Backblaze's guide to Petabytes on a budget.

Discussion in 'Mods, Guides & Overclocking' started by gambitt, Sep 4, 2009.

1. gambitt

gambitt New Member

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wm7Rp5u8Q1g"]YouTube - Backblaze Storage Pod 3-D Cad Design ​

Basically a little guide done up by a mass storage company showing how they do their cloud storage. It's got a little parts list, a few exploded diagrams, power wiring diagrams and whatnot.

Made for an interesting read. Check out the article here.

So who's gonna be the first to put up the three quarters of a million TT to set up their own petabyte of personal storage?

On an unrelated note... anyone wanna guesstimate how long it would take to download a petabyte's worth of pr0n?

2. kaizen

I rather buy an audi r8 with that money..

3. gambitt

gambitt New Member

I dunno man, how much pr0n can you cram into one of those?

4. Geese

don't need pron when u have a r8

5. kaizen

exactly.

6. gambitt

gambitt New Member

Blasphemy!

Next allyuh go claim that you dont need pr0n at all, not so? :rolleyes:

7. ck

ck New Member

8. kaizen

You don't actually >.>..

9. ck

ck New Member

+1

10. ecktt

Excellent idea ................for a home user. They have a winning idea but the product falls flat on its face for an Enterprise deployment.most if not all the short comings can be a addressed. Guess what foes to the price.

11. gambitt

gambitt New Member

The internet is really really great...

:eek:
    [align=left]Uh guys, in theory solid food, flush toilets, changing your draws on a regular basis, a pulse ... well what I'm trying to say is that none of them things is really needed, but I figure that most of us prefer the option of having them in our lives. Ent?

And toobesides:​

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-TA57L0kuc"]YouTube - The Internet is for porn avenue Q original - Video

:p

Yeah, even the article exterminatus shared point out a few solutions that can be implemented to make it better. Given that they say from the start that they charge something like $5 US/mo for unlimited storage, I'm guessing that they're willing to sacrifice a perfect record/uptime for fair reliability with volume at low cost.

I liked the modular aspect, the fairly simple layout and the fact that they were willing to put out at least the hardware aspect of it for anyone to use or improve on if they want. As you say it would be a heck of a thing for home use.... ... .. . FOR PR0N!!! :D
    [/align]

12. scaR

I think you on your own there oui.

13. ecktt

humm. Just took a look see at exterminus link. The dude start of going good with some of my technical concerns but then 1/3 the way threw start with some real tata.

My Backblaze problems:
    http only
    Lack of PSU redundancy
    Lack of controller redundancy
    Linux.

Mr Joerg Moellenkamp on the other hand just trying to push their enterprise storage. When u consider i could buy possibly 3 1.5 TB for the price of a single 146 GB SAS HD and dump them into the same chassis as before and get 70%-90% the performance, his argument breaks down. I can have 10X the storage and expect every disk to fail twice for the same price in HDs. If performance and reliability is of paramount concern, SSD should be used cause they cost marginally more, faster , draw less power, more reliable.

There is a middle ground here folks. I call it the Dell MD3000.

Its is possible to build a cheaper version of even the Backblade and that's a cheap mobo with raid 5.

14. gambitt

gambitt New Member

scaR, while I know it's just fatigue, the best response I can think of is what someone once told me:
    Read the whole sentence next time because you know when we put a bunch of words together in different ways they mean different things. ;)

Failing that, my reply would have to be, let me know when you've survived a short stay in the ICU and I'll ask you again if you absolutely needed any of those things or just prefer to have the option of having them around most of the time. ;)

Ecktt, your 10x the storage/$ is pretty close to the mark it seems. I checked out the site for the product that guy is talking about and they say about $1/GB as compared to the lets call it $120/TB.

There's one thing about those SSD's that I just can't figure out. I understand that they have a limited rewrtie capacity and can only be rewritten to a limited number of times. How much of a factor is that in someone's decisions to choose them? I mean, all devices have a lifespan, but if we had to compare apples to oranges which one is better.

15. ecktt

16. ecktt

it also can be argued that in an enterprise, users per disk is much greater. In response to that, the backup end of the storage system would also extensive cache its operations.

17. scaR

It gives me great pleasure to see you choke on your own medicine when it gets dished back @ you. How much time did you spend looking back for that quote or do you have all of it bookmarked?

too funny!

18. gambitt

gambitt New Member

Linus Freaking Torvalds!?!!!

Not much time at all scaR, it was in the second PM I checked.:p See, I really do pay close attention to what you say, even if you dont and even when I disagree with them. I even have to admit that I like the way you tried to continue the metaphor with the whole medicine thing. But, I'd have thought that by now you'd have realised that you should put a little more thought into these things and not gone around blindly doing what you are saying others shouldnt.

So with as little sugar coating as possible (sugar coating... medicine... meh, that one needs more work..) I leave you with one final quote:
    It actually gives me very little pleasure to see you choke on your own medicine when it gets dished back @ you. :(

Ecktt, thanks for the explanation and the link to the AnandTech article. I think that very first paragraph was probably worth the read alone. Linus freaking Torvalds! lol. I skimmed the rest of it and I'll have to check it out a little later on. Looks like a good read.

19. scaR

Wasn't blindly done at all. LOL!

20. kriminal

gambit stop typing my head hurts!!! =@ ! i'll chill ah next 1 1\2 years to buy an ssd..