so no info is being let out at all.

6. Larutus

ah ok, i know normally the 'nasty' NDA is left @ alpha level, they must be really keen on not getting 'huff'.

7. Nike

Nike New Member

it look like global agenda in a way....just global agenda real polished now like omg the game good but i haven't played it since SC2 :D :D:D

8. kayode

kayode Active Member

Yuh know, it really not lookin too bad. I expected something more mediocre, but it looks mostly like Star Wars-themed WoW.

Kinda disappointed that they've stuck so close to the MMO system, though. The classes just immediately demystified when you can identify them as tank, healer, rogue etc off the bat. Was hoping for something different or new.

Btw, the music is going to play a huge part in this game's success.

9. TaC_Up

TaC_Up New Member

Yep kayode that's my biggest gripe with the footage I've seen. I've been on their forums quite sometime and a large debate has been going on about using the MMO trinity since before footage was even shown. It seems they have caved and gone the trinity route.. how sad.

10. Larutus

Is the issue with the terminology? Because gamers would have been using those terms sooner or later, it's even present in FPS.

11. Larutus

12. Larutus

13. Larutus

Space combat vid with actual gameplay

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eab0Ys7znH4"]YouTube- SWTOR Space Combat Trailer HD

14. the_steph

i personally love flying combat - so that was real interesting

it is super different from air combat in WoW but at the same time something we accustomed too

15. Larutus

The fighter @ 32 secs looks like a "Naboo" designed fighter, in the game that is used by the sith/imperial agent

The ship @ 36 secs that looks like the Ebon Hawk from Kotor is the type of ship the smuggler class will use

the ship @ 39 secs could be the one used by the Troopers (that's a guess)

ship @ 46 seconds is the fighter used by the sith classes in game

The ship @ 51 sec is the one used by the Bounty Hunter (a guess)

Ship @ 55 secs is the one used by the Jedi classes in game

Republic ships use red blaster fire and Imperials use green

16. Larutus

advanced classes, names could be changed later on

Trooper

Commando
    • Heavy Blaster Cannon

• Grenades

• Ranged DPS
    Vanguard
    • Blaster Rifle

• Energy Shields and Defense

• Tank

Smuggler

Scoundrel
    • Blaster ‘Shot Gun’

• Stealth / Medicine

• Burst ranged damage or Healing
    Gunslinger
    • Dual Pistols

• Quickdraw / Fast Attacks

• Ranged DPS

Jedi Knight

Jedi Sentinel
    • Dual Wield Saber

• Saber fighting specialist

• Melee DPS
    Jedi Guardian
    • Single Saber / Heavy Armor

• Leadership / Party Buffs

• Tank

Jedi Consular

Jedi Shadow
    • Double Bladed Saber

• Stealth

• Burst melee damage
    Jedi Wizard
    • Single Saber

• Powerful Telekinesis / Healing

• Ranged Control / Damage or Healing
    Bounty Hunter

Powertech
    • Flamethrower

• Defense / Energy Shields

• Tank
    Mercenary
    • Dual Wield Guns

• Missiles

• Ranged DPS

Sith Warrior

Sith Juggernaut
    • Single Saber / Heavy Armor

• Fear and Darkside Auras

• Tank
    Sith Marauder
    • Dual Wield Sabers / Armor

• Saber fighting specialist

• Melee DPS

Imperial Agent

Operative
    • Blaster Rifle / Energy Blade

• Stealth

• Burst Ranged damage
    Sniper
    • Sniper Rifle

• Cover, Ambush, Orbital Strikes

• Ranged DPS

Sith Inquisitor

Sith Sorcerer
    • Single Saber

• Force Lightning / Force Drain

• Ranged DPS or Healer
    Sith Assassin
    • Double Bladed Saber

• Stealth

• Burst Melee DPS

17. spinner

spinner New Member

Nice classes although the sorcerer and wizard classes don't sound like Star Wars i.m.o, sounds more like neverwinter nights classes :D

18. doomtack

doomtack New Member

So BioWare messaged me, and gave me a key for the Beta today :)

Was unexpected... but I will be checking it out when the Beta starts (date unknown as of now).

19. ck

ck New Member

Beta has been going on for quite some time now. It should be wrapping up soon with its december release date.

20. doomtack

doomtack New Member

Well, this rounds of Beta hasn't started yet. That's what the message said....