Aye yuh see (insert anime)! It real bad! - Anime Recommendation

Discussion in 'Anime and Comics' started by Geese, Nov 3, 2008.

1. Geese

Thread for people to post anime that they find to be decent. New titles are preferred, please no Samurai X/Naruto/Berserk. Let's try to keep a format when doing it.

check http://anidb.net for descriptions and known subbing groups info.

Name - Seirei No Moribito
    Description -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=waSwndpzFSU

Name - Shin Kyuuseishu Densetsu Hokuto no Ken Raoh-den Jun`ai no Shou (Fist of the North Star - Raoh Side Story Junai Arc)
    Description -
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxfShZjJakw

EDIT - added the first 10mins of the movie which gives a better explanation of the story.
    go go go

2. Larutus

Name- Ga Rei Zero

The Japanese Ministry of Defense has an anti-paranormal special forces group called the Supernatural Disaster Prevention Agency. They're the ones responsible to protect Japanese soil and its people from supernatural and paranormal events. However, things didn't go so well in one of their missions, which leads to intervention by the Ministry of Enviroment's Supernatural Disaster Countermeasures Division after the SDPO has sustained large numbers of casualties battling demons.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lSQQpSAq9A

Name- Allison and Lillia

Plot Summary: The story takes place on a continent where two countries are separated by Lutoni River and Central Mountains. The two countries, the Confederation of Roxche and the United Kingdom of Bezel Iltoa have been at war for over a century and now settled on a cease fire. Allison is a pilot in the Roxche air force and one day reunites with Will, her companion from the House of Future, where they were orphans. Together they find themselves embroiled in an adventure in enemy territory to find a fabled treasure that will hopefully end the war and bring peace to both countries.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JcpiTySyGw&feature=related

3. Geese

So I need some new anime to watch! Recommend me something..

Now I'm not a fan of Sports anime, but this was the exception to the rule. I love this show, and is prolly the first dub I liked in a long time (I actually prefer the dub).

Name - Hajime No Ippo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1VNM57PHms

Name - Hajime No Ippo - New Challenger
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9n9gJ2MHZk

4. Berzerk

Berzerk New Member

This anime lil odd, but it was entertaining. extremely high production value too...

Kara no Kyōkai (空の境界, Kara no Kyōkai? lit. Boundary of Emptiness)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1I4ScF07uKo

5. soldier

ZOMG !!!
    I am such an idiot!!!
    XD

6. Xecutiona

Xam'd : Lost Memories

see my thread on this, it is very very bad
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EkhbIcLAFU

Tengen Toppa Gueren Laggan
    Mech Anime (i real like mech anime btw) but this is also extremely bad
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YorRbV_Op9A

Eureka 7
    Another spirit/mech anime, BONES- nuff said
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iwo7OCTiRE

RideBack
    just watch it...it now start basically but it bad
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3sp7daldn4w

Michiko to Hatchin
    Different concept, set in a very stylized mexico, with a latina-looking chic as the protagonist. very nice n different opening theme too
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VclNO-aIuaI

Chrome shelled Regios
    A martial arts "superpowers" anime, kinda bad, once u cud get over the annoying appeggio techno opening
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8NcH7heOt0

ummmm das wat i watching at the moment...

7. Larutus

Started to look at Rideback, very cool stuff, i like it.

8. shadow_hitokiri

shadow_hitokiri New Member

LOL lokes will go crazy to see men now gettin into tengen. I suprised noone talking about tytania. It a bit slow but its a good watch.

9. Xecutiona

nah lol i knew about it before, but i just now decided to take a look.....just like i just watched FMA last month

10. shadow_hitokiri

shadow_hitokiri New Member

I just took in a few eps of Chrome Regios there and thus have just realized that I wont pass my biochem exam on friday.....:(

11. Xecutiona

LOL!!! it only have 8 anyway so u cah lose!

12. Geese

This just came out today.

Hokuto No Ken ZERO - Kenshiro Den

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYDxxtsxckg

13. mojo

Omg! I Want!

14. Xecutiona

A very well thought out anime that just ended~(11 episode) is Eden of the East.

by telling you what it is about i actually ruin some of the plot. but i recommend it highly right now...the animation/sountrack/writing is top notch.

nice opening too
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL8LFPIF53A

15. Berzerk

Berzerk New Member

anyone here tried Toward the Terra?

kind of dated, but I watched it and was immensely impressed.

think xmen meets battlestar galactica...that works...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umPaVqLRou8&feature=related

16. kayode

kayode Active Member

Recommend me a new series...

Vacation about to start but I jump de gun and watch out all my seasons of 24 already.:eek:

Doh tell me what's popular...tell me what's good. I will list what I've enjoyed the most and let the experts gimme advice based on that.

Last series I really enjoyed was Death Note. I enjoyed this more for the suspense and cerebral nature of the plot than the supernatural aspects. This definitely up there in my top 3.

Favorite anime series ever is Berserk. Enjoyed this for the plot, especially the character interactions and the political maneuvering.

Really enjoyed Evangelion before it got crazy.

Love Naruto, but find it too hard to watch the series anymore when every episodes is 50% recap.

I love some good action, but good story is crucial. I have the first dozen episodes of Bleach there, but nothing really caught me in a OMG way like the first few episodes of Death Note. Should probably give it another try.

Also, I doh mind finite series. Better yuh tell yuh story and end it than yuh drag on forever.

17. kayode

kayode Active Member

Oops...I didn't see that thread up there...

(and I was looking for it!)

18. kayode

kayode Active Member

The tough thing about new anime is the initial investment. I hate to put 30-90 minutes into a series just to find out I doh like it.

19. Xecutiona

try eden of the east.

check my recommendations in the anime recommendation thread. i dont really like sheety anime as well lol

20. Berzerk

Berzerk New Member

For anime you cant go wrong with toward the terra, it was like xmen meets Battlestar, and it worked out pretty dam good..pretty tragic story, but thoroughly entertaining...

there is also gurren lagann, while its a personal favorite, its wayyy over the top, so throw all concepts of reality out the window

for tv series, i personally like Dexter and supernatural...burn notice is decent but it gets old (to me) after awhile...

and then there is Fringe..which has me on bated breath for season 2 right now...